Wine

Sancho Panza

I get the impression that quite a few Bouncers like their wine. I still like a beer now and again but these days red wine is my drink of choice. Used to be a big Rioja fan but now mainly drink southern Italian reds, mostly Primitivo. Portuguese reds are tasty too and good value for money. I also like Californian Pinot Noir and Zinfandel, the latter particularly with a curry as I find pints of lager bag me up and make me pish like a race horse.

Just waiting for payday and a trip to Majestic to replenish my post-Christmas wine rack. It's getting low and the wine anxiety is kicking in...

So what are the preferred choices of the Bounce oenophiles? 🍷🤔

I used to drink Rioja, but its often shite in Scotland. I drink Ozzie Shiraz as my cooncil grape juice, I did get 5 bottles of Macia Batle, a bottle of Macia Batle 1856 and a bottle of Faustino 1 for chrimbo, 4 are still intact. One will be tanned if we beat the huns.

When in Spain, I like a Viña Pomal, a rioja on recommendation of my mallorcan pal. The reserva can be awfy nice.

I used to drink Rioja, but its often shite in Scotland. I drink Ozzie Shiraz as my cooncil grape juice, I did get 5 bottles of Macia Batle, a bottle of Macia Batle 1856 and a bottle of Faustino 1 for chrimbo, 4 are still intact. One will be tanned if we beat the huns.

When in Spain, I like a Viña Pomal, a rioja on recommendation of my mallorcan pal. The reserva can be awfy nice.
Never heard of Macia Batle before. Looks good. Where do you get it?

Mallorca, the wine tour is superb! Used to sell it in Valvona and Crolla but stopped after covid. I get mine here, only place in the UK I believe.

I’m primarily a California Pinot drinker.
Favorite of the moment is Meiomi
Delicious stuff
Not over the top at $20 a bottle

Mallorca, the wine tour is superb! Used to sell it in Valvona and Crolla but stopped after covid. I get mine here, only place in the UK I believe.

My 1st wife worked in Valvona's. She used to come home from wine tastings with opened but far from empty bottles - it was the dug's baws!

Thanks for that. Have you tried The Guv'nor from Majestic? Spanish red blend. Only £7.50. One of my staples.

I find you can pick up a decent South American Red for under a tenner in tesco or Morrisons. Aldi and Lidl are no bad anaw tbf.
I seldom spend more than 10 quid on a bottle.
Canny go French or south African wines mind.

Love a beer but don’t mind a white wine now and again. A New Zealand Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc (Cloudy Bay etc) is really nice 👌🏻

I drink a fair amount of wine and have for years but somehow still know next to feck all about it.

I tend to aim for French wines, especially from regions I've visited although it drives me a bit mad to see the budget supermarket pish sold for £10-15 here.

I was in Bordeaux last year and decided to splash out on some proper wine. Got a couple of bottles at £40 or so each and quaffed them with the Mrs. Lovely as they were, I'm not sure I would have known much difference if they'd given me a decent supermarket wine.

My favourite wine is the stuff you fill your own containers with in rural France at €5 for 10 litres.

My 1st wife worked in Valvona's. She used to come home from wine tastings with opened but far from empty bottles - it was the dug's baws!

Good choice. Of wife.

My wife was a hairdresser, she used to be a a money saver too, not so much now.
I assume your missus got binned from work, and consequently from marriage.
My missus is still a hairdresser occasionally but doesn’t work from home if you catch my drift.

I agree with @hibadelic albeit my reference is Italy. The table wine there is my favourite.

My regular glug is as basic as it gets:

IMG_0486.jpeg
This fine beverage from Tesco is even weaker now, at 10%. A session wine, so to speak.

Good choice. Of wife.

My missus is still a hairdresser occasionally but doesn’t work from home if you catch my drift.
The Valvona's thing was great - 30% staff discount (excluding bevvy) IIRC.

She was still working there when we divorced (incredibly amicably) and went on to marry a first class fucking prick who worked there too. It only lasted a couple of years.

She moved to Italy with him and apparently it was a complete disaster with the matrone.

Now she's in Dalkeith - same thing really...

For something a bit nicer I like Salice Salentino from Puglia but it’s quite hard to find these days, in fact I’ve not seen it for ages, though you can get it online

That one must have been off, but each to their own.
I remember when you went to Valvona and Crolla in the 70's and they filled a big glass 'container ' of house wine 'seemed fuckin massive' for £2.50. We served the guests the posh 'Lambrusco' first then the Valvona house wine after their taste buds were numbed. This was an age when your average punter like me knew absolutely and I mean absolutely nothing about wine.
That was some dog.Mine does 3 shites a day and that's it

I remember when you went to Valvona and Crolla in the 70's and they filled a big glass 'container ' of house wine 'seemed fuckin massive' for £2.50. We served the guests the posh 'Lambrusco' first then the Valvona house wine after their taste buds were numbed. This was an age when your average punter like me knew absolutely and I mean absolutely nothing about wine.

That was some dog.Mine does 3 shites a day and that's it
I still do pretty much the same thing when we have folk round (and I don't even drink any more!).

Good choice. Of wife.

You ever get that tattoo?

I’m primarily a California Pinot drinker.
Favorite of the moment is Meiomi
Delicious stuff
Not over the top at $20 a bottle
District 7 Pinot Noir is fantastic (£13). Smoky / tobacco aromas.

I tend to get most of my wines from the Wine Society*. They have some crackers at reasonable prices. Their Sicilian Red - Nero D’avola is the bees knees.

*just need to close your eyes to the fact they wee established in 1874 😳. For the white lovers there’s many I like, but they sell the only Grillo I’ve liked ( most bottles of Grillo are rancid).

I go through wee phases of drinking wine from certain countries. Last year it was Chilean and Argentinian and had a blast as they were mostly very good. I've started this year on Italian wine and was given a few bottles for my birthday just before Christmas. I particularly liked the Primitivo (see pic) which was bought from Vino in Causewayside, although I did have to buy another as I had a wee accident, again on my birthday (see pic)20240118_204033.jpg20231220_202112_exported_1705611315774.jpg

Don't let the label put you off. This is rather nice. From Tesco.
View attachment 12968
Also bought yesterday. Usually get it in Majestic. A few years back on Saturday Kitchen, James Martin said it was the nicest red wine he had ever had on the show. Majestic supplies were stripped bare after that and it continues to be one of their best sellers. They have a similar one called LB7 and a slightly pricier one called Behind Closed Doors. All delicious.
Incidentally, Lisbon is a wonderful city and the food and wine are outstanding.

Happened across a wee Enoteca in Tuscany when we were there. The Brunello Di Montalcino is the big one out there but, taste wise, I actually preferred its supposed lower grade stablemate the Rosso.

I want this dispenser at home

• 20180822_163313_Original.jpeg
    20180822_163313_Original.jpeg
    205 KB · Views: 7
Happened across a wee Enoteca in Tuscany when we were there. The Brunello Di Montalcino is the big one out there but, taste wise, I actually preferred its supposed lower grade stablemate the Rosso.

I want this dispenser at home
Never had Brunello Di Montalcino. Is it worth the extra dosh? I splashed out at Christmas and got a bottle of Amarone and a bottle of Barolo. Both excellent but completely different taste profiles.

A good brunello is fabulous. The supermarket ones...not so much. I talk as if its a regular sup so I should point out this assessment is based on a handful of experiences in a lifetime lol.

I tend to the philosophy that its better to buy a top wine from a less prestigious category than a low end wine from a more prestigious one. In other words an expensive Chianti is likely better bang for the buck than a cheap Barolo.

I always reckoned Barolo was the top shelf style it’s marketed as, until I tried the Brunello, and I was staying in the Chianti area. I prefer my wine to have a more fruity taste than heavy and high ABV%. I’m no connoisseur though. More of a Keith Floyd type. 🍷

See that’s a bit expensive for an aged pensioner 😩