Just back and it was Hot Chocolate.....

• Thread starter Thread starter 1875
  • Start date Start date
  • Featured
Sir David Gray, the man that scored that goal, on that day, sigh. To hear the Hibernian faithful sing his name as it echoes around the Holy Ground creates a simply wonderful warm feeling, my hero, our hero. The finest of Hibernians. He recognised that we wurnae brilliant today on the radio, but we will win ugly if we have to. I love the guy, I cannae hide it.

Aberdeen are dreadful, their support was less than usual today and after 20 minutes we barely heard them sing their version of various Hibs songs. The silence of the lambs. I enjoyed the fact the torn faced fanny Nisbet made a *&*^ of everything he tried. Aberdeen away indeed. I cannae see the Jimmy Fell In love in lasting much longer, they are fucking gash.

The referee was fucking hopeless, although he didnae give them the penalty after those fannies at VAR suggested it was and stuck with giving us our second goal. maybe he wisnae as hopeless as I thought? Maybe its they orange shirts they wear?

Hibernian Man of the Match was easy, Nectarios Triantis, what a fucking player the laddie is. Mention for the ever excellent Jordan Smith and Jack Iredale. Advance Australia Fair!

Next up is Ayr United away in the cup on Friday night, should be tough. If anyone has a spare Hibs main stand ticket that they might wish to swap for a Hibs Terracing ticket, happy to swap and chuck in a pie or a cold but passionate kiss on the lips. I bought mine and my mates, but was too late for my son as the stand is now sold out.

It is good being a Hibby at the moment eh?

Hibernian Forever!!

I noticed our players were a bit more aggressive and getting in their faces more than usual.

I also noticed when Nico scored Ziggy and a couple of others were laughing and having wee in joke. Fairly sure it was him scoring with his head. Good to see.

Yup, as Errol Ainsworth Glenstor Brown MBE sang, We (you) Win Again, what an awfy habit Hibs, I love it. Ok we wurnae brilliant, but we pushed a poor Aberdeen team aside for all their huff, puff, bluster and falling down. Oh aye for all Shinnie''s fucking moaning. Tit of a man. In Nectar Triantis, we really do have a laddie who gets better every week, damn shame he is not a Hibs player.

Took me an hour and a half to get from the leafy bandit country of Livingston to the Holy ground, mostly caused by road works on the A71 and farmers, public schoolboys, posh girls and tories heading to Murrayfield for the egg chasing. The west of Edinburgh was a log jam, toff traffic, some of them clearly cannae drive, I was up to high doh with them driving through, crivvens. I picked up young Sonny, my nephew who is Hibs daft and loves going to the games, he particularly enjoyed the sheep shagging bastard song. As a responsible uncle, I made sure he kent every swear word and every song. He also told me he has done his modern studies homework already as he likes his teacher, a good Hibby who reads this. His uncle enjoys hearing Bella Ciao sung at Easter Road, even if it is about the masked winger, Beardy Cadden, as the young team celebrate our founders with the Irish Tricolour and the plight of the Palestinian People. Good work kids. Hibs fans eh?

I picked up a batch of tickets for the upcoming celebration of St Patrick and 150 years of Hibernian, scheduled for the 15th of March at the Hibernian Supporters Association, with live music from The Mad Ferret Band, sing along here, a buffet and a grand old raffle or two with some corking prizes. Pop me a message if ye fancy a ticket.

Rumours today are that Elie is away for 1.5 million, assume to Stoke? Also from last week in Dingwall, which I forgot about, Sir David has had his house up for sale for a while, turns out he is just moving round the corner. Nothing sinister. A fellow West Lothian Hibs man.

Fitba wise, it was not as good as we ken Hibs can be, but after some initial Aberdeen effort, it was quickly apparent they are total shite and there for the taking, and taken they were. Our defence is so much better, Jordan Smith has turned out to be a very good goalie, O'Hora is steady, Rocky is great and Iredale special. Whodathunkit! As I said above, Nectarious Triantis has grown to be a smashing player, I really wish we signed him if we could. Dylan Levitt is finally showing his worth and Chris Cadden first half and Beardy Cadden second done well. Boyler remains a pest although closely marked and Dwight Gayle is a clever player. I did think Josh Campbell offered nothing first half and little second yet he stayed on. The subs for me, once again generally made us worse not better, excluding the introduction of Ziggy Bowie who I think will become a real player for us as he gets match fit.

So, on the pitch.....

Jordan Smith has become a fine keeper, I love how much he enjoys playing for our team, you really see it as he applauds the fans after the game. I love his ability as a keeper too. My kind of Hibernian player.

I though Warren O'Hora quietly had his best game for Hibs today. He is slow of thinking and pace sometimes but he played well today.

Rocky, well what a transformation in the guy, he is confident, skilful and defends well. Magic by Sir David going to the back 3/5.

Jack Iredale is class, I love watching him. Another player who loves playing for Hibernian. I want 11 of him every week.

Chris Cadden had a very good first half and we were much weaker when he was replaced by Miller.

Nectarios Triantis is frankly superb, what a player. Tall, strong, graceful and damned skilful. Scored again and fair enjoyed doing it. Another player who loves playing for Hibernian.

Nicky Cadden was poor first half, player within himself. Much better second half though, scored a good goal and looked more like we ken he can be.

Dylan Levitt player well and some of his passes were excellent, didnae think he needed subbed. Dylan has really came on to a game recently. He is nae Scottie Allan though, he could be better than Dylan McGeough though?

Josh Campbell offered very little and I was surprised he was given the full game, I felt introducing Rudi was a good option to improve our attack second half. Josh did set nectar up for his goal.

Gayle worked hard but didnae get much service. I think he thrives on it. He was given an assist for Cadden's goal, no sure how from my seat.

Boyler led the line and team well, he enjoys beating his boyhood club.

Subs

Only Bowie made a positive improvement to the team, which is a shame. He replaced Gayle on teh hour and I think we have a good player there, he is strong, skilful and will score goals for Hibs. Him and Triantis also share the same barber, which is good, if confusing.

Double sub ten minutes later, both made us poorer in my eyes.

Kwon for the very decent Dylan Levitt. Nae idea why, no where good enough for Hibs for me.

Miller replaced Chris Cadden at the same time another player who is no where near as good as the player he replaced.

The second double sub came with 5 (actually 15 with injury time) to go.

Hoillet for Boyle. Hoilett is a busted flush, sorry.

Obita for Nicky Cadden. I am fine with Obita getting a few minutes when Hibs are winning. No much more right enough.

See more below......
Pretty much but think Hoilett is ok 🤔

cheers mark. Thought we weren’t great but another 3 points on the board and results kind of going in our favour, 2 points off 4th and 5 of 3rd who would have thought in November eh?

Smith done well with everything he had to deal with. Iredale excellent as we are now accustomed too. N cadden came on to a game. Triantis was superb, has such good control in the ball for a lanky guy 😂 tried the wrong pass every so often but doesn’t phase him and goes again. Another goal to add to his tally now. Boyle done well running and causing problems really should’ve scored but, he does create space for other as always drags a couple players with him. Looking forward to seeing a fully fit Bowie!

On the other hand Kwon is shite, dunno what we or Celtic seen in him.

I thought the ref was ok and glad he told Clancy to fuck off for the pen. The west stand linesman was fucking hopeless but never had a clue what way throw ins were to go into the ref decided and a few iffy offsides 1st half.

Fuck the sheep and nisbett the wee fanny.

Onto Ayr and hopefully a game away from a return to hampden

Great report. Sadly watched from house as I toil to get to 2nd back row of FF upper. Need to change seats next year, gutted, been up there since 2nd season it existed. Iredale WOW, Triantis WOW, Smith Wow. Whole team a joy to watch. Thought ref was fine today, makes a change. Love Hibs 🇳🇬
Contact the ticket office and ask to move seats to ones that aren’t ST ones currently in a more suitable place for you they would surely help?

Stellar Just Back again, fifth place Bouncers feels good? I predicted 2-1 to Hibs, guess when our luck was down that would have probably been a penalty? Any win against the Sheep is good, what's up with their terrible away strip? See St Mirren lost too all good for us...

The west stand linesman was fucking hopeless but never had a clue what way throw ins were to go into the ref decided and a few iffy offsides 1st half.
Said tae my mate the cvnt was just sticking his flag up every time we attacked. Cvnt stopped daein it in the second half.

Great write up. It’s quite extraordinary that next time out we could potentially achieve the recovery of a twenty eight point lead Aberdeen had over us. That is testament to the work of SDG and well done our legend. It is also on their part the most spectacular collapse I can ever recall, seeming worse than ours under Butcher though I’m not sure of the stats.

What a mental league.

Pretty much agree with everything in the JB @1875. Triantis was excellent , push the boat out Hibs and sign him permanently. The Cadden brothers played well , Chris was excellent in the first half, Beardy excellent in the second. Iredale is getting better and better , the defence I feel is looking much better , Rocky is superb, O Hara playing well and Iredale playing well. I’ve said it now for weeks, Jordan Smith has been a revelation in goals since he came in, he imo has been rock solid.

Smith has been good and i like when he gets the ball he’s always looking to throw it out early and get us back running up the pitch

Said tae my mate the cvnt was just sticking his flag up every time we attacked. Cvnt stopped daein it in the second half.
Aye he was a fanny 1st 20 mins we must have bad 4 offsides that didn’t look it. Every time the ball went out and it wasn’t a clear kick out he kept his flag down until the ref decided who pretty much always had a worse view

Agree with most.We won ugly which is good.
Thought the referee was good.Was there a booking.
Levitt couldn’t lace McGeoughs boots sadly.
Much better on corners defending and attacking which is good.
Onwards and upwards GGTTH

Yup, as Errol Ainsworth Glenstor Brown MBE sang, We (you) Win Again, what an awfy habit Hibs, I love it. Ok we wurnae brilliant, but we pushed a poor Aberdeen team aside for all their huff, puff, bluster and falling down. Oh aye for all Shinnie''s fucking moaning. Tit of a man. In Nectar Triantis, we really do have a laddie who gets better every week, damn shame he is not a Hibs player.

Took me an hour and a half to get from the leafy bandit country of Livingston to the Holy ground, mostly caused by road works on the A71 and farmers, public schoolboys, posh girls and tories heading to Murrayfield for the egg chasing. The west of Edinburgh was a log jam, toff traffic, some of them clearly cannae drive, I was up to high doh with them driving through, crivvens. I picked up young Sonny, my nephew who is Hibs daft and loves going to the games, he particularly enjoyed the sheep shagging bastard song. As a responsible uncle, I made sure he kent every swear word and every song. He also told me he has done his modern studies homework already as he likes his teacher, a good Hibby who reads this. His uncle enjoys hearing Bella Ciao sung at Easter Road, even if it is about the masked winger, Beardy Cadden, as the young team celebrate our founders with the Irish Tricolour and the plight of the Palestinian People. Good work kids. Hibs fans eh?

I picked up a batch of tickets for the upcoming celebration of St Patrick and 150 years of Hibernian, scheduled for the 15th of March at the Hibernian Supporters Association, with live music from The Mad Ferret Band, sing along here, a buffet and a grand old raffle or two with some corking prizes. Pop me a message if ye fancy a ticket.

Rumours today are that Elie is away for 1.5 million, assume to Stoke? Also from last week in Dingwall, which I forgot about, Sir David has had his house up for sale for a while, turns out he is just moving round the corner. Nothing sinister. A fellow West Lothian Hibs man.

Fitba wise, it was not as good as we ken Hibs can be, but after some initial Aberdeen effort, it was quickly apparent they are total shite and there for the taking, and taken they were. Our defence is so much better, Jordan Smith has turned out to be a very good goalie, O'Hora is steady, Rocky is great and Iredale special. Whodathunkit! As I said above, Nectarious Triantis has grown to be a smashing player, I really wish we signed him if we could. Dylan Levitt is finally showing his worth and Chris Cadden first half and Beardy Cadden second done well. Boyler remains a pest although closely marked and Dwight Gayle is a clever player. I did think Josh Campbell offered nothing first half and little second yet he stayed on. The subs for me, once again generally made us worse not better, excluding the introduction of Ziggy Bowie who I think will become a real player for us as he gets match fit.

So, on the pitch.....

Jordan Smith has become a fine keeper, I love how much he enjoys playing for our team, you really see it as he applauds the fans after the game. I love his ability as a keeper too. My kind of Hibernian player.

I though Warren O'Hora quietly had his best game for Hibs today. He is slow of thinking and pace sometimes but he played well today.

Rocky, well what a transformation in the guy, he is confident, skilful and defends well. Magic by Sir David going to the back 3/5.

Jack Iredale is class, I love watching him. Another player who loves playing for Hibernian. I want 11 of him every week.

Chris Cadden had a very good first half and we were much weaker when he was replaced by Miller.

Nectarios Triantis is frankly superb, what a player. Tall, strong, graceful and damned skilful. Scored again and fair enjoyed doing it. Another player who loves playing for Hibernian.

Nicky Cadden was poor first half, player within himself. Much better second half though, scored a good goal and looked more like we ken he can be.

Dylan Levitt player well and some of his passes were excellent, didnae think he needed subbed. Dylan has really came on to a game recently. He is nae Scottie Allan though, he could be better than Dylan McGeough though?

Josh Campbell offered very little and I was surprised he was given the full game, I felt introducing Rudi was a good option to improve our attack second half. Josh did set nectar up for his goal.

Gayle worked hard but didnae get much service. I think he thrives on it. He was given an assist for Cadden's goal, no sure how from my seat.

Boyler led the line and team well, he enjoys beating his boyhood club.

Subs

Only Bowie made a positive improvement to the team, which is a shame. He replaced Gayle on teh hour and I think we have a good player there, he is strong, skilful and will score goals for Hibs. Him and Triantis also share the same barber, which is good, if confusing.

Double sub ten minutes later, both made us poorer in my eyes.

Kwon for the very decent Dylan Levitt. Nae idea why, no where good enough for Hibs for me.

Miller replaced Chris Cadden at the same time another player who is no where near as good as the player he replaced.

The second double sub came with 5 (actually 15 with injury time) to go.

Hoillet for Boyle. Hoilett is a busted flush, sorry.

Obita for Nicky Cadden. I am fine with Obita getting a few minutes when Hibs are winning. No much more right enough.

See more below......
Absolutely right, another good result a clean sheet and up to 5 th place.

Thanks for the JB @1875

A small group of Aberdden fans infiltrated the Hibs crowd along Albion road on the way to the game.

Singing Aberdeen songs and trying to get a reaction from the Hibs fans they were totally ignored and treated like the irrelevant sheep shaggers that they are.

We played in second gear never really needed to lift it.

Everyone was solid enough, Iredale was the stand out for me. Boyle was a bit quiet, but the sheep defence was obviously under instructions to keep a lid on him.

Disagree about Josh Campbell, he wins loads of headers and chucks himself about in that position. Not your classic no 10, but it makes us harder to beat. If we had someone more suited for the position I am sure we would play him.

Levitt while obviously a baller, does not really have what it takes in my opinion ( he backed out of a tackle at one point) and once Joe and Manneh are available I am sure he will be back on the bench.

Although having said that I would like to see him in Campbell’s position for a bit as a suspect it might suit him.

The game wasn't a classic. We never looked in any doubt, against a poor 🐑 team.

Iredale, and Triantis, excellent.

Could do with some creativity, hopefully the new punter that has come in, is the guy? It would be nice to think, that we might bring in someone else before the 🪟 slams shut on Monday night.

Thankfully VAR did its job with the 2nd goal, did seem the punter on today was determined to even it up, with a nothing penalty.

Great write up. It’s quite extraordinary that next time out we could potentially achieve the recovery of a twenty eight point lead Aberdeen had over us. That is testament to the work of SDG and well down our legend. It is also on their part the most spectacular collapse I can ever recall, seeming worse than ours under Butcher though I’m not sure of the stats.

What a mental league.

Had the ref not given that penalty for Ross County [which I still think was extremely dodgy] we would now be ahead of the sheep on GD.

Great to read another positive Just back @1875, keep them coming. I thought the ref let the sheepies away with some fouls similar to ones he was giving the other way and he could easily have booked that torn faced cvnt Shinnie for grabbing the ball but fair play to him for waving aside the penalty VAR tried to award.

Aye he was a fanny 1st 20 mins we must have bad 4 offsides that didn’t look it. Every time the ball went out and it wasn’t a clear kick out he kept his flag down until the ref decided who pretty much always had a worse view
I'm in FF so couldnae see obviously but heard the howls from the fans that could. I look right up the west stand line and I seen he missed a couple of throw ins. 1 for each team, mibbes let the second 1 go tae make up for the other,;))

Thanks for the JB. You must be enjoying writing them after the horror run earlier in the season. A few additional thoughts.

They really targeted our right in the first half. If was good to see Chris Cadden in discussion with other defenders about how to deal with it, which they did. Aberdeen then changed to over the top to their runners. Again we dealt with it well. A sign of good communication and confidence.

I noticed after Triantis's goal players running to Liam Craig. I guess a set piece they have been working on?

I thought Aberdeen seemed to have lots of pace and players who were tricky on the ball. There didn't seem to be much end product. I think someone could catch it from them.

I thought the ref was ok except for wild inconsistency in how he viewed things like backing in. But he had the courage not to give the penalty.

As for VAR, it did it's job with the second goal, but the only person who thought it was a penalty was Kevin Nisbet. What a waste of time that was.

But onwards and upwards.

He's done zero recently that ive noticed
I agree with @Forzahibs and @1875 about Hoilett. For all his trickery, he invariably loses the ball, and often in dangerous positions for us. The players are all working hard for each other at the moment and I don't think he works hard enough to justify a place in the team.

Reactions: Dub
Read the just back .Agree with it by and large.Hibs weren't great but the sheep were really bad.I'm glad because I thought we might slip up; but we didn't.Triantis was the best for me.Coming backed from the Iona happy and pished is far better than going down the road angry and sober.

Didn't think Josh was that bad Kwon on the other hand...noticed Bowie shouting at him for not tracking back.
Jordan Smith has really good distribution of the ball can turn defence into attack really quickly.
As the crowd started clearing out of the east I glanced across to the away support Aberdeen were standing for a good while facing their fans and applauding them almost apologetically their fans in turn were mostly half heartedly applauding back but there were a lot of angry ones hurtling abuse at them. It was a bit surreal it reminded me of us not all that long ago and the black cloud that hung over ER . Dejected players, manager heading for the revolving door, the dreaded R word being banded about. For a second, just for a second I actually felt sorry for them a kind of 'I feel your pain' but then I thought fuck it, no ma problem we're up to 5th...🎶and the Hibs go marchin' on🎶

Didn't think Josh was that bad Kwon on the other hand...noticed Bowie shouting at him for not tracking back.
Jordan Smith has really good distribution of the ball can turn defence into attack really quickly.
As the crowd started clearing out of the east I glanced across to the away support Aberdeen were standing for a good while facing their fans and applauding them almost apologetically their fans in turn were mostly half heartedly applauding back but there were a lot of angry ones hurtling abuse at them. It was a bit surreal it reminded me of us not all that long ago and the black cloud that hung over ER . Dejected players, manager heading for the revolving door, the dreaded R word being banded about. For a second, just for a second I actually felt sorry for them a kind of 'I feel your pain' but then I thought fuck it, no ma problem we're up to 5th...🎶and the Hibs go marchin' on🎶
Yeh they’re going through a bad spell

Great win today from Hibs...not a great game, but I wasn't very confident about us winning beforehand, so tonight i'm as happy as Larry....whoever he is.

Defensively Hibs were excellent today, organised, aggressive, and hard working. It was good to see.
It was basically a game of counter attacks, and the gift from Hell which is VAR done it's best to feck everything up.
Well done to the referee for sticking to his guns with the Rocky penalty incident. There was no handball, but Rocky did lead with his elbow in the challenge which I assume is what they were checking. Nothing in it though. An extra nine minutes added on for this nonsense, and wholesale subs changes which seems to happen from both sides in every game now.

Triantis was excellent, and Hibs I am sure are going to be putting together a package to try to get him from Sunderland on a permanent deal which would be great, but I won't hold my breath on it happening. Iredale superb and Rocky as well, and that was Chris Caddens's best game for a while. I was also impressed with Jordan Smith in goals, he dealt with everything really well. I wish Martin Boyle had scored with his chance when he was right through, but he really isn't a natural striker with the composure required in these sort of situations.

Aberdeen are a shadow of the team they were earlier in the season, and to be honest it's difficult to see why this collapse has happened. They are totally shorn of confidence, and defensively they seem to be unable to deal with set-pieces. Thelin on borrowed time unless they start winning very soon. A club which has spent heavily on it's squad do not look in a good place just now.

Ten games unbeaten for Hibs, and next up a very tricky cup tie at Somerset Park on Friday night live on TV. Ayr United are going really well this season and have a great chance of promotion. They have won nine out of their twelve home matches this season, so we know what to expect, and we have to be ready and prepared. I'm sure we will be.

David Gray deserves massive credit for Hibs turnaround this season, as of course do the players. Job not done yet though, still a long way to go.

Great win today from Hibs...not a great game, but I wasn't very confident about us winning beforehand, so tonight i'm as happy as Larry....whoever he is.

Defensively Hibs were excellent today, organised, aggressive, and hard working. It was good to see.
It was basically a game of counter attacks, and the gift from Hell which is VAR done it's best to feck everything up.
Well done to the referee for sticking to his guns with the Rocky penalty incident. There was no handball, but Rocky did lead with his elbow in the challenge which I assume is what ty were checking. Nothing in it though. An extra nine minutes added on for this nonsense, and wholesale subs changes which seems to happen from both sides in every game now.

Triantis was excellent, and Hibs I am sure are going to be putting together a package to try to get him from Sunderland on a permanent deal which would be great, but I won't hold my breath on it happening. Iredale superb and Rocky as well, and that was Chris Caddens's best game for a while. I was also impressed with Jordan Smith in goals, he dealt with everything really well. I wish Martin Boyle had scored with his chance when he was right through, but he really isn't a natural striker with composure required in these sort of situations.

Aberdeen are a shadow of the team they were earlier in the season and to be honest it's difficult to see why this collapse has happened. They are totally shorn of confidence, and defensively they seem to be unable to deal with set-pieces. Thelin on borrowed time unless they start winning very soon. A club which has spent heavily on it's squad do not look in a good place just now.

Ten games unbeaten for Hibs, and net up a very tricky cup tie at Somerset Park on Friday night live on TV. Ayr United are going really well this season and have a great chance of promotion. They have won nine out of their twelve home matches tis season, so we know what to expect, and we have to be ready and prepared. I'm sure we will be.

David Gray deserves massive credit for Hibs turnaround this season, as of course do the players. Job not done yet though, still a long way to go.
Larry Foley was an australian boxer who never lost a fight. His last fight was in the 1870's, he was paid the vast sum of £1000 and won the fight hence "as happy as Larry".