Electric cars

I don’t really understand the numbers.

has anyone got one?

Got an old Scalextric set in the attic I think.

nah pile of pish for a number of years yet

I don’t really understand the numbers.

has anyone got one?
A friend of mine who is a mechanic/garage owner says the numbers don't add up, won't add up! They're too expensive to make, too expensive to run and the batteries only last a few years before costing a fortune to replace - making their second hand value crap. Only the well off will be able to afford them.

And don't ask him about the miles you're supposed to get from a charge - he goes off on another rant!

He probably said the same about mobile phones a few years ago!

Have you considered an electric scooter? 😂

I read Apple are making a car tae rival the Tesla, it’s called the Titan. Hope their batteries last longer than their phones 😁
A friend of mine who is a mechanic/garage owner says the numbers don't add up, won't add up! They're too expensive to make, too expensive to run and the batteries only last a few years before costing a fortune to replace - making their second hand value crap. Only the well off will be able to afford them.

And don't ask him about the miles you're supposed to get from a charge - he goes off on another rant!

He probably said the same about mobile phones a few years ago!

Have you considered an electric scooter? 😂

I never realized there’s loads of places you can charge up for free!!!!

And digging up the lithium for the batteries isnae very environmentally friendly

Not
I never realized there’s loads of places you can charge up for free!!!!
You sure?
Usually have to be a member of something or other. All costs.

Not

You sure?
Usually have to be a member of something or other. All costs.
It was the wife that said to me - I’m like….no danger…but when I checked it’s right enough

Free at tesco when you’re shopping, Inverclyde council installed free ones with sg grants…not going to be free from October *though

How long does it take tae charge a car?

Depends on the make, but roughly 30 mins to get tae 80% charge on a fast charger.

About 5.5 hours on a house charger.

Again depends on make o car you will get around 150-170 miles on a full charge.

Even having to pay with the price o fuel you are looking at halfing your fuel bills

Depends on the make, but roughly 30 mins to get tae 80% charge on a fast charger.

Even having to pay with the price o fuel you are looking at halfing your fuel bills
and more than halfing how far you can travel , no thanks

Zap map app is excellent.
They're too expensive to make, too expensive to run and the batteries only last a few years before costing a fortune to replace -
Batteries have a 8-year or 100,000 mile warranty so hes talking pish. Cheaper to run than fuel as well, maybe he's worried hes gonna lose money as with fewer moving parts, there’s far less to worry about. This makes electric car servicing and maintenance much easier and more cost-effective.

Cheers J, I take it lorries will take the same time ?Cannae see there being any long distance trips.

and more than halfing how far you can travel , no thanks
Depends on the individual I suppose. And how they are commuting.

Cheers J, I take it lorries will take the same time ?Cannae see there being any long distance trips.
Prob longer mate, but no doubt be fully charged before it leaves depot etc. And will having to stop etc anyway then can be incorporated into a truck stop.

Depends on the individual I suppose. And how they are commuting.
more pleasure i'm on about

I am considering the new eberlingo...

To fill up my present belingo which is a year old it cost me £67, I will get 400 miles from that.

Elec van would cost me £20 for same mileage.

Maybe need to charge more but no hardship tbh

more pleasure i'm on about
Connect yer you tube to the car and play roaring car sound and accererate accordingly 😅😅😅

i mean how far you could go on a day out lol plus anything even half decent is out of most peoples reach

I think there is a lot of old news here. Ranges are increasing dramatically. EVs are great fun to drive: think a really nippy automatic. The optimum will be to charge at home if you can. That opens up really exciting options for renewables as this provides huge potential for energy storage and selling back into the grid. Concerns about range need to be looked at in the context of how you actually drive. If you regularly do 200m plus It's probably not for you. But most people simply don't do anything like that. The Scottish Govt supported charging network is Chargeplace Scotland. Lots of free charging, but that won't last. There are issues: capital cost (price equalization expected in the next few years, but not yet); rare elements - not so much lithium, but cobalt is an issue; and charging where it can't be done at home. But current models aren't sustainable, particularly given carbon reduction commitments. And unlike a lot of green strategies, EVs are fun, basically because they go like stonk. What's not to love?

i mean how far you could go on a day out lol plus anything even half decent is out of most peoples reach
Glasgow Fort is 42 miles from me.

Technically could go there and back on a full charge. And even if not you plug yer car in and go shopping etc whilst it charges.

I get what you are saying though D, All about peoples personal needs.

And the range of these cars is only gonna keep improving imo.

Depends if it’s single phase or 3 phase supply. I’m a big fan of the idea and almost got one a couple of weeks ago, but decided to wait a few more years to allow mileage to increase. Got a hire BMW X5 hybrid just now after some eedjit crashed into me on the bypass and when it’s in electric it’s acceleration is insane.

How long is it going to be until such cars trickle down to be remotely affordable though ? I regularly do 300+ miles on a day out at weekends and thats before we sort out how and where people charge them at home ?? Some tremendous pie in the sky theories going around when we've yet to master how to have roads not full of pot holes . Anyway electric cars being the norm wont be in my driving lifetime so i'm not gonna worry about it :)

Glasgow Fort is 42 miles from me.

Technically could go there and back on a full charge. And even if not you plug yer car in and go shopping etc whilst it charges.

I get what you are saying though D, All about peoples personal needs.

And the range of these cars is only gonna keep improving imo.
charge it at one of hundreds of charging points ??? All this kind of stuff is going to take years to become reality

Don’t know why you’d to but I reckon it depends on how fast you can run 🏃‍♂️ CHAAAAAAARGE!!!!

Do they hold their value well? It seems to me that they are much more expensive than a petrol or diesel car, and it the depreciation scares me.

An article for you.
It's improving, they're already holding value slightly better and demand should see this get better.

I heard some talking heads on the radio recently discussing where all the extra electricity was going to come from.
The claim was that we'd need to build 4 to 6 new power stations to have a chance of keeping up with the extra demand EVs would cause.

Environmentally friendly...?

I heard some talking heads on the radio recently discussing where all the extra electricity was going to come from.
The claim was that we'd need to build 4 to 6 new power stations to have a chance of keeping up with the extra demand EVs would cause.

They will be if we use renewable energy.
Although, the factories that make these batteries aren't quite as friendly.. Or at least they weren't a few years ago when all this chat started.

An article for you.
It's improving, they're already holding value slightly better and demand should see this get better.
the price of 2nd hand cars in general is rising due to covid / brexit

The car i have now is by far the most expensive ive ever had , here are some of the beautifal , comfortable electric examples i could buy for similar money within 200 miles

www.autotrader.co.uk/car-search?sort=price-asc&postcode=ky62eb&radius=100&include-delivery-option=on&price-from=12000&fuel-type=Electric&seller-type=trade

They will be if we use renewable energy.
Although, the factories that make these batteries aren't quite as friendly.. Or at least they weren't a few years ago when all this chat started.
I think they were suggesting 4 new nuclear or 6 new fossil fuel burning power stations 🤔

That's mental, never knew that.

So cities can stay clean, but everywhere else can be polluted.
Defeats the purpose.

Great info guys thanks, I’m going to read up.

probably not for me due to my location and frequent long journeys but I’ll keep an eye on.

That's mental, never knew that.

So cities can stay clean, but everywhere else can be polluted.
Defeats the purpose.
Aye, that was kinda the gist of what these guys were claiming - I've no idea if they were talking shite or telling the truth though 😀

It would be a lot more than that I would think.
If you convert the energy from all gas guzzlers into electric it’s astronomical. Every town would need it s own power station 😂
The grid is almost maxed out just now.
Scotland at least, has a step on regarding renewable energy.

This thread has been viewed 5150 times.