Dundee United Away in the Scottish Cup

SCOTTISH CUP FOURTH ROUND FIXTURE DETAILS CONFIRMED

Continue reading...

Sunday 19 Jan @ 1500 live on BBC
That’s one way to screw up a good away day and big travelling support

Could be worse I suppose. Gonna head through and make a day of it. Monday off work pencilled in already.

Bonnyrigg on the Saturday, Hibs on the Sunday. Let me see about getting that one past my wife. :unsure:

Try Dingwall on a Wednesday night mate. I askedmy missus if she fancied coming up, the look I got is the one I give people who ask me if I support Hibs or them!

Hope we have better luck than the guy and son who did work for me on the Monday after attending both Hertz and Bonnyrigg getting cuffed in Finals on consecutive days. Nae luck.

Try Dingwall on a Wednesday night mate. I askedmy missus if she fancied coming up, the look I got is the one I give people who ask me if I support Hibs or them!
Score prediction tonight ???

Hope we have better luck than the guy and son who did work for me on the Monday after attending both Hertz and Bonnyrigg getting cuffed in Finals on consecutive days. Nae luck.

Alan Dobbie, Bobby, kent your auld man..Good guy.

I know Alan, a lovely guy - he’s more rose than hearts.

Watching the Dundee derby now

DU are total dogshite

They wouldn't even beat Hearts

DU are total dogshite

They wouldn't even beat Gunts
I agree. Hibs would take both Dundee teams apart. Awful game to watch.

You can see why no one took a punt on Shankland

He might still score mind you

DU are total dogshite

They wouldn't even beat Gunts
Useless

They have a real goal threat in Shankland and Clark and Clark's goal was a beauty. Unfortunately for them in the Dundee derby they were fed on a diet of crumbs all night, and watching United there tonight I am much more confident about Hibs winning the cup-tie than I was when the draw was made. If we can win the midfield we should win the game. Famous last words and all that...

The guy i was on about last week that played for East Fife , his grandson was playing for Utd No 27 . Big laddie for 20

Never watched the match but I see Mackie played the full 90 for Dundee, was he any good?

First game back for us -

Fourth Round: Weekend of Saturday 18 January 2020

The rest -

Fifth Round: Weekend of Saturday 8 February 2020

Sixth Round: Weekend of Saturday 29 February 2020

Semi-Finals: Saturday 11 & Sunday 12 April 2020

Final: Saturday 9 May 2020
12th April my birthday.It would be good if I get a semi on my birthday.

Never watched the match but I see Mackie played the full 90 for Dundee, was he any good?
Never really stood out. I have a couple of Dundee pals who've said he hasn't really shown much. Looks to be another one like Shaw sadly.

I thought he was solid in a good Dundee performance. I’m not sure he’s better than Lewis but he’s probably just what we are needing for the left side of the diamond we are currently playing?

United were extremely poor though. I'm not really sure what his best position is to be honest. Will he make it at Hibs? IMO on the basis of what I've seen it's a no. Time will tell I guess.

Championship is probably the right level for him

They have a real goal threat in Shankland and Clark and Clark's goal was a beauty. Unfortunately for them in the Dundee derby they were fed on a diet of crumbs all night, and watching United there tonight I am much more confident about Hibs winning the cup-tie than I was when the draw was made. If we can win the midfield we should win the game. Famous last words and all that...
Any idea if this will be tickets in advance ( and if so when you buy ) or pay at gate

Shankland on target again with another hattrick today. Why has nobody come in for him yet! Ideally before next Sunday would be great.

Because he comes with baggage.

seems like he’s shifted it this season

Seemingly Celtic at the end of the season is the rumour, will be very tough next week.

He won't be short of offers with United on course to automatic promotion. I heard he wanted to go down to England. 3-5 years down there and he's pretty much set for life.

Aye that Hammond was there watching him today seemingly

member orange lodge I thinf nit

Shankland will be sold at the end of the season. Because of his wage demands no other club in Scotland or England apart from Dundee United were willing to take him on last summer. United needed his goals in the Scottish Championship to guarantee promotion so they went over the odds to land him. Hibs done the same thing with Jason Cummings when we were in our last season in the Championship. Lennon knew he needed him and his guaranteed goals in that league for that last season to ensure promotion, so he flew him and his agent over to Paris to persuade him to sign a new deal. Cummings was keen to leave Hibs after we won the Scottish Cup. Laurence Shankland will be off to Celtic or England in the summer.

I am confident Hibs will win next Sunday although it will be a tough game. First of all I think we will have at least one new player on board. Secondly, United are in the Scottish Championship for a reason...they have not been good enough to play in the top league. They will definately be promoted this season at the fourth time of asking, but they are not as good a team as Hibs. We have to go there and be assertive ourselves. We have to win the midfield. Strikers like Shankland depend on chances being created for them. We have to therefore stop chances being created for him. Win the midfield and we win the game.

Take a draw on Sunday probably, not that confident about the game

A win and no less for me. United aren't a great side.

I agree with both of you. I would take a draw between two sides neither of whom are great.

That’s a fact as evidenced by Ross County snd Livingston away results in recent times and United aren’t far away from those two currently.

We need quality additions to the team and not squad fillers.

I'm not so sure Ross county or Livingston would be sitting miles ahead of the rest in the championship tbh. Think we're in for a really difficult game against a side really high in confidence.

It will be a hard game to win, no doubts about it. What also goes against us is the fact that we will be going into the match having not played a competitive game for three weeks, whilst United have still been playing every week.
I would suggest however that this game is far more important for Hibs than it is for United. Their sole objective for the season is promotion, and that looks a formality now. For them next week-ends cup tie is a sort of bonus for them playing against a major top flight side at home, but if they lose it they won't be too upset given they know they will be coming up next season and will have a whole season of top flight games to look forward to. For Hibs however, defeat basically means the season is over, with only a slog to achieve a top six finish to look forward to.
They have momentum, confidence, and they have been used to winning at home. We have to overcome all this and assert ourselves as the better team, because we are the better team. It's going to be tough, but we have to show who is boss here. A draw and a replay wouldn't be too bad and I would be very confident of winning the replay, however I think we have it in us to rise to the challenge and obstacles we will face at Tannadice and win this game first time around.

We’re playing Motherwell closed doors on Tuesday,hopefully both teams are competitive to get us nearer match fresh.

Can't see this one being treated like the training match where we had 2 hibs teams.

I would suggest however that this game is far more important for Hibs than it is for United. Their sole objective for the season is promotion, and that looks a formality now
It’s a very important game for United as they already have promotion sewn up and have a massive overspend to reduce with the Scottish cup their only means of doing this short term other than selling Shankland.

Nicky Clark broke his ankle yesterday so a wee boost there,if we can stifle Shankland like Dundee did in the derby recently then should be winning.

Just as importantly we have to stop the supply getting to him.
If he doesn't get any chances created for him then he won't score.

This thread has been viewed 9996 times.