Whisky

Well MAYBE in bells or grouse you could Taliban.net it.

But DECENT whisky!!!!!!!!!!

I'm awaiting my whisky club monthly bottle which is made in Scandinavian apparently.

I'll try it neat and then a wee touch of water.

But ice? Nooooooooo

All depends how strong it is. I try everything neat first then add water as required. Particularly with cask strength whiskies. Don't really do ice. Case in point, I have an independent bottling of Royal Brackla 11 year old. It's 60.4% abv so needs at least 3 or 4 teaspoons of water to get it to my taste. Cask strength whiskies are usually more expensive but you effectively get a bottle and a half for your money.

Was just in Tesco and there are big discounts on pretty much all whiskies. Hurry though because the whisky fairy departs on 2 January and everything is back to full price for a few weeks.
The whisky fairy was still in Tesco today so I got a Glenmorangie Triple Cask Reserve for £24 with the club card. A saving of £9. Now for the first time in years I have two unopened bottles of whisky in the house.

I'm still waiting on my Scandinavian whisky from the whisky club.

But I just got my Scandi Beer delivered a wee while ago.

I'm liking the IPA's and dark beers but the fruit ones are pony.

Well my whisky from the Från Torneälvens benbankar Sweden arrived.

Very very smoothe. Which means easy to drink. Which means a row from rat bairn.

Imagine no being able to say you've had a nice whisky because your bairn will give you a row 😤

20250104_175633.jpg

I can send you the exclusive invite code if you want?

Whisky52.com is the site. You get a whisky every month sent from somewhere around the world.

I think they are a bit pricey but if you like a challenge then it's ok I suppose.

20250104_182509.jpg

I can send you the exclusive invite code if you want?

Whisky52.com is the site. You get a whisky every month sent from somewhere around the world.

I think they are a bit pricey but if you like a challenge then it's ok I suppose.

View attachment 16289
Cheers but I think I’ll stick to the Scottish ones for now - still a lot to get through! Just opened the Glenmorangie Triple Cask and it’s lovely - I’ll have to ration it.

Well if anyone wants to use the code then go for it.

Next month's is apparently a Scottish grain blend. This is it I think....

Woven Whisky Makers
Woven Whisky Makers › products
WOVEN Experience N.3

What are folks opinions on ice?

I know it's seen as sacrilege by many malt elitists, but I do enjoy embracing my inner 'murican and having a scotch on the rocks from time to time.

Depends on the dram, I usually only add an ice cube to a peaty whisky.

THB yove already been told that is Taliban.net ISH.

Tsk.

Nae wonder Hibs are no top of the league.

Now this is from the Hun so I'll copy and paste instead.....

DRAM EXPENSIVE

Punters run up eye-watering £158k bar bill at plush Scots hotel – check out the booze.​

The group of punters, who visited the five-star Fife Arms in Braemar, Aberdeenshire, splurged out during their visit on December 30, 2024.

Items on the receipt include £67,500 worth of Balvenie 50-year-old priced at £4,500 a dram - equating to £150 per millilitre.

It also includes £40,000 worth of Laphroaig 1940s at £4,000 each.

Screenshot_20250115_043036_Chrome.jpg

DRAM EXPENSIVE

Punters run up eye-watering £158k bar bill at plush Scots hotel – check out the booze.​

The group of punters, who visited the five-star Fife Arms in Braemar, Aberdeenshire, splurged out during their visit on December 30, 2024.

Items on the receipt include £67,500 worth of Balvenie 50-year-old priced at £4,500 a dram - equating to £150 per millilitre.

View attachment 16401
Sometimes I think "fucking arseholes" then sometimes I think "why the hell not if you can afford it"

Exactly. If you have the cash then go out with your mates and have a party.

You still get decent folk who have cash as well.

But some of those whiskys must have been the dogs bollocks (no literally though).

They must have been in some state at the end of that session.

A pal of mine was in the Abbey up the Southside when 4 Americans came in and spent over a £1000 on a whisky session.

As I've said before that's partly because you get such shitty measures here. You need to buy doubles to make it more than a damp glass. Hence why I only drink whisky at home.

So you'll no be taking us oot for a sesh like the one above then? 😭

I was told after 2 or 3 of the good stuff you're as well drinking a cheap blend the rest of the night.

DRAM EXPENSIVE

View attachment 16401
I spoke to a guy who worked in a pub in Craigellachie (or “Craig el Atchie” as the yanks call it). He said two of them came in and ordered doubles at £200 each and then put Coke in them. Fcuking numpties.

DRAM EXPENSIVE

View attachment 16401
Fucking obscene.