Just Back and that was underwhelming

Good JB. Thoughts in no order:

* I understood the double sub, I thought the side had generally been dead on their feet for a while by the end, and Mulligan and Barlaser had both dropped off in particular. Problem was that Levitt and Newell... didn't do anything. Bobbled about a bit, but if you're only on for ten minutes you should be running about with a jet engine up your arse chasing down everything, and they were both just passive. Levitt in particular was like a man down and it killed the game.

* Referee was disgraceful, no consistency, clear favouritism including for things that happened two feet away from him. Went beyond being bad at his job and into Turkish betting syndicate territory. Thought the crowd were patient with the 50/50 stuff - there's always going to be muttering but we all know how easy it is to be biased when it's your own team - but as time went on I think we all had that sense of outrage. Someone going in for seconds on Iredale(?) when he was on the ground and it just getting waved off would be a lead story if it happened in the EPL.

* Speaking of. Iredale had maybe his worst game for Hibs. Awful passing, poor positioning, getting done in one-on-ones by absolutely everyone and then completely sold the goal. Players are allowed to have poor games occasionally but all the same, ooft. If i was Zach Mitchell I'd be absolutely raging at spending 90 mins on the bench.

* Youan is either desperate for a move or only now fully fit after a long struggle, because he's been outstanding game after game, having been absent or shite for the best part of 18 months. If this means he leaves and we get paid, great. If he keeps it up till the end of the season, great. If he gets a second wind as a Hibs player and signs a new deal, great. If he snuggles back into the treatment table on February 1, fucks sake...I understand the racist abuse incident had a real impact, and I won't trivialise that, but however the explanation lines up it's been incredibly frustrating to go so long without a player who can do all this.

* I want to see Klidje start with Youan more, I like them as a pairing and I think Bowie needs a few less minutes in his legs. It's a long season and I want him in good nick throughout. I also think it might no hurt to force the midfield to play into space a bit more, we look far better when we do but longish punts towards Bowie either fizzle out on the second ball or go astray in the first place

* We are so, so bad at getting men forward on the counter just now. Not unrelated, the whole team looked absolutely shattered when the second half started. Motherwell had their half time oranges and a cuppa whereas Hibs seemed to have participated in an illicit fighting ring. Rallied a bit in the last twenty but that lethargy played a huge part in selling the goal

* I like Megwa but he's never a wing-back. Bit of a square peg in a round hole just now - he's more than good enough for the league but if there's a side with a back 4 and a shit RB, I think a half season loan would be worth it if we get someone new in. I wouldn't be getting rid, though - formations are far less permanent than quality and he's starting to convince me on the latter having been agnostic for a long time

* Rudi Molotnikov also needs to be playing. I'd sooner have brought him on than Junior if he was match fit - but can he get match fit on the bench? Another who would really benefit from getting the minutes in - and in his case I'd also rather he was playing down a league than rotating in this one. He's had exposure to the standard and passed that test, but he needs fitness and experience ahead of next season, and it seems unlikely he'll get it as fourth choice here

* I understood the double sub, I thought the side had generally been dead on their feet for a while by the end, and Mulligan and Barlaser had both dropped off in particular. Problem was that Levitt and Newell... didn't do anything. Bobbled about a bit, but if you're only on for ten minutes you should be running about with a jet engine up your arse chasing down everything, and they were both just passive. Levitt in particular was like a man down and it killed the game.

* Referee was disgraceful, no consistency, clear favouritism including for things that happened two feet away from him. Went beyond being bad at his job and into Turkish betting syndicate territory. Thought the crowd were patient with the 50/50 stuff - there's always going to be muttering but we all know how easy it is to be biased when it's your own team - but as time went on I think we all had that sense of outrage. Someone going in for seconds on Iredale(?) when he was on the ground and it just getting waved off would be a lead story if it happened in the EPL.

* Speaking of. Iredale had maybe his worst game for Hibs. Awful passing, poor positioning, getting done in one-on-ones by absolutely everyone and then completely sold the goal. Players are allowed to have poor games occasionally but all the same, ooft. If i was Zach Mitchell I'd be absolutely raging at spending 90 mins on the bench.

* Youan is either desperate for a move or only now fully fit after a long struggle, because he's been outstanding game after game, having been absent or shite for the best part of 18 months. If this means he leaves and we get paid, great. If he keeps it up till the end of the season, great. If he gets a second wind as a Hibs player and signs a new deal, great. If he snuggles back into the treatment table on February 1, fucks sake...I understand the racist abuse incident had a real impact, and I won't trivialise that, but however the explanation lines up it's been incredibly frustrating to go so long without a player who can do all this.

* I want to see Klidje start with Youan at some stage, I like them as a pairing and I think Bowie needs a few less minutes in his legs. It's a long season and I want him in good nick throughout. I also think it might no hurt to force the midfield to play into space a bit more, we look far better when we do but longish punts towards Bowie either fizzle out on the second ball or go astray in the first place

* We are so, so bad at getting men forward on the counter just now. Not unrelated, the whole team looked absolutely shattered when the second half started. Motherwell had their half time oranges and a cuppa whereas Hibs seemed to have participated in an illicit fighting ring. Rallied a bit in the last twenty but that lethargy played a huge part in selling the goal

* I like Megwa but he's never a wing-back. Bit of a square peg in a round hole just now - he's more than good enough for the league but if there's a side with a back 4 and a shit RB, I think a half season loan would be worth it if we get someone new in. I wouldn't be getting rid, though - formations are far less permanent than quality and he's starting to convince me on the latter having been agnostic for a long time

* Rudi Molotnikov also needs to be playing. I'd sooner have brought him on than Junior if he was match fit - but can he get match fit on the bench? Another who would really benefit from getting the minutes in - and in his case I'd also rather he was playing down a league than rotating in this one. He's had exposure to the standard and passed that test, but he needs fitness and experience ahead of next season, and it seems unlikely he'll get it as fourth choice here

Good post, agree with all of it.

On the Barlaser/Mulligan double sub, Motherwell were able to run though the middle of our team with ease towards the end of the game, so it made sense to get fresh legs in there.

Mulligan was absolutely burst, on a booking, and making too many mistakes by that point (he went to ground for a challenge on the edge of our box, luckily he pulled out of it it or that would have been him sent off), so him going off at that stage made perfect sense.

Barlaser was fading too by that stage.

The real problem is Newell and Levitt being the only options. Neither are close to the level of the players they replaced. That’s on Malky and co to fix, although that won’t happen until the summer, so hopefully Chaiwa is at least back in the mix for one of them soon.

Motherwell are solid at the back and it was always going to be a hard shift for whoever we had upfront. They were missing their main man but they are still a very good fitba team. Barlaser was looking like Pirlo and I couldn't believe it when Gray hooked him. All in all a point was a fair result. Its just a pity we couldnt get 3 for the sell out crowd
Looked like he was blowing out his arse . Same as mulligan . They were countering us far too easily

Was there any crosses came in from Megwas side of the pitch. No, because they kept away from him 👍
Megwa didn’t stop every cross . That’s just silly. No fullback can stop every cross. The last few weeks Megwa has been decent and has contributed to a very good run of games. I’d be suprised if he’s at hibs next season, he won’t improve the team. He needs to find a team where he plays every week.

Good post, agree with all of it.

On the Barlaser/Mulligan double sub, Motherwell were able to run though the middle of our team with ease towards the end of the game, so it made sense to get fresh legs in there.

Mulligan was absolutely burst, on a booking, and making too many mistakes by that point (he went to ground for a challenge on the edge of our box, luckily he pulled out of it it or that would have been him sent off), so him going off at that stage made perfect sense.

Barlaser was fading too by that stage.

The real problem is Newell and Levitt being the only options. Neither are close to the level of the players they replaced. That’s on Malky and co to fix, although that won’t happen until the summer, so hopefully Chaiwa is at least back in the mix for one of them soon.
There’s no reason why the midfield can’t be improved until the summer. Rudi could have come up , and give us energy , legs and aggression. He did it last week at killie

I mean in terms of signings, if we’re doing business in January there are higher priority areas - target man and right wing back being them. We also have too many midfielders on the books as it is without signing more.

I expect there will be big changes to the midfield come the summer - Levitt will be out of contract, Manneh seems to be a mystery so can’t see him staying, Barlaser’s loan deal will be up, bids for Mulligan are likely.

Rudi is a different point. You’re right he could have come on, probably a better option than Levitt is at this stage. If he’s fit again I hope he gets some game time.

I’m going against the grain here but I wasn’t impressed with Motherwell

More hype than substance
They are above us in the league . Second half they counter attacked us with pace . we didn’t cope with it.

Yesterday, not for the first time we didnt kill a team off when we are on top.

We have the worst defence out the top five teams , hence we are fifth. Which is some stat for a defensive team

I’d love to watch Hibs play like Motherwell:

they have lost two goals in ten league games.

Great JB @Cabbage&Ribs . I also after watching felt a little underwhelmed. First half I thought we were good and well on top without really creating anything of note. Barlaser was very good, I really hope we can tie him down permanently. I thought Jack Iredale was given a torrid time by their number 18 who was lightning quick, I also liked the look of Elijah Just , a really technical quick player.
After we pulled it back to 1-1 I was hoping we would go for it , but we looked knackered. Elie, Barlaser Hanley, O’Hora , Salinger played well, my MOTM for us was Barlaser.

I mean in terms of signings, if we’re doing business in January there are higher priority areas - target man and right wing back being them. We also have too many midfielders on the books as it is without signing more.

I expect there will be big changes to the midfield come the summer - Levitt will be out of contract, Manneh seems to be a mystery so can’t see him staying, Barlaser’s loan deal will be up, bids for Mulligan are likely.

Rudi is a different point. You’re right he could have come on, probably a better option than Levitt is at this stage. If he’s fit again I hope he gets some game time.
Players are in process of leaving

Great JB @Cabbage&Ribs . I also after watching felt a little underwhelmed. First half I thought we were good and well on top without really creating anything of note. Barlaser was very good, I really hope we can tie him down permanently. I thought Jack Iredale was given a torrid time by their number 18 who was lightning quick, I also liked the look of Elijah Just , a really technical quick player.
After we pulled it back to 1-1 I was hoping we would go for it , but we looked knackered. Elie, Barlaser Hanley, O’Hora , Salinger played well, my MOTM for us was Barlaser.
Agree with all of that 👍

Megwa didn’t stop every cross . That’s just silly. No fullback can stop every cross. The last few weeks Megwa has been decent and has contributed to a very good run of games. I’d be suprised if he’s at hibs next season, he won’t improve the team. He needs to find a team where he plays every week.
Opinions, what forums are for .

* I want to see Klidje start with Youan more, I like them as a pairing and I think Bowie needs a few less minutes in his legs. It's a long season and I want him in good nick throughout. I also think it might no hurt to force the midfield to play into space a bit more, we look far better when we do but longish punts towards Bowie either fizzle out on the second ball or go astray in the first place

Agree with a lot of that, especially the ref , mentioned it at the start of the game thread, I remembered him as being anti hibs and so it transpired . Youan outstanding game after game is a stretch 🤔 old habits die hard and still remain for me 🤷‍♂️ beat two or three players then either lose the ball or give it away 😩

Great JB! Barlaser probably my MOTM, he's improved noticeably since he got up to speed with the Scottish game. Agree not Josh Mulligan's best game, too many wrong decisions made, not something you can normally critiscise him for.
Having just watched the highlights, Mulligan was often surrounded by Well players trying to block his path and just couldn’t get a pass away. Can’t fault the lad’s determination though.

Agree with a lot of that, especially the ref , mentioned it at the start of the game thread, I remembered him as being anti hibs and so it transpired . Youan outstanding game after game is a stretch 🤔 old habits die hard and still remain for me 🤷‍♂️ beat two or three players then either lose the ball or give it away 😩
Had Youan chanced a shot or got a bit luckier with the break of the ball on a couple of occasions yesterday he would have been a hero - it’s a fine line for sure but, for me, I was delighted to see much more positive body language from him - some of his close control is beyond anyone in this league and I’m enjoying watching it while he’s with us as he’s the kind of player I’d pay to watch.

He is putting in more effort right enough but as has been said, he could be angling for a move and if he doesn’t get it will he revert to type, wbo knows . For me a move would be my preference to free up and/or get the cash 🤞

Great Just Back.

I thought the first half, was one of the best we’ve played this season - without creating any major clear cut chances. Some of the little triangles and one touch play to move us up the park was great to watch. Unfortunately as we’ve done countless times this season, one moment of non concentration cost us. Not seen it back but looked like Iredale was at fault, which summed up his day really. It feels like he’s trying to be to clever and over complicate things - get back to basics Jack. Strange that Motherwell targeted that side with the inexperienced Megwa on the other flank. Would like to see another LCB come in to challenge on that side.

As for Megwa, he again did absolutely fine, and is a very competent defender - but he’s not a RWB. For all Caddens critics this season you can see the difference in attacking intent and energy when he comes on. Can we combine the two of them?

Probably an outlier but i still remain to be convinced by Barlaser. Undoubtedly a very good, technical football player, but I just don’t think he imposes or influences games enough. I want him to take hold of games and dictate more. No doubt he’s improved, but I think his inability to tackle really negatively impacts us based on our current midfield make up. Still not sure the balance is quite right.

Guy behind me described the game as a chess match. Summed it up for me, think both teams matched up fairly similarly and prevented each team playing to their full potential and/or the original tactics set out. Probably a good point, but it’s another draw in a season of draws that have cost us.

They are above us in the league . Second half they counter attacked us with pace . Abs we didn’t cope with it.

We have the worst defence out the top five teams , hence we are fifth. Which is some stat for a defensive team

I thought Motherwell looked like a more cohesive unit, had a gameplan etc. We are a bit more harum scarum. Maybe inevitable when you've got Youan on the pitch (who was out best player) so a bit of a trade off but I left the game thinking they were the better team.

They will get sussed eventually.
The are well drilled. Organised.
I prefer a player or two who can do something a bit different.
Game changers.

Great write-up and I agree with most of it. I thought Megwa was fine defensively and positionally, still think he needs to work on the attacking aspects of his game, particularly beating a man and getting a cross in. Hard to tell if he lacks pace or not?

Iredale had a shocker earning the name 'Diredale' on that performance. You could also tell he was also a bit frustrated with himself so hopefully it's a blip as decent left-sided central defenders are like hen's teeth.

Bowie appeared to be struggling, especially 2nd half and we were calling for him to be subbed just before his goal. He took it well and it was a great piece of skill to deal with a ball that was slightly behind him.

Mulligan was great though sometimes he runs with the ball into traffic rather than releasing it early. He Youan and McGrath had some great link-up play first half which was a joy to see.

Youan in the mood is like a new signing. I just wish I knew what makes him tick and why sometimes he plays like a man possessed and others he looks like he'd rather be doing anything else but playing football. My MOTM.

I thought Motherwell looked like a good team but despite playing some lovely football at times (Their no.21 and 90 looked like class acts) struggled to create anything other than their goal which came from a Hibs mistake at the other end of the park.

Ref wasn't the worst I've seen if a bit inconsistent in his decision-making however how he can see a Motherwell player throw Iredale to the ground right in front of him and take no action quite frankly mystifies me.

Great write-up and I agree with most of it. I thought Megwa was fine defensively and positionally, still think he needs to work on the attacking aspects of his game, particularly beating a man and getting a cross in. Hard to tell if he lacks pace or not?

Iredale had a shocker earning the name 'Diredale' on that performance. You could also tell he was also a bit frustrated with himself so hopefully it's a blip as decent left-sided central defenders are like hen's teeth.

Bowie appeared to be struggling, especially 2nd half and we were calling for him to be subbed just before his goal. He took it well and it was a great piece of skill to deal with a ball that was slightly behind him.

Mulligan was great though sometimes he runs with the ball into traffic rather than releasing it early. He Youan and McGrath had some great link-up play first half which was a joy to see.

Youan in the mood is like a new signing. I just wish I knew what makes him tick and why sometimes he plays like a man possessed and others he looks like he'd rather be doing anything else but playing football. My MOTM.

I thought Motherwell looked like a good team but despite playing some lovely football at times (Their no.21 and 90 looked like class acts) struggled to create anything other than their goal which came from a Hibs mistake at the other end of the park.

Ref wasn't the worst I've seen if a bit inconsistent in his decision-making however how he can see a Motherwell player throw Iredale to the ground right in front of him and take no action quite frankly mystifies me.
I know he's isn't left footed but I'd be enquiring about Stephen Welsh as Aberdeen are sniffing him and I think he'd be good for us if we are going to continue with a 3 and Rocky is in demand again.

I think the issue with Youan is he’s not played enough; if he was in the team every week then he’s fit in much better and make better decisions.

He has so many different skills though, much more than any of the other forward options.

Someone said maybe @Dub that they didn’t think Obita was the best choice at LWB - I think yesterday was good evidence to back that up. The run and cross for the goal was brilliant though.

I think the issue with Youan is he’s not played enough; if he was in the team every week then he’s fit in much better and make better decisions.

He has so many different skills though, much more than any of the other forward options.

I agree. Any player needs a run in the team to show what they can really do, but particularly when it’s an “off the cuff” type. In a team of good if slightly predicable players, I’d be finding a place for one who can do something different.

Someone said maybe @Dub that they didn’t think Obita was the best choice at LWB - I think yesterday was good evidence to back that up. The run and cross for the goal was brilliant though.

I thought Obita was very good yesterday? He was let down by Iredale behind him, who had one of his worst games for us.

Obita was excellent imo. The line I always trot out is that he's got the wrong instincts; he attacks like he's playing full-back and defends like he's a winger. But technically he's very good and when he occasionally finds his rhythm he's in piss-the-league territory. Not quick enough for the highest echelon but well set at Hibs

Don’t know where your vantage points were yesterday I was in the upper south.

Had a really good view watching the Hibs shape especially in the second half.

Still much prefer watching side on

Don’t know where your vantage points were yesterday I was in the upper south.

Had a really good view watching the Hibs shape especially in the second half.

Still much prefer watching side on
We were in the Lower South and enjoyed it but much prefer East or West. Quite a large Dutch contingent behind us (Groningen?) and a few from Ireland in front of us.

Mikey thought he was knackered 10 minutes before he came off Kev.He puts so much intae a game and as said further the page he seemed tae try a bit harder after McGrath went off.
What a player we have though.
Agree. He looked knackered and should have been subbed sooner. After McGrath went off he had more to do.

We were in the Lower South and enjoyed it but much prefer East or West. Quite a large Dutch contingent behind us (Groningen?) and a few from Ireland in front of us.

Was in the south for the Partizan and Legia games, and enjoyed it yesterday.

I’ve certainly shifted in that I would happily buy a ticket for the south whilst still preferring one of the other three stands

I think that’s probably the key to shifting 16,000 season tickets and then selling up to 3,000 more depending on the opposition

Which is probably the key to ground expansion

They are above us in the league . Second half they counter attacked us with pace . we didn’t cope with it.
.... but we did cope with it though.
No
and have been the 2nd top scorers and now 3rd top scorers. THATS some stat for a "defensive" team
Id love hibs to play like Barcelona
No bad stat that. There must be some defending going on at Motherwell

How I seen it. Motherwell ripped us up doon the left side in the game at Fir Park and obviously thought they wid have success again daein that. I dinnae think Iredale likes playing against them he was struggling at times. Dinnae ken what happened in the box in the 2nd half between him and a ‘Well player, mibbes a continuation of a few weeks ago when he lost the plot and got subbed.
Well player went down appealing for pen. Ref not interested play moves upfield. Iredale bent over Well player giving each other verbal.Both now standing almost head to head. Play is back in our half well player fires his elbow back into Iredale chest he goes down ref had his back to it facing the East but linesman might have saw it. That's when more players joined in.

A good game between two evenly matched teams. A draw was a fair result imo and I can see how Motherwell are doing so well this season. We missed Boyle and his pace today which would have provided more options for getting in behind a very well drilled Motherwell defence. I wasn’t underwhelmed at all, I enjoyed the game, thought Hibs were decent, and with a couple of players to come back, things are positive for the 2nd part of the season.
I thought it was a good game only spoiled by poor/dreadful officiating. Well play nice passing game and are comfortable playing out from the back although we we did press and make it difficult for them. Nice wee backheels to keep attack going. We are well capable of doing the same and have done so recently. I wasn't underwhelmed just a bit disappointed we didn't win.
At full time there was a section in the East booing as players walked round just hope it was directed towards the officials and not our players. Really shan and undeserved if it was. Draw fair result.

The cross was dreadful and easy cross and played it behind Bowie . Thank god we got a lucky break of the ball

I thought it was a good game only spoiled by poor/dreadful officiating. Well play nice passing game and are comfortable playing out from the back although we we did press and make it difficult for them. Nice wee backheels to keep attack going. We are well capable of doing the same and have done so recently. I wasn't underwhelmed just a bit disappointed we didn't win.
At full time there was a section in the East booing as players walked round just hope it was directed towards the officials and not our players. Really shan and undeserved if it was. Draw fair result.
We were booing the officials. Whilst clapping the team.