Words

joethehibby

Words you used growing up:-
Flim. Five pound note
Fish dud. Fish supper
Slider. Ice cream between two wafers

'Ally Balley alley balley bee sitting oan yer mammies knee,waiting for a wee bawbee, to buy some Couter's Candy'
Seen many versions of this, mine would be...

Ally bally ally bally bee
Sitting on yer daddies knee
Waiting fir anither bawbee
Tae buy some Coulter's candy.

Who cares who's right though, a lovely memory 👍

Maybe it was Coulter's?

I left Edinburgh aged 19, 46 years ago. Up until that point I had only pronounced the shitty Hearts colour as "ma roan" Most folk I met after that pronounced it "maroon" Was pleasantly surprised to hear a taxi driver say "ma roan" a few years ago when I was back for a visit. What's the most used description nowadays?
Bloody stool comments taken as read 😂

Robert Coltart 1832-1880-or something brought it out as an advertising jingle to advertise his anaseed flavoured sweets which he sold in Melrose.You learn something new every day.

I left Edinburgh aged 19, 46 years ago. Up until that point I had only pronounced the shitty Hearts colour as "ma roan" Most folk I met after that pronounced it "maroon" Was pleasantly surprised to hear a taxi driver say "ma roan" a few years ago when I was back for a visit. What's the most used description nowadays?
Bloody stool comments taken as read 😂
Maybe goes back to the first pronunciaton of it after we borrowed it from the French marron (meaning 'chestnut' or by extension, 'brown') - pronounced ma-rõ, bit like marron wi that nasal sound at the end that the French do so well!

Could have come over with tassie (cup), fash (worry) etc during the Auld Alliance?

Maybe goes back to the first pronunciaton of it after we borrowed it from the French marron (meaning 'chestnut' or by extension, 'brown') - pronounced ma-rõ, bit like marron wi that nasal sound at the end that the French do so well!

Could have come over with tassie (cup), fash (worry) etc during the Auld Alliance?
Sounds spot on. How do the majority pronounce it now?

On the pronunciation thing: I've a mate who insists on pronouncing the word balcony as ball-cony.... He's originally from Bromhoose, must have been the posh bit!