Yet another Edinburgh nightclub to close permanently.

Blue oyster, was originally Bobby mcgees, a favourite haunt of mine, along with the Pub in rose Street precinct, the auld hundred, mister mustards and gatsbys. Great days 👌
All haunts of mine. We must have been underage at the same time.

First I went to in my plooky youth was Oscars (which became l'attaché). There was also Bobby McGee's (sp?) and was there not Mad Hatters somewhere?

Yes, Mad Hatters was on the Royal Mile, I'm pretty sure anyway.

The Bandwagon (now Fingers) was an occasional joint for me. There was a place called Oscars which I think was below the No1 Bar?

Does anyone remember there was briefly a club in Leith, Seaport Street I think, And it's now a Chinese restaurant?

There was another well dodgy place above the Spiral, the name escapes me. Rough AF. Bubbles?!!

ATIK nightclub in Tollcross...formerly Clouds, Outer Limits, The Cavendish etc to close for good as they cannot agree a lease with the landlord.
Featured in Trainspotting apparently.
Used to go there during the 80's and 90's as well as various other nightclubs around town almost all of them gone now for good.
I find this all very depressing to be honest. I had so many great times in these places in my youth.
80's when it was Clouds. I had so many KB's in this place but still kept going back. Highligh of the night was eating hot rolls from the bakery in Morrison St on way home at 3 in the morning.

My clubbing included Clouds, then all the name changes until mid 80's,then next door the Hoochie Coochie,and up on the top floor there was often two floors to the Hooch,or the Goombay Dance club-or perhaps it was the Ital Club.Then in Spittal Street the was the Americana but I've a feeling there was another club name can't remember.
Then there was the Danceteria and JJ's at Valentinos, then there was the Nite Club above the Playhouse ,and quite often down below there was the Ital Club, then club Sandino, then there was La Cambalacha which was in the Spider's Web, there was the Wee Red Bar at the Art College, there was the Underground down Niddrie St, there was Potterow, I believe there was a Hip Hop club where the Mash House was and there was Wilkie House, the Gilded Baloon, La Sorbonne, the Ministry at Lady Stairs Close , Sneaky Petes and a short lived club at Maratime St Lane put on by my flatmates the Fini Club. Then there was the Blue Monday up Fire Island and the Oyster Club down Rose St Lane and I think there was a club near Listen in Hanover St or maybe it was Fredrick St but the name escapes me.
Fck Moaty I'd forgotten how many night clubs there were in Edinburgh. The ital club I saw Aswad there they were fucking brilliant then they went on top of the pops and went downwards after that. I remember after that night in the Ital I got my Ma to knit me a white pair of fitba socks with red gold and green at the top. Used to wear them when I was cycling from Haymarket where we lived down to Henry Robbs in Leith. What a sight 😍

Was it Top O’s at grindlay st later the Citrus?
First nightclub I entered I think, Katch at Victoria st another under age haunt

It was my impression there was a brothel in Rose St Lane.Was there?
Think it was an urban myth. The only real brothel I'd heard of was the one in Danube St. Then there was the birth of the saunas and they were popping up everywhere. Saunas and customers 🎉

Was it Top O’s at grindlay st later the Citrus?
First nightclub I entered I think, Katch at Victoria st another under age haunt
Tap O'Lauriston Was on corner of Lauriston Place and whatever street went down to West Bow-opposite the Fire Station in front of the Art College, think it's called the Tap Hotel or some such pish now.Citrus Club was in Grindley St, that was another place i forgot.

Waiting on Shrinky mentioning the Gamp.Before my time.The Ital Club started at St John's Church at the west end of Princes St.Reggae clubs in Edinburgh were virtually unknown before that.

My clubbing included Clouds, then all the name changes until mid 80's,then next door the Hoochie Coochie,and up on the top floor there was often two floors to the Hooch,or the Goombay Dance club-or perhaps it was the Ital Club.Then in Spittal Street the was the Americana but I've a feeling there was another club name can't remember.
Then there was the Danceteria and JJ's at Valentinos, then there was the Nite Club above the Playhouse ,and quite often down below there was the Ital Club, then club Sandino, then there was La Cambalacha which was in the Spider's Web, there was the Wee Red Bar at the Art College, there was the Underground down Niddrie St, there was Potterow, I believe there was a Hip Hop club where the Mash House was and there was Wilkie House, the Gilded Baloon, La Sorbonne, the Ministry at Lady Stairs Close , Sneaky Petes and a short lived club at Maratime St Lane put on by my flatmates the Fini Club. Then there was the Blue Monday up Fire Island and the Oyster Club down Rose St Lane and I think there was a club near Listen in Hanover St or maybe it was Fredrick St but the name escapes me.
There was the Nash (International) too - became Fire Island didn't it? I still see Juan and Ernesto who ran El Cambalache and Latin Quarter. Then there was Buster Browns which seemed tacky as fuck and sold shit American beer - became the Electric Circus after my time I think. I went to the Underground - my memory of it was folk dressed like chemistry swots who were too cool to dance looking enviously at the colourful Ivy League folk on the dancefloor.

Did you share a flat with the Fini Tribe Moaty?

Sad to see the old Clouds/Coasters go - I had some good nights in there and witnessed some of my favourite gigs. Antz, Siouxsie, Gang of Four, Killing Joke, New Order, The Smiths...

Yes.I went to the Blue Monday Club,Fire Island on a eh....Monday.
I was a regular at the Blue Monday Club for a while. I mostly frequented the student unions, Teviot Row (Fridays) and Chamber Street on a Saturday. The Back Room Club (same DJ as the Blue Monday) & The Kangaroo were regular club nights, both held on Victoria Street / Cowgate depending on what entrance you used.
My early 20s it was mostly Citrus or Evol.

I went to The Cav to see Simple Minds in the early 80s and have a vague memory of being in a club or might be a pub up towards the Kings first that was upstairs and had loads off mirrors on all the walls and pillars did this exist or had I just overdone it on Malibu

Back to the OP, it was Coasters when I 1st went, mostly to watch live bands. The Jesus and Mary Chain when I was 15 was my 1st concert there. Half Man Half Biscuit, Fields of the Nephilim, The Mission & The Godfathers were some of the acts I seen there.

In my flat at Montague Terrace( or was it Place) anyway the one at Goldenacre not the one up the Southside were at various times David Tant,Mike McGregor(who was in another band can't remember the name I'll ask) Chris Connelly who left the Fini Tribe to join the Revolting Cocks and Ministry,Richard?Kowalski another member,there was another guy Bernard I think his name was,Conseulo Macklintock a complete wacky bam who 'didn't believe in rules' a lunatic-(I blame Rudolf Steiners) ,another guy David I think was either staying there or just visited a lot ; there was my sister Mardi and Myself a humble scaffie.
There was a whole scene around the Gateway Exchange and the Fini Tribe and most of my flat were hanging out there all the time,I hung out there on my down days.I was working 4 days on 4 days off.
Anyway the place was like the Young Ones. Complete anarchic studenty mayhem.Needless to say the landlord would have shown us the door if it hadn't been taken off the hinges and painted like Jackson Pollocked.

I went to The Cav to see Simple Minds in the early 80s and have a vague memory of being in a club or might be a pub up towards the Kings first that was upstairs and had loads off mirrors on all the walls and pillars did this exist or had I just overdone it on Malibu
Probs the Liquorice Club. Was a lap dancing pub back in the day… so I’m told :lookaround:

In my flat at Montague Terrace( or was it Place) anyway the one at Goldenacre not the one up the Southside were at various times David Tant,Mike McGregor(who was in another band can't remember the name I'll ask) Chris Connelly who left the Fini Tribe to join the Revolting Cocks and Ministry,Richard?Kowalski another member,there was another guy Bernard I think his name was,Conseulo Macklintock a complete wacky bam who 'didn't believe in rules' a lunatic-(I blame Rudolf Steiners) ,another guy David I think was either staying there or just visited a lot ; there was my sister Mardi and Myself a humble scaffie.
There was a whole scene around the Gateway Exchange and the Fini Tribe and most of my flat were hanging out there all the time,I hung out there on my down days.I was working 4 days on 4 days off.
Anyway the place was like the Young Ones. Complete anarchic studenty mayhem.Needless to say the landlord would have shown us the door if it hadn't been taken off the hinges and painted like Jackson Pollocked.
I remember the flat - I was (am) a friend of Chris'. Still see Davie from the Finis - in fact he and I were at the 2016 cup final together.

Got Kowalski wrong, the name came to me Pinski.His dad Len Pinski worked beside my old man at Stevenson College.I havent seen Chris for years or any of the rest.Mike and Chris are or on my friends list over on Facebook and I think Chris is on a site called A Mayakovsky Product.David Tant I think died of Aids,Consuelo I lost touch with too.Mardi my wee sister married a guy called Jess Hopkins and they set up as landlords in Regent Road Portobello,I think Mike and David moved in.It was sort of Portobello /Milton Anti Poll Tax Group HQ.

It was my impression there was a brothel in Rose St Lane.Was there?
Yep. A geezer i worked with used to have it. Some very very strange stories he used to tell us about the staff AND the clients.

Got Kowalski wrong, the name came to me Pinski.His dad Len Pinski worked beside my old man at Stevenson College.I havent seen Chris for years or any of the rest.Mike and Chris are or on my friends list over on Facebook and I think Chris is on a site called A Mayakovsky Product.David Tant I think died of Aids,Consuelo I lost touch with too.Mardi my wee sister married a guy called Jess Hopkins and they set up as landlords in Regent Road Portobello,I think Mike and David moved in.It was sort of Portobello /Milton Anti Poll Tax Group HQ.

Philip Pinski- his brother Jon played trumpet in the New York Pig Funkers amongst others

A source tells me… Jam House and Harry’s Bar were both grab-a-granny hotspots mid-2000s… 👀🕺🏻👵🏻🚕
The Jam House had quite a diverse clientele age wise IMO...though there were loads of hen and stag week-enders there on a Saturday night. It did cater for shall we say a more mature customer with regard to the music etc. They had a brilliant house band there at the week-ends for many years then the new management fell out with them around 2011 and it was downhill from then on. Shame I thought it was great in it's day.

I used to go to Harry's Bar a lot during the 90's and early 2000's and it was a great atmosphere, with the odd Rugby/fit'ba player there as well...then it changed completely to one of those shitey cocktail bars. Haven't been there for many years.

A source tells me… Jam House and Harry’s Bar were both grab-a-granny hotspots mid-2000s… 👀🕺🏻👵🏻🚕
Me and Ian Murray went there after The Fat Boys Do in the Libby Kev. I could hardly stand so as we approached the door Spam says tae me try stand up straight an the doorman says sorry you’re too drunk. Spam says, pointing at me, he’s awrite mate he’s no that bad. Bouncer says tae Spam, no him , you!😂 Up the cav we went. 😂