Coffee

Braehead Cabbage

Baldy radge
What's your favourite instant coffee?
Lavazza intenso for me
Any recommendations?

I've got a pod machine so it's Lavazza Passionale for me

Lavazza for me too

What's your favourite instant coffee?
Lavazza intenso for me
Any recommendations?

None, its all honking.

I use a cafetiere filled with Java Roast from Aldi or Kapal Api from Indonesia, which I bring back when I visit

None, its all honking.

I use a cafetiere filled with Java Roast from Aldi or Kapal Api from Indonesia, which I bring back when I visit
How very middle class

Murieston. Cannie hide money.

How very middle class
Or foreign-influenced: instant coffee is pretty shit when compared to what I drink too, which is Dutch bog standard filter coffee from the local super, probs of Indonesian origin too. Just streets ahead of instant and believe me, I have no middle class budget

Instant coffee? How positively philistine.

How very middle class

Murieston. Cannie hide money.

Fuck off the pair of you, the bag of Java is £2 in Aldi, Kapal Api is 70p a packet. How much are you paying for your coffee pods, Lavazza Instanto or Gold Blend?

I have never drank a cup of instant coffee and thought, yum that is good.

We've got a filter machine and at 7:30 am there's fresh coffee. It's either an Italian (5) or French (4 blend) from Aldi.

We have a pod machine too (Nescafe Dolce Gusto). We get various pods but avoid those that involve milk pods. Testing the Aldi pods for this - good enough so far!

I also like coffee made with just milk. Nescafe for that.

When we travel I have Nescafe sachets.

Fuck off the pair of you, the bag of Java is £2 in Aldi, Kapal Api is 70p a packet. How much are you paying for your coffee pods, Lavazza Instanto or Gold Blend?

I get a box of 16 pods for 3.50 in Asda or Tesco

I get at least 15 cups out of my £2 bag of coffee from Aldi, its why I can afford to live in Murieston and go to Bali every three years. :giggley:

Lavazza Intenso is over £4 in supermarkets but only £2 odds in Pound Stretcher for the tin. I stockpile them from there for work.
The Lavazza Delizio pods are a bit dearer. Have the odd one at the weekend using our Lavazza machine.

Get yourselves a proper coffee machine - grind your own beans. The difference is amazing.

Dirty bastard.

I get at least 15 cups out of my £2 bag of coffee from Aldi, its why I can afford to live in Murieston and go to Bali every three years. :giggley:
Aw shucks, I'll just have to slum it in Tuscany again this year

@Forza obviously drinks fcukall coffee. He’s permanently on fcukin holiday.

Approx 3.5 quid for about 40-50 mugs of excellent filter coffee per month. That's why I love NL. Oh aye, and the plentiful choice of weed of course! :wolfie::razz::omg:

£1:99 in home bargains,you'll no have heard of it.

For the tin of Intenso? Black or Gold?

Gold

No need, I dinnae drink instant coffee.

Prefer the Intenso Prontissimo Black but the Gold is fine too.

• 51gqrjOf+5L._SY445_.jpg
    51gqrjOf+5L._SY445_.jpg
    27.7 KB · Views: 9
Prefer the Intenso Prontissimo Black but the Gold is fine too.

Is that coffee straight into a cup with ot water?

None..can't stand coffee.

Is that coffee straight into a cup with ot water?
Yep. Don't have time for anything more elaborate during the working week. Hibs mug, spoon and the tin. Nae milk or sugar. Usually stone cold by the time I drink it in a oner.
Doesn't taste like instant. No 1 coffee in Italy. I like the coffee in Italy. It's win win. Doesn't give you gut rot like some instants.

Bought a Lavazza machine for home but that's just at weekends. Sunday morning usually.

I use a big fuck off steam screaming bean tae cup Italian effort I have. Makes single/double / long or espresso. HP steam for Cappuccino or Lattes, which I rarely use unless guests fancy that. The irony is just today I bought a jar of Nescafe instant Decaf. The coffee I get from the machine is great but caffeine heavy so strictly cut off time of about 6pm or widnae be able to sleep. If I fancy something after that the kettle is on and the wee Decaf jar out.

Filter coffee is clearly superior to the instant stuff, but Lavazza and Illy ( Kenco Millicano is alright too) make some decent instant stuff too. They wouldn't make shite simply to protect their brands.

No doubt a degree of pretentiousness when it comes to coffee. Good instant isn't shite, it tastes alright.

Used to have a filter machine in my flat when I stayed in Edinburgh and loved brewing a decent pot of coffee at the weekends. Since I moved down south we've got one of those Tassimo machines which I get the Costa Americano pods for. These are pretty good although you don't get a very large mug out of it!

At work it's instant shite and usually Nescafe Gold Blend, not great but it gets you through the day!

Filter coffee is clearly superior to the instant stuff, but Lavazza and Illy ( Kenco Millicano is alright too) make some decent instant stuff too. They wouldn't make shite simply to protect their brands.

No doubt a degree of pretentiousness when it comes to coffee. Good instant isn't shite, it tastes alright.

I have tried Millicano, I didnt like it, just strong instant coffee, never tried the Lavazza or Illy stuff. Is the UK the only place in the world where instant coffee is no. 1?

None..can't stand coffee.
Reported

I'm with Purple and Green here. I buy 6kg of templo espresso beans and grind them as required, last months and good in espresso machines and filter.

I have tried Millicano, I didnt like it, just strong instant coffee, never tried the Lavazza or Illy stuff. Is the UK the only place in the world where instant coffee is no. 1?
That's pretty much what it is. I drink 4/5 cups of coffee a day, I think I'd end up mental if I drank filtered all the time!

Used to only drink filter stuff at weekends as a treat but then we started this "coffee club" at work where folk would bring in bags of good filter coffee of varying strengths (usually strong stuff though). That is exactly what happened!

Try the Java from Aldi, its nice. I drink three a day,all before 12 middayish, anytime after that I end up wired and cannae sleep at night!

Dont really do instant coffee.
Espresso. Strong as it can be.

These are pretty good although you don't get a very large mug out of it!

Not sure about your machine but I use 2 pods in the Nescafe Dolce Gusto when I want a large one. Heat the milk in the microwave first.

Yeah I could just use 2, would work out pretty expensive though. There is also the Kenco Americano XL pods, which do make you a decent sized cuppa, but they don't taste as nice!

I noticed when I was on holiday in Italy (stealth holiday insert) in just about every cafe or ticket office folk came in, stuck 1 euro on the counter, got served an espresso, downed in a oner and then left. A wee caffeine hit to keep them going.

Christ, Jack!
You'd be cheaper with viagra........

I've got a pod machine now and never touch instant stuff any more. I start the day with a Dolce Gusto Americano Intenso as it's a braw kick start. But then partly because I'm tight and partly because I'm environmentally conscious (ok mostly cos I'm tight) I use refillable pods for the rest of the day, filled with Costco Colombian (£7.99 for 1.36kg). Ended up ordering a tamper from the US to get exactly the right diameter for pressing the coffee in to the pods.

I keep a stash of Aldi Americano pods too in case I'm on a work call or something and can't concentrate on filling a pod at same time.

This thread has been viewed 5662 times.

£18.75