Hibs Ultras

I've avoided most threads about our ultras.

The drum does my heid in but either I've got used to it or it wasn't so bad at the weekend 😅

Some songs are good and others, when I can make them out, not so good!

Scrapping after games up at the Omni Centre and GPO ... if only things had moved on. I never saw the need as a youngster, I dinny see the need now but if they must 🥱

Overall I can't say I'm impressed, even less so after this.

Scrapping with minimum wage stewards! At Easter Road! FFS!!

I noticed on Saturday Block Seven managed to put their sign at the front upside down.Maybe pandering to Miller and Boyle?I think if you did a sweep of the toilets at half time that might go to some way of explaining their behaviour.

The sign(Flag) is upside down to show we’re a club in distress,been like a few games now…

And hibs wasted money on these *&*^.

They bring nothing but trouble to ER and away games.

Fucking idiots

I like the Ultras, they give the team great support and when I dinnae ken the words to their songs, I ask my nephew. The Erin Go Bragh song, their adoption of Allez Ohh all those years back and the recent Anti Board song are what we do.

Imagine being a young Hibs radge, widnae be me at that age. 👀

I like the Ultras, they give the team great support and when I dinnae ken the words to their songs, I ask my nephew. The Erin Go Bragh song, their adoption of Allez Ohh all those years back and the recent Anti Board song are what we do.

Imagine being a young Hibs radge, widnae be me at that age. 👀
Exactly,half this message board have been a radge at some point their lives…..
The atmosphere would be fucking awful without them too

The ultra scene is not my generation but from what I can see the main priority is the club as opposed to the casual scene where the main objective was pavement dancing with other casuals.
That’s my impression too. Young lads will never be angels all the time but it’s a lot healthier than that was, and no doubt the era before that an all.

It’s not really aimed at me but I like them. They bring atmosphere and support the team well, generally, with the odd bit of questionable behaviour. My 11 year old loves it.

The east is like a graveyard these days so someone has to do it.

People have short memories, the 80s was a lot more toxic (to use a gen Z phrase) than the current situation where they are generally focused on supporting the team.

Were they not collecting for Xmas doing a food drive and Toy drive the other week?

I think compared to casual culture it is a massive step forward but the majority are still young laddies so the testosterone is still going to play a part.

It’s not really aimed at me but I like them. They bring atmosphere and support the team well, generally, with the odd bit of questionable behaviour. My 11 year old loves it.

The east is like a graveyard these days so someone has to do it.

People have short memories, the 80s was a lot more toxic (to use a gen Z phrase) than the current situation where they are generally focused on supporting the team.

Were they not collecting for Xmas doing a food drive and Toy drive the other week?

I think compared to casual culture it is a massive step forward but the majority are still young laddies so the testosterone is still going to play a part.

There have been groups of young boys going boxing and causing bother at Hibs since the 1960s and that will never stop.

There was a thread on here not long ago where guys in their 60s and 70s were fondly reminiscing and swapping war stories about battles in the Cave in the 1960s. I'm old enough to remember watching pre-segregation battles on the old East Terracing between us and Hertz / OF , seeing fights outside the ground between rival Hibs supporting gangs like YLT and YPD , and then the casual thing coming along around about 83/84

While I think Block 7 could learn from how the previous "Since 1875" singing group conducted themselves, they're far removed from the old YLT and CCS days which looking on from a distance seemed all about going boxing and who didn't get involved in anything like last weekends Block 7 foodbank charity initiative.

Reactions: Stu
There have been groups of young boys going boxing and causing bother at Hibs since the 1960s and that will never stop.

There was a thread on here not long ago where guys in their 60s and 70s were fondly reminiscing and swapping war stories about battles in the Cave in the 1960s. I'm old enough to remember watching pre-segregation battles on the old East Terracing between us and Hertz / OF , seeing fights outside the ground between rival Hibs supporting gangs like YLT and YPD , and then the casual thing coming along around about 83/84

While I think Block 7 could learn from how the previous "Since 1875" singing group conducted themselves, they're far removed from the old YLT and CCS days which looking on from a distance seemed all about going boxing and who didn't get involved in anything like last weekends Block 7 foodbank charity initiative.
It's interesting to think about the timeline of this stuff. I remember in Alan Lugton's excellent first book he talked about hooliganism even in those very early years. Often coming from Irish navvies who would work on a Saturday morning, down a pint or two then head down to watch the Hibs, shovels still with them. In my memory Lugton described it as pretty raucous and that it could get out of hand.

How long does this type of thing go back generally? Probably longer than people think. I recall seeing at the Ampitheatre in Pompeii that it had to be closed for around ten years due to the hooliganism of its day.

It's interesting to think about the timeline of this stuff. I remember in Alan Lugton's excellent first book he talked about hooliganism even in those very early years. Often coming from Irish navvies who would work on a Saturday morning, down a pint or two then head down to watch the Hibs, shovels still with them. In my memory Lugton described it as pretty raucous and that it could get out of hand.

How long does this type of thing go back generally? Probably longer than people think. I recall seeing at the Ampitheatre in Pompeii that it had to be closed for around ten years due to the hooliganism of its day.
I've heard blokes who are surprised to learn that sexually mature women living together start ovulating simultaneously over a period (sic) of time.

I'm never surprised to learn that groups of blokes - especially youngsters at peak sexyal age - can whip themselves into violent frenzies when the testosterone kicks (sic) in.

War probably originates in this our-group-versus-the-rest phenomenon.

It's a dilemma for an ever more populated world and ever more travelling and migrating humanity.

Reactions: Stu

Leith races had much rowdy behaviour long before football existed

Aye, A nip and a pony wiz cheap in them days.It could get rowdy in the Horseshoe Bar,though🐴
Seriously .old archives show that it did tend to get a bit wild at the holiday meets ,when the riff raff attended 🍻 🍾
Happy Days ! 😁
I once hit a cop on the head with a broom handle that had my Hibs flag attached to it 😂
This was in the Cave. He tried to confiscate it !! Crowd closed ranks and i got away,ultra quick.!
Myself and my flag gave the next few home games a miss.
Well,by that i mean gave the Cave a miss for a bit.
Good job there was no cctv then 😂

They do not represent the majority of the support, that cock wae the loud hailer is annoying as f#@k

He was brilliant today. Proper Hibs fan, tone deaf right enough.He represented the part of the Hibs support that I was with mate.