Full Time: St Johnstone 1 v 3 Hibernian

That point about being cheated out of points whether by the in pitch officials or VAR is worth a bit of analysis actually.

We were in the end of a good few dubious decisions over the season but I’m of a view that most other teams suffered from similar ‘mistakes’.

It would be quite an eye opener if all these were put into context of who benefited, who didn’t, what matches these happened during etc.

The ‘penalty for rangers’ has become a bit of a joke throughout the last few seasons but have these game changing decisions also favoured against certain clubs in certain matches?

There might be some statto out there keeping tabs on this but they’d likely just be focussing on their own club (like the paranoid Celtc ones) rather than across the whole premier league.

It’s all a bit of a moot point but it’s incredible that some absolute stonewall infringements are happening in many games involving certain clubs and nothing is looked at and on other occasions, involving certain clubs, completely innocuous incidents are leading to VAR reviews where referees are being second guessed by a bawhair decision triggered by someone watching a tv screen in microscopic detail.

Thoughts? Or am I just over thinking this?
It definitely feels like we are refereed to a different standard from the rest of the league but that could be down to green tinted specks on my part. I'd be interested to see the stats.

Two incidents that I can think of that were similar but the outcome was completely different was the lessers second penalty and newell being wiped out in the box by a killie player, in the lessers case VAR was on the case immediately & in our case no VAR, goalkick. There was also the sands handball at ibrox zero var. Marcondes wiped out by the St Johnstone goalie no penalty but a similar incident at ibrox with us and John souttar VAR penalty! Those are the ones off the top of my head that I can think of but I'm sure there's many more.

It definitely feels like we are refereed to a different standard from the rest of the league but that could be down to green tinted specks on my part. I'd be interested to see the stats.

Two incidents that I can think of that were similar but the outcome was completely different was the lessers second penalty and newell being wiped out in the box by a killie player, in the lessers case VAR was on the case immediately & in our case no VAR, goalkick. There was also the sands handball at ibrox zero var. Marcondes wiped out by the St Johnstone goalie no penalty but a similar incident at ibrox with us and John souttar VAR penalty! Those are the ones off the top of my head that I can think of but I'm sure there's many more.

The best examples are actually from the same match. Hibs v Ranjurs. They are awarded a penalty whilst EXACTLY the same challenge, in the same box in the 2nd half on man bun is not even looked at.
It was at that point I finally fully realised how far down the u bend Scottish football is. If I wasn't using the games to spend some QT with the 78 year old auld man I'd be considering ditching the whole thing as a joke.

The most recent example I was thinking of was that handball by the Celtc defender in the semi against the sheep. An absolute stonewaller? Went to VAR = play on

The best examples are actually from the same match. Hibs v Ranjurs. They are awarded a penalty whilst EXACTLY the same challenge, in the same box in the 2nd half on man bun is not even looked at.
It was at that point I finally fully realised how far down the u bend Scottish football is. If I wasn't using the games to spend some QT with the 78 year old auld man I'd be considering ditching the whole thing as a joke.
There's so many mate it's actually hard to keep track! Another one was before VAR but is burned into the memory was colaks penalty against us at home when bushiri brushed his shirt and he fell down like he had been assassinated.

It's been like this for decades and I don't see it changing any time soon, if it wasn't for my love of hibs I probably wouldn't watch football as I think the modern game as a whole is pish and this var is making it even worse.

The most recent example I was thinking of was that handball by the Celtc defender in the semi against the sheep. An absolute stonewaller? Went to VAR = play on
Aye that was a shocker as was the challenge on hoilett in the same game in the box, aberdeen were cheated out of a final last weekend

...and Hibs were cheated out of a final earlier in the season against the same Aberdeen, with probably the worst offside decision I have ever seen. Almost as bad as the one Coventry suffered last Sunday against Man United. VAR has been a disaster for the game IMO.

I’m sure Motherwell had 2 or 3 dodgy ones in a row which cost them wining games or at least drawing, had they went they’re way they may even have made top 6
Two horrendous decisions v the Dons cost them 3 points. I'm biased of course but we have been shafted so many times it's laughable.

...and Hibs were cheated out of a final earlier in the season against the same Aberdeen, with probably the worst offside decision I have ever seen. Almost as bad as the one Coventry suffered last Sunday against Man United. VAR has been a disaster for the game IMO.
Still can't believe we never won that game we totally dominated it from start to finish and boyles goal was never offside but we handed them a goal like we've handed many teams goals and points this season, 16 points we've lost from winning from positions this season.

That Coventry goal was a sickener, you know had it been scored up the other end it certainly wouldn't have been chopped off.