Upcoming gigs?

Was at two gigs this weekend, both great shows , Saturday night was Colonel Mustard and the Dijon 5 “Yelloween” , best night out in ages had an absolute blast lots of fun. Sunday I saw Roddy Woomble completely different to the night before but still a great night , both shows in Gala at MacArts .
I’m back again on Thursday to see Tom Maguire and the Brasholes

They Might Be Giants at SWG3 on Tuesday. 30th anniversary tour of their 1990 album Flood. I've had the tickets for this one since pre-covid.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

They Might Be Giants at SWG3 on Tuesday. 30th anniversary tour of their 1990 album Flood. I've had the tickets for this on since pre-covid.

Completely forgot about this! Looking forward to it.
Also have Nick Cave at the Hydro on Sunday.

They Might Be Giants at SWG3 on Tuesday. 30th anniversary tour of their 1990 album Flood. I've had the tickets for this one since pre-covid.

Flood is a tremendous album which has been largely forgotten. Should be a good night.

Blue Rose Code in a few hours.
I'll leave all thoughts of folk on here debating Labour’s 'covering up the cracks' Budget while I'll be having a cracking night.

Edina rools!

I'll leave all thoughts of folk on here debating Labour’s 'covering up the cracks' Budget while I'll be having a cracking night.

Edina rools!

Not my style of music G but they look like they’d be great fun live. And a proper band giein it laldy with proper musicianship.

Enjoy, my good man.

Edina rools!

How was it G? I've seen Ross and Co loads of times, was at MacMuse tonight though so couldn't get along. No two gigs the same with Ross / Ross and Lyle / full band.

Btw last time I saw him was St Luke's in June, being released on vinyl just in time for Santa.

I'm Just Back....after quaffing fine ale post and after in the Southside Cask and Barrel.
I was there with my semi detached wife and a mate and his partner.To be honest I'd never heard him/them before the mate and partner hired him and the splendid Highland guitarist Lyle, for Willie's 70th last December in Pilrig Bowling Club.
I was was impressed and new that Ross did various Blue Rose Code identities.
Tonight with brass, strings doing his knew LP was brilliant. RnB, Americana, and Leith working class folk poetry all there.
Encore doing, how could he not, Edina, with its references to Easter Road as a bairn, the final number of which I was not acquainted with was splendid and he managed to incorporate, though not in the original I suspect...and I'll never be a Jambo.
Really, really impressive if this hairy arsed Muso says so.

Saw Nashville Pussy twice this week, in York and Edinburgh. Fantastic live band.
My mate said they were the best he had seen in decades if not ever.
High praise from a music fan who attends loads of gigs

I guess it depends where you go in Belfast.
I attended an N.I. Hibs supporters do with many other Scottish Hibees in the Workers Party ( formally Official IRA) club on the Lower Falls in the presence of guests Pat Stanton and Jackie McNamara Snr.
No many Huns in attendance!
Next gig the splendid Blue Rose Code Nov 1st.
Michael Head and the Red Elastic Band Nov 3rd.
A Flamengo gig and Porkpie in December.
Variety the spice of life.

I was at Mick Head tonight at the Caves G, it was fantastic, great shout out / song dedication to yourself from the main man.

Micks a genuinely genius songwriter @tricky . I've been all over the country over 25 years, The Pale Fountains, Shack, Michael Head and the Red Elastic Band.
Early 90's Arthur Lee did a three gig comeback and Shack backing their hero. They with Arthur were LOVE. It was only right that they did a stonking encore of a House is not a Motel tonight, from LOVES brilliant 1967 Forever Changes.

From 1999....

1000023313.jpg

@tricky I don't know if you've heard the magnificent Waterpistol by Shack, if not I cannot recommend it enough.
It is close to my heart, realising that incredible bad luck meant that this classic almost never saw the light of day. Unbelievable backdrop story. Read on.....

[sic] Magazine - Shack – Waterpistol (1991)

Had a great night at the Hug 'n' Pint on Great Western Road on Friday watching We Are Not Devo (for the fourth time).
I'm not keen on 'tribute' bands but this bunch of spuds are unmissable!

Went through to the Weedge yesterday with my family including Tuesdayhibby and Newhoose to see the most excellent Paul Heaton at the hydro.Lots of singalong songs and good musicianship.Also Hibs got a mention.
Paul Heaton was different class at TRNSMT festival in Glasgow last year. He also pre-paid for drinks at nearby pubs for fans which such a nice gesture 👏🏻

Went through to the Weedge yesterday with my family including Tuesdayhibby and Newhoose to see the most excellent Paul Heaton at the hydro.Lots of singalong songs and good musicianship.Also Hibs got a mention.
Sounds a great night Findlay. How did the Hibs get a mention?

Paul Heaton started talking about fitba,.He was saying his band supported certain teams and looked for the reaction from the crowd.He mentioned a few Scottish teams which included two teams from the Weedge I had never heard of.One of the first teams was Hibs.The currents never got a mention and of course he finished on Celtc.

1000027770.png

Is there a worse festival line-up anywhere on earth than TRNSMT each year?

It's a national embarrassment every time. 2003 called, it wants it's line-up back.

I love my music. I have only heard of 15 of these 'acts' including the headliners.
Underworld to me stick out like a sore thumb!

Sunday night past at Queens Hall had a laid back evening, the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra for Remembering Duke Ellington, featuring Lucy-Anne Daniels with the Tommy Smith Youth Jazz Orchestra.
A busy three gigs in a week starting the 10th with mentalist Greek band Koza Mostra fusing Ska, Punk, Rock and Macedonian Greek music.
On the 13th skanking to the spendid Scots Ska band Porkpie and next night Daniel Martinez Flamenco, both at the Queen's Hall.

Up at rat bairns and gave her and the twins cash for Sunday. It's the twins first gig 😀

The down side is I've just been relieved of a three figure sum for them to go 😭

Going to see Dylan John Thomas on the 20th

Future concerts coming up are Billy Ocean and The Lumineers so far.

Up at rat bairns and gave her and the twins cash for Sunday. It's the twins first gig 😀

They'll love it. I saw them first time round in the Barrowlands aged 17. They took the roof off the place.

It is making me feel my age a bit that it's the 25th anniversary of that debut album they're touring just now.

It is that. They are doing the first album in its entirety.

But I've told them that you said it will be a boss night 👍🏻