Whisky

Anybody tried whisky and milk? An old guy who used to drink in the Old Toll Bar at Bonnington toll did. They kept milk in the fridge for him.

I realise this isn't whisky. I didn't want to start a thread just for this. My dad died, and he's left me 200 stirling super kings, and a half bottle of vodka. I know nobody that 🚬 🚬 🚬 🚬 🚬 or...

Maybe I'll start a new hobby?

• 20240620_141111.jpg
    20240620_141111.jpg
    423.5 KB · Views: 21
Wow. That must have set you back a bob or two. 😬
Not too deadly, each one was probably between £60-£90 and accumulated since I joined SMWS last January. There are some which are much more pricey but those ones have been pretty good so far. Rarely get to the pub these days so happy to collect and few enjoyable drams to enjoy now and then!

Not surprised - you’ve probably forgotten where it is!
Drunk GIF

Not too deadly, each one was probably between £60-£90 and accumulated since I joined SMWS last January. There are some which are much more pricey but those ones have been pretty good so far. Rarely get to the pub these days so happy to collect and few enjoyable drams to enjoy now and then!
I've got around 40 bottles of whisky at the moment, so the obvious thing to do was to ask my wife for a SMWS membership for Christmas. Like I need more temptation. 😆

Nice. I was thinking of rejoining. Gave up my membership when I started working away from Edinburgh
Got the membership as a gift after talking about it for long enough and really enjoying it. I’m in West Lothian but doing alright with it.

I think the drams are brilliant (great value for what they are) and great venues - only done the Edinburgh ones both with the mrs just for food and then with mates, experience has been great each time. Something different from the boozer.

NGP, myself and a few others were in before the Killie game, and we were well looked after. Sharing a bottle between five us before a game was maybe a bit much 🤪 but the logic of it being more economical seemed to make sense at the time!

I’ve just renewed and hoping to get to a few of their other venues too.

Got the membership as a gift after talking about it for long enough and really enjoying it. I’m in West Lothian but doing alright with it.

I think the drams are brilliant (great value for what they are) and great venues - only done the Edinburgh ones both with the mrs just for food and then with mates, experience has been great each time. Something different from the boozer.

NGP, myself and a few others were in before the Killie game, and we were well looked after. Sharing a bottle between five us before a game was maybe a bit much 🤪 but the logic of it being more economical seemed to make sense at the time!

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Stunning surroundings and we were well looked after. The whisky was lovely, the bottle was finished easily!

I’ve only ever been to the Queen street venue. It was ace though. I’m also in WL. I really fancy trying the Leith Vaults ….

Anyone tried Kavalan, the Taiwanese malt? Fancy giving it a bash. Japanese whisky is very good but becoming pricey. Had Amrut whisky from India a couple of years ago. It was excellent but the price has likewise gone up.

A former customer of mine that I had lunch wi in the Hague the other day was on aboot that and was pretty enthusiastic. She also mentioned the pricey Japanese and the Indian, which was a new one on me.

Meeting up again in a coupla months for a single malt tasting evening, cannae wait! Scottish roots come in handy sometimes... 😙

I’ll never drink south East Asian whisky again after drinking Kong whisky in Vietnam. Every time I even think of it I start to get a hangover.

Admittedly we bought it in a corner shop but I was assured it was the real deal.

Wee heads up folks. It's from the daily ranger so I just took a screenshot.....

View attachment 16629
A nice dram. Don't think I would buy it full price but definitely worth a punt for £24. I got the Port Cask finish a while back but not opened it yet. The red wine finishes are good. Think there are 3 or 4 different ones, at least there used to be. My dad likes the white wine cask and that's frequently cheap too.