This thread is for the general discussion of the Article Just Back and that was underwhelming. Please add to the discussion here.
Cheers or that C&R, too far away tae see the one at the end but I was right behind his TWO good saves he had in the first half. He's turning into a very decent keeper.Sallinger - two fine saves, especially the one at the end.
And great with the ball at his feetCheers or that C&R, too far away tae see the one at the end but I was right behind his TWO good saves he had in the first half. He's turning into a very decent keeper.
Aye, he can pick a pass tae when its needed. I still get the heebie jeebies when we pass the ball about at bye kicks but I think thats because of the disasters we had wi Bursik.And great with the ball at his feet
Great just back, however I thought Barlaser was MOM and iredale gave away 75% of his passes to the opposition.Woke up this morning with a real feeling of excitement to see the bonnie boys run out in green and white. Everything was perfect for a winter’s day of fiba; a chill in the air, blue skies overhead and most importantly an inform Hibs team bolstered by a sold out Easter Road. Are there many things as beautiful as walking up St Claire Street in the sun with the cabbage patch nestled at the top of the hill?
I started my breakfast which may be more akin to something found on the continent, a roasted baguette doused in virgin olive oil (better than butter for the ticker) and vine tomatoes. This continentalism is something that has always set us Hibbies, and the great Hibs teams of the past aside from the poppy thieves across the city. We have always played the game with flair and panache in a similar flamboyancy to some of the great European giants but most importantly ideology the game should be played the right way - the Hibs way.
As I said, Easter Road in the sun is a beautiful sight. Arrived at the ground at 14:00 and the club shop was already stowed and a queue had formed on the outside. I haven’t seen a queue like that since Scorpio Leisure were offering a bring a friend for free day back in the early 00’s. Not that I would know but a mate told me that. The items in the club shop the now is a wee bit underwhelming, aye the strips are lovely but I think the other guff like random t shirts with some Hibs-related ink emblazoned on them is nothing more than a generic cash grab.
I was glad to see Elie retain his place in the team and that Obita had returned meaning McGrath could be moved back to the middle of the park where he belongs alongside Josh with Barlaser just behind in the no6 role. Megwa started again at right wing back which is okay, he needs a run of games to show us what he can do. Apart from that, the rest of the gang were our usual starters.
Hibs came flying out the traps like a greyhound at Powderhall, Elie breaking through in the first minute but the attack coming to nothing. It was hopefully a sign of things to come. There was some nice interchange again by Youan but this time with McGrath but the inswinging ball was too high for Bowie who was was lingering in the box. Encouraging start from the Hibees.
20 minutes and there was another half chance for us, after some nice play (memory escapes me who it was), a lovely ball to the back post was met by Hanley to head it back across goal to the 6 yard box but the Motherwell defence cleared it. This is where a top striker would instinctually be loitering but Keiron was caught in no man’s land on the shoulder of the defender. I dare say the header back across would be perfect for a midfielder making a late run into the box.
A couple minutes later and Josh Mulligan, who was quiet until this point, went on one of his powerful bulldozing runs and threads a ball through to Youan who just and no more let it get away from him, giving the Motherwell keeper enough time to rush out and smother it near the penalty spot. I don’t know if it was the ball through but I thought Elie took his eye off it.
By this point, everything nice was flowing from our left hand side and I thought that Motherwell hadn’t really been in the game until roughly the half hour mark when their wee forward Elijah Just cut in from the edge of the box and tried to bend it in Sallanger’s far post but it took a big hand by the big Austrian to push it away. Their first real chance of the match but a fine save.
Elie again was a real nuisance for the Motherwell defence and on the edge of their box close to the Pat Stanton Stand, he beat his man and made it to the byline, clipped a lovely ball over the Motherwell keeper’s head to which Megwa caught on the volley but unfortunately straight at the keepers legs.
Half time and I thought we were the better team and should be 1 or 2 up.
Second half started and before we know it, we are 1 down. A defence splitting pass from one of the Well players towards the channel where Iredale and Obita should be marshalling but Obita was nowhere to be seen allowed Madawshe to run through on goal and slot a powerful low drive into far corner of the net. Now, I know Well are a decent counterattacking outfit but I’m not seeing the benefit of a back five when the defence can be carved open as easily as this? In a back four, you’re always taught that the full back should tuck in to minimise the space close to the goal but with a back five you shouldn’t need that due to having the extra man occupying that space. Far too easy.
The home crowd was now getting more frustrated and that was only compounded by the referee’s inconsistency by not applying the same level of judgement of fouling across every tackle. Well players going down far too easily and conning the wee fanny but a few tough tackles on the boys in green didn’t warrant that apparently.
Not to worry though because a lovely cross field ball hit flat as you like by Dan Barlaser, one which Jason Cummings would have called a zinger, found Jordan Obita in acres of space on the left hand side of the pitch. Jordan galloped forward and curled one into the path of big Ziggy Goaldust who was there to sweep the ball in the back of the next from the centre of the goal. 1-1. Dan had been brilliant up until this point. He has the ability to run the tempo of a match and his range of passing is enough to unlock an attack at any position in the park.
The game continued to be a bit of a basketball match for the remainder of the game, Well offering a lot more than they did in the first half with the majority of their attacking play coming down their right hand side. Manawashe is a threat and isn’t scared to take a man on, he stood out like a sore thumb in a well drilled but distinctly average Steelmen team.
It would be a Hibs game without one last heart in mouth moment and that came in the 90th minute where a Motherwell player, can’t remember who, was able to get a shot off from inside our box but another fine save from Raf made sure that a point was kept. I don’t know if it’s just me but why do we keep backing off and jockeying while defending in and around our box? Aye, don’t dive in but at some point you MUST make the tackle.
Sallinger - two fine saves, especially the one at the end. Made sure we at least got a point.
Megwa - I said earlier he needs a run of games, as does any player, but I don’t think he will be good enough log term. Needs to learn to stop the cross instead of just running parallel to the winger
O’Hora - did all that was asked of him. Never put a foot wrong.
Hanley - thought he was a rock in the heart of the back3. Won everything in the air and on the ground.
Iredale - thought Jack was caught out of position a few times today, one leading to a goal. Was okay on the ball.
Obita - put in a shift up and down the left flank and some lovely crosses into the box.
Barlaser - one of his best games in a Hibs jersey. Thought he strolled it today. Never looks rushed.
Mulligan - one of his poorer performances. Never really got going but he did close down and harry. Does he need a rest?
McGrath - I thought he linked up with Elie well and was one of our best players before he went off early in the second. Hope it wasn’t serious?
Bowie - huffed and puffed and got his goal.
Youan - for me our best player today. I thought if anything was going to happen in the forward areas, it would come from him. Buzzed around the Motherwell box, especially in the first half and done everything apart from score
Subs - nothing worth mentioning but disappointing that wee Klidje only got 15 mins, especially when we are desperate for another goal. Glad to see Levitt get a wee run out.
SDG - I felt the line up he went with was correct but tactically it felt very bland. I’m not sure what the style of play is at the moment.
Thanks for the chance do this Just Back.
I’m not sure ‘underwhelming’ described it for me. I reckon it was two good teams cancelling each other out. Barlasser always impresses me, breaking up the game in midfield and rarely gives a poor pass. The last 15 minutes tested my nerves; no idea why there were only two goals.Woke up this morning with a real feeling of excitement to see the bonnie boys run out in green and white. Everything was perfect for a winter’s day of fiba; a chill in the air, blue skies overhead and most importantly an inform Hibs team bolstered by a sold out Easter Road. Are there many things as beautiful as walking up St Claire Street in the sun with the cabbage patch nestled at the top of the hill?
I started my breakfast which may be more akin to something found on the continent, a roasted baguette doused in virgin olive oil (better than butter for the ticker) and vine tomatoes. This continentalism is something that has always set us Hibbies, and the great Hibs teams of the past aside from the poppy thieves across the city. We have always played the game with flair and panache in a similar flamboyancy to some of the great European giants but most importantly ideology the game should be played the right way - the Hibs way.
As I said, Easter Road in the sun is a beautiful sight. Arrived at the ground at 14:00 and the club shop was already stowed and a queue had formed on the outside. I haven’t seen a queue like that since Scorpio Leisure were offering a bring a friend for free day back in the early 00’s. Not that I would know but a mate told me that. The items in the club shop the now is a wee bit underwhelming, aye the strips are lovely but I think the other guff like random t shirts with some Hibs-related ink emblazoned on them is nothing more than a generic cash grab.
I was glad to see Elie retain his place in the team and that Obita had returned meaning McGrath could be moved back to the middle of the park where he belongs alongside Josh with Barlaser just behind in the no6 role. Megwa started again at right wing back which is okay, he needs a run of games to show us what he can do. Apart from that, the rest of the gang were our usual starters.
Hibs came flying out the traps like a greyhound at Powderhall, Elie breaking through in the first minute but the attack coming to nothing. It was hopefully a sign of things to come. There was some nice interchange again by Youan but this time with McGrath but the inswinging ball was too high for Bowie who was was lingering in the box. Encouraging start from the Hibees.
20 minutes and there was another half chance for us, after some nice play (memory escapes me who it was), a lovely ball to the back post was met by Hanley to head it back across goal to the 6 yard box but the Motherwell defence cleared it. This is where a top striker would instinctually be loitering but Keiron was caught in no man’s land on the shoulder of the defender. I dare say the header back across would be perfect for a midfielder making a late run into the box.
A couple minutes later and Josh Mulligan, who was quiet until this point, went on one of his powerful bulldozing runs and threads a ball through to Youan who just and no more let it get away from him, giving the Motherwell keeper enough time to rush out and smother it near the penalty spot. I don’t know if it was the ball through but I thought Elie took his eye off it.
By this point, everything nice was flowing from our left hand side and I thought that Motherwell hadn’t really been in the game until roughly the half hour mark when their wee forward Elijah Just cut in from the edge of the box and tried to bend it in Sallanger’s far post but it took a big hand by the big Austrian to push it away. Their first real chance of the match but a fine save.
Elie again was a real nuisance for the Motherwell defence and on the edge of their box close to the Pat Stanton Stand, he beat his man and made it to the byline, clipped a lovely ball over the Motherwell keeper’s head to which Megwa caught on the volley but unfortunately straight at the keepers legs.
Half time and I thought we were the better team and should be 1 or 2 up.
Second half started and before we know it, we are 1 down. A defence splitting pass from one of the Well players towards the channel where Iredale and Obita should be marshalling but Obita was nowhere to be seen allowed Madawshe to run through on goal and slot a powerful low drive into far corner of the net. Now, I know Well are a decent counterattacking outfit but I’m not seeing the benefit of a back five when the defence can be carved open as easily as this? In a back four, you’re always taught that the full back should tuck in to minimise the space close to the goal but with a back five you shouldn’t need that due to having the extra man occupying that space. Far too easy.
The home crowd was now getting more frustrated and that was only compounded by the referee’s inconsistency by not applying the same level of judgement of fouling across every tackle. Well players going down far too easily and conning the wee fanny but a few tough tackles on the boys in green didn’t warrant that apparently.
Not to worry though because a lovely cross field ball hit flat as you like by Dan Barlaser, one which Jason Cummings would have called a zinger, found Jordan Obita in acres of space on the left hand side of the pitch. Jordan galloped forward and curled one into the path of big Ziggy Goaldust who was there to sweep the ball in the back of the next from the centre of the goal. 1-1. Dan had been brilliant up until this point. He has the ability to run the tempo of a match and his range of passing is enough to unlock an attack at any position in the park.
The game continued to be a bit of a basketball match for the remainder of the game, Well offering a lot more than they did in the first half with the majority of their attacking play coming down their right hand side. Manawashe is a threat and isn’t scared to take a man on, he stood out like a sore thumb in a well drilled but distinctly average Steelmen team.
It would be a Hibs game without one last heart in mouth moment and that came in the 90th minute where a Motherwell player, can’t remember who, was able to get a shot off from inside our box but another fine save from Raf made sure that a point was kept. I don’t know if it’s just me but why do we keep backing off and jockeying while defending in and around our box? Aye, don’t dive in but at some point you MUST make the tackle.
Sallinger - two fine saves, especially the one at the end. Made sure we at least got a point.
Megwa - I said earlier he needs a run of games, as does any player, but I don’t think he will be good enough log term. Needs to learn to stop the cross instead of just running parallel to the winger
O’Hora - did all that was asked of him. Never put a foot wrong.
Hanley - thought he was a rock in the heart of the back3. Won everything in the air and on the ground.
Iredale - thought Jack was caught out of position a few times today, one leading to a goal. Was okay on the ball.
Obita - put in a shift up and down the left flank and some lovely crosses into the box.
Barlaser - one of his best games in a Hibs jersey. Thought he strolled it today. Never looks rushed.
Mulligan - one of his poorer performances. Never really got going but he did close down and harry. Does he need a rest?
McGrath - I thought he linked up with Elie well and was one of our best players before he went off early in the second. Hope it wasn’t serious?
Bowie - huffed and puffed and got his goal.
Youan - for me our best player today. I thought if anything was going to happen in the forward areas, it would come from him. Buzzed around the Motherwell box, especially in the first half and done everything apart from score
Subs - nothing worth mentioning but disappointing that wee Klidje only got 15 mins, especially when we are desperate for another goal. Glad to see Levitt get a wee run out.
SDG - I felt the line up he went with was correct but tactically it felt very bland. I’m not sure what the style of play is at the moment.
Thanks for the chance do this Just Back.
I really like Barlaser but he can't / doesn't tackle.Great just back, however I thought Barlaser was MOM and iredale gave away 75% of his passes to the opposition.
Aye they brought a decent noisy support - just a pity they brought a drum too.Good to see such a good Motherwell support as well. Away attendances are, on the whole, much better this season. Falkirk took 1600 to St Mirren, good for the league.
Thought that as well . Hanley m.o.m. For meThought we started on the front foot and scorned a couple off good chances in first 30mins.
Next 15 they came into the game everything going down our left hand side.
They cut us open a few times but bad finishing and good saves kept us in it until half time.
Second half and they attacked our left hand side and got their goal.
Megwa never had it so easy as they always came down Hibs left hand side.
Good goal Obita and Bowie.
Thought it was an entertaining game and a draw was the right result.
Thought Milligan tried to hard and didn’t have the best off games.Iredale was awful.
Hanley,Ohora were outstanding at the back.
McGrath going off was a blow.Youan blew hot and cold.
Chaiwa was in the stand with Boyle, N-Cadz etc. Was sitting just down from them. He's just a laddie when you see him up close, forget he's only 21.Great just back @Cabbage&Ribs an enjoyable read! This was a point which should have been three.
I thought Hibs lost the rhythm when McGrath went off, which coincided with Motherwell getting into the game and scoring their goal.
Our best performers today were O’Hora, Hanley, Barlaser and Youan, although my man of the match was Obita - he was very positive all game, his first touch and ball in for our goal were exceptional.
Iredale had a shocker, his passing was woeful and his positioning not much better.
Mulligan tried to do too much, especially when McGrath went off.
Megwa isn’t a top six calibre player for me, his team mates don’t appear to think so either given the amount of times the pass was on to him and they opted not to play it to him.
Bowie looked like he was struggling all game, his touch was non-existing and he was back to that falling down pish I hate seeing, although he does come alive in the box and he’s really proving to be a good finisher.
The subs didn’t really make their mark, thought the manager was too slow changing it too. Cadden and Klidje should have been on the park much earlier than they were. Not sure where Chaiwa was, of the forgotten man Manneh, but I feel that Newell and Levitt are a real step down from Barlaser and Mulligan.
Time to embark on a cup run.
Was there any crosses came in from Megwas side of the pitch. No, because they kept away from himGreat just back @Cabbage&Ribs an enjoyable read! This was a point which should have been three.
I thought Hibs lost the rhythm when McGrath went off, which coincided with Motherwell getting into the game and scoring their goal.
Our best performers today were O’Hora, Hanley, Barlaser and Youan, although my man of the match was Obita - he was very positive all game, his first touch and ball in for our goal were exceptional.
Iredale had a shocker, his passing was woeful and his positioning not much better.
Mulligan tried to do too much, especially when McGrath went off.
Megwa isn’t a top six calibre player for me, his team mates don’t appear to think so either given the amount of times the pass was on to him and they opted not to play it to him.
Bowie looked like he was struggling all game, his touch was non-existing and he was back to that falling down pish I hate seeing, although he does come alive in the box and he’s really proving to be a good finisher.
The subs didn’t really make their mark, thought the manager was too slow changing it too. Cadden and Klidje should have been on the park much earlier than they were. Not sure where Chaiwa was, of the forgotten man Manneh, but I feel that Newell and Levitt are a real step down from Barlaser and Mulligan.
Time to embark on a cup run.
Goot post and accurateMotherwell are solid at the back and it was always going to be a hard shift for whoever we had upfront. They were missing their main man but they are still a very good fitba team. Barlaser was looking like Pirlo and I couldn't believe it when Gray hooked him. All in all a point was a fair result. Its just a pity we couldnt get 3 for the sell out crowd
I’m going against the grain here but I wasn’t impressed with Motherwell
More hype than substance
Their home form is much better than their away form this season.I’m going against the grain here but I wasn’t impressed with Motherwell
More hype than substance
Was there any crosses came in from Megwas side of the pitch. No, because they kept away from him![]()
Chaiwa was in the stand with Boyle, N-Cadz etc. Was sitting just down from them. He's just a laddie when you see him up close, forget he's only 21.
Doesn’t get forward too much although he did have a shot on target first half .If he defends well and stops the crosses he’ll do for meI’ve no way of knowing if that’s factually correct, but they certainly didn’t “keep away from him”. Stopping crosses is like 10% of the job, needs to offer a lot more than that.
Either way I don’t think he’s a top six calibre player right now. Watching him up close in the last few games, he’s not got great technique. He’s young and can develop, but if we don’t sign someone for that position we’ll struggle to finish top 4.
Frustrating at times but I think a draw was a fair result.The referee was atrocious and his performance should be reviewed by his bosses.Other than that,I totally agree with you especially regards shots on goal.Great just back. I thought it was two teams going for each other. It was really unfortunate that they got their goal just after McGrath went off. I think Hoilett was meant to stretch them on their right but it left a big hole that they exploited for their goal. But we came back and I thought showed a lot of grit. I felt a bit sorry for Mulligan. On more than one occasion he broke two or three tackles and then fluffed the final ball. But what an acquisition.
And yes, some of our passing was lovely. But sometimes we should just have a shot on goal.
I'm still sensing an upward path.
What's your take on Gray hooking Mulligan and Barlaser for that pair? On 88 minutes too, what was the point?Newell and Levitt are not the answer moving forward.
In SDG we trust.
Elbow in the chest to Iredale which downed him, Paul McGinn tried to drag him up insinuating he was overacting! Linesman as usual never consulted by referee( what's the point of having them??) Linesmen and 4th officials are absolutely pointless in the Scottish game.What was the stooshie in our box late on? I genuinely thought one of theirs was going to get a red card but the ref saw nothing…
How I seen it. Motherwell ripped us up doon the left side in the game at Fir Park and obviously thought they wid have success again daein that. I dinnae think Iredale likes playing against them he was struggling at times. Dinnae ken what happened in the box in the 2nd half between him and a ‘Well player, mibbes a continuation of a few weeks ago when he lost the plot and got subbed.Thought we started on the front foot and scorned a couple off good chances in first 30mins.
Next 15 they came into the game everything going down our left hand side.
They cut us open a few times but bad finishing and good saves kept us in it until half time.
Second half and they attacked our left hand side and got their goal.
Megwa never had it so easy as they always came down Hibs left hand side.
Good goal Obita and Bowie.
Thought it was an entertaining game and a draw was the right result.
Thought Milligan tried to hard and didn’t have the best off games.Iredale was awful.
Hanley,Ohora were outstanding at the back.
McGrath going off was a blow.Youan blew hot and cold.
No just the media, some on here think they’re Real MadridI thought they were poor too. Defended their box well but hardly the expansive football team the media have hyped them up to be.
Mikey thought he was knackered 10 minutes before he came off Kev.He puts so much intae a game and as said further the page he seemed tae try a bit harder after McGrath went off.Agree not Josh Mulligan's best game, too many wrong decisions made, not something you can normally critiscise him for.