Big fuckin hand for Poland. Expecting over 4M refugees and welcoming them with or without ID. 

B better if millions demonstrated100s of them getting huckled into police vans.
It’s small but it would be good if we could make some kind of gesture of support for Ukraineat the game on Sunday.
We will have plenty spectators thereThat’ll teach them , just reading as well that nato are sending more troops to Eastern Europe
People in the main can only cope with black & white situations. This current situation certainly isn't that. And rarely is in conflicts...Thanks for that concise critique slightly longer than the standard "what a lot of bollox" only just mind you!
Can you not see how wrong allowing NATO expansion is eastwards? Do you really think the USA would permit left wing Government's on their borders let alone nations in some military pact with Russia? The absolute ignorance towards Russian fears of invasion is unreal. And the hypocrisy something else! FFS they lost twenty seven million in a war not that long ago.Sorry Smurf, cannae agree there I'm afraid.
The only mistake was not letting Ukraine intae NATO earlier.
If the Warsaw pact countries hadn't been allowed in ( they wanted tae join by the way they weren't forced) the chances are this would probably have happened sooner and been a lot more widespread.
The only one who's culpable is Putin.
Finland has never joined NATO. After 1991 the USA revelled in the collapse of the Soviet Union. It loved to ridicule the mess Russia became. It had no interest in a Europe with Russia in it and urged ex Soviet countries to join in NATO expansion.Well, the former Warsaw Pact countries should have no agency? Given back to the Russians then? After the 20th century a number of countries finally were able to choose their own path and that was to look towards Europe not Russia. And well, we are seeing WHY they chose to apply to NATO and the EU right now.
I live in Hungary, Russian occupation is within living memory. Occupation. It was not nice and pleasant. Russia under Putin would like to do the same just as an Imperial Power rather than a Communist one. No-one wants to be back under Russia, once again we are seeing why. This is not NATO's fault, it is the fault of a very unpleasant ideology of ultra nationaliam being used to prop up the rule of one man and his team of little helpers. It is not Ukraines' fault for existing and the Putin and his nationalists inability to accept that.
Russia could have been different, Putin made sure it went straight back to authoritarianism. Next stop Finland then?
Obviously they must be the right kind of refugees. Less than half a dozen years ago the reactionary right wing governments of Poland and Hungary were at loggerheads with the EU when resolutely not accepting refugees.Big fuckin hand for Poland. Expecting over 4M refugees and welcoming them with or without ID.![]()

Right the former occupied territories of the Soviet Empire wanted protection from what the Ex Soviet Empire was always likely to become.Finland has never joined NATO. After 1991 the USA revelled in the collapse of the Soviet Union. It loved to ridicule the mess Russia became. It had no interest in a Europe with Russia in it and urged ex Soviet countries to join in NATO expansion.
Putin is indeed a nationalist. And a nasty one at that. However, those presenting this situation as black & white are IMO misguided.
I won't answer for Smurf but your question is palpably worse than ludicrous.Do you agree with a resurgence of a Russian Empire in the image if Putin? Happy with surrendering Eastern Europe once again? Should Poland for example give themselves up and allow Russian forces back to take over?
They’re Ukrainian refugees, might be a few non Ukrainians in amongst them, but Poland are taking them… and their pets if they have them. Good on Poland I sayObviously they must be the right kind of refugees. Less than half a dozen years ago the reactionary right wing governments of Poland and Hungary were at loggerheads with the EU when resolutely not accepting refugees.
The Polish response to the crisis at the that time in 2015, banning refugees from crossing its borders, had both been two of the least welcoming in Europe. Poland was reprimanded by the EU for its lack of solidarity with other countries that accepted refugees. The government’s response was that it did indeed welcome refugees as long as they are not Muslims.
Jarosław Kaczyński, Deputy Leader of Poland now, warned that migrants carry “all sorts of parasites and protozoa, which … while not dangerous in the organisms of these people, could be dangerous here.” What a prize cocksocket.
Refugees are refugees are refugees!
View attachment 7705
I won't answer for Smurf but your question is palpably worse than ludicrous.
I am tired, and very angry. We can do nothing but apologising for Putins aggression I will not accept. If Putin was worried about being "surrounded" and "threatened" there is a very simple way he could avoid that. No?
B better if millions demonstrated
Ruskik Haza.
They are utter hypocrites in my opinion. Short memories of their racist anti Muslim actions against refugees from the Middle East.They’re Ukrainian refugees, might be a few non Ukrainians in amongst them, but Poland are taking them… and their pets if they have them. Good on Poland I say![]()
If I were in your shoes mate I would be more concerned with the cosy pro Russian position of right Wing Hungarian Prime Minister Victor Orban who has openly shown more suppport for Putin's regime than posts on a Hibs fitba forum ever have..
No-one can be good enough. no-one can be pure enough. What do you expect? It has not been that long for a brand new nation to build a civic society.They are utter hypocrites in my opinion. Short memories of their racist anti Muslim actions against refugees from the Middle East.
They’re Ukrainian refugees, might be a few non Ukrainians in amongst them, but Poland are taking them… and their pets if they have them. Good on Poland I say![]()
Correct, cannae imagine what they’re going through, horrifying.Me too, its not about outdated left and right politics, it is about terrified people.
That’s as maybe , I dinnae ken or care what’s happened before, but right now they’re doing a great jobThey are utter hypocrites in my opinion. Short memories of their racist anti Muslim actions against refugees from the Middle East.
That’s as maybe , I dinnae ken or care what’s happened before, but right now they’re doing a great job
The changing tone from a few posters here from 'Russia are just training, this is NATO warmongering' to 'Russia are terrified, the poor wee mites, they deserve to have forcibly created vassal states' is an incredibly straightforward way of saying that not having to recant your uninformed kneejerk contrarian pub talk opinion matters more than empathising with the loss of real actual human lives
Yi just cannae Barney. Fuckin horrible.the whole thing is a fuckin human tragedy.
Innocent people caught up in a lot of political bollocks.
Whatever folks politics, the fact remains that innocents will be slaughtered in the coming days.
If you can't see past your ideology to realize that's just fucked up, then you've gone wrong somewhere.
load o shite being spraffed on here while folks are grabbing machine guns to defend their homes.
Just imagine what that must be like.
try to just imagine.
this thread has sickened me.
Hibs fans or not, there are a lot of wankpots around.
are you making this shit up on your laptop?Of course there is. I could have made those images up on my laptop.
My point is all colours and creeds. being terrified, does not take cognicence of skin colour nor religion or where you have fled for your life. Unfortunately within the past 6 years some governments have.Me too, its not about outdated left and right politics, it is about terrified people.
But is that the fault of the people currently fleeing and who need help? The amount of people in shit in the world overwhelms me but this a problem here and now that we have to deal with here and now. And the guy causing it doesn't care.My point is all colours and creeds. being terrified, does not take cognicence of skin colour nor religion or where you have fled for your life. Unfortunately within the past 6 years some governments have.
Say what you want about Ukraine but their prime minister and the ex prime minister have balls. They stay with their people when they could have fled. That ex Afghan president could learn something. The men are by and large staying and most likely because they see Zelenski staying. It may seem foolhardy and I dont know if I would have the same guts, but that guy will go down in history...hopefully not as a dead martyr.
The politicians have been marked as being corrupt there for years but he is not doing this for money.
Wonder if mad Vlad would do the same.
Yeh I thought they might move further west and difficult territory for tanksIf the history of Putin is any judge they are going to be martyrs.
Awful as it is.
Kyiv is being attacked currently. I am suprised that they did not move the seat of government as it is really close to the Belorussian border. But kudos for staying.
It's a difficult one. Stay and become gagged, or worse, by the Russians or become a focal point of hope for the future as a government in absentia?Say what you want about Ukraine but their prime minister and the ex prime minister have balls. They stay with their people when they could have fled. That ex Afghan president could learn something. The men are by and large staying and most likely because they see Zelenski staying. It may seem foolhardy and I dont know if I would have the same guts, but that guy will go down in history...hopefully not as a dead martyr.
The politicians have been marked as being corrupt there for years but he is not doing this for money.
Wonder if mad Vlad would do the same.
Yemen , syria , afghanistan to name three countries where misery is widespread ,But is that the fault of the people currently fleeing and who need help? The amount of people in shit in the world overwhelms me but this a problem here and now that we have to deal with here and now. And the guy causing it doesn't care.
So what to do? In the world there probably isn't a solution to human misery because of the sheer scale of it. Hope is not gone, but it is a hige thing to overcome.
Yeh I thought they might move further west and difficult territory for tanks
That was enough to chase Russia out of Afghanastan before we suffered similarThe Carpathians would be good ground for defence. Right close to 3 freindly borders. I have the awful feeling that the formal military will be forced to surrender in the coming week and what will replace it will be a general insurrection and guerilla warfare.