What you're eating. What you're drinking. What you're watching?

Home made seasoning...

1x Tablespoon of salt
2x teaspoon crushed chilli flakes
1/2x teaspoon garlic power
1/2x teaspoon 5spice
1/4x teaspoon ground ginger
1/4x teaspoon ground white pepper

Also sugar, but thats optional
No MSG when made yourself, most of the premade mixes come with.
Traditional chinese cuisine a wee bit out of the mode in modern NL. Used to be more popula decades ago.

Which is why I had to look up 5spice so that was a wee Asian education fir which ta.

But wtf is MSG?

Traditional chinese cuisine a wee bit out of the mode in modern NL. Used to be more popula decades ago.

Which is why I had to look up 5spice so that was a wee Asian education fir which ta.

But wtf is MSG?
Mono sodium glutamate
Used extensively in Chinese takeaways.

Home made seasoning...

1x Tablespoon of salt
2x teaspoon crushed chilli flakes
1/2x teaspoon garlic power
1/2x teaspoon 5spice
1/4x teaspoon ground ginger
1/4x teaspoon ground white pepper

Also sugar, but thats optional
No MSG when made yourself, most of the premade mixes come with.
If I can't get the seasoning
I use
1tbs of salt
1tbs of granulated sweetener
1 tbs of chilli flakes
1 tsp of white pepper
1/2 tsp of 5 spice.

If I can't get the seasoning
I use
1tbs of salt
1tbs of granulated sweetener
1 tbs of chilli flakes
1 tsp of white pepper
1/2 tsp of 5 spice.

Not too different.
I use more pepper than my mix recipe too, but not everyone's as keen.

Granulated sweetener, is that like Splenda?
My recipe asked for caster sugar, but I dont really go for it. Wonder if the sweetener is worth a shot instead. 🤔

But wtf is MSG?

As Braehead says.

It's a type of salt, less salty than your table salt.
It brings out the savoury flavours in foods, but there's a lot of issues around it relating to obesity and can be toxic I think.

Used loads in Chinese takeaways.

As Braehead says.

It's a type of salt, less salty than your table salt.
It brings out the savoury flavours in foods, but there's a lot of issues around it relating to obesity and can be toxic I think.

Used loads in Chinese takeaways.
Interesting, thx. As I said, Chinese cuisine is having a tough time here, and I prefer and am more familiar with Indian and some Indonesian spice mixes.

Always good to know tho' - although I never eat chips any more so couldn't make that recipe!

Maybe for sweets tho', it was mentioned on Wiki?

Interesting, thx. As I said, Chinese cuisine is having a tough time here, and I prefer and am more familiar with Indian and some Indonesian spice mixes.

Always good to know tho' - although I never eat chips any more so couldn't make that recipe!

Maybe for sweets tho', it was mentioned on Wiki?

I prefer Indian too, but the other half and the bairn have next to no interest in curry. North Indian garlic chicken is the favourite.

I noticed a fair few Thai places when we were in Amsterdam the other weekend there, did notice there was only 1 Chinese franchise type place, wok to walk. Just noodles and sauce.

Salt n pepper seasoning will go with anything fried pretty much.
I've seen salt n pepper square sausage and tattie scones on Facebook 😅

Going off all that though, ate far too much and its well beyond showing 😫
Sweets sound interesting though...

I prefer Indian too, but the other half and the bairn have next to no interest in curry. North Indian garlic chicken is the favourite.

I noticed a fair few Thai places when we were in Amsterdam the other weekend there, did notice there was only 1 Chinese franchise type place, wok to walk. Just noodles and sauce.

What you saw in the Dam is pretty much how it is. More Asian restaurants, Thai, Korean etc.

I miss the Indonesian stuff wgich gets rarer as more and more time separates us from the 50s when many Indonesians moved to Holland in a similar kind of agreement that saw HK'ers going to the UK.

But ask @1875, he's more familiar with it and the ingredients than I ever will be. I just remember that there was a basic sweetness (not OTT) in many of the Indonesian sauces that kids like. A simple Babi Pangang f.e. or Nasi Goreng, used to be standard takeaways here, now not so much 😞

Ach never mind, there's always Pizzaaaaaa!!

What you saw in the Dam is pretty much how it is. More Asian restaurants, Thai, Korean etc.

I miss the Indonesian stuff wgich gets rarer as more and more time separates us from the 50s when many Indonesians moved to Holland in a similar kind of agreement that saw HK'ers going to the UK.

But ask @1875, he's more familiar with it and the ingredients than I ever will be. I just remember that there was a basic sweetness (not OTT) in many of the Indonesian sauces that kids like. A simple Babi Pangang f.e. or Nasi Goreng, used to be standard takeaways here, now not so much 😞

Ach never mind, there's always Pizzaaaaaa!!

The funny thing being, Babi Panggang is very uncommon in Indonesia! A lovely Dutch lady made us a wonderful Indonesian meal whilst we were in Spain, which included a delicious Babi Panggang, a very authentic Rendang Sapi, Nasi Goreng and Telur Balado (spicy boiled eggs), and chilli green beans (Buncis). You cannae get any of that in Scotland. I had an arse like a burst tomato the next day with the chilli! :giggley: 🥵🌶️

The sweetness is from Kecap manis, the sweet, treacly black soy sauce.

The funny thing being, Babi Panggang is very uncommon in Indonesia! A lovely Dutch lady made us a wonderful Indonesian meal whilst we were in Spain, which included a delicious Babi Panggang, a very authentic Rendang Sapi, Nasi Goreng and Telur Balado (spicy boiled eggs), and chilli green beans (Buncis). You cannae get any of that in Scotland. I had an arse like a burst tomato the next day with the chilli! :giggley: 🥵🌶️

The sweatness is from Kecap manis, the sweet, treacly black soy sauce.

Genuinely made me hungry reading that.
I really enjoyed my Kai Phad Phet in Amsterdam 🙂
Gonna go to Noks kitchen in Stockbridge, been told its pretty good.

It's like a different world in here...

Genuinely made me hungry reading that.
I really enjoyed my Kai Phad Phet in Amsterdam 🙂
Gonna go to Noks kitchen in Stockbridge, been told its pretty good.

Try Kecap manis with garlic, chicken and pak choi, a great dish.

It's like a different world in here...

It is what makes the bounce magic mate (and hank marvin).

G
See when you were on the Guinness mate what did you think of the West Indies Porter?

I really enjoyed the taste.
West Indies Porter is my favourite of the myriad brews made by Guinness in Ireland, South East Asia and Africa. I've tried most of them. The first thing I noticed when travelling from Kuala Lumpur airport, on a business trip, apart from the saturated, humid heat, was passing a massive Guinness brewery. Didnae fancy the black stuff brewed in Malaysia greatly.
Coincidentally this afternoon I had my first Guinness, or any beer for that matter, in not a kick in the arse short of a year. Started Kito, August last year. 5 stones lighter. Job done. Today chose a cold pint to wash down splendid Korean food in Bundits of Leith on Constitution Street. Plenty of Vegan options.
Just gonnae have a stroll to a Leith hostelry and have another pint.
Watching tonight, well BBC 4 has been repeating a 1980 classic drama, over the past few weeks, so a glass of Polish vodka and water to start watching, on iPlayer, what else but appropriately, Boys From the Blackstuff.

Get the Curry bible by the Curry guy.
The curries are exactly the same as you get in a restaurant or takeaway.
Making the base sauce is a pain but the curries themselves are pretty quick and easy.
Since being diagnosed with coeliac disease the only way I can get to eat a lot of stuff is to make it myself.
Due to being a fat bastard I'm now an expert in pizza,kebabs and curries.

Get the Curry bible by the Curry guy.
The curries are exactly the same as you get in a restaurant or takeaway.
Making the base sauce is a pain but the curries themselves are pretty quick and easy.
Since being diagnosed with coeliac disease the only way I can get to eat a lot of stuff is to make it myself.
Due to being a fat bastard I'm now an expert in pizza,kebabs and curries.

All at once am hearing chubster. :giggley:

More like “ Due to being an expert in pizza kebabs and curries, I’m now a fat bastard”.

Me too.

Tonight’s fayre was a sit in at the Italian restaurant just off the big roondaboot past Bilston following a shipping trip to Straiton and no danger was I going to sit in that gridlock of a city bypass.
A focaccia of garlic and rosemary followed by tonights ‘special’ of swordfish and caponata, driving so it was aqua minerale frissante and a espresso doppio to finish.
Gonna settle down for this week’s episode of the latest Star Trek series on Universal

Tonight’s fayre was a sit in at the Italian restaurant just off the big roondaboot past Bilston following a shipping trip to Straiton and no danger was I going to sit in that gridlock of a city bypass.
A focaccia of garlic and rosemary followed by tonights ‘special’ of swordfish and caponata, driving so it was aqua minerale frissante and a espresso doppio to finish.
Gonna settle down for this week’s episode of the latest Star Trek series on Universal
Frizzante (pr. freet'santy) acc to this old Italian student - rest sounds great, esp the Star Trek, what Strange New Worlds?

Got my ss and zz wrong. Aye, Strange New Worlds. Much truer to the original and an antidote to that Discovery guff

Totally agree, it's got the spirit of the original, I am enjoying the 60s vibe.

Although I now have to invalidate that all cos I like Discovery as well. So sue me.

No offence mate but sounds horrendous, shopping trips and roundabouts

What’s even more horrendous is the price of the suite I’ve bought on said shopping trip😭

Had my wedding meal in there but it wisnae an Italian back in 1987.

Totally agree, it's got the spirit of the original, I am enjoying the 60s vibe.
Although I now have to invalidate that all cos I like Discovery as well. So sue me.
served.jpg

Had my wedding meal in there but it wisnae an Italian back in 1987.
It’s been a few different cuisines. First time I went, it did pub grub. Then a lot more recently it was an Indian and now it’s Italian. Wonder what’ll be next

20211222_McDonalds_istock_3x2.jpg

Iranian? Iraqi? Iroquois?

Or maybe they will move on to the next letter and do Japanese?

Nowt to scran. Having a pint in the Murrayfield Hotel. Watching the rain bouncing of the ground.

Rained off.

Woo hoo

Pasta and salad early doors and off to play fives at Porty in assorted mis matched Hibs gear

Drinking a bottle of Schiehallion , before a glass of wine , eating Chilli, lime and ginger infused Salmon with Salad and new potatoes, watching cricket

Made penne with a tomato and garlic sauce and fresh basil leaves torn into it at the end, oven chips (the wife insists on chips when she eats pasta) and a garlic flatbread with a fuck-ton of extra garlic, Parmesan and black pepper. Washed doon with a glass of water. No tv, just enjoying the peace and quiet

Pretty similar: macaroni wi bbq sausage sliced thru the tomato, garlic and onion sauce, wi mixed veg and plenty black pepper ground in.

Bottle of refilled tap water and the Bairstow Phenomenon on sky (cricket for those not ITK).

Big airport Toblerone, coffee and The Irishman.

Some noodles. A glass of juice and watching Beasts of No Nation again.

Could have timed it better though as the gadgie at the bridge just got his chips.

Made an omelette with chestnut mushrooms, onions, and smoked ham. Chucked in a handful of tiny sweet peppers and finished under the grill with chilli cheese crumbled on the top.
Bottle of ice cold sparkling water poured over frozen lime slices.
Ignoring news about some lioness or other that’s running about England apparently.

Liquorice Allsorts.Germany v France.

Drinking tea, abstaining on McDonald's and watching the twins and the wee yin today.

It's a "grandad can we get?" day today.

That's me relieved of my cash today 😁

Well after being relieved of cash yesterday it's back to my toil today.

But as an auld tradesman from when i was a laddie used to say "today's the day the Golden Eagle shites".

So cup of tea, slice of toast and a quick documentary about Stalingrad then offski

Iranian? Iraqi? Iroquois?

Or maybe they will move on to the next letter and do Japanese?
I really think so.

With cannabis now decriminalised and freely on sale thought I'd indulge in a wee brownie edible. Took an age to hit but nice and mellow now. Listening to 174Hz Solfeggio frequencies.

This thread has been viewed 264372 times.