Tv series

sockyboy

Not a TV series and I know I'm a bit late. Did anyone have the misfortune of watching any TV on hogmanay?
IMO it reached new depths of utter fucking garbage.
One programme in particular, used footage from old (actually decent) hogmanay shows and had comedians (I use the word comedians in its very broadest sense) do voiceovers of the original speech. I honestly can't believe any TV executive watched this shite and thought it was funny, let alone worthy of such a prime slot.
As for the shows bringing in the bells, all I can say is, it was a sad fucking outlook for 2023.

Not a TV series and I know I'm a bit late. Did anyone have the misfortune of watching any TV on hogmanay?
IMO it reached new depths of utter fucking garbage.
One programme in particular, used footage from old (actually decent) hogmanay shows and had comedians (I use the word comedians in its very broadest sense) do voiceovers of the original speech. I honestly can't believe any TV executive watched this shite and thought it was funny, let alone worthy of such a prime slot.
As for the shows bringing in the bells, all I can say is, it was a sad fucking outlook for 2023.
Had music on as usual. tv on with the sound down watching the clock as it hit 12 bells. Hogmanay tv has been pish for years.

sockyboy

Had music on as usual. tv on with the sound down watching the clock as it hit 12 bells. Hogmanay tv has been pish for years.
Aye, agreed its been pish for years but this was on another level. I have music on anaw but always stick the tv on about half an hour from the bells, in the naive hope summit decent will be on.
A solid belief with Scottish tv, anything said I a weedgie accent is funny.

Aye, agreed its been pish for years but this was on another level. I have music on anaw but always stick the tv on about half an hour from the bells, in the naive hope summit decent will be on.
A solid belief with Scottish tv, anything said I a weedgie accent is funny.
Yi should ken better 😉

Watched that thing with Vicky McLure..the four parter.
Dead funny, she's got long hair in it. It looks so fake, clearly a wig. Reminded me of yon dancer from the hitman and her - Clive.

All twists and turns...crafted, probably really well done but deathly dull I thought.

Hibee Kev

“The Rig” released on Amazon prime today - looks decent. Will start it tonight.

Bangkokhibby

Just finished the 3 parter on Woodstock '99. Fuck knows what I was doing then to not know about this utter shambles. Light years away from the peace and love of the '69 original.

Hibee Kev

Just finished the 3 parter on Woodstock '99. Fuck knows what I was doing then to not know about this utter shambles. Light years away from the peace and love of the '69 original.
Watched that - quite enjoyable! The calibre of artists they had was mainly rubbish, think that event marked a turning pointing for big music events where the primary objective changed from putting on a decent show to fleecing as much dosh from the punters as possible. In recent years it’s gone to another level again.

Peevemor

Lost in France Radge
Watched that - quite enjoyable! The calibre of artists they had was mainly rubbish, think that event marked a turning pointing for big music events where the primary objective changed from putting on a decent show to fleecing as much dosh from the punters as possible. In recent years it’s gone to another level again.
The problem for organisers now is that, since record sales and royalties have plummeted, the artistes fees for doing festivals has gone through the roof. Many festivals are struggling to break even despite being 90-100% sold out.

I also watched the Woodstock thing in question and it was a monumental fuck-up.

Hibee Kev

The problem for organisers now is that, since record sales and royalties have plummeted, the artistes fees for doing festivals has gone through the roof. Many festivals are struggling to break even despite being 90-100% sold out.

I also watched the Woodstock thing in question and it was a monumental fuck-up.
Yeah fair point, festivals probably do still represent decent value for money as long as there’s a handful of artists you really like

Rocky

The first two episodes of the fantastic Early Doors are on BBCFour tonight from 22:50
Loved that series. Wee bit of a campaign on twitter to get a third series made. I suspect it was of its time and place though and they'd have a mountain to climb to make a success of another at this stage.

dsc67

Loved that series. Wee bit of a campaign on twitter to get a third series made. I suspect it was of its time and place though and they'd have a mountain to climb to make a success of another at this stage.
I saw that the other day and was looking at Phil Mealey's twitter to see if there was any chance. I think James McAvoy has moved on a wee bit since then. I always thought that The Grapes would be Jim Royal's boozer 😂

Rocky

I saw that the other day and was looking at Phil Mealey's twitter to see if there was any chance. I think James McAvoy has moved on a wee bit since then. I always thought that The Grapes would be Jim Royal's boozer 😂
I don't even remember James McAvoy being in it! Was he the landlord's daughter's fella?

dsc67

I don't even remember James McAvoy being in it! Was he the landlord's daughter's fella?
Aye , I guess it was shameless that got him the gig , very similar characters

This thread has been viewed 113417 times.