- Reaction score
I don’t really understand the numbers.
has anyone got one?
A Place Full Of Radges
A friend of mine who is a mechanic/garage owner says the numbers don't add up, won't add up! They're too expensive to make, too expensive to run and the batteries only last a few years before costing a fortune to replace - making their second hand value crap. Only the well off will be able to afford them.I don’t really understand the numbers.
has anyone got one?
A friend of mine who is a mechanic/garage owner says the numbers don't add up, won't add up! They're too expensive to make, too expensive to run and the batteries only last a few years before costing a fortune to replace - making their second hand value crap. Only the well off will be able to afford them.
And don't ask him about the miles you're supposed to get from a charge - he goes off on another rant!
He probably said the same about mobile phones a few years ago!
Have you considered an electric scooter?![]()
You sure?I never realized there’s loads of places you can charge up for free!!!!
It was the wife that said to me - I’m like….no danger…but when I checked it’s right enoughNot
You sure?
Usually have to be a member of something or other. All costs.
Depends on the make, but roughly 30 mins to get tae 80% charge on a fast charger.How long does it take tae charge a car?
and more than halfing how far you can travel , no thanksDepends on the make, but roughly 30 mins to get tae 80% charge on a fast charger.
About 5.5 hours on a house charger.
Again depends on make o car you will get around 150-170 miles on a full charge.
Even having to pay with the price o fuel you are looking at halfing your fuel bills
Zap map app is excellent.![]()
Free Electric Car Charging Points UK: Where are they all? - Zapmap
Out of roughly 42,000 charging devices on Zapmap, we found that – as of April 2023 – 3,568 were free to use. Is there a free charge point near me?www.zap-map.com
Batteries have a 8-year or 100,000 mile warranty so hes talking pish. Cheaper to run than fuel as well, maybe he's worried hes gonna lose money as with fewer moving parts, there’s far less to worry about. This makes electric car servicing and maintenance much easier and more cost-effective.They're too expensive to make, too expensive to run and the batteries only last a few years before costing a fortune to replace -
Cheers J, I take it lorries will take the same time ?Cannae see there being any long distance trips.Depends on the make, but roughly 30 mins to get tae 80% charge on a fast charger.
About 5.5 hours on a house charger.
Again depends on make o car you will get around 150-170 miles on a full charge.
Even having to pay with the price o fuel you are looking at halfing your fuel bills
Depends on the individual I suppose. And how they are commuting.and more than halfing how far you can travel , no thanks
Prob longer mate, but no doubt be fully charged before it leaves depot etc. And will having to stop etc anyway then can be incorporated into a truck stop.Cheers J, I take it lorries will take the same time ?Cannae see there being any long distance trips.
more pleasure i'm on aboutDepends on the individual I suppose. And how they are commuting.
Connect yer you tube to the car and play roaring car sound and accererate accordinglymore pleasure i'm on about
i mean how far you could go on a day out lol plus anything even half decent is out of most peoples reachConnect yer you tube to the car and play roaring car sound and accererate accordingly![]()
Glasgow Fort is 42 miles from me.i mean how far you could go on a day out lol plus anything even half decent is out of most peoples reach
Depends if it’s single phase or 3 phase supply. I’m a big fan of the idea and almost got one a couple of weeks ago, but decided to wait a few more years to allow mileage to increase. Got a hire BMW X5 hybrid just now after some eedjit crashed into me on the bypass and when it’s in electric it’s acceleration is insane.How long does it take tae charge a car?
How long is it going to be until such cars trickle down to be remotely affordable though ? I regularly do 300+ miles on a day out at weekends and thats before we sort out how and where people charge them at home ?? Some tremendous pie in the sky theories going around when we've yet to master how to have roads not full of pot holes . Anyway electric cars being the norm wont be in my driving lifetime so i'm not gonna worry about itDepends if it’s single phase or 3 phase supply. I’m a big fan of the idea and almost got one a couple of weeks ago, but decided to wait a few more years to allow mileage to increase. Got a hire BMW X5 hybrid just now after some eedjit crashed into me on the bypass and when it’s in electric it’s acceleration is insane.
charge it at one of hundreds of charging points ??? All this kind of stuff is going to take years to become realityGlasgow Fort is 42 miles from me.
Technically could go there and back on a full charge. And even if not you plug yer car in and go shopping etc whilst it charges.
I get what you are saying though D, All about peoples personal needs.
And the range of these cars is only gonna keep improving imo.
Don’t know why you’d to but I reckon it depends on how fast you can runHow long does it take tae charge a car?
Do they hold their value well? It seems to me that they are much more expensive than a petrol or diesel car, and it the depreciation scares me.Depends if it’s single phase or 3 phase supply. I’m a big fan of the idea and almost got one a couple of weeks ago, but decided to wait a few more years to allow mileage to increase. Got a hire BMW X5 hybrid just now after some eedjit crashed into me on the bypass and when it’s in electric it’s acceleration is insane.
Do they hold their value well? It seems to me that they are much more expensive than a petrol or diesel car, and it the depreciation scares me.
I heard some talking heads on the radio recently discussing where all the extra electricity was going to come from.
The claim was that we'd need to build 4 to 6 new power stations to have a chance of keeping up with the extra demand EVs would cause.
Environmentally friendly...?
the price of 2nd hand cars in general is rising due to covid / brexitElectric Cars Depreciation vs Hybrid, Diesel & Petrol
Ever wondered how electric vehicle's stack up against others in terms of depreciation? Our latest guide gives you all the info you need.www.projectev.co.uk
An article for you.
It's improving, they're already holding value slightly better and demand should see this get better.
I think they were suggesting 4 new nuclear or 6 new fossil fuel burning power stationsThey will be if we use renewable energy.
Although, the factories that make these batteries aren't quite as friendly.. Or at least they weren't a few years ago when all this chat started.
I think they were suggesting 4 new nuclear or 6 new fossil fuel burning power stations![]()
Aye, that was kinda the gist of what these guys were claiming - I've no idea if they were talking shite or telling the truth thoughThat's mental, never knew that.
So cities can stay clean, but everywhere else can be polluted.
Defeats the purpose.
It would be a lot more than that I would think.I heard some talking heads on the radio recently discussing where all the extra electricity was going to come from.
The claim was that we'd need to build 4 to 6 new power stations to have a chance of keeping up with the extra demand EVs would cause.
Environmentally friendly...?
This thread has been viewed 4719 times.