Knife Crime

Not sure that's the way to get your message across Moaty

Moaty is just moating. But it reflects the wider world where the stance is more important than the corpses. It’s little different from Ryan69s blather except it’s backed by more erudite people.

30 years on the (horrific) Stephen Lawrence case is still an obsession at the bbc and the likes, while scores of black kids have been murdered in London every year since. But not in a context that furthers a narrative so almost zero coverage given. Hats off to c4 for making it not quite zero with the original series of Top Boy. I used to stay in these areas when working down there and it’s a weekly occurrence which you might not know from the national news.

White vanity matters, as it were.

Problem will never be solved imo. Sentences to light and society, Courts don't have the powers they should tbh. Snowflake society indeed. Say what you want, i don't care tbh, but if that wee lassie was your brain, grand bairn, you'd be going mad without exception.

I can guaran-fucking-tee that if white kids were getting stabbed to death in London at the rates black kids are there would be zero snash about stop and search and all the blather would be about getting the cops to contain toxic masculinity. But they’re not, so it’s not.

Makes my blood fckn boil. Our version of defund the police. Makes white saviours feel good, makes more dead black kids.

Instead of using violence to try and rule the world how about spending the money on schools and hospitals.

If you were in America would you have the same attitude to guns?
It’s much the same. Kids here use blades, kids in USA use guns. If firearms were as prevalent in Britain as they are over the pond then the stabbings would be shootings.
Then there are the adults. I’d happily execute some of the absolute twats in vehicles I encounter daily. Traffic jam? I’d cause a fuckin genocide.

Moaty, all order is underpinned by force. In this country and other developed nations we tacitly agree that the state should have the monopoly on that rather than us killing each other over every grievance. In other words we have the law and the cops.

There is no such thing on the international stage, no matter the rhetoric. No one is going to arrest Putin or Kim Basinger in Korea - though if Peter Tatchell wants to stage one his theatrical citizens arrests, I’ll hold his coat.

Ergo, between nations, more basic rules apply.

a) Knife crrime isn't as prevelant as the media are making out and b) it will not be solved by more police, more stop and search and bigger prisons it will be solved when the money spent on the arms industry is spent on the likes of housing,paying school teachers and opening more hospitals to look after the sick people.It's not pie in the sky it's quite easy.

It’s much the same. Kids here use blades, kids in USA use guns. If firearms were as prevalent in Britain as they are over the pond then the stabbings would be shootings.
Then there are the adults. I’d happily execute some of the absolute twats in vehicles I encounter daily. Traffic jam? I’d cause a fuckin genocide.
Are they no driving according to the system of car control :friendly:?

a) Knife crrime isn't as prevelant as the media are making out and b) it will not be solved by more police, more stop and search and bigger prisons it will be solved when the money spent on the arms industry is spent on the likes of housing,paying school teachers and opening more hospitals to look after the sick people.It's not pie in the sky it's quite easy.
What utter nonsense. What is it with socialists and their faith in fckn money?

Knife crime is a huge problem in the UK. Not in Edinburgh thank goodness, but London, Manchester, Lincolnshire , and probably still Glasgow, it’s massive. And as Barney says, if guns were as readily available as in the US it would be shootings.

Not that they are rare in London, but as above it doesn’t fit the narrative so who cares ?

It’s got far more to do with teenage boys bringing each other up than it is to do with lucre. And before that it’s the default since Adam raised a Cain.

This pious bollocks that amounts to little more than assuming moral superiority by declaring that everything should be nice…. It’s the class enemy of victims in every way.

Ps casual violence like knife crime goes up when people have more money in their pockets - ie in economically ‘good’ times. You couldn’t be more wrong if you tried.

Black people four times as likely as white people to be murdered, ONS data shows

This is why there is complacency over knife crime. Half hearted attempts to blame racism don’t really stick as almost all of it is black on black. And without a comfortable narrative with which to burnish white vanity - indeed quite the opposite as this is the price of the sexual / social revolution - well… it’s not very glam is it? As ever the disadvantaged collect the tab.

Naturally, the disparity has grown during the woke era.

IMG_0360.png

Black people four times as likely as white people to be murdered, ONS data shows

This is why there is complacency over knife crime. Half hearted attempts to blame racism don’t really stick as almost all of it is black on black. And without a comfortable narrative with which to burnish white vanity - indeed quite the opposite as this is the price of the sexual / social revolution - well… it’s not very glam is it? As ever the disadvantaged collect the tab.

Naturally, the disparity has grown during the woke era.

View attachment 12110

"Black people 4 times as likely as white people to be murdered".

But is it true to say it'll be a higher figure than 4 times that a black person murdered will have been murdered by a black person?

Moaty is just moating. But it reflects the wider world where the stance is more important than the corpses. It’s little different from Ryan69s blather except it’s backed by more erudite people.

30 years on the (horrific) Stephen Lawrence case is still an obsession at the bbc and the likes, while scores of black kids have been murdered in London every year since. But not in a context that furthers a narrative so almost zero coverage given. Hats off to c4 for making it not quite zero with the original series of Top Boy. I used to stay in these areas when working down there and it’s a weekly occurrence which you might not know from the national news.

White vanity matters, as it were.
I really don't think that's true at all - almost zero coverage. If there's almost zero coverage, how do you know about it, do you have secret sources of information not available to the rest of us?

I would hazard a guess that only certain cases are highlighted.

That many many cases are not reported to the polis or the victim doesn't want any action taken.

One of the headlines on Sky news this morning was an axe attack, some cvnt chopped doon a tree apparently. Dinnae ken what the worlds coming tae FFS.:coffee1:

"Black people 4 times as likely as white people to be murdered".

But is it true to say it'll be a higher figure than 4 times that a black person murdered will have been murdered by a black person?

I'm sure there's already stats available for that scenario.... one thing though is that if your black and stabbed to death the local police constabulary are much more likely to put floral tributes down and bow thier beads at the crime scene than they would for white people stabbed to death.

One of the headlines on Sky news this morning was an axe attack, some cvnt chopped doon a tree apparently. Dinnae ken what the worlds coming tae FFS.:coffee1:

Most probably the result of drugs, social media and porn or a combination of all three...oh plus the added advantage of a chainsaw.

OK let me rephrase; relative to the size of the problem it is almost ignored. You need to go look for the info. To some extenr i got woken up to it working down there.

Compare and contrast with hate crime. It's omnipresent in messaging and yet coverage, and indeed drama - it was even central to the last series of line of duty - keeps going back to a 30 year old case to make the point. Now no doubt there have been some racist murders in the interim, but it's a minscule problem by comparison - but also a far more useful narrative.

Returning to zero coverage point - 'issues' are addressed by tv drama as well as documentary reporting. Maybe there are others but Top Boy is the single series I can think of that goes near it.

We have a LOT of knife crime in Nottingham, barely a couple of days ever seems to pass without a knife crime being reported. I didn't think the percentage figures black/white stacked up when I read them above in the thread. Purely anecdotally, it didn't feel accurate.

Consulting local focal figures, albeit from 2019, they don't appear to back up that a majority of offences are by black offenders:

'Figures released by Nottinghamshire Police up to September 30 this year paint a picture of the ethnicity of knife crime offenders.

Out of 334 knife crime offences in Nottinghamshire where charges or community resolutions were made:

- 197 were white (59 percent)

- 59 were from black and minority ethnic backgrounds (17.7 percent), 44 of which were black (13 percent).

- 78 had an unknown ethnicity or their ethnicity was not recorded (23.3 percent).

We have a LOT of knife crime in Nottingham, barely a couple of days ever seems to pass without a knife crime being reported. I didn't think the percentage figures black/white stacked up when I read them above in the thread. Purely anecdotally, it didn't feel accurate.

Consulting local focal figures, albeit from 2019, they don't appear to back up that a majority of offences are by black offenders:

'Figures released by Nottinghamshire Police up to September 30 this year paint a picture of the ethnicity of knife crime offenders.

Out of 334 knife crime offences in Nottinghamshire where charges or community resolutions were made:

- 197 were white (59 percent)

- 59 were from black and minority ethnic backgrounds (17.7 percent), 44 of which were black (13 percent).

- 78 had an unknown ethnicity or their ethnicity was not recorded (23.3 percent).

Using demographics of Nottingham from Wikipedia and assuming that most knife crime is intra racial as in London, it looks like black men are 3x more likely to be victims vs nearly 4 in London. Its still not great tbh.

Assuming the demographics of Nottingham on wiki are right, the above looks like an example of narratives again.

Whites are 59% involved vs being 81% of the population, blacks 13% vs 4.34%

Quite why papers do this, who knows, but they do it all the time.