Longbangers
Great JB as usualYup, as Errol Ainsworth Glenstor Brown MBE sang, We (you) Win Again, what an awfy habit Hibs, I love it. Ok we wurnae brilliant, but we pushed a poor Aberdeen team aside for all their huff, puff, bluster and falling down. Oh aye for all Shinnie''s fucking moaning. Tit of a man. In Nectar Triantis, we really do have a laddie who gets better every week, damn shame he is not a Hibs player.
Took me an hour and a half to get from the leafy bandit country of Livingston to the Holy ground, mostly caused by road works on the A71 and farmers, public schoolboys, posh girls and tories heading to Murrayfield for the egg chasing. The west of Edinburgh was a log jam, toff traffic, some of them clearly cannae drive, I was up to high doh with them driving through, crivvens. I picked up young Sonny, my nephew who is Hibs daft and loves going to the games, he particularly enjoyed the sheep shagging bastard song. As a responsible uncle, I made sure he kent every swear word and every song. He also told me he has done his modern studies homework already as he likes his teacher, a good Hibby who reads this. His uncle enjoys hearing Bella Ciao sung at Easter Road, even if it is about the masked winger, Beardy Cadden, as the young team celebrate our founders with the Irish Tricolour and the plight of the Palestinian People. Good work kids. Hibs fans eh?
I picked up a batch of tickets for the upcoming celebration of St Patrick and 150 years of Hibernian, scheduled for the 15th of March at the Hibernian Supporters Association, with live music from The Mad Ferret Band, sing along here, a buffet and a grand old raffle or two with some corking prizes. Pop me a message if ye fancy a ticket.
Rumours today are that Elie is away for 1.5 million, assume to Stoke? Also from last week in Dingwall, which I forgot about, Sir David has had his house up for sale for a while, turns out he is just moving round the corner. Nothing sinister. A fellow West Lothian Hibs man.
Fitba wise, it was not as good as we ken Hibs can be, but after some initial Aberdeen effort, it was quickly apparent they are total shite and there for the taking, and taken they were. Our defence is so much better, Jordan Smith has turned out to be a very good goalie, O'Hora is steady, Rocky is great and Iredale special. Whodathunkit! As I said above, Nectarious Triantis has grown to be a smashing player, I really wish we signed him if we could. Dylan Levitt is finally showing his worth and Chris Cadden first half and Beardy Cadden second done well. Boyler remains a pest although closely marked and Dwight Gayle is a clever player. I did think Josh Campbell offered nothing first half and little second yet he stayed on. The subs for me, once again generally made us worse not better, excluding the introduction of Ziggy Bowie who I think will become a real player for us as he gets match fit.
So, on the pitch.....
Jordan Smith has become a fine keeper, I love how much he enjoys playing for our team, you really see it as he applauds the fans after the game. I love his ability as a keeper too. My kind of Hibernian player.
I though Warren O'Hora quietly had his best game for Hibs today. He is slow of thinking and pace sometimes but he played well today.
Rocky, well what a transformation in the guy, he is confident, skilful and defends well. Magic by Sir David going to the back 3/5.
Jack Iredale is class, I love watching him. Another player who loves playing for Hibernian. I want 11 of him every week.
Chris Cadden had a very good first half and we were much weaker when he was replaced by Miller.
Nectarios Triantis is frankly superb, what a player. Tall, strong, graceful and damned skilful. Scored again and fair enjoyed doing it. Another player who loves playing for Hibernian.
Nicky Cadden was poor first half, player within himself. Much better second half though, scored a good goal and looked more like we ken he can be.
Dylan Levitt player well and some of his passes were excellent, didnae think he needed subbed. Dylan has really came on to a game recently. He is nae Scottie Allan though, he could be better than Dylan McGeough though?
Josh Campbell offered very little and I was surprised he was given the full game, I felt introducing Rudi was a good option to improve our attack second half. Josh did set nectar up for his goal.
Gayle worked hard but didnae get much service. I think he thrives on it. He was given an assist for Cadden's goal, no sure how from my seat.
Boyler led the line and team well, he enjoys beating his boyhood club.
Subs
Only Bowie made a positive improvement to the team, which is a shame. He replaced Gayle on teh hour and I think we have a good player there, he is strong, skilful and will score goals for Hibs. Him and Triantis also share the same barber, which is good, if confusing.
Double sub ten minutes later, both made us poorer in my eyes.
Kwon for the very decent Dylan Levitt. Nae idea why, no where good enough for Hibs for me.
Miller replaced Chris Cadden at the same time another player who is no where near as good as the player he replaced.
The second double sub came with 5 (actually 15 with injury time) to go.
Hoillet for Boyle. Hoilett is a busted flush, sorry.
Obita for Nicky Cadden. I am fine with Obita getting a few minutes when Hibs are winning. No much more right enough.
See more below......