Whisky

1 Mcnamara

The last couple of years I have taken more interest in whisky. Where they are made , and what methods are used. But, most importantly, how they taste.
Just wondering what other folks favs are, and how you take it , and recommendations .

My faviroutes just now are
Blends. Haig Club has a lovely vanilla twist , take it with a splash of water.

Malt , changes all the time but just now I would say Jura 12 year old, again just a splash of water

Irish whisky , Tullamore Dew, just with a block of ice , very sweet and smooth , highly recommended if your looking for something different .

The American bourbons , I've not tried many , but they are all much the same to me, and really need to be drunk with cola.

I'm not a big fan of the strong peaty ones , smell a bit " medical" but I do buy the odd bottle just so I have one in my small collection , and I do manage a few drams now and then:detective:

So, give me a reason to buy another few bottles :bbb:

like yourself I'm not a big fan of peaty whisky but got a bottle of Cu bocan really nice with a smoky aftertaste.
Other than that Auchentoshen and Glengoyne

Balvenie. All of them.

As an aside, I got a bottle of anejo tequila from Lupe Pintos last week. Doesn't taste like 'normal' blanco or reposada tequilas, more like a cognac but braw all the same

Balvenie. All of them.

As an aside, I got a bottle of anejo tequila from Lupe Pintos last week. Doesn't taste like 'normal' blanco or reposada tequilas, more like a cognac but braw all the same

the double wood is really nice

I’m partial to a Margarita but after spending a couple of weeks in Mexico last year I became quite happy with a glass or three of the straight tequila. I did a wee bit of research before I went so that I didn’t purchase the equivalent of Tennents Lager.

Rather fond of a Cardhu Gold Reserve. For everyday tippling, though, try a blend called Label (not Level!) Five. You can get it in Morrisons. Best-selling whisky in France, apparently, and £18 a litre last week.

At the opposite end of the spectrum - I love the peat! Islay's all the way in my house. Laphroaig, Ardberg and Bowmore are my favourites.

Can’t get a taste for whisky at all, have tried as would be nice to have a dram with my dad, uncles etc but just don’t like it

At the opposite end of the spectrum - I love the peat! Islay's all the way in my house. Laphroaig, Ardberg and Bowmore are my favourites.
Me too #metoo ooh er that's just the way I see it.

But I just must interject, got a prezzie of a Speyburn recently and man it was the bizz. I do not get the Speyside Grant-ish normally but this was like a modern variant on the subject. Felt like 50% under the tongue but was the normal 40% - here in Holland. That under-the-tongue feeling was what did it for me.

Worth a reprise. Anyone else tried the Speyburn? (10 yr I think)

I have been drinking JD Fire with apple & elderflower water. Tastes just like apple pie!

AA-JD-Fire.jpg

+

370245011_0_640x640.jpg

=

173da066-c6b4-45dd-9b28-0d459cf6f169.jpg

Rather fond of a Cardhu Gold Reserve. For everyday tippling, though, try a blend called Label (not Level!) Five. You can get it in Morrisons. Best-selling whisky in France, apparently, and £18 a litre last week.

Its bottled in Livingston!!

I’m fond of a single malt. I started drinking Scapa as it doesn’t have any peat (no trees in Orkney). Nowadays i drink Dalwhinnie or Deanston which are both well rounded and even a bit honeyed.

I also used to enjoy a whisky mac as a chaser with a pint of Guinness - usually made with a blend like Black Bottle which used to contain a lot of Islay malts and Crabbies green ginger. I’d drink half the whisky mac and half the pint then tip the remaining spirit in the stout. Lovely at the time but in the end I couldn’t take the hangovers...

Last time I drank more than one nip of whisky, I had a square go with a hun in a hotel car park, it was 22 years ago.

My Dad tended to get more violent on whisky and one of my sons seems to be the same. Never really developed a taste for the stuff and prob never will

I’m fond of a single malt. I started drinking Scapa as it doesn’t have any peat (no trees in Orkney). Nowadays i drink Dalwhinnie or Deanston which are both well rounded and even a bit honeyed.

I also used to enjoy a whisky mac as a chaser with a pint of Guinness - usually made with a blend like Black Bottle which used to contain a lot of Islay malts and Crabbies green ginger. I’d drink half the whisky mac and half the pint then tip the remaining spirit in the stout. Lovely at the time but in the end I couldn’t take the hangovers...

Dalwhinnie is one of my all-time favourites too. Recently I've grown fond of Monkey Shoulder though - a blend of Speyside malts that's very easy to drink.

I always assumed monkey shoulder was a bourbon - I’ll give it a try. Thanks.

I was given a bottle of dalwhinnie distillers edition a couple of years back. Lovely stuff. I always drink it with a drop of water.

It’s only in the last few years I’ve developed a taste for decent whisky. I was put off by the blended stuff in my teenage years (but by fuck it was an efficient way to get shit-faced!). I can’t remember if it was the ten or fifteen year old MacAllan single malt that was unnervingly smooth and easy to drink. My current favourite is 14 year old Oban, had the distillery tour while I was in the town of the same name; that was the highlight of a very cold and wet February weekend break.

I always assumed monkey shoulder was a bourbon - I’ll give it a try. Thanks.

I was given a bottle of dalwhinnie distillers edition a couple of years back. Lovely stuff. I always drink it with a drop of water.

There's an interesting story of how it got its name too.

distilled in Livi too.They had to move voice allowed to call it scotch

Correct. The Glen Turner Company who produce Label Five Blend are indeed a French company based in Livingston.
Not to be confused with Glenmorangie , also situated in Livingston and owned by the French based Hennessy company.

What? like a a monkey’s paw type thing?

Three Speyside single malts blended to create a new whisky – that is the easiest way to describe Monkey Shoulder. The name, Monkey Shoulder is derived from the condition that men working in the distillery suffered from. These men used to work long shifts turning barley by hand and tended to let their arms hand down the way monkeys do – whisky men’s version of tennis elbow.

Think my next purchase will be the Dalwhinnie, don't think I've tried that.

I hadn't realised until recently that some bottles of malt are towards the £50.00 mark. Some pricey nips out there. Maybe one day I will be brave enough to buy one!!, If looking for something different , I usually see what's on offer that I haven't tried before. Sometimes there is up to £15 of a malt , taking it down to £20 ish.

Not a huge fan of whisky/whiskey but sometimes enjoy a dram towards the end of a night. Isle of Jura Superstition is a good one albeit very peaty so won't be to everyone's tastes, another shout out for Oban which my mate recommended and is very smooth. For bourbons a whiskey sour is a nice drink - the now defunct Henry J Bean's at the west end used to do a good one!

Just finished a Bunnahabhain 12 yo , as an Islay malt I didn't find it as peaty as other malts from the area. nice with just a splash of water. Currently waiting on consumption are an 18 yo Glenfiddich, and 18 yo Talisker, and 2 bottles I might no get round to opening:giggle: A 21 yo Glengoyne ( honey/ cinnamon) , and a 25 yo Ardmore( peaty).

Last time I drank more than one nip of whisky, I had a square go with a hun in a hotel car park, it was 22 years ago.

I really hope you started strong, faded slightly and took a sore one on the chin before rallying with a swift jab and a massive haymaker to finish it.

Cannae mind, but I had no lumps, cuts or bruises the next day.

I think the killer blow followed a right cross, a massive head butt I would imagine.

Nothing wrong with Glennfidich, but then I'm probably biased as my uncle was a director at Macdonald and Muir and I heard about it most of my life.

Mrs NGP & I did some touristy stuff in Edinburgh, including a visit to the Scotch Whisky Experience at the top of the Royal Mile. Didn't do the tour, but visited the shop and bar. I was a bit wary of it being a tacky tartan place, but found knowledgeable non-pushy staff and everything from £3 nips to silly prices. Pleasantly surprised, worth a visit if you want to get to know some basics. Glengoyne 12 year old was lovely.

Anyone going to the The Whisky Stramash at The Surgeons’ Hall?

19/20 May?

I'm not a whisky but was given a voucher by one of my kids. There's 5 of us going altogether.

From their website http://www.thewhiskystramash.com/2018/?

Brands & Companies last year included: Pernod Ricard with Chivas and Glenlivet, Scapa, Longmorn (to name a few), Gordon & MacPhail with lots including Benromach, Douglas Laing and their regional blended malts, BenRiach, GlenDronach, Glenglassaugh, Bunnahabhain, Deanston, Tobermory, Whyte & Mackay with Jura, The Shackleton and Dalmore, Weymss Malts, R & B distillers,The Lost Distillery Company, Glen Moray & Label 5, Loch Lomond and Glen Scotia, Hi Spirits with lots of bourbon including White Dog (mash 1), Benchmark, Buffalo Trace, Eagle Rare 10yr, Stagg Jnr, 1792, EH Taylor, Murray McDavid Independent Bottler, Robert Graham Independent Bottler, Fraiser Liqueur, Glenfiddich, Grant's Blended Whisky, West Cork Distillers, Dictador Rum.

Tickets are now on sale with a limited Early Bird Offer!
2 tickets @ £40 with Glencairns and tour vouchers for either the Fettercairn or Jura distilleries.

Anyone going to the The Whisky Stramash at The Surgeons’ Hall?

19/20 May?

I'm not a whisky but was given a voucher by one of my kids. There's 5 of us going altogether.

From their website http://www.thewhiskystramash.com/2018/?

Brands & Companies last year included: Pernod Ricard with Chivas and Glenlivet, Scapa, Longmorn (to name a few), Gordon & MacPhail with lots including Benromach, Douglas Laing and their regional blended malts, BenRiach, GlenDronach, Glenglassaugh, Bunnahabhain, Deanston, Tobermory, Whyte & Mackay with Jura, The Shackleton and Dalmore, Weymss Malts, R & B distillers,The Lost Distillery Company, Glen Moray & Label 5, Loch Lomond and Glen Scotia, Hi Spirits with lots of bourbon including White Dog (mash 1), Benchmark, Buffalo Trace, Eagle Rare 10yr, Stagg Jnr, 1792, EH Taylor, Murray McDavid Independent Bottler, Robert Graham Independent Bottler, Fraiser Liqueur, Glenfiddich, Grant's Blended Whisky, West Cork Distillers, Dictador Rum.

Tickets are now on sale with a limited Early Bird Offer!
2 tickets @ £40 with Glencairns and tour vouchers for either the Fettercairn or Jura distilleries.
What a great shout Jack, I think I will get myself along to that . Do you know much else about it . I assume you get a good few samples for your 20 bar, has it been on before?
The bounce never lets you doon , does it?!

What a great shout Jack, I think I will get myself along to that . Do you know much else about it . I assume you get a good few samples for your 20 bar, has it been on before?

I've not been but one of the group is an "expert" and this will be his 14th visit! He's a card carrying gunt but doesn't go on about that flaw so much!

From what I've made out so far all the samples (5ml) are free, sorry, included in the price. I think there's a cash bar operating too as well as the opportunity to buy by the bottle.

You pay for food too.

Right I've found out a wee bit more.

Three rooms each with a number, say half a dozen, stalls. Each stall has a choice of 5 or 6 samples. You can revisit as often as you like. So if you're looking for value for money or quality you're sorted.

Free bottled water is available. To avoid dehydration and rinsing your complimentary glass.

In these 3 rooms what you're drinking is on the label. There's a 4th room. It's a secret ... of sorts! It's the Malt Whisky Society room. Shhhhhhh! They buy up casks of whisky and code them by number, 1.13 (1 is the number allocated to the distillery, 13 their brew number). I'll be looking for 6.2! Those in the know know what the numbers mean! I don't think it would take Sherlock Holmes to find out what's what.

The food is really good, hotdogs are recommended (by him not me) and you can have a shave in an authentic shave chair!

Great day out by all accounts. I'm going Sunday.

Sounds like a recipe for disaster but I’m in. The last time I went to a whisky tasting I had to be put in a taxi.

I just had a glass of a 30 year old bunnahabhain in the wine shop. Single olorosso cask. Absolutely phenomenal - apparently the tail end of the last bottle from the cask. Glad I don’t have money or i would spunk it on expensive whisky.