VAR.....again.

First Livi pen was a pen.
Second one was not.
Ball hit Joe's foot and deflected onto his arm. Rules are very clear that this is NOT a penalty when it hits another part of the body and then hand/arm.

So, even with VAR able to see EXACTLY what happened, even if the ref missed it - it's yet another case of the officials either being blind, stupid, bent, or not knowing the rules.
It’s simple, we play in green and white.

Green tinted specs

Southside Radge
Although I've not watched any replays of the game apart from the goals, the incident in the 1st half where the long ball from back to front, resulting in the Livi forward and Hanlon tangling, on first impressions it looked like Paul clipped the livi player. I thought Var was gonna look at it,but hee haw.

greencol

Although I've not watched any replays of the game apart from the goals, the incident in the 1st half where the long ball from back to front, resulting in the Livi forward and Hanlon tangling, on first impressions it looked like Paul clipped the livi player. I thought Var was gonna look at it,but hee haw.
That's the inconsistency. Some incidents get looked at. Others completely ignored.
I thought it was a penalty as it happened and I get why Martindale thought so too.
As for the Holt red card I wasnt convinced it was red at the time, but the reaction of Porteus and the other Hibs players wasnt them simply trying to get Holt sent off, they knew it was a malicious tackle.

Hammi

Top radge
That's the inconsistency. Some incidents get looked at. Others completely ignored.
I thought it was a penalty as it happened and I get why Martindale thought so too.
As for the Holt red card I wasnt convinced it was red at the time, but the reaction of Porteus and the other Hibs players wasnt them simply trying to get Holt sent off, they knew it was a malicious tackle.

The first part of that Holt tackle was fine I thought.
But after he gets the ball he definitely uses the follow through to connect, dirty wee prick. Aimed right at him.
I've not seen the Paul one.

VAR isn't described properly... Called back for clear and obvious errors.
I'd imagine in that case it's a 50/50 so nothing clear about it.

Unlike the Hunco one against us, that's a CLEAR missed handball.

The folk in charge don't have a clue,
I'd like to see us for a weekend or 52 bring in referees from somewhere that's been using VAR for a year or 2 to take over the controls.

Get a benchmark where we can see the decisions that would be given elsewhere then compare once we go back to our useless contingent.

We wouldn't though, that would square things up too much.

Im sure he has a wee glance at Kev before the tackle and knewfine what he was doing the dirty wee bastard.

greencol

I see in my news feed today Neilson is complaining about VAR.
Mentioning the Fletcher/Gordon incident which the ref gave as a penalty.....it wasnt.
And he said their 2nd equaliser wasnt a penalty either.
It appears no one is happy with it.

Doc Shrink

Curmudgeon Radge
I see in my news feed today Neilson is complaining about VAR.
Mentioning the Fletcher/Gordon incident which the ref gave as a penalty.....it wasnt.
And he said their 2nd equaliser wasnt a penalty either.
It appears no one is happy with it.
Neilson and Badloss share a unique distinction of having never lost an SPL game.
They have had points stolen, incredibly bad refereeing, or just plain cheating from the opposition. But NEVER have they been beaten fairly and squarely.

I have now seen the Spotty Lesbian incident, and the way Gordon went in for the ball with both feet up and no regard to Fletcher seemed to me to warrant a red card, but not the outcome that occurred.

greencol

Neilson and Badloss share a unique distinction of having never lost an SPL game.
They have had points stolen, incredibly bad refereeing, or just plain cheating from the opposition. But NEVER have they been beaten fairly and squarely.

I have now seen the Spotty Lesbian incident, and the way Gordon went in for the ball with both feet up and no regard to Fletcher seemed to me to warrant a red card, but not the outcome that occurred.
It was definitely self preservation/ cause injury mode with Gordon.
He did get the ball, but he had no idea he had done so.
Nor I suspect, did he care.

It’s simple, we play in green and white.
Only a certain green and white pattern is offensive to VAR though. Given the decisions that have gone against us since VAR was introduced it's difficult not to think there's an agenda against Hibs.

I would suggest the Celtc fans I Ken feel equally aggrieved.

Fair do's. I've not paid a great deal of attention to their VAR decisions. Hope you had a gd Christmas. mate

greencol

Interesting take on VAR.
One of the St Johnstone players reckoned that VAR at least gave them a break during Saturdays game against celtic.
The 'any ball' is being utilised by celtic to their benefit.
They have the ball boys giving the celtic players a ball as soon as one goes out of play thereby keeping the pressure and intensity on full.
Maybe less balls available on Wednesday may be possible.
And few pensioners doing the ballboy work?
Just a thought.

Hammi

Top radge
Interesting take on VAR.
One of the St Johnstone players reckoned that VAR at least gave them a break during Saturdays game against celtic.
They have the ball boys giving the celtic players a ball as soon as one goes out of play thereby keeping the pressure and intensity on full.
Just a thought.

I know of managers instructing the ball boys to be slow distributing, but I dont think we're allowed to have less balls. there must be a minimum requirement?

*if its a rule to have the quick ball system in place, not sure if it is in the SPL?

Forzahibs

Nothing new there really , they get plenty decisions , always have like bigger teams in most leagues

Rocky

Interesting take on VAR.
Just a thought.
I seem to remember LJ talking about this being one of the things he'd learned from Celtic and Hibs are now coaching the ball boys to do similar.

I think if we don’t already we should have someone watching the game to advise the manager and harass the officials over var decisions in real time.

The penalty at ibrox is the one that sticks with me - easy to be deflected after the event but not so easy to ignore if you’re asking the 4th official why a clear hand ball that we’ve seen isn’t being reviewed by the ref.

The events on the pitch are set, we need to respond to them to our advantage.

Zab

I think if we don’t already we should have someone watching the game to advise the manager and harass the officials over var decisions in real time.

The penalty at ibrox is the one that sticks with me - easy to be deflected after the event but not so easy to ignore if you’re asking the 4th official why a clear hand ball that we’ve seen isn’t being reviewed by the ref.

Totally agree with this. Hibs are a soft touch, there’s zero consequences for the officials in not giving us a decision. Not a peep out of the club, no reaction by the manger or players.

If Hearts hadn’t got that penalty at Ibrox their social media would be all over it, Robbie Neilson would be complaining about it for the next month, and he’d bring it up right before they next play either half of the Old Firm.

It’s one of the scummier parts of football, but the clubs that pressure officials get more decisions.

This thread has been viewed 8015 times.