Whisky

I just had a glass of a 30 year old bunnahabhain in the wine shop. Single olorosso cask. Absolutely phenomenal - apparently the tail end of the last bottle from the cask. Glad I don’t have money or i would spunk it on expensive whisky.

How much is a bottle of said whisky?

Surprisingly enjoying a grouse with a wee bit water and ice last night. Just shows, never to ignore the cheaper blends thinking they will all be sub standard. Not the case . Variety is the key!!

I can't really drink whisky no matter how hard I try. I did go to the little known Glenkinchie Distillery whisky tour, not far from Pencaitland. The whole place is really well run and you get a tour, exhibition and 2 nips for a tenner. I didn't even realise whisky was made anywhere near Edinburgh. The sample of Glenkinchie was nice very smooth and full. I fully recommend it a visit. You can even take your samples home if you are driving.

See yon chimney? I painted that ver near 30 years ago. [emoji15]

4b75cb7a5a9a1b0221b53b06c5bad0ce.jpg

See yon chimney? I painted that ver near 30 years ago. [emoji15]

4b75cb7a5a9a1b0221b53b06c5bad0ce.jpg

Well done [MENTION=5408]beefy[/MENTION]. Beautiful painting that. What an artist

Anyone going to the The Whisky Stramash at The Surgeons’ Hall?

19/20 May?

I'm not a whisky but was given a voucher by one of my kids. There's 5 of us going altogether.

From their website http://www.thewhiskystramash.com/2018/?

Brands & Companies last year included: Pernod Ricard with Chivas and Glenlivet, Scapa, Longmorn (to name a few), Gordon & MacPhail with lots including Benromach, Douglas Laing and their regional blended malts, BenRiach, GlenDronach, Glenglassaugh, Bunnahabhain, Deanston, Tobermory, Whyte & Mackay with Jura, The Shackleton and Dalmore, Weymss Malts, R & B distillers,The Lost Distillery Company, Glen Moray & Label 5, Loch Lomond and Glen Scotia, Hi Spirits with lots of bourbon including White Dog (mash 1), Benchmark, Buffalo Trace, Eagle Rare 10yr, Stagg Jnr, 1792, EH Taylor, Murray McDavid Independent Bottler, Robert Graham Independent Bottler, Fraiser Liqueur, Glenfiddich, Grant's Blended Whisky, West Cork Distillers, Dictador Rum.

Tickets are now on sale with a limited Early Bird Offer!
2 tickets @ £40 with Glencairns and tour vouchers for either the Fettercairn or Jura distilleries.

Anyone going this afternoon?

Can’t sadly as I’m in the South. Probably a good thing though.,,

Enjoy it if you go.

A hour in and 12 tastings down!

I doubt I'll keep up this pace and/or give a Just Back before Wednesday!

Done.

I managed 35 drinks at 10 mils and we've gone to the pub for a drink!

My son in law is bloody hard work! Between him being pissed and apologising for everything and everyone he's doing ma heid in!

Regular sons are stepping up to the mark and looking after the newbie and Dad.

Great day out with the boys.

Really wanted to go to this today, but wasn't up to it. Sounds like I missed out. Hopefully next year.

I was given a bottle of highland park for Father's Day today.
It really is the finest , pity it's Sunday and this second one MUST be my last :pray:

Well i actually done no bad on the drinks front for my birthday. A bottle of Edinburgh Gin which was guzzled on Saturday night and then these....

• IMG20221219181805.jpg
    IMG20221219181805.jpg
    137.1 KB · Views: 8
  • IMG20221219153323.jpg
    IMG20221219153323.jpg
    130.4 KB · Views: 3
  • IMG20221218121139.jpg
    IMG20221218121139.jpg
    120.8 KB · Views: 8
Anyone ever bid in whisky auctions? Got a couple of bids on Scotch Whisky Auctions for Lagavulin Distillers Edition and Pikesville rye. Closes this evening. Got outbid for Angel's Envy rye, Glenfiddich 21 Rum finish and Laphroaig Cairdeas but the other two are still winning. 🤞

Anyone know where to buy springbank these days, aside from driving to the distillery? Been a nightmare to get a hold of since Covid I think.

Indeed. I bought a bottle at auction last year. Very hard to get hold of.
Oh really what site did you use?

I stumbled upon springbank a good few years ago after asking for a bruichladdich in the devils advocate and the boy recommended it. Absolutely tremendous- before that I’d favoured speyside (prefer sweeter honey flavour) but both bruichladdich and springbank have a nice peppery taste which isn’t quite a full peaty number which isn’t my bag!

Yourself? Know any alternatives which are not overly peated / similar?

Oh really what site did you use?

I stumbled upon springbank a good few years ago after asking for a bruichladdich in the devils advocate and the boy recommended it. Absolutely tremendous- before that I’d favoured speyside (prefer sweeter honey flavour) but both bruichladdich and springbank have a nice peppery taste which isn’t quite a full peaty number which isn’t my bag!

Yourself? Know any alternatives which are not overly peated / similar?
You should stay away from strong drink.
If you still bark like a dog to scare old ladies and pretend to light stranger’s cigarettes by clicking your fingers under their nose…… an unpeated Ribena with a lot of water is probably best for you.
And anyone nearby.

You should stay away from strong drink.
If you still bark like a dog to scare old ladies and pretend to light stranger’s cigarettes by clicking your fingers under their nose…… an unpeated Ribena with a lot of water is probably best for you.
And anyone nearby.
Rumbled 🤦‍♂️

It's that time of year again when the supermarket whisky fairy arrives. Many bargains. Much cheapness.
Got Glenlivet Caribbean Reserve rum cask finish for £23, down from £41.
Couldn’t get the Caribbean Reserve but got a Founder’s Reserve for £25 and it’s very flavoursome - going down well after my dinner.

Anyone know where to buy springbank these days, aside from driving to the distillery? Been a nightmare to get a hold of since Covid I think.
Pretty sure I saw some on the shelves at WoodWinters’s in BOFA when I was last in there. There’s also a blend called Campbeltown Loch which contains quite a lot of Springbank.

(There’s a WoodWinters out Newington Rd too btw)

• IMG_6245.jpeg
    IMG_6245.jpeg
    527.9 KB · Views: 5