Lucky man. You going for Fèis Ìle?
Any particular distilleries you plan on visiting?I had to Google that but sadly no
Never had the 11 only the 8 and 16..i like the 16
When you're on Islay try to go to Bruichladdich and Bunnahabhain. You get free tasting or at least you used to!
I’ve been meaning to ask - how do whisky prices compare to the UK over there?Going to a sleepover at a friend's in The Hague tomorrow for a whisky/weed tasting/spliffing evening tomorrow... er, today.
Got a bottle of Glengoyne I think it was for the occasion... and was gonna postapic but I asked the woman to giftwrap it so I cannae see what I'm taking anymore![]()
That should chase the blues away alright! Cheers!Tonight, Matthew, I am drowning my sorrows and laughing at the Fudbos with this bad boy.
View attachment 17669
The Balvenie Caribbean Cask is an absolute belter.
It was very good indeed and despite all the nips, nae hangover! Some great whiskies and one nice rum in there too...The Balvenie Caribbean Cask is an absolute belter.
Quite dark... will have to add in some bourbons next time. What is their distinguishing feature?This is my tipple this evening. Bought during my trip to the US this time last year. Lovely stuff.
View attachment 17679
They're a bit sweeter than single malts. Made from corn rather than barley and usually with some rye content. There are some really good ones easily available, at least in the UK. Woodford Reserve and Eagle Rare are my go to's. Buffalo Trace is an excellent entry level bourbon. Far superior to Jack Daniels or Jim Beam.Quite dark... will have to add in some bourbons next time. What is their distinguishing feature?
Thx for the suggestions, will add to my list hough I fear they may just be too sweet and not as easy on the mouth/tongue as single malts...? We shall see.They're a bit sweeter than single malts. Made from corn rather than barley and usually with some rye content. There are some really good ones easily available, at least in the UK. Woodford Reserve and Eagle Rare are my go to's. Buffalo Trace is an excellent entry level bourbon. Far superior to Jack Daniels or Jim Beam.
Have no fear. They're very smooth. And very moreish.Thx for the suggestions, will add to my list hough I fear they may just be too sweet and not as easy on the mouth/tongue as single malts...? We shall see.
Not had it but I expect a full report.This week's Tesco buy, £25.50. Not sure I've had the Triple Cask before. Anyone tried it?
View attachment 17726

Yum.Not had it but I expect a full report.![]()

How is the Cairdeas? I got that one last year but haven't opened it yet. Looking forward to this year's release.View attachment 17750
Had these 3 during our islay stay... im gutted I never bought another bottle of ardbeg eureka to bring home...I did buy a litre bottle of thier smoke trail though.
How is the Cairdeas? I got that one last year but haven't opened it yet. Looking forward to this year's release.
So what you’re telling us is that you could fuel the car with it.Pension day bonus after a whisky-free month. £27 with the Club Card. Never tried this one before. First impression: packs a spicy punch and fair clears the tubes. Lacks smoothness maybe but as they say down Leith way “persevere”.
Wouldn’t put it quite like that but think it’ll be an acquired taste. Not as subtle as my normal tipples.So what you’re telling us is that you could fuel the car with it.
I had it a while ago. Seem to remember I liked it. A wee splash of water might remove any rough edges.Pension day bonus after a whisky-free month. £27 with the Club Card. Never tried this one before. First impression: packs a spicy punch and fair clears the tubes. Lacks smoothness maybe but as they say down Leith way “persevere”.
Might try that tonight.I had it a while ago. Seem to remember I liked it. A wee splash of water might remove any rough edges.
Tonight!!!!!! Ye gods man try it NOWMight try that tonight.
Nah I’m busy in the garden now - reward later.Tonight!!!!!! Ye gods man try it NOW![]()
Much more palatable with a splash of waterI had it a while ago. Seem to remember I liked it. A wee splash of water might remove any rough edges.

Most whiskies benefit from a drop of water to open them up. Not too much mind. Nothing worse than watery whisky.Much more palatable with a splash of water![]()