Words

Coal bunker.Outside box for puting coal in.

No coal bunkers seven floors up in a multi-storey Muirhouse flat! I believe the original bunker was a wooden board that went over the kitchen sink.

funny thing language eh next you'll be wondering where it came from after ye've established yer dialect boundaries

No coal bunkers seven floors up in a multi-storey Muirhouse flat! I believe the original bunker was a wooden board that went over the kitchen sink.
Two Belfast sinks in my maws, with two metal uprights tae attach the wringer tae. And as you say ,a bunker put over one of the sinks when it wisnae in use.

funny thing language eh next you'll be wondering where it came from after ye've established yer dialect boundaries
My mum was from Forres and my dad from the Dean Village. As I said we also had family in Kirkcudbright.

Different words & expressions from my childhood came from all these places as well as being specific to Edinburgh/SW Edinburgh.

I've always found it tremendously rich & fascinating. People here struggle to believe that different parts of Edinburgh have different dialects, and even moreso when you go a wee bit outside - Dalkeith, the Pans, etc. That just doesn't happen here.

Two Belfast sinks in my maws, with two metal uprights tae attach the wringer tae. And as you say ,a bunker put over one of the sinks when it wisnae in use.
Probably been a Tub & Sink. One deeper than the other.
The mangle hung, or was fixed to the end of the Tub( the deep fella).
Lugged many of them doon the stairs of tenements.
No wonder my back is playing up noo!

Probably been a Tub & Sink. One deeper than the other.
The mangle hung, or was fixed to the end of the Tub( the deep fella).
Lugged many of them doon the stairs of tenements.
No wonder my back is playing up noo!
Aye that’s the one, (or two) 👍

Same.

Big deep one with clothes getting dragged up through the mangle and then hung on the pulley.

The origin of that common phrase "I havenae laughed as much since ma granny got her tits caught in the mangle".
Beat me to it, you’ll no see that 🤣

The guy who delivered our coal wore a donkey jakkit
Had leather or plastic patches on the shudders so the coal bags didny damage his coat
Done 2 days on the coal back in the day. Fuckin manky wi sare shudders for a few days. Good money though.

Coal man whose name escapes me, I will mind later, went on to have the Newington Inn when Bestie was here.

We were posh, called it the kitchen. Had a wee serving hatch between that and the dining part of the living room. Big fuck off table wi loads of chairs round it. @jadamson2704 ? Remember that ?
I do indeed Billy, Mum still has it I think!

It was serious business when that table was extended for mair visitors 😄

• 0CC74463-051D-4B03-BE6E-E2CC096F45AB.gif
    0CC74463-051D-4B03-BE6E-E2CC096F45AB.gif
    2.3 MB · Views: 5
'It's oor shy!' 'digaholeandburrythum!'(bring it back please) 'tannerbaw player' 'he's got a heid like a thruppney!' 'erramacaroon bar a spearmint chewinggum a chewwits!' 'gerrintaethum!' (often seen in 'Fitba Crazy' by Gilzean in the 'Pink').'Georgie Best superstar! Walks like woman and he wears bra!''Says Bertie Mee to Bill Shankley 'Have you heard of the North Bank Highbury?' Shanks says'No I don't think so''But I've heard of the mental Hibees! 'we're the mental Hibees baby, we've got class!''Hiiibees ya bas!'.

It was Bobby Moore no Georgie Best.

Fuck sake Moaty.