Hecky thought Scottish football was crap

F4E5C0C0-6104-443A-B6CC-343760A6FF46.jpeg

most used players by phb this season by minutes played, and percentage of all minutes.

I think it highlights just how unbalanced his team selections were.

Doidge had less minutes than Flo wow would never have thought that

flo has scored 6 to Doidges 2

That's less surprising - and doidge 2 goals came against alloa and some other lower league pish?

English manager comes to Scotland with pre conceived ideas that the league is crap is right up there with "Do bears sh#t in the woods".

Contempt for Scottish football would be deep in his physche and his stubborn personality wouldn't allow his brain to see what his eyes were telling him week after week.

I am just surprised he didn't make a comment like "Its like a different country up here" given so many English people (and Scottish people for that matter) regard Scotland as an extension of England.

Teams like Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen would you yo yo between top of league 1 and the English Championship where they would rarely last long though there are plenty examples of similar sized clubs to suggest on occasions they just might.

PHB didn't fail because of his pre conceived ideas though.

He failed in his recruitment obviously but crucially he failed due to his reluctance to play his better players ahead of his duds, he didn't rate the younger players, tactically he seemed to be boxed into a one striker policy for every game and most surprisingly he didn't seem to understand the neccesity of a central defensive midfield lynchpin.

He has been very well paid for his failure and should be able to con his way back onto the gravy train sometime in the future.

I think if they had the money the championship teams in England get they'd do alright. Aberdeen hibs and Hawrts could hold their own with a bit of cash I reckon. I know it was a one off but Aberdeen arguably could have beaten Burnley last season in Europe (they certainly had a few chances down there) then you have the billionaires of man city who couldn't beat Celtic, twice.

Aye but i'm on about the standard of teams how they are , of course its down to money . Celtic did well against Man City but they'd be miles behind over a season

Indeed but he plays for us every week . Some very good sides in the championship and a few crap ones . If i'm honest in my opinion most of the SPL would struggle in it

If we had their money, we would, 100%. Look at Swansea, for instance. No way they’re bigger than Hibs (and I’ve followed the Jacks for a few years when I lived down south).

Flo’s last league goal was back in March I think ?

If we had their money, we would, 100%. Look at Swansea, for instance. No way they’re bigger than Hibs (and I’ve followed the Jacks for a few years when I lived down south).

Yes but i'm reacting to people saying the chamionship is crap which it obviously isnt . And this bigger thing is something i rarely get , what are these things decided on ?

I always think of it in terms of stature; as in, history, relative fame, location in capitals/major cities etc

Location makes a difference ie capitals ? I really can't decide what makes one club bigger than another

Flo’s last league goal was back in March I think ?

mine v st Johnstone in the 2-2 draw but apart from that yes back to match I think?

Right enough, good finish too

View attachment 1593

most used players by phb this season by minutes played, and percentage of all minutes.

I think it highlights just how unbalanced his team selections were.

Fair few injuries need to be thrown into the mix there B?

Bournemouth are another example - tiny stadium, but the EPL money has changed the game for them.

Location makes a difference ie capitals ? I really can't decide what makes one club bigger than another

Having a Castle is very important.
Fact.

Unless it’s Tynecastle obviously.

Jesus how did he pull the wool over the eyes of the people who interviewed him? He claims he didn’t know much about Scottish football yet we offered him a contract. That worries me

Surely to fuck he didn't say that at his interview?

Fair few injuries need to be thrown into the mix there B?

yes - I’ll put the full list up soon

James Collins scores goals in the championship - i would just say that goes to show the championship is shit. Eoin Doyle scores plenty too think that's in league 1? People seem to automatically equate how much players/teams cost and get influenced by that when deciding how good they are - look at Oliver Burke for example he has gone for God knows how many millions and he was utter shite at Celtic - he's got pace to burn but with the ball at his feet he's a headless chicken - absolute Dugshite.
As much I would like to believe the English Championship is shite, it isn’t.
In fact I think it is a very good standard which only Celtic and Rangers could compete in terms of Scottish teams.
We just need to accept that some players flourish at different clubs, even though they have been poor with Hibs.
It not unique to Hibs although I admit sometimes it seems so!

I think if they had the money the championship teams in England get they'd do alright. Aberdeen hibs and Hawrts could hold their own with a bit of cash I reckon. I know it was a one off but Aberdeen arguably could have beaten Burnley last season in Europe (they certainly had a few chances down there) then you have the billionaires of man city who couldn't beat Celtic, twice.
There are a lot of huge “ifs in your argument tbh.

I think comparing the championship to spl is the problem. The game is so different it may as well be comparing darts to pool. That's why managers and players struggle to make the switch in either direction. With a few exceptions (cough) mcginn (cough)

That’s
He had long enough at the end of last season to see the standard of Scottish football, yet still signed below par players in the summer. Arrogant and incompetent. I'm glad he's gone.
exactly. After the initial run of games we began to struggle and apart from the Guntz we were worse than the rest of the top 6. He should have known what was needed

That’s

exactly. After the initial run of games we began to struggle and apart from the Guntz we were worse than the rest of the top 6. He should have known what was needed
The thing about that is that he said he was delighted to see us 'tested' against the other 5 teams in the top half. Apparently it would give him a better idea of where we were AND what we needed to take us forward....

FUD!!!

And tae think there were people who thought Hibs statement yesterday was disrespectful tae that arrogant little fud. If Scottish fitba is shite, he's shiter because he failed big time up here with the shite he signed. Good fuckin' riddance tae bad fuckin' rubbish :852:

In fact I think it is a very good standard which only Celtic and Huns could compete in terms of Scottish teams.
We just need to accept that some players flourish at different clubs, even though they have been poor with Hibs.

Celtc and the Huns would do just fine in Englands Premier League, with the money that sloshes around.

With the money you get in Engerlund's Premier League Hibs would do just fine. Just a fact. Probably got a bigger fan base than some of the clubs that play there.

Probably

With the money you get in Engerlund's Premier League Hibs would do just fine. Just a fact. Probably got a bigger fan base than some of the clubs that play there.

Indeed.

Yet teams like Newcastle regularly struggle and Villa were down for a while then theres the two Sheffield teams and others . Deopends on how the money is spent i suppose but we struggle to compete with St Johnstone or Motherwell on a fairly regular basis

That's less surprising - and doidge 2 goals came against alloa and some other lower league pish?
Lower league and pish - perfect match for diddy hecky and his diddymen signings.

Bournemouth are another example - tiny stadium, but the EPL money has changed the game for them.
Great example, toy town club steroid-pumped on EPL millions

Yet teams like Newcastle regularly struggle and Villa were down for a while then theres the two Sheffield teams and others . Deopends on how the money is spent i suppose but we struggle to compete with St Johnstone or Motherwell on a fairly regular basis

You know I go to Everton, I reckon there is little between the clubs bar the Sky money.

Surely Everton have maybe double our attendances ? I know money is the major factor but it obviously isnt the only thing

That's a true and ruthlessly honest assesment.

Are you ok?

That's a true and ruthlessly honest assesment.

Are you ok?

?

In fact I think it is a very good standard which only Celtic and Huns could compete in terms of Scottish teams.
Fair point. Doidge flourished at Forrest Green but has done nothing at Hibs. I would like to think a new manager would change that but so far I've seen nothing positive in Doidge. Has anyone out there seen him play at Forrest Green, is there a descent player in there. For Hibs sake I would like to think so. Save us looking for another striker.
If Hecky was clueless as it appears then maybe some of these players might actually do well.
It's just a thought.

Fair point. Doidge flourished at Forrest Green but has done nothing at Hibs. I would like to think a new manager would change that but so far I've seen nothing positive in Doidge. Has anyone out there seen him play at Forrest Green, is there a descent player in there. For Hibs sake I would like to think so. Save us looking for another striker.
If Hecky was clueless as it appears then maybe some of these players might actually do well.
It's just a thought.

59 goals in 108 appearances shows he knows where the goals are , ok its at a lower level but its still putting the ball in the net . Lower standard of opposition but lower standard of team mates too . I reckon if he can get a couple he might just do quite well for us

Off topic but is it hard to get Everton home tickets? Might go to their game against Villa towards end of season

It might not seem like much at a glance.
But our styles of football are different. How many central midfielders have made it work both sides of the borders.

You're allowed to play a bit down there, less so here.
John McGinn works because his engine and drive translate to their game. Their play style doesnt mould into our game as well.

His style of football (what it eventually became) works for slugger clubs down there because it's a little less relentless.

If Scottish clubs were funded and promoted the same way they were, we'd all compete and find a reasonable level.
Celtic and Hunco will never get in down there because with serious funding theres a real possibility of them upsetting the balance.

This thread has been viewed 14172 times.