Old Hibs Photos (and videos)

Back in the 70s when I was a wee boy, my dad was a long distance lorry driver. Much of my school holidays were spent travelling around the UK with him. I’ve fond memories of him driving through towns and cities and me looking for floodlights in the distance and then figuring out which football ground I had seen. Always thought there was something fascinating about floodlights

Still do that if travelling by train. Looking for floodlights

So when the wee notes were passed out at Watford back in the day me and my mate Dino started attending the London Hibs meetings.

The harp on the London Hibs badge was a Dino creation. One person at the meeting just off Oxford Street (I think it was proposed the London underground sign with Hibs on it. The same geezer asked what the harp had to do with Hibs).

Yours truly came up with the name for the fanzine Hibees Here Hibees there.

Dino (who makes the Hibees lead panels) is well read. He liked his poems. Here is one....

View attachment 14647
Absolutely love this poem, the Hibs school of thought....any more?

He done a few over the years for the fanzines. But he had a stroke a couple of years back and it's affected his speech and mind.

Meeting him today to go and watch the game if it's on in a boozer in Camden.

Cannae mind if this has been posted before. Couple of Hibs legends and a Bouncers Uncle in there.
View attachment 15780
Holy Cross Academy, of course .
Jimmy and Davie Hogg would have been youngest in the team.
Pat is two years older than Jimmy.Thats how good Jimmy was at school.
Davie Hogg also signed for us, but only had a handful of games in the "big team"
Went to D.Utd and i think went to play/live in S.Africa.

That team dominated Edinburgh schools fitba for their time at school.
St Anthony's were very good too at the time also.
Jimmy went on to play for Scottish Schoolboys in the same team as Peter Lorimer.

PS
I note a couple of London Hibs boys on this thread 👍
They will know that the late great Brian Rogan was at Holy Cross at the same time and was a lifelong friend of Jimmy's.
One time Jimmy was over at Brian's holiday gaff in Portugal .
Brian took Jimmy to his local,which was owned by a Sporting Lisbon fan.
Photos of the team in the bar.
Brian had told the owner before hand that Jimmy had scored a hat trick v Sporting.
The owner said to Jimmy when they arrived "You are barred ! "
Cue Jimmy pausing with mouth wide open ..... then roars of laughter🤣
Drink on the house !!

For younger Hibernians ,it was Brian Rogan of London Hibs, who led the delegation to Downing Street with the Hands Off Hibs petition

Think we put 7 past them?
I seem to recall some sideburn trimming had to be carried out to allow players to enter Albania.
Nae feckin hippies allowed.
Aye Doc
A regime in Albania at the time more Stalinist than Stalin.
jimmy O' says Tirana was dour place and the team had a "minder" ,think KGB type,watching every move for the time they were there.
Maybe in case they had smuggled some Beatles albums in:hilarious:
Anyway, Jimmy rammed in a hat trick in the game you mention, on top of his hat trick in the previous round v Sporting.

Aye Doc
A regime in Albania at the time more Stalinist than Stalin.
jimmy O' says Tirana was dour place and the team had a "minder" ,think KGB,watching every move for the time they were there.
Maybe in case they had smuggled some Beatles albums in:hilarious:
Anyway, Jimmy rammed in a hat trick in the game you mention, on top of his hat trick in the previous round v Sporting.
Was in the Cave for both these games.

Fantastic atmosphere.

Me as well !
1,2,3,4, 5
if you want to stay alive !
Keep out the Cave....
Apparently the composer of that little ditty was up all night writing it !
Happy Days in the Cave ! :star-wars-smiley-023:

Fantastic atmosphere.
I was also in the Cave for the F. C. Besa game & again for that tremendous night when we destroyed Sporting Lisbon 6 - 1
I'm pretty sure that was the last night of the CAVE as we knew it, there was already an area sectioned off in preparation for the forthcoming shitey seating area.
I remember we had to arrive early that night & queue for a while to ensure a place.
Closing the CAVE was one of the worst things to happen to the youthful Hibernian support, as we seemed to scatter all over the vast terraces (& enclosure) of Easter Road for many years without any favourable area to gather.
Still resent the S. F. A., the bigot twins and the Weedgie press for forcing Tom Hart into the decision - all because their poor wee supporters got a taste of their own medicine.
I wonder what would have happened if the Cave had been made HIBS supporters only - probably X certificate stuff !!!

I was also in the Cave for the F. C. Besa game & again for that tremendous night when we destroyed Sporting Lisbon 6 - 1
I'm pretty sure that was the last night of the CAVE as we knew it, there was already an area sectioned off in preparation for the forthcoming shitey seating area.
I remember we had to arrive early that night & queue for a while to ensure a place.
Closing the CAVE was one of the worst things to happen to the youthful Hibernian support, as we seemed to scatter all over the vast terraces (& enclosure) of Easter Road for many years without any favourable area to gather.
Still resent the S. F. A., the bigot twins and the Weedgie press for forcing Tom Hart into the decision - all because their poor wee supporters got a taste of their own medicine.
I wonder what would have happened if the Cave had been made HIBS supporters only - probably X certificate stuff !!!

• IMG_20231001_125534.jpg
    IMG_20231001_125534.jpg
    159.7 KB · Views: 59