Wage cuts

If we're interested I'm sure him and his agent will be aware so I'm not sure there is a rush. Any agent worth their salt would bide their time.

For a free agent I'd agree.
If we keep making out that we can't afford to pay any kind of fee it won't make a difference. Dunfermline will need that money and us stalling could push him that way.

Not normally a doom and gloomer, but didn't expect the noises we're now making.

What is your opinion on that, its never crossed my mind until you raised it above?

I've long thought that Ron will want his own CEO in place not one he inherited?

Gordon is doing what he has to do to keep his company afloat in the middle of the biggest crisis we have seen in many decades. It's extremely painful, but Hibs and it's survival are all that matters.
One thing which does baffle me, and maybe I have missed something here. We have already sold 8500 season tickets for 20/21 season. Assuming you would think that in the new TV package we are about to unveil that we will offer some sort of pay per view package to non-season ticket holders which would likely be the equivilant of what it would cost for a ticket to a game, how are we going to lose out on match day income ?

20 odd quid to watch a stream of a game ? Can't seem huge rush for that

Gordon is doing what he has to do to keep his company afloat in the middle of the biggest crisis we have seen in many decades. It's extremely painful, but Hibs and it's survival are all that matters.
One thing which does baffle me, and maybe I have missed something here. We have already sold 8500 season tickets for 20/21 season. Assuming you would think that in the new TV package we are about to unveil that we will offer some sort of pay per view package to non-season ticket holders which would likely be the equivilant of what it would cost for a ticket to a game, how are we going to lose out on match day income ?

cant see fans paying £20 odd per game to watch on the tele. Best we can hope for is £5pay per view to get as many fans getting the ticket as possible. Plus, one person doesn’t go to the game on their own very often, id say they either go with other fans, but again, can’t see people paying £5 per person to watch it on the tele.

juice, pies, etc are a valuable source of revenue. Think about 13k fans buying a coke. How much do you think a post mix costs to make? It’s pennies.

my opinion isif the club say “we will loose X amount per month based on closed doors” we can try and raise as much as we can. The club have been excellent in being open and honest with us, now more than ever it’s key so we can raise to the challenge.

I wonder if the streams will only work for your club too.. or if it'll be an SPFL sign up and everyone gets a share.
Can imagine that would upset the bigot hordes though.

Worrying time for Hibs

No doubt about that

This is where McGregor and Gray really make their money by encouraging these younger players to make the step up

Mugs like me would pay it as a way of helping the club survive in tough times

If sky facilitated a Hibs ppv service, alongside the rest obviously.
How much of that £20 would they take..
Or does Hibs tv piggyback sky feeds and we all pay through Hibs.. Again, Sky will steal a cut I think

I understand how things are but we're going to be in shit state starting from scratch when this is eventually over , maybe we're ahead of the game but my money is staying firmly in my pocket till i know more . I'm not a fuckin charity as someone once said
Could there be an element of Ross using the situation to have a clear out and maybe bring some in of his own choice. Normally managers would be complaining like fcuk, even in very desperate times ? Not heard a peep from him unless he’s offski as well :read:

I really wonder about what someone else said . We'll basically have a minimum of 8500 at every home game , no juice and pie sales but no polis stewards etc either . Those who can afford to chipping in as walk ups , what else have I missed ?

Mibbes having the clear out he was going tae at the end of the season , and just waiting until that was confirmed? Free up wages for new arrivals. Whatever happens all this is pure speculation, nae body outwith the management will ken.

What is your opinion on that, its never crossed my mind until you raised it above?
I'm sure if there is anything in it then it'll come out into the public domain soon enough. If Leeann is still there at beginning of the season it'll just have been gossip.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

I'm sure if there is anything in it then it'll come out into the public domain soon enough. If Leeann is still there at beginning of the season it'll just have been gossip.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Fair enough, it would be a big wage saving, but I worry who would replace her, her many mistakes included.

I've long thought that Ron will want his own CEO in place not one he inherited?

That’s quite possible, although the current incumbent has a very good rep in the game and he’d want to be sure he was getting better by replacing her.

I thought that at the AGM her role appeared much diminished. And obviously I agree with what you say.

Thought so too, but Rodders was hardly media friendly at the best of times and our new man was the main act so I didn’t think it was pointing to a change of role for LD.Time will tell I guess.

This is the reality of it....

They pesky cold hard facts

Someone signing John McGinn this summer would be quite helpful....
Aye it certainly would at least he is back fit for the close of the season getting himself well in the shop window as villa get relegated

Indeed.
This doesnt happen to every club though.
Does it?

Kind of jumping onto this thread a bit late but the facts are the facts.

We are going to have to cut costs but I doubt we are in a worse position than the majority of other clubs in the SPL, there will be few hanging (financially) on by a thread.

Why has Ron not put his hand in his pocket? keeps getting mentioned by a few. I would prefer to see us being viable without hand-outs from a owner, who could get hit by a bus next week. The club needs to be strong on its own, if Ron invests in the Club I would think it will be in the Infrastructure which gives stability and him a longer term return.

Also, stop worrying about competing with the Arabs for Nisbet, they have the money because Shankland is already lines up for sale.

At various times during his near 30 year tenure as club owner, I understand Sir Tom Farmer provided financial guarantees and loans for the club in times of crisis or when finances and trade were low. I have an uneasy feeling Ron Gordon will not be quite as benevolent. He has tried to be as fair as possible with his employees since the lockdown started, but as an American businessman IMO he will instinctively take a ruthless attitude when it comes to profit and loss and the bottom line. It will be the same with all of his companies. I think we are going to have to learn as a club to be completely self-sufficient.
In scottish football, if we are not allowed crowds into our stadiums very soon, it will very much be the survival of the fittest. I very much hope we emerge as one of the fittest.

At various times during his near 30 year tenure as club owner, I understand Sir Tom provided financial guarantees and loans for the club in times of crisis or when finances and trade were low. I have an uneasy feeling Ron Gordon will not be quite as benevolent. He has tried to be as fair as possible with his employees since the lockdown started, but as an American businessman IMO he will instinctively take a ruthless attitude when it comes to profit and loss and the bottom line. It will be the same with all of his companies. I think we are going to have to learn as a club to be completely self-sufficient.
In scottish football, if we are not allowed crowds into our stadiums very soon, it will very much be the survival of the fittest. I very much hope we emerge as one of the fittest.
This has maybe been the problem in the past,having an owner that isn’t that interested and happy for the club to plod along not really achieving much.

Obv no-one wants the situation that has occurred but i’m happy if in future folk at Hibs are pushed by Ron into making us a success on and off the pitch.

Eddie May away now I'm hearing

Saddening to see Hibs folk losing their jobs, but it's happening to thousands of others too. It's going to be a long road to recovery.

“Players and staff are undergoing a 30-day consultation period over cost-cutting after Hibs announced a restructuring process earlier this week. Discussions are ongoing but it is understood there has been initial pushback from the squad.”

“Head of Academy Eddie May, and youth coaches Grant Murray and Lee Makel are expected to leave the club. It is expected the youth academy will be closed down as part of the cost-cutting measures.”

If Hibs are going to temporarily close the Youth Academy and not have a development team (hellish if true), I presume that also means that all the players will be freed. I can see two or three being fast tracked into the first team squad for 20/21 season.

Hibernian FC collectively will live within its means and hopefully survive the financial disaster looming. There are some who live within somebody else's means? Football in Scotland won't survive without fans attending games.

If Hibs are going to close the Youth Academy and not have a development team (hellish if true), I presume that also means that all the players will be freed. I can see two or three being fast tracked into the first team squad for 20/21 season.
Any long term team plans going out the window I guess or is the baby being bunged out with the bath water :unsure:

Well well well

Only a matter of time

We'll all be in the same boat shortly

I have faith in our youth

Wow
226C099F-E6F0-40C2-8613-D281A39F789F.jpeg

Well well well

Mibbes teams no willing tae say if they’re toiling so clubs dinnae make derisory offers for their players? . Probs find other teams following suit now. Still, rather be skint and in the big league playing games before October?

At various times during his near 30 year tenure as club owner, I understand Sir Tom Farmer provided financial guarantees and loans for the club in times of crisis or when finances and trade were low. I have an uneasy feeling Ron Gordon will not be quite as benevolent. He has tried to be as fair as possible with his employees since the lockdown started, but as an American businessman IMO he will instinctively take a ruthless attitude when it comes to profit and loss and the bottom line. It will be the same with all of his companies. I think we are going to have to learn as a club to be completely self-sufficient.

We've had over 8500 already paid for a full season , how much is this Sky thing costing us i wonder ???

If Hibs are going to temporarily close the Youth Academy and not have a development team (hellish if true), I presume that also means that all the players will be freed. I can see two or three being fast tracked into the first team squad for 20/21 season.
We can’t play any games and it costs clubs a fortune to test all the players for what are really just friendlies,mothballing it is harsh but that’s where we are.
Reckon you’re right about a few being promoted to the 1st team.

I’d guess we will also lose funding from sfa for academy which from memory is in the region of 600k. pa

I could be wrong but it’s the SFA that are advising there will be no Pro Youth football until January.
I’ll try to find out if it’s true.

“Players and staff are undergoing a 30-day consultation period over cost-cutting after Hibs announced a restructuring process earlier this week. Discussions are ongoing but it is understood there has been initial pushback from the squad.”

“Head of Academy Eddie May, and youth coaches Grant Murray and Lee Makel are expected to leave the club. It is expected the youth academy will be closed down as part of the cost-cutting measures.”

Damm right there has been an initial push back from the squad as they are greedy footballers who think the world owes them a living but more importantly they were sold a complete fairy story 3 months ago.?.

Take a wee wage deferral lads which means you still get 100% of your salary and all I ask in return is you visit a few hospitals and make a few phone calls to the fans and tell them to stay big and strong and it will all be better in the morning when they can then buy their season ticket?

Jack Ross included as he then went on a set up TV interview to crow about the "huge sacrifices" him and the lads were making knowing full well it really didn't come any better than this in the middle of a fkn pandemic.

Pass the sick bag.?

Cue 3 months later and sleepy old Ron then wakes up from his slumber and suddenly realizes what everyone else has spotted yonks ago which is there is no live football ( with fans) in 2020 and likely beyond and you can forget about any corporate or sponsorship income.?

Suddenly there is a £6m to £8m wage bill to pay so deep cuts have to be made but all the goodwill has gone as you now have to go back to the players for a second time and this time not face to face and individually but via a group Zoom call.

Nae wonder the players are incandescent as they were sold a pup by an owner and Chief Executive completely asleep at the wheel.

Its now hard cold reality that has kicked in which is something high earning footballers have no experience of as their cossetted wee world can't comprehend 25% to 50% salary cuts to keep their jobs.

Note to self:
Make this the last time you have a wee tantrum on this subject.??

This thread has been viewed 12912 times.