Will soon be inspecting the remains of the insides of a bottle of Strathcolm 12yo after other sins!
Not half! Yum.
mince pie more than a suitable substitute.No chocolate this evening (apologies to @emerald green). Tis the mince pie season. Match made in heaven with whisky. This is a Master of Malt Christmas bottling of Craigellachie 11 year old.
View attachment 20396
Well in SanchWhat does 'Hearach' mean in Gaelic?
Hearach means native of Harris. It's not peaty at all. Sherry finish. Tastes quite young, maybe 8 years. Goes lovely with mince pie and stollen slice. Winter spices, cinnamon, orange and cloves. Tiny hint of smoke.What does 'Hearach' mean in Gaelic?
What are the characteristics of this Harris malt apart from what's on the label and being peaty, presumably?
Like the kingfisher coffee![]()
Looking good - the whisky that is!
Hearach means native of Harris. It's not peaty at all. Sherry finish. Tastes quite young, maybe 8 years. Goes lovely with mince pie and stollen slice. Winter spices, cinnamon, orange and cloves. Tiny hint of smoke.
Think you and @Sancho Panza been drinking from that same well... would hate 2 think AI @ work!!Hearach means native of Harris. It's not peaty at all. Sherry finish. Tastes quite young, maybe 8 years. Goes lovely with mince pie and stollen slice. Winter spices, cinnamon, orange and cloves. Tiny hint of smoke.
The coffee is Lavazza Red.
lovely![]()
Looks quite dark. Caramel?Boxing Day night perfectionView attachment 20518
I just had the “barman’s nip” of my Old Pulteney last night and might open the Bunnahabhain tonight depending on a certain result.Looks quite dark. Caramel?
Smoothing my way through some Old Pulteney at present. V fruity.
Nope. Natural colour and non-chill filtered. Absolute sherry monster.Looks quite dark. Caramel?
Smoothing my way through some Old Pulteney at present. V fruity.
Eeee you lucky man. Rat bairn has banned me from drinking whiskyNope. Natural colour and non-chill filtered. Absolute sherry monster.
Now THAT would be a vote winner BTH.Sipping a Bunnahabhain after eating too much for dinner - wonder if I could get it on the NHS?
Out on a limb wi that, no?View attachment 20550
Tipple for tonight. Smokey variant of the regular Monkey Shoulder.
Not bad for a blend. Peaty but sweet and easy on the palette. Would recommend.
Out on a limb wi that, no?
Looks good. Does it say which grains are involved in the blend?
I asked as I was recommended a mslt blend a coupla months back by an iff-licencer here and I took his advice slightly against my doubts...No it doesn't sadly. Might have a wee search to find out later though.
Was a pressie from the inlaws so they rolled the dice on my behalf. I was quietly confident though with the regular Monkey Shoulder being one of the better hipster blends. This is just as good. Earns it's fancy bottle.

If you’re first footing with that, I’ll give you my address!Just renewed my SMWS membership. £70 or £90 with a mystery malt. Got sent this today.
View attachment 20560
14 year old Speyside. 62.3% abv. Must be worth the renewal price on its own!
Oi I've already pm'd MY address. And booked a driver.If you’re first footing with that, I’ll give you my address!
Never seen this one before.. I'll take a look onlineAn old favourite this evening. Angel's Envy Port Finish Kentucky Bourbon. Heavenly stuff.
View attachment 20429
"Whisky" Shirley?Just finished my whiskey club quota of clyneleish 18. Was a really nice dram. Done alright for whiskey this year, I got bowmore 12, Ardbeg 10 (which is one of my favourites). Glenfiddich 12 and a glen moray which i really quite like. Oh and a bottle of gentleman's Jack's from my laddie..

"Whisky" Shirley?
Whiskey is the Irish or Yank version, or so my dad taught me.
Bladnoch Vinaya is available on Amazon for £45 just now.Absolute steal
Finished a bottle not long ago. Lovely stuff.Bladnoch Vinaya is available on Amazon for £45 just now.Absolute steal
Another two arriving via Amazon tomorrow ! Price likely to rise substantially soon I think.Finished a bottle not long ago. Lovely stuff.
Not pedantic.Doc is right. Scotch whisky is just that and never any other spelling.Pedants of the world unite!
I think I need to rein it in. Must have close to 50 bottles now.Another two arriving via Amazon tomorrow ! Price likely to rise substantially soon I think.
You don't have to drink them all at once!I think I need to rein it in. Must have close to 50 bottles now.![]()
Good call. I'm ready to rush and help at a moments notice.View attachment 20566
Sancho panza and Eh17 Jimmy might need some help get a Joe ………………………………………………………………….jist follow the drums![]()