Video Games

Been going through my Steam backlog. Started Yoku's Island Express recently. Cute Metroidvania with pinball mechanics to traverse the map. Been really enjoying it so far. It's a weirdly zen experience once you get into the rhythm of it.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Been going through my Steam backlog. Started Yoku's Island Express recently. Cute Metroidvania with pinball mechanics to traverse the map. Been really enjoying it so far. It's a weirdly zen experience once you get into the rhythm of it.

Looks decent.

Decided to sack it @Hibs Soldier . A good game but complete centred on parrying which I find a bit tedious. Sekiro did it brilliantly. Everything else, not so much imho

I'm no fond of parrying either tbh. Heard of a game called Hollow Knight?

For the love of Sauzee. Just when you think humanity can't plumb new depths, you come across something like this. How many sick fucks were involved in developing this horror and how did Steam ever consider hosting it? 🤬

Heard good things about "Still Wakes the Deep" on PS5. A psychological horror game set on a North Sea oil rig, sounds right up my street.

Also fancy "Indiana Jones and the Great Circle" which is due to be released on PS5 later this month.

Heard good things about "Still Wakes the Deep" on PS5. A psychological horror game set on a North Sea oil rig, sounds right up my street.

Also fancy "Indiana Jones and the Great Circle" which is due to be released on PS5 later this month.

I really enjoyed Still Wakes the Deep. I'd vouch for it.

Just bought the remaster of System Shock. Believe it's game that Bioshock was developed from (one of my all time faves). Anyone played it or the original? Looks like my sort of thing and worth a punt for £14.

Think I played it back in the 90s but I cannae mind anything about it other than it was good (though I may be blurring critical reception with what I thought of it!)

It was good, not sure how well it will have aged mind.

System Shock 2 was fantastic though.

Khazan the first berserker is one I've now finished.

Very good but even by soulslike standards utterly brutal (though I believe now patched to change difficulty settings). Not the starting point for Sancho if he ever picks up tr gauntlet lol

Got that in my wishlist. Currently playing Wastelands 3. Turned based RPG with consequences in the decision you make.

Sounds hellish. 😆
There needs to be a balance between difficult and utterly frustrating. For instance I completed the Mass Effect trilogy on Insanity but only because I played it so often I knew the suitable tactics and strategy for that difficulty level. I got fed up with the new Doom iteration though. The game is amazing but there are these in-between levels when you can earn perks and they are brutal. For instance in one you can only take a single hit before you die and then don't get the perk. I've done it scores of times but just can't do it. That's really not enjoyable.
Dark Souls sounds like a whole game's worth of that.

This was brilliant albeit a wee bit short and linear and lacking a combat system. But it was really atmospheric and claustrophobic and the recreation of a 1970s oil rig was pretty authentic (as someone who was has worked offshore for many years). I see there is a DLC update out set 10 years on from the first game will need to check it out 🎮

Sounds hellish. 😆
There needs to be a balance between difficult and utterly frustrating. For instance I completed the Mass Effect trilogy on Insanity but only because I played it so often I knew the suitable tactics and strategy for that difficulty level. I got fed up with the new Doom iteration though. The game is amazing but there are these in-between levels when you can earn perks and they are brutal. For instance in one you can only take a single hit before you die and then don't get the perk. I've done it scores of times but just can't do it. That's really not enjoyable.
Dark Souls sounds like a whole game's worth of that.
I personally believe the genre has gone off the rails and become difficult for its own sake.

But earlier games are 'tough but fair' while some modern ones are manageable in a different way.

Dark Souls 1 is difficult but manageable once you learn the mechanics. Hard but fair and the best world in any game (bar last stages where budget ran out). Just one of the all time greats and worth a go for anyone, at least once. Looks are a bit dated though.

Bloodborne is much faster but again not ridiculous (base game anyway, DLC is much harder).

Elden Ring is newest from From Software (originators of the genre). It is an epic spectacle and the most cunningly designed in that if you use all the tools it gives you, its very accessible, but if you try and play it like Souls purists tend to do - eschewing all these helpers - its fuckin brutal in the end game (though you can do dozens of hours without bothering with that). Because its open world you are not roadblocked either- if you struggle with something you can fuck off somewhere else, get stronger, come back and its now much easier.

Personally I think you should try Elden Ring if you can pick it up on the cheap. If you like sci-fi and fantasy its just a wonderful world to roam around in. The amount of tough fights you actually have to have is less than it appears...there are sometimes other ways if you can find them.

I personally believe the genre has gone off the rails and become difficult for its own sake.

But earlier games are 'tough but fair' while some modern ones are manageable in a different way.

Dark Souls 1 is difficult but manageable once you learn the mechanics. Hard but fair and the best world in any game (bar last stages where budget ran out). Just one of the all time greats and worth a go for anyone, at least once. Looks are a bit dated though.

Bloodborne is much faster but again not ridiculous (base game anyway, DLC is much harder).

Elden Ring is newest from From Software (originators of the genre). It is an epic spectacle and the most cunningly designed in that if you use all the tools it gives you, its very accessible, but if you try and play it like Souls purists tend to do - eschewing all these helpers - its fuckin brutal in the end game (though you can do dozens of hours without bothering with that). Because its open world you are not roadblocked either- if you struggle with something you can fuck off somewhere else, get stronger, come back and its now much easier.

Personally I think you should try Elden Ring if you can pick it up on the cheap. If you like sci-fi and fantasy its just a wonderful world to roam around in. The amount of tough fights you actually have to have is less than it appears...there are sometimes other ways if you can find them.
Might give Elden Ring a bash. Loved Witcher 3 and Skyrim, so...

I've decided I'm going to buy Hollow Knight: Silksong when I get in from work today.

Probably the first time I've bought a game on release day since... I don't actually remember. It would have been twenty odd years ago anyway.

Still Wakes the Deep: Siren's Rest was class but too short! Want to get Indiana Jones and the Great Circle for PS5 but it's not available anywhere for under 60 quid.

@egb_hibs did I see there's a new Dark Souls game out for PS5?

Talking about brick hard frustrating games, the OG must surely be Ghosts n' Goblins. Got GnG Resurrection for PS5 a few years ago and it's brilliant, the kids still play it. 4 difficulty levels which range from piss easy to impossible. Completed it on the second hardest setting and it took ages.

I've decided I'm going to buy Hollow Knight: Silksong when I get in from work today.

Probably the first time I've bought a game on release day since... I don't actually remember. It would have been twenty odd years ago anyway.

I've not played the first one yet. Will get round to it eventually.

Still Wakes the Deep: Siren's Rest was class but too short! Want to get Indiana Jones and the Great Circle for PS5 but it's not available anywhere for under 60 quid.

@egb_hibs did I see there's a new Dark Souls game out for PS5?

Talking about brick hard frustrating games, the OG must surely be Ghosts n' Goblins. Got GnG Resurrection for PS5 a few years ago and it's brilliant, the kids still play it. 4 difficulty levels which range from piss easy to impossible. Completed it on the second hardest setting and it took ages.

Ghosts n Goblins was fucking solid but I also think Altered Beast was solid tae.

I liked still wakes the deep. Hoping to get DLC on sale at some point.