Knife Crime

We always had knives as kids in the early 90s but they were only for playing with down the woods building gang huts and camping.. always kept it in my pocket and if I had a fight I left it in my pocket... then we moved on to g10 repeaters and gat guns

Using demographics of Nottingham from Wikipedia and assuming that most knife crime is intra racial as in London, it looks like black men are 3x more likely to be victims vs nearly 4 in London. Its still not great tbh.

Assuming the demographics of Nottingham on wiki are right, the above looks like an example of narratives again.

Whites are 59% involved vs being 81% of the population, blacks 13% vs 4.34%

Quite why papers do this, who knows, but they do it all the time.
Not particularly wishing to prove any point M, and I certainly accept your point as a very relevant one. Some statistics are indeed used to fit a narrative. Local knife crime I intended to examine for myself and I'll take note and record future incidences for a while (there are an appallingly large amount of them, sadly).

This city's stats aren't particularly typical in many ways. What is considered 'Nottingham' is a fairly small constricted place and one with many more immigrant communities than those even a very short distance outside the 'city' boundaries which wouldn't figure in those stats. It's the main recent that the city gained it's 'Shottingham' tag a few years ago due to gun crime. It's a skew that wouldn't see agreement with the Wiki stats you quote.

We can all agree that these are sad and worrying times regarding knife crime.

What utter nonsense. What is it with socialists and their faith in fckn money?

Knife crime is a huge problem in the UK. Not in Edinburgh thank goodness, but London, Manchester, Lincolnshire , and probably still Glasgow, it’s massive. And as Barney says, if guns were as readily available as in the US it would be shootings.

Not that they are rare in London, but as above it doesn’t fit the narrative so who cares ?

It’s got far more to do with teenage boys bringing each other up than it is to do with lucre. And before that it’s the default since Adam raised a Cain.

This pious bollocks that amounts to little more than assuming moral superiority by declaring that everything should be nice…. It’s the class enemy of victims in every way.

Ps casual violence like knife crime goes up when people have more money in their pockets - ie in economically ‘good’ times. You couldn’t be more wrong if you tried.
So your saying there was more knivings during loadsamoney than now?Prove it.

Not particularly wishing to prove any point M, and I certainly accept your point as a very relevant one. Some statistics are indeed used to fit a narrative. Local knife crime I intended to examine for myself and I'll take note and record future incidences for a while (there are an appallingly large amount of them, sadly).

This city's stats aren't particularly typical in many ways. What is considered 'Nottingham' is a fairly small constricted place and one with many more immigrant communities than those even a very short distance outside the 'city' boundaries which wouldn't figure in those stats. It's the main recent that the city gained it's 'Shottingham' tag a few years ago due to gun crime. It's a skew that wouldn't see agreement with the Wiki stats you quote.

We can all agree that these are sad and worrying times regarding knife crime.
Fair dos Stu though I will note that Wikipedia which gives a total population of 306k, and this local site which quotes 825k…

Key population facts - Nottinghamshire Insight

…are pretty much the same on ratios, where I’m guessing the former is using Nottingham and the latter ‘greater Nottingham’ given the different baselines.

Suffice to say my prior points were pretty London centric, I don’t pretend to know anything about your neck of the woods!

Reactions: Stu
Fair dos Stu though I will note that Wikipedia which gives a total population of 306k, and this local site which quotes 825k…

Key population facts - Nottinghamshire Insight

…are pretty much the same on ratios, where I’m guessing the former is using Nottingham and the latter ‘greater Nottingham’ given the different baselines.

Suffice to say my prior points were pretty London centric, I don’t pretend to know anything about your neck of the woods!
Oi you with your grauniad outlook.

You DO know that Nottingham isn't in the M25 belt?

So your saying there was more knivings during loadsamoney than now?Prove it.
IMG_0362.jpeg

Rises during the 80s boom vs the late 70 / early 80s recession, dips after the late 80s crash.

Dips again with the recession at the start of the 90s and picks up in 94 (economic growth resumed in 93).

Then settles into a lower rate but higher than the 80s until new labour turn on the money hose and new heights are then reached, declining in the aftermath of the bank crash.

Pattern appears to break at the end, but then despite wider economy that was a period of highest wage rises since the bank crash related to Brexit vote in 2016.

Note this is a UK view. US studies suggest there is no real link with economy one way or the other.

Ps @moathibby it makes perfect sense if you think about it. More people with spending money means more folk out on the lash and thus more fights and thus more stabbings.

I lived and worked in Lahndahn back in the loadsamoney days.

You could buy a good quality blade back then.

Proper Sheffield.

Now it's poncey Chinese steel.

I'm not going to say everything is rosey up here in Scotland but it is true however to say that police dan saff did come up here not so long ago to find out what we were doing right as knife crime in Scotland "plummeted".

I suspect the whole thing is on a knife edge 😳 up here though and because of the generally ineffective policing of low level crime anything could happen in the next 30 minutes (there could well be a prize for the first person to identify the reference) years ahead.

In the meantime it seems England isn't learning anything and continues on its increasingly lawless way.

I'm not going to say everything is rosey up here in Scotland but it is true however to say that police dan saff did come up here not so long ago to find out what we were doing right as knife crime in Scotland "plummeted".

I suspect the whole thing is on a knife edge 😳 up here though and because of the generally ineffective policing of low level crime anything could happen in the next 30 minutes (there could well be a prize for the first person to identify the reference) years ahead.

In the meantime it seems England isn't learning anything and continues on its increasingly lawless way.
This really is one of Scotland’s success stories, although I believe we are still the most violent and homicidal country in the UK. I say we, but it’s the west of Scotland really.

England is nothing like Scotland these days though. I’ve worked in most of the major cities and most of them are far sketchier in the city centre than anywhere in Scotland I’ve been. Our housing schemes and hinterlands still come out on top for bampottery but their civic spaces are a lot more edgy in my experience. I will note that Norwich is an exception, so unedgy I feel sleepy even recalling it.

That's an interesting graph although I doubt most of the murders discussed in this thread are the result of drunken pub brawls.

Are you sure ? Most murders are domestic or between friends or acquaintances. But after that I suspect it’s random or gang violence heavily overlapped with social spaces. There is very little Colonel Mustard with the candlestick in the dining room!

No exactly knife crime but apparently a body thrown from a van on Calder Road.

Aye nippy Stu eh? I've been hearing that a couple of car loads of geezers were in the Robins Nest a couple of weeks ago looking to get up to nae good.

That's the second time it's happened.
Really? Looking for someone ?

So anyone heading hame avoid the Calder Road. Your no getting through apparently

They will probably have a one way heading out of town i would think.

But heavy shit mate. Times are getting very violent

Aye nippy Stu eh? I've been hearing that a couple of car loads of geezers were in the Robins Nest a couple of weeks ago looking to get up to nae good.

That's the second time it's happened.

Never a good sign

From down south?

Calder Rd , a nice quiet wee side street to throw a body from a van . Why there I wonder ??

3 apparently all in.

Van discovered in Musselburgh with another body

Fucks going on, everywhere is descending into madness
I’m up north so out of the loop a wee bit… there’s been 3 bodies found today in Edinburgh, all supposed murders?

Being reported on the grapevine as murders.
But if someone fell from a works van the van would have stopped.

No much news about it being released which sounds like the polis are playing it quietly

I heard 3 before I left work, but 2 seems to be the known number.

Evening news saying unconfirmed reports of a collision between pedestrian and vehicle, but that definitely isn't the noise on the ground.

Aye the chatter is that the deaths were very suspicious.

Chat today being yesterday was rumours gone wild.

Someone dragged under a truck for a distance the new story 😔

Looks like the t'interweb has went into overdrive with that story doing the rounds

'Knife arches' have seen some use here for a while. I'm not certain of their effectiveness though. The story that this pic came from reported on its use one lunchtime in Nottingham. Result: no knives discovered, two were found with drugs on them.

A great many of the stabbings - and indeed a lot of the violent crime is carried out in the early hours. It's usual to see a time stamp of around 3.30am or similar. Usually in very public places too - perhaps the Edinburgh equivalent would be Princes Street or George Street etc. It feels like there is a different and separate society that enters the city at those times, lots of gangs, engineering meet-up with other ones. There also appears to be a recent trend of very young people using knifes - children basically, aged 12yrs and up. Lots of blades being hidden in shrubberies and the like in case of being searched, then returning to collect them.

1700049036493.png