Rumour.

@HaarlemShuffler

vNvUHv6T_normal.jpg

Voetbal International

@VI_nl
·
3h
Roda JC heeft met het Schotse Hibernian FC een akkoord bereikt over de transfer van Dylan Vente. De Schotten betalen de hoofdprijs voor de spits, die nog voor één jaar vast lag in Kerkrade.

Given it's Patrick McP putting out the story I suspect it is done and Vente will be next weeks signing to be paraded at Easter Road next Thursday night along with Fish
He even says he's just rehashing reports from the Netherlands.

@HaarlemShuffler

vNvUHv6T_normal.jpg

Voetbal International

@VI_nl
·
3h
Roda JC heeft met het Schotse Hibernian FC een akkoord bereikt over de transfer van Dylan Vente. De Schotten betalen de hoofdprijs voor de spits, die nog voor één jaar vast lag in Kerkrade.
Wouldn't believe everything in VI these days esp not the but that suggests we are paying top dollar?

We shall see.

Given it's Patrick McP putting out the story I suspect it is done and Vente will be next weeks signing to be paraded at Easter Road next Thursday night along with Fish
Wasn’t Patrick I seen. It was Anthony Joseph and on SSN.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

No chance we would be able to pay anything like that for any player.
I think it’s very likely.

Additional investment from the Gordon’s, the corporate sales will add c£1.5m to the bottom line, Doig, Nisbet and Porto deals all in last financial year and even the £150k for Ethan Laidlaw will help.

We’ve just spend £1.2m on two pitches as well!

Is indeed all over the sports pages here. And that Roda were only gonna listen to Eur 1m or better back in the wintrr break for him so can kinda see where the 700k (10 Eur= 9.1 quid or so) is coming from now a half season later.

Still waitin to hear if my BIL knows this guy when a prospect at Feyenoord...

Additional investment from the Gordon’s, the corporate sales will add c£1.5m to the bottom line, Doig, Nisbet and Porto deals all in last financial year and even the £150k for Ethan Laidlaw will help.

You seemed to be hinting at something like this recently

Is indeed all over the sports pages here. And that Roda were only gonna listen to Eur 1m or better back in the wintrr break for him so can kinda see where the 700k (10 Eur= 9.1 quid or so) is coming from now a half season later.

Still waitin to hear if my BIL knows this guy when a prospect at Feyenoord...

I looked at a load of footage of him on you tube tonight.

Facts
He is 24 and has scored a lot of goals in the Dutch 2nd tier
He plays for Roda who finished 15th out of 20 teams last season.
Roda averaged 7,000 at their home games in a league where the average attendances were 5,400 so Hibs and the SPL are a big step up.

Facts and observation
Is apparently 6'1" but doesn't look a tall or strong striker but looks good in the air
Doesn't look fast but makes clever runs
Is right footed but can shoot with both feet

Conclusion
Scores all sorts of goals but has no special weapons of speed, strength or height
He looks ordinary other than the goal scoring but that is without watching him in a game.
Looks a much lesser player than Nisbet to my eyes but that doesn't mean he won't do well at Hibs if given good service.

However, one thing that does concern me is that last weeks opponents Groningen chose to buy, no resale value, Kevin Van Veen aged 32, rather than pay similar money to get 24 year old Dylan Vente who as we now know is a prolific scorer in the Division Groningen now find themselves in and wish to get promoted from. Suggests they don't rate him.

Have a watch yourselves and see what you think.

`

You've had the youtube analysis

Here's the spreadsheet.

Listed as 5'11
Looks to be good off the ball, strong finisher, penalty taker. Good first touch, teamwork and passing. Above average pace and other physical numbers.

Seems a bit of a false 9, deep playing forward.

Spreadsheet also thinks he's horrible in the air, has no strength, or jumping ability.
Poor dribbler too.

Spreadsheet is about 6 or 7 months old, in a league that's probably not overly closely watched.
But I do enjoy having a look at what we might be getting, usually is a reasonable guesstimate.

Contract signed in July 2022, supposed to run until 2025 with an optional extension.

Would explain the quoted fee.

Nisbet came from a lesser league than Vente and he did alright overall. Vente has had two exceptional back to back seasons scoring over 20 goals in each. There is every chance he can make the step up as arguably scoring that amount of goals has shown he's outgrown the league he's been playing in and ready for a new challenge.

Investing in quality additions is absolutely key to success. If we're bringing in good players on 3-4 years we shouldn't be scrambling for loads of players every summer. And with a little luck we'll start getting more transfer fees in time that we can reinvest in the squad.

You've had the youtube analysis

Here's the spreadsheet.

Listed as 5'11
Looks to be good off the ball, strong finisher, penalty taker. Good first touch, teamwork and passing. Above average pace and other physical numbers.

Seems a bit of a false 9, deep playing forward.

Spreadsheet also thinks he's horrible in the air, has no strength, or jumping ability.
Poor dribbler too.

Spreadsheet is about 6 or 7 months old, in a league that's probably not overly closely watched.
But I do enjoy having a look at what we might be getting, usually is a reasonable guesstimate.

Contract signed in July 2022, supposed to run until 2025 with an optional extension.

Would explain the quoted fee.
5'11" certainly looks about right compared to the 6'1" I saw listed

I thought it was plus 200 for laidlaw...?

This is hibs all over. We're selling our young talent gambling trying to copy other clubs.

Look at the state of Marshall yesterday. Look at the money we spent on a crock like McGeady.

Laidlaw could be worth 10 million in a few year.

Jeezie peeps mon... ey.
Laidlaw was offered a contract and refused it.

This is hibs all over. We're selling our young talent gambling trying to copy other clubs.

Look at the state of Marshall yesterday. Look at the money we spent on a crock like McGeady.

Jeezie peeps mon... ey.
Laidlaw could be worth 100 million in a few years.
Or,
He could be playing for some non league club.
Maybe in your book Hibs didnt offer him a contract good enough to make him stay.
The fact remains,
He chose to leave.

Jeezie peeps mon... ey.

We didn't sell him

The 'additional investment' appears to be in the form of loans.

The part of that which scares me is "For part of last season he was coached by former Hibs midfielder Edwin de Graaf." !!!!!!!!
Apart from his time at Hibs....He was a pretty solid player. He was the Breda captain.

I remember speaking to many Ajax fans when we signed....and they were full of praise for him.

Maybe we signed his brother or something.

That’s what makes it an investment, as opposed to a gift.
I was just making it clear it wasn't a gift. I think some people wouldn't necessarily see that the Gordon’s would be getting their money back at some stage.

For example we're often told our season ticket money is an investment in the club but we'll never see that back in our pockets.

I can’t wrap my head around this obsession some fans have about a guy who has never played a single minute of professional football.

Lad clearly has something about him, but you're right, we can't miss or lose out if he's never kicked a ball.

We've had plenty youth superstars who wind up nowhere.

True, but what were the terms?
£10 a week, a new pair of boots every season, entry into our Euro games for free, 25% discount in the Hibs shop... only if he spends mare than £50, no counting items on sale. A bus pass tae get oot tae East Mains for training and games and guaranteed tickets tae our Scottish Cup final next May.
And he turned it doon! :102:

I can’t wrap my head around this obsession some fans have about a guy who has never played a single minute of professional football.
Look at that Dembele lad that Celtic brought through, was supposed to be the next big thing. He's left now but has done sweet FA since. Think he's only had a handful of sub appearances into double digits on the pitch the past season.

History tells us that kids that leave before making the Hibs first team don't generally tend to go on to better things so completely agree Laidlaw has shown absolutely nothing at the level we play at for us to regretting his departure.

My mates laddie, kane Oconnor, went to Brentford a few seasons ago... Didn't work out unfortunately.