Yet another Edinburgh nightclub to close permanently.

ATIK nightclub in Tollcross...formerly Clouds, Outer Limits, The Cavendish etc to close for good as they cannot agree a lease with the landlord.
Featured in Trainspotting apparently.
Used to go there during the 80's and 90's as well as various other nightclubs around town almost all of them gone now for good.
I find this all very depressing to be honest. I had so many great times in these places in my youth.

ATIK nightclub in Tollcross...formerly Clouds, Outer Limits, The Cavendish etc to close for good as they cannot agree a lease with the landlord.
Used to go there during the 80's and 90's as well as various other nightclubs around town almost all of them gone now for good.
I find this all very depressing to be honest. I had so many great times in these places in my youth.
Was also The Network for a period in the late eighties, early nineties. Went there for numerous reasons over the years though notably never for the Friday/Saturday disco/club nights. It was definitely more an 80s, Hitman and Her type place. Shiny shoed Jambo types and birds dancing round their handbags.

Best thing I ever went there for was a The Charlatans gig around 1990.

Saw quite a few punk bands, even Culture Club the day they went to no.1 and U2 for if I remember rightly £2.50-I thought thy were shite, wanted my money back.Changed days.After Clouds came the Hoochie Coochie club,saw Frankie Goes to Holywood 'miming' to Relax,James and even Ege Bam Yasi play under a bedsheet adorned with fairy lights.Those were the days.

My Ukrainian Uncle had a part share in the Cavendish back in the day, his building company went by the same company name.

Grab A Granny Interiors never caught on right enough.

On a personal note, I woke up to a few take aways from the Cav in the good auld days.

AKA Coasters Ballroom and Lava & Ignite at some stage I think? Although kind of always known colloquially as “The Cav”!

Seen the top shagger himself John Leslie in there DJ-ing about 10 years ago 😂

Clouds was my disco of choice.

1 song, 3 minutes to make up your minds; 2 songs you're getting there; 3 songs and yur winchin and hope your mate is doing well too. Within the hour you could be in one of the Arthur's Seat car parks or down at Silverknowes and meeting her under the clock at Binns next evening.

Life was so much simpler in these days!

Aquarius and the Zodiac were good too.

Clouds was my disco of choice.

1 song, 3 minutes to make up your minds; 2 songs you're getting there; 3 songs and yur winchin and hope your mate is doing well too. Within the hour you could be in one of the Arthur's Seat car parks or down at Silverknowes and meeting her under the clock at Binns next evening.

Life was so much simpler in these days!

Aquarius and the Zodiac were good too.

Met my future missus in Aquarius.

:sm113:

I used to go to a club on Abbeymount. Big Crawf was the bouncer and he used to let us in for nowt.
Three possible venues,The Regent,The Astoria or the Washouse,amongst other names I think the Astoria was the Cat's Pyjamas.The Washouse was renovated by the users of the Gateway Echange run by the Boyle's.I helped during my down days.

I think the Astoria eventually became the Cat's Pyjamas, then it was the Good Time Emporium.

Me and my dad did the seating for Clouds years ago. My dad was an upholsterer at the time. I used to love going to that place, guaranteed lumber but if you got a knockback when the bouncers were being arsey there was always the Americana to fall back on.

Berry Suite?

Me and my dad did the seating for Clouds years ago. My dad was an upholsterer at the time. I used to love going to that place, guaranteed lumber but if you got a knockback when the bouncers were being arsey there was always the Americana to fall back on.
Did your Dad do the huge Licorice Allsorts seating and box?

I got chucked out one night for politely asking people to get out of their seats (the sweets) and trying to put them in the box!

I only got 1 or 2 in before the bouncers chucked me out.

My Ukrainian Uncle had a part share in the Cavendish back in the day, his building company went by the same company name.

Grab A Granny Interiors never caught on right enough.

On a personal note, I woke up to a few take aways from the Cav in the good auld days.

Nick named Alton towers were you paid to get in but the rides were free

I spent a lot of time in my younger years in nightclubs.
The ones many looked upon as being naff and trendy...they were the ones I liked !
Century 2000 (formerly the Amphitheatre), The Red Hot Pepper Club, Cinderellas, Outer Limits, Buster Browns..various others.
Latterly the Jam House in Queen Street. I was regular there for many years. Great on a Saturday night but it went downhill in the last 7 years or so and finally closed for good when Covid came.
So many great clubs and bars in Edinburgh now gone forever.

That was along the road at Abbey Lane, now some horrible looking flats.
I see they plan to demolish another part of history and replace Jocks Lodge with another block of student flats.
Aye I worked on them. Fuck knows how they got passed.

My clubbing included Clouds, then all the name changes until mid 80's,then next door the Hoochie Coochie,and up on the top floor there was often two floors to the Hooch,or the Goombay Dance club-or perhaps it was the Ital Club.Then in Spittal Street the was the Americana but I've a feeling there was another club name can't remember.
Then there was the Danceteria and JJ's at Valentinos, then there was the Nite Club above the Playhouse ,and quite often down below there was the Ital Club, then club Sandino, then there was La Cambalacha which was in the Spider's Web, there was the Wee Red Bar at the Art College, there was the Underground down Niddrie St, there was Potterow, I believe there was a Hip Hop club where the Mash House was and there was Wilkie House, the Gilded Baloon, La Sorbonne, the Ministry at Lady Stairs Close , Sneaky Petes and a short lived club at Maratime St Lane put on by my flatmates the Fini Club. Then there was the Blue Monday up Fire Island and the Oyster Club down Rose St Lane and I think there was a club near Listen in Hanover St or maybe it was Fredrick St but the name escapes me.

My clubbing included Clouds, then all the name changes until mid 80's,then next door the Hoochie Coochie,and up on the top floor there was often two floors to the Hooch,or the Goombay Dance club-or perhaps it was the Ital Club.Then in Spittal Street the was the Americana but I've a feeling there was another club name can't remember.
Then there was the Danceteria and JJ's at Valentinos, then there was the Nite Club above the Playhouse ,and quite often down below there was the Ital Club, then club Sandino, then there was La Cambalacha which was in the Spider's Web, there was the Wee Red Bar at the Art College, there was the Underground down Niddrie St, there was Potterow, I believe there was a Hip Hop club where the Mash House was and there was Wilkie House, the Gilded Baloon, La Sorbonne, the Ministry at Lady Stairs Close , Sneaky Petes and a short lived club at Maratime St Lane put on by my flatmates the Fini Club. Then there was the Blue Monday up Fire Island and the Oyster Club down Rose St Lane and I think there was a club near Listen in Hanover St or maybe it was Fredrick St but the name escapes me.
Millionaires?

Did your Dad do the huge Licorice Allsorts seating and box?

I got chucked out one night for politely asking people to get out of their seats (the sweets) and trying to put them in the box!

I only got 1 or 2 in before the bouncers chucked me out.
Yep he was responsible for these Jack. I helped but he did most of the work.

I spent a lot of time in my younger years in nightclubs.
The ones many looked upon as being naff and trendy...they were the ones I liked !
Century 2000 (formerly the Amphitheatre), The Red Hot Pepper Club, Cinderellas, Outer Limits, Buster Browns..various others.
Latterly the Jam House in Queen Street. I was regular there for many years. Great on a Saturday night but it went downhill in the last 7 years or so and finally closed for good when Covid came.
So many great clubs and bars in Edinburgh now gone forever.

How could I forget about Cinderellas

Blue oyster, was originally Bobby mcgees, a favourite haunt of mine, along with the Pub in rose Street precinct, the auld hundred, mister mustards and gatsbys. Great days 👌