Old Hibs Photos (and videos)

I found this cartoon print by Jim Scullion when doing a clear-out. It looks like it has been signed by the players including Stanton, Brownlie and O'Rourke.

Does anyone know the back story?
View attachment 14450

I've got one of these on my wall.
It was handed out at the 25th Anniversary Dinner where I was a guest. Maybe that was the original source for your copy too. I don't know if they were available elsewhere.

Recently, one of the St Pats members posted a photo of Bobby Johnstone walking up the bridges in the 50s on the group chat. Never seen it before. Was a cracking photo! Hope the person is reading this and can post it on this thread....

My pals dad is Jock Buchanan. I've showed her how he is in the history books.

She was telling me that her ma has somenof her dad's memorabilia in the attic.

I mentioned donating it to the museum at Easter Road. I think she will consider it when time eventually takes her ma.

Hopefully no for a while though.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

My dad used to take me one week to Easter Road the next to 'there'.

The first game I was allowed to go with laddies from the scheme was Easter Road against East Fife.

Speaking of the crowds at the games this is a decent wee article regarding crowds.

The photie included is average crowds in 1970 over both divisions.

Thats a cracker in black n white Jimmy. Might sound daft by my favourite Hibernian goal that day was Stokeys' first. Beautiful, and set him up nicely for one of the finest individual players performance in our famous, world original, greenjersey I have ever witnessed. Ah get emosh thinking aboot it!!

Time for new Heroes Hibernian!!

Thats a cracker in black n white Jimmy. Might sound daft by my favourite Hibernian goal that day was Stokeys' first. Beautiful, and set him up nicely for one of the finest individual players performance in our famous, world original, greenjersey I have ever witnessed. Ah get emosh thinking aboot it!!

Time for new Heroes Hibernian!!
It is eh? And look at the poor wee faces of the Chelsea fans (who later caused the bother apparently. Just like in Manchester) in the crowd.

Have you seen a handsome hun, no, no!

I have that on my Hibs shrine wall.
My dad Billy said the me as a wee bairn that all Hearts supporters were ugly, 'tell me when ye see a good looking one! Fast forward I had never said that to my kids. Wisnae good enough for the Blackfriars Street man.
As soon as his two grandkids attained the age of reason (about five years old! until very much older) he would talk them through his experience with the Famous Five team, 40s, 50s, 60's and the game on New Years Day......always adding, remember you'll never see good looking Hearts supporters.
I remember taking the boys to Tynie, parking just of the bypass. A walk to the Hibs end through Jambos.
There was an unfortunate lad clad in Maroon with friends who clearly to me was a bit disabled.
Fuck me does Shaun not shout out for me to hear but as a kid loud enough for every @@$@ to hear, Grandad Billy was right about ugly Hearts,
I was fucking mortified.
Decades later the self same child offender would not let his Grandads 'words of wisdom' lie, hence Shaun christening them Merricks on the Bounce. Well done son.

My dad Billy said the me as a wee bairn that all Hearts supporters were ugly, 'tell me when ye see a good looking one! Fast forward I had never said that to my kids. Wisnae good enough for the Blackfriars Street man.
As soon as his two grandkids attained the age of reason (about five years old! until very much older) he would talk them through his experience with the Famous Five team, 40s, 50s, 60's and the game on New Years Day......always adding, remember you'll never see good looking Hearts supporters.
I remember taking the boys to Tynie, parking just of the bypass. A walk to the Hibs end through Jambos.
There was an unfortunate lad clad in Maroon with friends who clearly to me was a bit disabled.
Fuck me does Shaun not shout out for me to hear but as a kid loud enough for every @@$@ to hear, Grandad Billy was right about ugly Hearts,
I was fucking mortified.
Decades later the self same child offender would not let his Grandads 'words of wisdom' lie, hence Shaun christening them Merricks on the Bounce. Well done son.

Hope everything went ok yesterday Gordon. Was good tae see you.