Old Hibs Photos (and videos)

Sorry, not a photo ,but some rare film of the genius that was Willie Hamilton(10)

My memory of this game is Willie's sweat on his jersey (its freezing)
Jimmy O' said Willie had came in from a late night !
Willie's drinking pals then were the likes of oor ain Eric Stevenson, Norrie Davidson(herts centre forward)
And the Great Jim Baxter (who was a hibs supporter ! )
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Brilliant find Emerald. It was couple of years after that when I started going to Easter Road.

Watching Dunfermline as well. If I mind right they were a really good side in the mid 60's.

Sorry, not a photo ,but some rare film of the genius that was Willie Hamilton(10)

My memory of this game is Willie's sweat on his jersey (its freezing)
Jimmy O' said Willie had came in from a late night !
Willie's drinking pals then were the likes of oor ain Eric Stevenson, Norrie Davidson(herts centre forward)
And the Great Jim Baxter (who was a hibs supporter ! )

Imagine the outrage there would be these days (and there has been not so long ago) if players from competing teams regularly met up for a few beers!

Brilliant find Emerald. It was couple of years after that when I started going to Easter Road.

Watching Dunfermline as well. If I mind right they were a really good side in the mid 60's.
If you check youtube Hibs v Real Madrid
Also some footage of Willie .
The great Ferenc Puskas regaled Willie after that game.
Puskas had a nephew who was at my school.
His family had fled Hungary ,like Puskas did, during the Uprising/Soviet Invasion of 1956.
Puskas and another player visited the school at the lunch time break.(day of or day before game)
No one told me and ma pals and we were wandering about Stockbridge and missed seeing the great man! 😡
But i then saw him at The Holy Ground !

Willie Hamilton died aged 38.
Willie had toured North America when at Hibs and did then say he would return some day
and of course he did to lay bricks and plan a new future!
Alas, a sad and early death for a footballing genius and that is not overstating his football brain/ability with a football/
Jimmy O'Rourke said
"one game Willie came alongside me and said
"We are playing wae a bunch o cowboys the day,son "
Jimmy was elated,thinking "does that mean am no one o the cowboys!" 😂

Blades forum about WH

I tried to find the whole film/ It was really about Jock Stein,of course.
Older fans here might remember Jimmy Reid (he is the narrator of the film)
Jimmy was the union convener at the famous Clyde shipbuilders 1971/strike/sit in
Addressing the workers at the Sit In he famously said
"There will be no hooliganism ,no vandalism ,no bevvying !!
Whilst trying not to smile 😊

Reactions: Stu
I tried to find the whole film/ It was really about Jock Stein,of course.
Older fans here might remember Jimmy Reid (he is the narrator of the film)
Jimmy was the union convener at the famous Clyde shipbuilders 1971/strike/sit in
Addressing the workers at the Sit In he famously said
"There will be no hooliganism ,no vandalism ,no bevvying !!
Whilst trying not to smile 😊
Aye I mind Jimmy Reid. Did he no end up passing a picket line one time?

I seem to remember a lot of folk being pissed off

Aye I mind Jimmy Reid. Did he no end up passing a picket line one time?

I seem to remember a lot of folk being pissed off
He did ,after all that UCS strife ,have a career in TV and journalism/
Not sure on what context he crossed a picket line. (reporting?)
I hope he didnt if something else 🤔
And he did faw oot wae folk !
He was very critical of Scargill and did condemn Arthur not calling for a ballot.
He did opine a lot on such matters from the sidelines when he left the shipyards

But i/ we digress
Lets hope we have a strike or two the morn !! ⚽ ⚽

Some traffic there for that era .Maybe lousing time !! Or match day !
Film clip showing top o Easter Road a wee bit earlier than that rare photie,Billy
Source:
Hibby Col's YouTube content 👍

The game v St Mirren in the film finished 5-0
Highest home att. that season ,53.000 v a team from Govan that is now defunct 😁
Lowest crowd at ER was 15.000 v Clyde