If the Trumpster made an offer to buy Scotland

egb_hibs

Would you accept ?

If we could keep our nationhood like various Native American tribes, or perhaps be an incorporated territory, or unincorporated territory such as Puerto Rico, and maintain our own healthcare system, I’d consider it.

Trump is only there for a few years and the future is long. The US has one which one can’t really be said with the same certainty for the EU or even Europe.

Out of the UK, into the US - for or agin?

Would you accept ?

If we could keep our nationhood like various Native American tribes, or perhaps be an incorporated territory, or unincorporated territory such as Puerto Rico, and maintain our own healthcare system, I’d consider it.

Trump is only there for a few years and the future is long. The US has one which one can’t really be said with the same certainty for the EU or even Europe.

Against obviously but I might be prepared for an indy Scot to lease Holy Loch to the US (despite the in principle objection I have to nukes) if the money (and politics) were good enough - seen some suggest 2 billion pa.....

Would you accept ?

And what if the nutjob managed to convince the trumpites to vote for his successor, some member of his family or other ( born in the US of A obviously ) and they carry on his bawbaggery for a number of more years . Could happen in a country who voted for him in the first place ( twice ) 😩

Against obviously but I might be prepared for an indy Scot to lease Holy Loch to the US (despite the in principle objection I have to nukes) if the money (and politics) were good enough - seen some suggest 2 billion pa.....
Nah, need the nukes gone from our country .

And what if the nutjob managed to convince the trumpites to vote for his successor, some member of his family or other ( born in the US of A obviously ) and they carry on his bawbaggery for a number of more years . Could happen in a country who voted for him in the first place ( twice ) 😩
Not a worse fate than awaits in the UK or Europe I suspect!

I probably would.
I can understand why a lot of folk would be against it, especially if they favour actual independence.

But if it's looked at vs being part of the EU it's a no brainer in that context imho.

I can understand why a lot of folk would be against it, especially if they favour actual independence.

But if it's looked at vs being part of the EU it's a no brainer in that context imho.
100%.

Total independence was probably never possible and certainly not in today's world.

Would you accept ?

With respect M, that's the most ludicrous scenario you've ever proposed and [to use an americanism] there have been a few doozies in the past. Our country has already been sold to the Empire [now reduced to its dying embers and calling itself the UK] so, in the event that Scotland could be sold again guess who would get the money [clue: It wouldn't be us].

Ok ‘join’, if that makes a difference. I only used the word sold given the hoopla around Greenland.

What’s the difference versus rejoining the EU? We are further away than Hawaii from the US mainland, but it’s the same order of magnitude. We are culturally closer to the US and they have much better economic prospects.

Apart from the symbolism of the word sold, why would it be worse than the EU?

Is Scotland uniquely incapable of introducing it's own currency? It can be done in a matter of months as has been proved elsewhere.

View attachment 16700
That would be quite risky. Could easily turn to Monopoly money with a borrow and spend government. Might work if we were a low tax haven? I can’t really see the point myself. A Scottish pound, euro or dollar (under the scenario being discussed) seems more sensible.

That said, I guess the flip side is it would let us have the advantages of a poor country in providing cheap stuff to wealthier countries. I don’t know if we are self sufficient enough to cope with imports being hugely expensive though. And foreign travel would be out expect for the rich.

It wouldn’t be up to us.
We threw away our chance to be masters of our own destiny.

The softening reaction to Trump by many lately is astonishing in my eyes. He may come out with some decent suggestions now and then, but he isn’t the man to carry it through in my opinion. The guys a fukin bampot. Remember, this is the guy who suggested injecting bleach into your veins to combat a virus. He encouraged civil disobedience when he threw his toys out the pram when he lost the election. In fact, he called them to arms when he started lagging in the polls.
He makes Bojo look like a fukin teddy bear. He has a bigger ego than Hitler I reckon.

It wouldn’t be up to us.
We threw away our chance to be masters of our own destiny.

The softening reaction to Trump by many lately is astonishing in my eyes. He may come out with some decent suggestions now and then, but he isn’t the man to carry it through in my opinion. The guys a fukin bampot. Remember, this is the guy who suggested injecting bleach into your veins to combat a virus. He encouraged civil disobedience when he threw his toys out the pram when he lost the election. In fact, he called them to arms when he started lagging in the polls.
He makes Bojo look like a fukin teddy bear. He has a bigger ego than Hitler I reckon.
The thread isnae about Trump it’s about Scotland and Amerikkka.

But I think the cautious optimism about Trump is in spite of his bampottery not because of it. Despite it, he may just save America (though he may also make it worse) and thereby provide a template for Europe.

What surprises me is how many people don’t appreciate the gravity of our position.

That would be quite risky. Could easily turn to Monopoly money with a borrow and spend government. Might work if we were a low tax haven? I can’t really see the point myself. A Scottish pound, euro or dollar (under the scenario being discussed) seems more sensible.

That said, I guess the flip side is it would let us have the advantages of a poor country in providing cheap stuff to wealthier countries. I don’t know if we are self sufficient enough to cope with imports being hugely expensive though. And foreign travel would be out expect for the rich.
It could easily not turn in to monopoly money too though. Why would you think it might?

Scotland has every advantage under the sun and more than enough to be an indy country but this Scottish cringe and "we're too wee and too poor" stuff does my head in.

Anyone who fancies using the "But Ruk are our biggest customers" bilge, care to explain why they wouldn't still buy from us?

FWIW I don't want to rejoin the EU. I'd much prefer EFTA.

It could easily not turn in to monopoly money too though. Why would you think it might?
Because I don’t think we’d do any less borrowing than the UK does, proportionately. Indeed as things stand we’d have to do quite a bit more. Without the greater financial muscle of the UK, that could easily go the way it tends to for small and profligate countries.
Scotland has every advantage under the sun and more than enough to be an indy country but this Scottish cringe and "we're too wee and too poor" stuff does my head in.
I support Indy and always have. What I don’t support is a brigadoon approach to it. We are an economic mess and independence would necessitate policies radically different than the SNP represent and most Indy voices seem to believe is the vision.

What advantages do we have? We are a tiny and aging nation, with a disproportionately small private sector and appalling social problems. All this blather about wind power remains wind itself for now. No one has monetised it yet that I’m aware of.

I think we absolutely can be better off than the UK by following an Irish style model. Is that people want ? I’m up for it.

I think the advantage we have is we are not in a doom loop of balkanisation like England - though will soon need to be - and we are smaller and thus can be more nimble. Not sure what else off the top of my head.
Anyone who fancies using the "But Ruk are our biggest customers" bilge, care to explain why they wouldn't still buy from us?
They probably would, like the UK can still sell to the EU. I agree with you this is not insurmountable, but it is worth considering for those who take the absolutely mental position that Brexit is a terrible self inflicted wound but Indy is the way to go. Indy would be everything Brexit is x10. It doesn’t sound like you are from this camp.
FWIW I don't want to rejoin the EU. I'd much prefer EFTA.
Instinctively that sounds better to me also, but I don’t know enough about what it involves to say more than that.

I have to caveat the above tbf, that despite what I say I’m increasingly of the view Indy is now a sideshow. Europe is now in existential trouble and an independent Scotland is going to struggle in a continent going down the shitter, whatever we do.

I believe the three currencies of those you listed that survive, belong to the three poorest countries in Europe.

Funny how people who go tonto at Putin's land grabs in Eastern Europe are relaxed about Trump's avowed intrest in the Panama Canal,Canada,Greenland and who knows Scotland.
Funny how people who argue ‘las Malvinas’ should be handed to Argentina, or the Chagos to Mauritius, are taking the hump over Greenland.

I think most would agree this is for the people of each respective place to decide.

sake mate! be positive about something!
I’m very positive EGers. Nae fucking information technology for me this week. Or next week. Or etc. Getting rid of suits and every book or material about that deviant occupation has been most invigorating.

I’ve never been happier in decades old bean. Doesnae change the reality of Europe’s situation, alas.

Funny how people who argue ‘las Malvinas’ should be handed to Argentina, or the Chagos to Mauritius, are taking the hump over Greenland.

I think most would agree this is for the people of each respective place to decide.
whats the similarities between the never before been argentinian falkland islands and greenland?

The thread isnae about Trump it’s about Scotland and Amerikkka.

But I think the cautious optimism about Trump is in spite of his bampottery not because of it. Despite it, he may just save America (though he may also make it worse) and thereby provide a template for Europe.

What surprises me is how many people don’t appreciate the gravity of our position.
So, you start a thread called if Trump wanted to make a bid for Scotland, then give me a wee wag of the finger, telling me it’s not about Trump 🤔

Your respect for Trump seeps out your posts , as does your leanings towards the Tories. Now, there is nothing wrong with having a differing opinion than the majority. In fact it is somewhat admirable.
Hiding behind it however is not. Or maybe you simply don’t realise how you come over.

I’m very positive EGers. Nae fucking information technology for me this week. Or next week. Or etc.

I’ve never been happier in decades old bean. Doesnae change the reality of Europe’s situation, alas.
You really arent. Your a navel gazing, belly button fluff picking varmint.

If this is the shite your gonna be posting, I will be looking at IT jobs in the nhs and firing the applications in for you masel!

Smile ya miserable old goat

whats the similarities between the never before been argentinian falkland islands and greenland?
You’d have to ask the people that advance the queer notion that the - as you say - never Argentinian Falklands should be given to them because they are islands nearer to it than to the UK. As is Greenland to North America - not actually sure about the US, I’d have to get my slide rule and compass out.

but theyre no the same. Its not geography.

So, you start a thread called if Trump wanted to make a bid for Scotland, then give me a wee wag of the finger, telling me it’s not about Trump 🤔
Yeah it’s about Scotland joining the US. The very first post makes the point Trump is temporary. His only relevance here is he has introduced the topic of the US ‘acquiring’ other places.
Your respect for Trump seeps out your posts , as does your leanings towards the Tories. Now, there is nothing wrong with having a differing opinion than the majority. In fact it is somewhat admirable.
Hiding behind it however is not. Or maybe you simply don’t realise how you come over.
I perhaps come over through the perceptions of the reader. My position is perfectly clear and has been for a very long time: the west is totally goosed on current trajectories. My position in respect of Trump is likewise clear; he’s a baddie and a mental, but he may just reverse the US out of its doom spiral, where his opposition, who are baddies and chock full of mentals, will not: indeed it is their ideology that is the cause.

As for the tories, eh nut. The Neo liberal uni party has no appeal to me in either of its shades. Just because I don’t fall for tabloid tribalism and four legs good, two legs bad, does not change that. Labour are right now even worse, but that doesn’t mean the tories were less than dreadful.

I wouldn’t be hiding it if I felt otherwise.

but theyre no the same. Its not geography.
You’re arguing with the wrong person. I don’t believe islands should be handed to the closest bigger country; my post is about the inconsistency of those who apparently do. But of course they’re not really inconsistent because that’s not their real motive, they just hate the UK, and also the US, and that’s what determines things.