• HIBEESBOUNCE PICKEM PRIZE LEAGUE Season 2026-2027

Info on how to buy an Entry Pass HERE

Sick & Tired of the Gunt Saga

lenthehibby

I've had it with the weeping and wailing. The fact is they've done what we haven't. And their manager can beat the Hun by making a tactical change at half time and transforming the game. Something SDG doesn't appear capable of.
There is little we can do now to affect the outcome. What we should be concerned with is how we're going to come out next season and beat the Champions, whoever they are. If we continue with the approach we have, I see no reason to be optimistic. And the growing number of empty seats at E R tell a story.
I refuse to believe there isn't a manager out there who we could afford who wouldn't be able to get a lot more out of the squad we have than Sir David - both in terms of entertaining football and results.
Time for radical change with a positive plan for the future.

I've had it with the weeping and wailing. The fact is they've done what we haven't. And their manager can beat the Hun by making a tactical change at half time and transforming the game. Something SDG doesn't appear capable of.
There is little we can do now to affect the outcome. What we should be concerned with is how we're going to come out next season and beat the Champions, whoever they are. If we continue with the approach we have, I see no reason to be optimistic. And the growing number of empty seats at E R tell a story.
I refuse to believe there isn't a manager out there who we could afford who wouldn't be able to get a lot more out of the squad we have than Sir David - both in terms of entertaining football and results.
Well said

Surely nothing to argue with there.

I don’t think the managers are the central problem

I think our strategy at the top is speculative and when we are successful we’ve no idea
how to maintain it or build on it.

Not since we binned George Craig have we seen a steady upward spiral for a number of years.

We might bin SDG because of the poor season ticket sales, which would be the worst possible reason to do it.

If we decide to change any key staff it has to be planned with a measurable objective and outcome.

I know some of you are fawning over Malky McKay but I’m not seeing him as an unqualified success.

I said elsewhere I think it was blindingly obvious we went into this season one striker short and then sold our main asset whilst offloading our record signing in the January transfer window.

I can’t see that SDG is responsible for all those things.
I agree it isn't entirely on Gray.

However, I think in the top six is a good time to twist. We need something fresh. It's gone stale.

I'd replace Malky and Gray.

I think both Edinburgh clubs have two completely different mindsets when it comes to expectations and winning. I've been a fan for 40 plus years and can't remember going into a season expecting to win the league, or even believing we could. Those fuckers have that belief wether deluded or not, that they can do that. Hook or "crook" they've challenged and almost done it a couple of times now.

There's always been a play it safe mentality at Hibs and that's still the case. Until that changes, we'll always be where we have always been in my 40 years watching Hibs. Mid to bottom table.

I think both Edinburgh clubs have two completely different mindsets when it comes to expectations and winning. I've been a fan for 40 plus years and can't remember going into a season expecting to win the league, or even believing we could. Those fuckers have that belief wether deluded or not, that they can do that. Hook or "crook" they've challenged and almost done it a couple of times now.

There's always been a play it safe mentality at Hibs and that's still the case. Until that changes, we'll always be where we have always been in my 40 years watching Hibs. Mid to bottom table.
Two consecutive top six finishes is acclaimed by our manager.

If that was over the road they'd not accept that.

Two consecutive top six finishes is acclaimed by our manager.

If that was over the road they'd not accept that.

If you take our league finishes over the last 30 years and average them out, we're a bottom 6 team. Not to mention being relegated numerous times. That's far from acceptable when it comes to the size of our fan base and resources.

Indeed.

But that stat is being used by David Gray and the senior leadership of our club to suggest two consecutive top six finishes is one of success....

It. Isn't.

Our budget compared to theirs nowhere fuckin near correlates with being twenty fuckin five points behind them.

Unacceptable.

Indeed.

But that stat is being used by David Gray and the senior leadership of our club to suggest two consecutive top six finishes is one of success....

It. Isn't.

Our budget compared to theirs nowhere fuckin near correlates with being twenty fuckin five points behind them.

Unacceptable.

It's definitely not acceptable for a club of our size to be putting our hat on back to back top 6 finishes and spinning it as "success"

Out with the OF I'd say we have spent more on player transfer fees than any other club recently. The money we've spunked on the likes of McKirdy, Vente and Klidge is up there.

As you say, unacceptable.

I think our strategy at the top is speculative and when we are successful we’ve no idea

Not since we binned George Craig have we seen a steady upward spiral for a number of years.

We might bin SDG because of the poor season ticket sales, which would be the worst possible reason to do it.

If we decide to change any key staff it has to be planned with a measurable objective and outcome.

I know some of you are fawning over Malky McKay but I’m not seeing him as an unqualified success.
This in Spades.

David Gray is not the main issue.

This in Spades.

But the point is - He is AN issue! And a big one. He and his team have failed on numerous fronts: player motivation; player improvement; tactics; resilience, etc etc.
3 more mediocre performances this season will hopefully convince those who will apparently be happy to accept more of the same in 2026/27 that we need a change. I want to be entertained, or even excited! Frankly, at the moment, I've pretty much lost interest.

This in Spades.

Depends if you think this team can do better or not?
I think Europe showed this team is capable of much better.

Main issue, probably not.
But directly responsible for the performances and results this season.

The problem we have is we have a rookie in the dugout who had a good run last season. As soon as expectations were raised in the summer his arse has went and he's incapable of affecting games tactically. We have a lot of quality in this team that should be doing a lot better. An upgrade in management and some fresh acquisitions and we'll be good to go.

Imagine if the roles were reversed and we had to go to Tyncastle for 3 vital points that would go a massive way to helping us clinch the league title. Do you honestly think Hearts would have self destructed and handed us 3 points? The entire fabric of their club would have demanded we didnt beat them
...They have a completely different mentality to us

Imagine if the roles were reversed and we had to go to Tyncastle for 3 vital points that would go a massive way to helping us clinch the league title. Do you honestly think Hearts would have self destructed and handed us 3 points? The entire fabric of their club would have demanded we didnt beat them
Don't need to imagine, it happened under Lennon and we bottled it.

Not a hope in hells chance. And those responsible would never be forgiven.

Depends if you think this team can do better or not?
I think Europe showed this team is capable of much better.

Main issue, probably not.
But directly responsible for the performances and results this season.
along with the players

But the point is - He is AN issue! And a big one. He and his team have failed on numerous fronts: player motivation; player improvement; tactics; resilience, etc etc.
3 more mediocre performances this season will hopefully convince those who will apparently be happy to accept more of the same in 2026/27 that we need a change. I want to be entertained, or even excited! Frankly, at the moment, I've pretty much lost interest.
I agree Len. Thats why I said hes not the main issue. I think it goes further up the food chain. The collective needs a shake. You sack DG, we might get a wee change, we might even be lucky and get a good season... pretty quickly, we will be back to where we are.

Fuck me, any of our players have a good six games, and us supporters are creaming ourselves about selling them.

along with the players

Aye, and no.
There's definitely been moments you can lay on the players, but how they set up and how they play us on him.

Rocky, Iredale and O'Hora didn't choose to have 300 touches between them against Livingston.
The slow build up or lack of build up comes from his play style. Not theirs.

Half the team are runners, but we don't get to see them run.

Aye, and no.
There's definitely been moments you can lay on the players, but how they set up and how they play us on him.

Rocky, Iredale and O'Hora didn't choose to have 300 touches between them against Livingston.
The slow build up or lack of build up comes from his play style
. Not theirs.

Half the team are runners, but we don't get to see them run.
DG doesnae say; you chunts pass it amongst yersels back and forward 300 times then hoof it.

I ken what your saying and agree re the main tropes of DG and his staff, but mon tae fuck tae, the players need tae shoulder a huge portion of this. Theyre professionals. I think we are all looking into separate wee things; its the managers fault or its the players. Really it is all of them AND the owners.

DG doesnae say; you chunts pass it amongst yersels back and forward 300 times then hoof it.

I ken what your saying and agree re the main tropes of DG and his staff, but mon tae fuck tae, the players need tae shoulder a huge portion of this. Theyre professionals. I think we are all looking into separate wee things; its the managers fault or its the players. Really it is all of them AND the owners.

Agree. It is a combination of a lot of things.
But 100% he's asking them to play with the ball, bring the opposition forward and then go direct for a quick attack.

It's every week. It's the blueprint, Motherwell told us that's the blueprint and we haven't changed even since then.

We should be playing in the opposite half, not our own. Especially against Livingston, Dundee, Kilmarnock etc.
Hearts, Celtic and Hunco you can do that, because they will come after you.

Wee teams, happy to park the bus, will gladly watch us roll the ball around.

Not sure I agree - the manager is the single most important person, it’s the one appointment above all else the club needs to get right. What Askou has done without a full pre-season at Motherwell is testament to this. Same can be said for Falkirk trusting McGlynn to bring them back from the brink. McInnes was such an obvious appointment for a club looking to challenge the old firm.

There isn’t a strategy at the top, that’s the fundamental problem. It’s all best intentions with no plan.

Agreed, the club have never replaced him.

Agreed, if he goes it has to be done to sporting performance - results, coaching standards, player development, style of play.

Malky certainly is not an unqualified success. He’s a master at blowing his own trumpet, but I think he’s done an average job at best. This summer (and January) Malky failed to recruit enough of the kind of players that suit David Gray’s style of play. Last season Myko and Gayle could hold the ball up and link the play, we still don’t have anyone who can do that.

I’m scunnered with Hibs, and it’s nothing to do with Hearts. It’s to do with the lack of ambition to build on a good season, on and off the pitch. If I hadn’t renewed my season ticket by now, I wouldn’t be. If it’s more of the same next season, I’ll certainly not renew next year.

Agree. It is a combination of a lot of things.
But 100% he's asking them to play with the ball, bring the opposition forward and then go direct for a quick attack.

It's every week. It's the blueprint, Motherwell told us that's the blueprint and we haven't changed even since then.

We should be playing in the opposite half, not our own. Especially against Livingston, Dundee, Kilmarnock etc.
Hearts, Celtic and Hunco you can do that, because they will come after you.

Wee teams, happy to park the bus, will gladly watch us roll the ball around.
... and that last bit is a huge issue for me. They're professionals, take the game by the scruff of the neck and change it about!! It smacks of a lack of responsibility from those wearing the jersey imo

Don't forget McInnes has extensive experience of finishing 2nd/3rd in the league in part due to Sevco/Hibs/Dundee Utd being in lesser leagues. Also a bigger budget at Tincastle. As much as I dislike McInnes he is a good coach, knows how to organise a team.

Historically we've nearly always suffered in the league after a European run. We've sold our star striker midway through a season who is a better all round player than we have just now no question. He's just scored against Juventus at the weekend FFS. Doubt any of our team could do that. Maybe Boyle.

SDG is less that two seasons into managing a team with huge expectations. He has achieve two consecutive top six finishes and hopefully will land Europe again. Don't think we've done that since Mowbray.

Unless SDG loses all remaining games IMO he deserves at least the first round of games next season to try and put things right here.

What scares me is another Heckingbottom/Johnson type manager from the lower leagues of England with absolutely no clue.

I was in favour of an experienced European coach before SDG got the gig. Now I feel despite things being far from ideal we need to stand by him. Unfortunately we're not always going to get pretty football in a results business.

I think Malky MacKay has alot to answer for regarding the player recruitment. The amount of money wasted on players who are simply not good enough to wear the Hibs jersey is a concern.

Im not for changing manager mid season fwiw, unless there’s something fundamental that requires a manager change.

I think planned manager changes at season end are best for both parties.

Don't forget McInnes has extensive experience of finishing 2nd/3rd in the league in part due to Sevco/Hibs/Dundee Utd being in lesser leagues. Also a bigger budget at Tincastle. As much as I dislike McInnes he is a good coach, knows how to organise a team.

Historically we've nearly always suffered in the league after a European run. We've sold our star striker midway through a season who is a better all round player than we have just now no question. He's just scored against Juventus at the weekend FFS. Doubt any of our team could do that. Maybe Boyle.

SDG is less that two seasons into managing a team with huge expectations. He has achieve two consecutive top six finishes and hopefully will land Europe again. Don't think we've done that since Mowbray.

Unless SDG loses all remaining games IMO he deserves at least the first round of games next season to try and put things right here.

What scares me is another Heckingbottom/Johnson type manager from the lower leagues of England with absolutely no clue.

I was in favour of an experienced European coach before SDG got the gig. Now I feel despite things being far from ideal we need to stand by him. Unfortunately we're not always going to get pretty football in a results business.

I think Malky MacKay has alot to answer for regarding the player recruitment. The amount of money wasted on players who are simply not good enough to wear the Hibs jersey is a concern.

Yes I agree, I think if there’s a single person that deserves a bit more time for what he has done for Hibs then I’d say it’s SDG

I think that to give a manager more time because of what he achieved as a player is so misguided.

The club has given him plenty as a player and manager. Especially the latter.

It's a perfect illustration of all that's wrong with us as a club.

Another difference in mentality was us selling Bowie, our star forward. They somehow kept ahold of Shankland and we couldn't wait to cash in on Bowie ASAP. They wouldn't be where they are had they sold him, or didn't offer him a lucrative contract

I think that to give a manager more time because of what he achieved as a player is so misguided.

I think its fuckin mental

It's significant that we had several earlier opportunities to appoint him, and didn't.

Another difference in mentality was us selling Bowie, our star forward. They somehow kept ahold of Shankland and we couldn't wait to cash in on Bowie ASAP. They wouldn't be where they are had they sold him, or didn't offer him a lucrative contract
I think the money we reportedly got was too good an offer for a player who basically done little of note to be worth that

I honestly think he'll become a very good player and would definitely have helped us gain more points this season. The money was great money, but Hibs won't invest it all back into the squad.