Just back and it was Hot Chocolate.....

• Thread starter Thread starter 1875
  • Start date Start date
  • Featured
Yup, as Errol Ainsworth Glenstor Brown MBE sang, We (you) Win Again, what an awfy habit Hibs, I love it. Ok we wurnae brilliant, but we pushed a poor Aberdeen team aside for all their huff, puff, bluster and falling down. Oh aye for all Shinnie''s fucking moaning. Tit of a man. In Nectar Triantis, we really do have a laddie who gets better every week, damn shame he is not a Hibs player.

Took me an hour and a half to get from the leafy bandit country of Livingston to the Holy ground, mostly caused by road works on the A71 and farmers, public schoolboys, posh girls and tories heading to Murrayfield for the egg chasing. The west of Edinburgh was a log jam, toff traffic, some of them clearly cannae drive, I was up to high doh with them driving through, crivvens. I picked up young Sonny, my nephew who is Hibs daft and loves going to the games, he particularly enjoyed the sheep shagging bastard song. As a responsible uncle, I made sure he kent every swear word and every song. He also told me he has done his modern studies homework already as he likes his teacher, a good Hibby who reads this. His uncle enjoys hearing Bella Ciao sung at Easter Road, even if it is about the masked winger, Beardy Cadden, as the young team celebrate our founders with the Irish Tricolour and the plight of the Palestinian People. Good work kids. Hibs fans eh?

I picked up a batch of tickets for the upcoming celebration of St Patrick and 150 years of Hibernian, scheduled for the 15th of March at the Hibernian Supporters Association, with live music from The Mad Ferret Band, sing along here, a buffet and a grand old raffle or two with some corking prizes. Pop me a message if ye fancy a ticket.

Rumours today are that Elie is away for 1.5 million, assume to Stoke? Also from last week in Dingwall, which I forgot about, Sir David has had his house up for sale for a while, turns out he is just moving round the corner. Nothing sinister. A fellow West Lothian Hibs man.

Fitba wise, it was not as good as we ken Hibs can be, but after some initial Aberdeen effort, it was quickly apparent they are total shite and there for the taking, and taken they were. Our defence is so much better, Jordan Smith has turned out to be a very good goalie, O'Hora is steady, Rocky is great and Iredale special. Whodathunkit! As I said above, Nectarious Triantis has grown to be a smashing player, I really wish we signed him if we could. Dylan Levitt is finally showing his worth and Chris Cadden first half and Beardy Cadden second done well. Boyler remains a pest although closely marked and Dwight Gayle is a clever player. I did think Josh Campbell offered nothing first half and little second yet he stayed on. The subs for me, once again generally made us worse not better, excluding the introduction of Ziggy Bowie who I think will become a real player for us as he gets match fit.

So, on the pitch.....

Jordan Smith has become a fine keeper, I love how much he enjoys playing for our team, you really see it as he applauds the fans after the game. I love his ability as a keeper too. My kind of Hibernian player.

I though Warren O'Hora quietly had his best game for Hibs today. He is slow of thinking and pace sometimes but he played well today.

Rocky, well what a transformation in the guy, he is confident, skilful and defends well. Magic by Sir David going to the back 3/5.

Jack Iredale is class, I love watching him. Another player who loves playing for Hibernian. I want 11 of him every week.

Chris Cadden had a very good first half and we were much weaker when he was replaced by Miller.

Nectarios Triantis is frankly superb, what a player. Tall, strong, graceful and damned skilful. Scored again and fair enjoyed doing it. Another player who loves playing for Hibernian.

Nicky Cadden was poor first half, player within himself. Much better second half though, scored a good goal and looked more like we ken he can be.

Dylan Levitt player well and some of his passes were excellent, didnae think he needed subbed. Dylan has really came on to a game recently. He is nae Scottie Allan though, he could be better than Dylan McGeough though?

Josh Campbell offered very little and I was surprised he was given the full game, I felt introducing Rudi was a good option to improve our attack second half. Josh did set nectar up for his goal.

Gayle worked hard but didnae get much service. I think he thrives on it. He was given an assist for Cadden's goal, no sure how from my seat.

Boyler led the line and team well, he enjoys beating his boyhood club.

Subs

Only Bowie made a positive improvement to the team, which is a shame. He replaced Gayle on teh hour and I think we have a good player there, he is strong, skilful and will score goals for Hibs. Him and Triantis also share the same barber, which is good, if confusing.

Double sub ten minutes later, both made us poorer in my eyes.

Kwon for the very decent Dylan Levitt. Nae idea why, no where good enough for Hibs for me.

Miller replaced Chris Cadden at the same time another player who is no where near as good as the player he replaced.

The second double sub came with 5 (actually 15 with injury time) to go.

Hoillet for Boyle. Hoilett is a busted flush, sorry.

Obita for Nicky Cadden. I am fine with Obita getting a few minutes when Hibs are winning. No much more right enough.

See more below......
Great JB as usual 👍

Thought I would just add one more thing.
Was it really necessary for some Hibs fans to boo Kevin Nisbet when he came on ?
He was a good striker for Hibs, and went through a lot of personal torment when he played for us, and scored quite a few goals for the club.

One of the things in football I have never quite been able to get my head around is why fans boo former players when they come back...they have moved on. They signed for another club..so what ? Nisbet moved to the English Championship for far more money and a chance to give himself a higher profile..it didn't work out, and now he is back at Aberdeen on loan.

Thought the booing of him by some Hibs fans was out of order to be honest.

Was it really necessary for some Hibs fans to boo Kevin Nisbet when he came on ?
He was a good striker for Hibs, and went through a lot of personal torment when he played for us, and scored quite a few goals for the club.

One of the things in football I have never quite been able to get my head around is why fans boo former players when they come back...they have moved on. They signed for another club..so what ? Nisbet moved to the English Championship for far more money and a chance to give himself a higher profile..it didn't work out, and now he is back at Aberdeen on loan.

If it stopped him scoring then yeah! We don't want it to be welcoming coming on to the park. Quick boo is better than his reception while playing for us 😬

Coming off id give him a wee clap, because I enjoyed his goals, self serving or not, they counted for us!

Not that I boo'd btw, no my thing 😁

Just watched the highlights which basically just showed the goals. Like another posted said, Campbell is pretty handy in the air and had a big part in the first goal. I actually think he played a really big part in the goal last week too. Without watching it again, I'm pretty sure he won an important header than knocked it down to Triantis who laid it on for Dylan to score.

Larry Foley was an australian boxer who never lost a fight. His last fight was in the 1870's, he was paid the vast sum of £1000 and won the fight hence "as happy as Larry".
That’s pretty good @Dub but it’s actually not where that saying comes from.
It actually comes from the Bounce, believe it or not, and was first said on here just after the Bounce’s inception. @blue toon hibby posted after a Hibs win that @greencol had got his bet up and had bought them 2 white pudding suppers each and he was currently sitting ootside Javits halfway through the first yin
“Happy as Larry”

He was overall a good player for us. However, we are not daft and can distinguish between an ambitious player and one who wants to constantly leave as he did throughout his time at Hibs. He came across as a "big time Charlie" and that's why with a lot of justification IMO he was booed.

Said before, I'm convinced Kwon has a clause where Hibs must give him game time.

He was overall a good player for us. However, we are not daft and can distinguish between an ambitious player and one who wants to constantly leave as he did throughout his time at Hibs. He came across as a "big time Charlie" and that's why with a lot of justification IMO he was booed.
He still looks like a big time charlie now, like he’s better than aberdeen 🤔

That’s pretty good @Dub but it’s actually not where that saying comes from.
It actually comes from the Bounce, believe it or not, and was first said on here just after the Bounce’s inception. @blue toon hibby posted after a Hibs win that @greencol had got his bet up and had bought them 2 white pudding suppers each and he was currently sitting ootside Javits halfway through the first yin
“Happy as Larry”
Two white pudding suppers each 😩 greedy fat barstewards 🤣

Just watched the highlights which basically just showed the goals. Like another posted said, Campbell is pretty handy in the air and had a big part in the first goal. I actually think he played a really big part in the goal last week too. Without watching it again, I'm pretty sure he won an important header than knocked it down to Triantis who laid it on for Dylan to score.
He is the best headerer( is that a word even ) of the ball up front and in midfield , no fear from the laddie 👍👏

I am a big backer of Josh, I thought he was poor yesterday, although he did win a few knock on headers.

Great win today from Hibs...not a great game, but I wasn't very confident about us winning beforehand, so tonight i'm as happy as Larry....whoever he is.

Defensively Hibs were excellent today, organised, aggressive, and hard working. It was good to see.
It was basically a game of counter attacks, and the gift from Hell which is VAR done it's best to feck everything up.
Well done to the referee for sticking to his guns with the Rocky penalty incident. There was no handball, but Rocky did lead with his elbow in the challenge which I assume is what they were checking. Nothing in it though. An extra nine minutes added on for this nonsense, and wholesale subs changes which seems to happen from both sides in every game now.

Triantis was excellent, and Hibs I am sure are going to be putting together a package to try to get him from Sunderland on a permanent deal which would be great, but I won't hold my breath on it happening. Iredale superb and Rocky as well, and that was Chris Caddens's best game for a while. I was also impressed with Jordan Smith in goals, he dealt with everything really well. I wish Martin Boyle had scored with his chance when he was right through, but he really isn't a natural striker with composure required in these sort of situations.

Aberdeen are a shadow of the team they were earlier in the season and to be honest it's difficult to see why this collapse has happened. They are totally shorn of confidence, and defensively they seem to be unable to deal with set-pieces. Thelin on borrowed time unless they start winning very soon. A club which has spent heavily on it's squad do not look in a good place just now.

Ten games unbeaten for Hibs, and next up a very tricky cup tie at Somerset Park on Friday night live on TV. Ayr United are going really well this season and have a great chance of promotion. They have won nine out of their twelve home matches this season, so we know what to expect, and we have to be ready and prepared. I'm sure we will be.

David Gray deserves massive credit for Hibs turnaround this season, as of course do the players. Job not done yet though, still a long way to go.
I think MB is a natural finisher, you wont score every time and credit to their keeper on that occassion . Think him and KB will form a oroductive partnership going forward 👍

Anyone know the half time draw numbers from yesterday? I missed the draw numbers as I was in the pisser and cant see anything on the website.

Not the best performance yesterday but a comfortable win really is all that matters.

No problem with booing nisbet and I did as hes the panto villian. I dont actually have any ill feeling toward him.

Var even helped hibs for once at second goal which is unusual.

Brilliant just back mate. This winning feeling is something we won't get tired of. SDG is after instilling a never say die winning mentality into a side that only a few months ago looked completely shattered and had no identity. Get those passports dusted off and renewed 👏

Some change in fortunes since the 3-3 with them at home, we have went on a great run since, Rocky's equaliser the turning point?

Pioneers hospitality was different class yesterday. Scran was barry and they weren’t shy with the bevvy either 👌🏻 The other HSL winners at our table were really sound too, had a good blether with them. And Hibs won! All in all a great day, rough today though!

4578fce2-a88d-4e78-b28e-aebf875e192c.jpeg

IMG_5456.jpeg

61404a62-03c2-4f3b-a900-cf97d02d7254.jpeg

In that final pic I look like I have ginormous arm like Mr Tickle?! 😂

Pioneers hospitality was different class yesterday. Scran was barry and they weren’t shy with the bevvy either 👌🏻 The other HSL winners at our table were really sound too, had a good blether with them. And Hibs won! All in all a great day, rough today though!

View attachment 16687

View attachment 16688

View attachment 16689

In that final pic I look like I have ginormous arm like Mr Tickle?! 😂
Boy sits next tae me (who I went tae school wi 50 years ago, talk about small world) was in, I think the Albion for the Motherwell game as his firm sponsored the match ball. He said he thought it wisnae very good. He's no a drinker so he wisnae bothered aboot that but he said the food was cauld and the only thing that was hot was his half time pie.

We were in the Albion Bar briefly after the hospitality ended at 5:45, seemed ok. More of a boozer / sports bar type setup.

Gary was in the new Behind the Goals for the Clydebank game and said it was really good. Said it was worth the fiver entry he paid but said it wasn’t worth the 15 quid we charge for league games.

We were in the Albion Bar briefly after the hospitality ended at 5:45, seemed ok. More of a boozer / sports bar type setup.

Gary was in the new Behind the Goals for the Clydebank game and said it was really good. Said it was worth the fiver entry he paid but said it wasn’t worth the 15 quid we charge for league games.
Ken what I found odd was that they couldn't put the Villa game on the tv's because they said it's controlled by the media what goes on the tv's? I don't get that at all.

I wasn't impressed by the Albion bar overall even though I did enjoy my day.

I hate the fact you can't pay by cash, even the half time draw was card only. I'm really opposed to being forced into card only transactions. £6 a pint of tennents as well, thats George street prices. I feel for those who have paid the extra £400 or whatever it is to basically access a pub before and after the game.

Thanks M. Good to read we're dispatching teams while still not being at our best.

Incredible the turnaround in fortunes for both ourselves and Aberdeen. In a league, where outwith Celtic, there are no real standout teams the confidence generated from a run of good results can be the main difference. I still don't feel SDG is really getting the credit he deserves from the media for turning it round given where we were. He's certainly getting it from me. From virtually nowhere the manager and a core of 13 or 14 players have galvanised a team spirit and fight that personally I didn't think they were capable of. It's not always pretty but I'm enjoying the attitude and spirit.

Long may it continue..this period of stability needs to be used properly to plan ahead, correct the catastrophic errors of the last few years and improve recruitment considerably

Ken what I found odd was that they couldn't put the Villa game on the tv's because they said it's controlled by the media what goes on the tv's? I don't get that at all.

I hate the fact you can't pay by cash, even the half time draw was card only. I'm really opposed to being forced into card only transactions. £6 a pint of tennents as well, thats George street prices. I feel for those who have paid the extra £400 or whatever it is to basically access a pub before and after the game.
The whole stadium is cash-free, as you well know. Bash on with the moaning though.

so you were underwhelmed with the experience then? Welcome to the 21st century where cash is dead except for tax dodgers and the TV controls are operated by the owners to feed the owners content to the owners audience in the owners stadium.

It'll never catch on...