Lost Edinburgh pubs/clubs

I seem to remember a pub in the St James center that was supposed to be trendy but was a bit naff like Cafe Noir. Boston Bean or something.

The Laidlaw guy you mention who had the Coburg , well his laddie , Calvin Laidlaw was at school with me , and he had the volley for quite a few years G .
Useless information a ken , but it brings back memories . :rascal:

Loyalist pub and names his son Calvin - doesnae get mair staunch :rollfloor

I seem to remember a pub in the St James center that was supposed to be trendy but was a bit naff like Cafe Noir. Boston Bean or something.

i mind that and I think your not far off with the name, it was something like that

The abercorn on Portobello road . Mistys in porty high street. Bobby McGees in rose street lane . Good times in ma yoof !!
A few good nights in The Abercorn. I got to the final of a competition to win a trip to Mexico 86 and my brother said, how were you going to explain being a few months short of your 18th birthday if you'd won and been going in their for a couple of years. Maybe just as well I didn't win:Embarassed:

Boston Bean Company, entrance was outside the centre doors above The King James.

The black swan. Loved that pub was close to home game of pool bit friendly banter
Now a ponce pub that sells beer in a tea pot

The black swan. Loved that pub was close to home game of pool bit friendly banter

I loved that boozer too. not too far from there was The Tatler, another regular haunt of mine.

Here's a facebook page dedicated to Edinburgh pubs... https://www.facebook.com/EdinburghPubHistory?fref=nf

Badabing. FFS what's it all come to M.

I loved that boozer too. not too far from there was The Tatler, another regular haunt of mine.

How long ago did you drink in there
The tatler the other day I couldn't mind name of cameo before that was it wasn't it?

How long ago did you drink in there
The tatler the other day I couldn't mind name of cameo before that was it wasn't it?

I was a regular in The Black Swan early 80s. I used to work over the road from it.

Aye the Tatler went on to be the Cameo after it was sold.

The Preservation Halls isn't a pub anymore is it?

Finnegans Wake is it no?

a lot of exiled Spanish punters in there watching la liga last couple of times I've been in on the way to the Bow Bar

meet you in Badabing later?

em naw you're alright.

Good news for the Gunner diaspora though, they can reconvene in the urban bar and grill at the urban village at Crewe toll

What's worse, badabing or hoot the redeemer?

The Rutland at the West End....many a braw Saturday night in there. Great place for talent spotting of the female variety....Always mobbed and if the bouncers didn't like the look of you, you didnae get in. Plenty paggers late on outside especially waiting in that taxi rank just outside the Caley Hotel. When you see the gentile civility of what is there now it's hard to believe it is the same building it was back in the day...it's some upmarket restaurant type thing that most folk from Edinburgh can't afford to go to.

That's where I did most of my underage drinking! Two mates were lifted while I was in the toilet!

There, the Rose Revived and Ma Scotts! Then on to Aquarius, the White Elephant/Elephant and Castle? (The place the young Hibs players of the time went) where the Tollcross dole office is now, or as a last resort over the road to whatever Clouds called itself at the time. There was also the International? where the now closed Licorice Club is/wiz. It was shite then as well.

Used to drink in there after nightshift in the early 90s, or the Boundary Bar, or the Phoenix. Only the last is still standing. I don't think I've been into the gaffe that the Boundary turned into.

Aw man, the Phoenix. What a great pub back in the 90s! And what a strange mix of customers on a Friday night!

There was also a cracking pub/club over 3 levels just down from St Andrew's Square, where the McDonalds is now?

Also, the one in St James Centre. Boston Bean was the one you entered just over from the HMV was it not, part of the hotel. There was also one right in the middle of the centre around where the food court is now. Anyone recall what that was called.

Also "Peaches" on Morrison Street!

There was also a cracking pub/club over 3 levels just down from St Andrew's Square, where the McDonalds is now?

Also, the one in St James Centre. Boston Bean was the one you entered just over from the HMV was it not, part of the hotel. There was also one right in the middle of the centre around where the food court is now. Anyone recall what that was called.

aye, the Boston Bean Company where you got jugs of beer and weren't allowed to drink out of the jug or you got thrown out [apparently]. I thought the one in the middle was jsut called the St James Bar although I could easily be wrong. It was up the stairs in the middle of the centre and was a decent place for pulling young laydeeez.

That's another area Al where well know Edinburgh pubs dissapeared in the the late 60's to make way for the monstrosity that is the St. James Centre. I remember as a young person this area with pubs,tailors like John Colliers, Jeromes the photographers where the whole family could get their photy taken with sumptuous painted backgrounds where folk without a bolt at least looked as though they had been to Capri, the dancing at the Top Storey Club,eating places and the pictures. Also a couple of knocking shops I heard later, all in what was basically a warren of tenements. 4000 people were moved out from the area when they were cleared.Tragically enough, the same process took place at the opposite end of Leth Walk when the auld Kirkgate got the same 'makeover'.

466264929.jpg

The Laidlaw guy you mention who had the Coburg , well his laddie , Calvin Laidlaw was at school with me , and he had the volley for quite a few years G .
Useless information a ken , but it brings back memories . :rascal:

I know Calvin. Really nice guy. I thing he eventually had to give the Volly up as he has been afflicted with that bastard condition MS.

That's another area Al where well know Edinburgh pubs dissapeared in the the late 60's to make way for the monstrosity that is the St. James Centre. I remember as a young person this area with pubs,tailors like John Colliers, Jeromes the photographers where the whole family could get their photy taken with sumptuous painted backgrounds where folk without a bolt at least looked as though they had been to Capri, the dancing at the Top Storey Club,eating places and the pictures. Also a couple of knocking shops I heard later, all in what was basically a warren of tenements. 4000 people were moved out from the area when they were cleared.Tragically enough, the same process took place at the opposite end of Leth Walk when the auld Kirkgate got the same 'makeover'.

466264929.jpg

Thanks for that G - one of the interesting things about these threads is the 'different Edinburghs' recalled by different generations. Trying to imagine a pre St James era is hard for those of us who never knew it by dint of its monstrous scale. I've only ever seen images of Leith street before but this aerial shot illustrates that basically a whole neighbourhood got tanned, while your account brings that to life.

Cheers

aye, the Boston Bean Company where you got jugs of beer and weren't allowed to drink out of the jug or you got thrown out [apparently]. I thought the one in the middle was jsut called the St James Bar although I could easily be wrong. It was up the stairs in the middle of the centre and was a decent place for pulling young laydeeez.

The Spot was upstairs in the middle Dub

Not quite a pub, but I do seem to remember a metal monstrosity sculpture at the top of leith walk

The Kinetic Sculpture. Meccano with coloured light tubes that lit randomly according to wind speeds.
Was damaged by a Hun thrown beer bottle and despite huge amounts of cash thrown at it, never recovered.
The pet project of Brian Annable who was City Architect at the time.

The Kinetic Sculpture. Meccano with coloured light tubes that lit randomly according to wind speeds.
Was damaged by a Hun thrown beer bottle and despite huge amounts of cash thrown at it, never recovered.
The pet project of Brian Annable who was City Architect at the time.

I think it must have been Brian Annable who was involved with commissioning that other Hibs first...the electronic birthday greetings/scoreboard which remarkably within a short period displayed characters which to the untrained eye were suspisiously Cantonese in style.

That was a belter. It broke down very first time in use didn't it? Or did it actually function for a wee while. Think it was sponsored by the Scotsman / Evening News in these heady days when the rag was worth reading. Broken down crappy news..... Sign of things to come.

Great shout. I had a wee brief visit one night in there in the female toilet. Great times.

That was a belter. It broke down very first time in use didn't it? Or did it actually function for a wee while. Think it was sponsored by the Scotsman / Evening News in these heady days when the rag was worth reading. Broken down crappy news..... Sign of things to come.

It functioned 間歇 then 完全搞砸了 Sponsored by 人民日報 if I remember correctly.

Great shout. I had a wee brief visit one night in there in the female toilet. Great times.

Named above - it was actually called magnolias peach, though everybody just called it peaches.

Beua Brummell, Biancos, amphitheatre, zenatec

My brain tells me the scoreboard worked perfectly well until Benny Brasil launched a shot that took it out?

Thats up there in hibs mythology, they also say he once scored a hattrick against Celtc.:wink:

466264929.jpg

- - - Updated - - -[/CO

I know Calvin. Really nice guy. I thing he eventually had to give the Volly up as he has been afflicted with that $#@! condition MS.

Didnae ken that mate . sad movies indeed . Calvin is a fine lad .

Bouncers , I give you MADHATTERS !
Royal archer .
White cocade in rose!street
PENNY BLACK . anybody got served in there . :detective:

Champagne Charlies, top of North Castle Street, frequented in the early 80s, full of burgundy suits and wedge haircuts. Mars Bar (very good jukie) on Thistle St. La Grenouille on Abercromby Place.

What was the name of the boozer along the road from the Mars Bar. Used to stoat round from the Queens Arms to catch a couple of late ones there.

And what in the name of sweet Jesus have they done to Pearces? FM!

Bouncers , I give you MADHATTERS !
Royal archer .
White cocade in rose!street
PENNY BLACK . anybody got served in there . :detective:

A guy ran at me with a barstool there one night. Said I was staring at him. Swear to God the first time I ever clapped eyes on him was when he had the stool in his hands. I was staring at him then, no mistaking.

Lauriston Tap, the Mission

At the risk of being pedantic, it was The Tap o' Lauriston :Sparkle_Cool:

Absolutely correct - and not pedantic at all

Thanks for that G - one of the interesting things about these threads is the 'different Edinburghs' recalled by different generations. Trying to imagine a pre St James era is hard for those of us who never knew it by dint of its monstrous scale. I've only ever seen images of Leith street before but this aerial shot illustrates that basically a whole neighbourhood got tanned, while your account brings that to life.

Cheers

Dinnae get too misty eyed over it. My mum's family lived there. It was basically slums. They got moved to the Inch. Speaking of which, The Rob Roy was another dodgy boozer.

Something else made me think of the pubs at the old St Andrews bus Station...The Postillion & the Travellers Tryst

Anyone remember a 'cool' bar on George St called The Edge?

Next to Mars Bar was the Thistle, I think.

Anyone remember McKays in Morrison Street? Also the Auld Reekie further down.

It worked the first time I went to Easter road may 1985. Never seen it work again.

The Garrick on bread street? Just off castle terrace - a veritable dive that even in the hey days of the late 80s was rarely busy. Good stop off on the way yo the cow gate though.

The falcon became montpelliers didn't it? Is it still there?

This thread has been viewed 25406 times.