Labour

Not give an inflation busting pay rise to the public sector ?
I think many are due a pay rise in the public sector as their pay hasn't kept up with inflation.

I'd freeze quite a lot of benefits where a claimant hasn't been in work making contributions. I'd look to scrap child benefit. I'd introduce a land tax. I'd introduce a wealth tax. I'd scrap the council tax and introduce a local income tax/mansion tax.

I'd increase the income tax threshold to £20,000. And for those who are a couple with children to £50,000. Work needs to be made to really pay.

There's many ways smart folk are avoiding tax and as an example many with buy to let portfolios pay no tax on their profits if through a limited company as they can offset their profits directly into a pension fund with no tax liabilities.

I think many are due a pay rise in the public sector as their pay hasn't kept up with inflation
yeah I'm sure they are and they've actually finally fallen behind the private sector, though this move might reverse that.

But it's a choice. If Labour believe tanning other people's pensions and taxing the poor os justified to achieve it, I guess that's up to them. It would be better if they'd been more honest about it though.

Regionalising public sector seems an intuitively obvious way to square the circle, but apparently too difficult even though businesses manage it. Would be fairer on public sector workers in expensive areas as well i imagine.
I'd freeze quite a lot of benefits where a
claimant hasn't been in work making contributions. I'd look to scrap child benefit. I'd introduce a land tax. I'd introduce a wealth tax. I'd scrap the council tax and introduce a local income tax/mansion tax.
00s Smurf is back!!! Any bans on the horizon? :wink:

Scrapping child benefit completely, in the midst of a demographic crisis? Why not tax free riders instead?
I'd increase the income tax threshold to £20,000. And for those who are a couple with children to £50,000. Work needs to be made to really pay.
Feels right to be. As well as more dramatic tax allowance transfer as well. For example a couple where one is earning 50k and the other 'home making' shouldn't end up in a higher tax band than a couple with both earning 25k.
There's many ways smart folk are avoiding tax and as an example many with buy to let portfolios pay no tax on their profits if through a limited company as they can offset their profits directly into a pension fund with no tax liabilities.
Many of them are doing it cos Gordon Brown destroyed their existing pensions. That's the problem once Labour starts doing their thang...consequences follow.

However I do agree that private landlordship needs blootered anyway. But houses won't be affordable ever again while the mass migration and free riding phenomena exist.

yeah I'm sure they are and they've actually finally fallen behind the private sector, though this move might reverse that.

But it's a choice. If Labour believe tanning other people's pensions and taxing the poor os justified to achieve it, I guess that's up to them. It would be better if they'd been more honest about it though.

Regionalising public sector seems an intuitively obvious way to square the circle, but apparently too difficult even though businesses manage it. Would be fairer on public sector workers in expensive areas as well i imagine.

00s Smurf is back!!! Any bans on the horizon? :wink:

Scrapping child benefit completely, in the midst of a demographic crisis? Why not tax free riders instead?

Feels right to be. As well as more dramatic tax allowance transfer as well. For example a couple where one is earning 50k and the other 'home making' shouldn't end up in a higher tax band than a couple with both earning 25k.

Many of them are doing it cos Gordon Brown destroyed their existing pensions. That's the problem once Labour starts doing their thang...consequences follow.

However I do agree that private landlordship needs blootered anyway. But houses won't be affordable ever again while the mass migration and free riding phenomena exist.
Oh yeah time to ban quite a lot... I'd ban private schools even though I really really wish I could afford to put my young lad starting school in 2 weeks into a private school!

I agree with you on a lot and I'd be looking to cut back a lot in the public service. Labour are fucked. To win an election they need to persuade and convince too diverse a group. They simply can't govern for them all. So they'll quickly lose. An example would be that to get growth they need to join the customs union. They won't as it would destroy them to Reform in the red wall. And to get growth we need immigration but again they're fearful of Reform... Not that I'm pro immigration TBH. However, in many areas it's required. Labour needed to do very unpopular things early doors to fundamentally change things. They are appearing unwilling to do this.

Oh yeah time to ban quite a lot... I'd ban private schools even though I really really wish I could afford to put my young lad starting school in 2 weeks into a private school!
I think it's unfair when people call you right wing because this is the core left wing philosophy embodied - here explained by Larson

1000023138.jpg
Anyway after the short term carnage this causes, when it's followed up by Bridget ensuring everyone bar the elite are educated in identikit indoctrination centres, the polarisation of Blighty will be complete.

personally I'd be happy to see the back of private schools but only if we can get the state out of education beyond providing the funding. The destruction wrought by bampots is probably one of the structural reasons we are now a poor country pretending to be a rich one.

I agree with you on a lot and I'd be looking to cut back a lot in the public service. Labour are fucked. To win an election they need to persuade and convince too diverse a group. They simply can't govern for them all. So they'll quickly lose. An example would be that to get growth they need to join the customs union. They won't as it would destroy them to Reform in the red wall. And to get growth we need immigration but again they're fearful of Reform... Not that I'm pro immigration TBH. However, in many areas it's required. Labour needed to do very unpopular things early doors to fundamentally change things. They are appearing unwilling to do this.
I'd like to see services reformed before they are cut, and a reestablished connection between what you put in and what you get out, while maintaining the safety net principle. Far too many affluent folk are taking the piss.

Incidentally we are now at a point where the tory coalition is no less incoherent than the Labour one. This is why we need a realignment. Without it we will continue with social and economic stagnation and electoral chaos.

Was looking at more detail of some results in the Lothians. Reform generally got more votes than lib dems except Edinburgh West where Libs won, and sometimes more than Tories. But mostly they averaged 3-3.4% of the vote, however in Edinburgh South they gathered over 4% and in Midlothian over 7% These at one time would have been mining communities and farmland so prob mix of Labour (predominately) and Tory voters.

So based on your figures of those that voted 96% and 94% didnae. What's your point Davy?

Sarwar on holiday? Cvnts no been seen since the election.

Aye, didnae take long.
Blaming an unexpected black hole, they knew all along the state of the finances but still made promises they knew they couldnae keep or hid what they were planning.
Fuckin lying bastards.
If you read any serious coverage you will see that the OBR has launched a review into the information provided to Labour by the Treasury. But sure, crack on.

Dont bother to reply to my last reply.

Are you not Labours standard bearer on here?
Or were you simply trying to oust the Tories?
More questions! You said I'd be along to justify killing the aged. I think that's making it pretty personal. I don't think that's justified or necessary.

Can we expect jail sentences then for the ex govt ministers for falsifying accounts ?

Stand by and watch them both lie , then counter lie. Watch them duck and dive, and tell us everything but the truth.
And just remind yourself, that we had a chance to leave this fuckin shit show and chose not too. 55% of Scotland just love getting shafted. Wouldn’t have it any other way.
Just don’t complain about it . It’s not exactly a surprise that the manifesto suddenly now means sfa.

It's in lots of the live feeds. This site refers

Thanks, found it now. A bit odd that she says half of this black hole is to do with public sector pay rises, and then goes on to award bumper public sector pay rises.

I guess we’ll find out in due course who’s fibbing, or who is fibbing more than the other.

Stand by and watch them both lie , then counter lie. Watch them duck and dive, and tell us everything but the truth.
And just remind yourself, that we had a chance to leave this fuckin shit show and chose not too. 55% of Scotland just love getting shafted. Wouldn’t have it any other way.
Just don’t complain about it . It’s not exactly a surprise that the manifesto suddenly now means sfa.
They are all ‘economical with the truth’, including the SNP, cos none of them can tell the truth and hope to be elected. The UK is rooked, Scotland is rooked. We are a poor country pretending to be a rich one.

I have no doubt you are correct on all fronts in your reply.
And what was Scotlands answer? Let’s keep it the same .
Fuckin madness right enough. Only a few weeks ago, I was getting told on here that the UK had the best growth in the G7, and my disdain for Westminster was a figment of my imagination and we are in fact one of the strongest economies in the world.
Folk believe what ever shite they want to at any given time.

Aye, didnae take long.
Blaming an unexpected black hole, they knew all along the state of the finances but still made promises they knew they couldnae keep or hid what they were planning.
Fuckin lying bastards.
Normal service has been resumed, the honeymoon is over. We all knew they were lying bastards - their lips moved.

We all know they where liars, what rock is Sarwar hiding under, gone awfully quiet now, Mr 'no austerity under Labour'.

I have no doubt you are correct on all fronts in your reply.
And what was Scotlands answer? Let’s keep it the same .
Fuckin madness right enough. Only a few weeks ago, I was getting told on here that the UK had the best growth in the G7, and my disdain for Westminster was a figment of my imagination and we are in fact one of the strongest economies in the world.
Folk believe what ever shite they want to at any given time.
We do have better growth. We are also a poor country. The two things are not contradictory, indeed may be related.

I wonder what happened tae this energy firm that was gonni save us fortunes the cvnts were on about.

We do have better growth. We are also a poor country. The two things are not contradictory, indeed may be related.
Mmnnn. I will take your word for that one.
It then poses the question, why would one then brag about having the best growth ?
It’s all just wind and pish and smoke and mirrors.