Hibs net

Check Hibs.net occasionally just to see if there is any genuinely new Hibs info on it.
A couple of people I know regularly post on there.
Don't like it much myself though.

I think you have to distinguish between the old Hibs.Net run by a petty little man called Stuart Crowther (now deceased) who operated the original Hibs. net as his only little fiefdom complete with his own personal little clique.

Everyone and anyone who annoyed him including many on here were banned for the most trivial reasons in my case for humiliating a wee daftie called Stanmore Hibby with my deep knowledge and dry wit. 😉😉.

There was a more serious reason though as during Straitongate II the whole Hibs support rose up in arms to oppose the plans to abandon Easter Road and move out of town. 😭.

Crowther never got off the fence and said he didn't think Hibs.net should take a stance on this which was an argument many of us found ridiculous but it was his ball and he made the rules. 😭.

Fan power defeated Straitongate II without the help of the old Hibs.net and a few months later Crowther took up paid employment with Hibs as "media nanager" in a newly created post which may or may not have been a coincidence. 🤔.

To be fair to him he was very well qualified for the position and he was a very talented writer but the timing stunk as did the old Hibs.net neutral position regarding Straiton.

Hibs bounce was then set up around this time by a few old Hibs.Net stalwarts most of whom didn't like Crowthers authoritive control and saw the opportunity for a more liberal approach to online fan culture.

That's how I remember it at least and I actually quite enjoy the new Hibs.net that evolved post Crowther as it has many impressive statistical and knowlegeable posters though I do think very generally the posters as a whole lack critical analysis and are a bit to eager to toe the club/party line but boy do they love petty arguments and hate Block 7 with a vegenance.

I think you have to distinguish between the old Hibs.Net run by a petty little man called Stuart Crowther (now deceased) who operated the original Hibs. net as his only little fiefdom complete with his own personal little clique.

Everyone and anyone who annoyed him including many on here were banned for the most trivial reasons in my case for humiliating a wee daftie called Stanmore Hibby with my deep knowledge and dry wit. 😉😉.

There was a more serious reason though as during Straitongate II the whole Hibs support rose up in arms to oppose the plans to abandon Easter Road and move out of town. 😭.

Crowther never got off the fence and said he didn't think Hibs.net should take a stance on this which was an argument many of us found ridiculous but it was his ball and he made the rules. 😭.

Fan power defeated Straitongate II without the help of the old Hibs.net and a few months later Crowther took up paid employment with Hibs as "media nanager" in a newly created post which may or may not have been a coincidence. 🤔.

To be fair to him he was very well qualified for the position and he was a very talented writer but the timing stunk as did the old Hibs.net neutral position regarding Straiton.

Hibs bounce was then set up around this time by a few old Hibs.Net stalwarts most of whom didn't like Crowthers authoritive control and saw the opportunity for a more liberal approach to online fan culture.

That's how I remember it at least and I actually quite enjoy the new Hibs.net that evolved post Crowther as it has many impressive statistical and knowlegeable posters though I do think very generally the posters as a whole lack critical analysis and are a bit to eager to toe the club/party line but boy do they love petty arguments and hate Block 7 with a vegenance.
I think you'll find the Bounces own P & G is pretty decent with 'Stats'.
Without the histrionics.

When Billy has “Left by Mutual Consent” for his jokes you’ll know the ex .net admins have taken up post.
Well said. Forgot about the "mutual consent" nonsense. That's backs up what I said earlier about nae bottle.

Just to add to that, the single trigger that led to the bounce starting was an incident regarding the lochend butterfly around 2001.

The council were selling a parcel of land and there was a clear tender process and what use the land was zoned for. A qualified bid was accepted by the hearts supporting wonkers at the council and rightly there was disgust at the way Hibs were treated. SC had become a bit of a media darling, so used his position to bring attention to the issue.

Except he didn’t. His face and a vote Hibs net placard appeared in the paper in a display of self promotion. There was a local election coming up and this would be a chance for a protest vote. He couldn’t stand though because he was a civil servant and the whole issue seemed to have been used to promote Hibs.net

I only met SC once - when he was taking over the official site which I think was sometime between 2002-2004, we didn’t end up working together but he did listen to my advice to run a content management system.

He lifted a load of stats from me after that for the official site; he never did find out how I knew for certain he’d done it.

I don’t know who runs Hibs.net now, but I’ve met several of their owners/admins over the years, and generally found them to be decent Hibs people. I think Hibs.net became a bit of a monster and a magnet for Hibs fans for a time, but I think the era of message boards has moved on to other social media. I don’t check it much and haven’t posted there for years.

I remember when I got banned. I never did find out why because when you got emptied you could no longer log on to get the you are emptied message.

Am I right in thinking that the long bangers podcast is effectively hibs.net on the telly? Cos I find it a bit strange that you can't use colourful language on the website while they gratuitously cuss on the podcast even when we're winning.

I remember when I got banned. I never did find out why because when you got emptied you could no longer log on to get the you are emptied message.

Am I right in thinking that the long bangers podcast is effectively hibs.net on the telly? Cos I find it a bit strange that you can't use colourful language on the website while they gratuitously cuss on the podcast even when we're winning.

I think Matty Longbangers is or was a .net admin, but possibly isn't now.

The late "Jonnyboy" over there was an admin at one point too I think. I asked him why I had been banned on one occasion (for multiple bad things apparently and with the agreement of all admins) and he said he knew feckall about it. So, seems there was at least one .net admin who was/is a whining wee bitch. (Not my words)*.

He (Jonnyboy) was a very decent guy, and a top Hibs man.
Enjoyed a few pints with him, my youngest, and @GORDONSMITH7 in Copenhagen.
Good Hibs folk are everywhere.

*I lied.
They ARE my words.

I think Matty Longbangers is or was a .net admin, but possibly isn't now.

The late "Jonnyboy" over there was an admin at one point too I think. I asked him why I had been banned on one occasion (for multiple bad things apparently and with the agreement of all admins) and he said he knew feckall about it. So, seems there was at least one .net admin who was/is a whining wee bitch. (Not my words)*.

He (Jonnyboy) was a very decent guy, and a top Hibs man.
Enjoyed a few pints with him, my youngest, and @GORDONSMITH7 in Copenhagen.
Good Hibs folk are everywhere.

*I lied.
They ARE my words.
Yeah I knew John well. Indeed, he drove the minibus containing two Hibs supporters five a side teams to Gorgie so that we could do a group pish on the Tynie doors.

I met John through SC actually. When Hibs.net moved to the Rivals network I did a bit of writing for the site. Stuart wasn't my cup of tea so I didn't last long, but it led me here. I'l always be thankful for John Campbell - a good Hibs man who directly was responsible for me sitting in Pat Stanton's house, asking him questions about Hibs. This in turn meant I was able to introduce my dad at the Hibees bounce POTY dance to his lifetime hero, Mr Stanton.

I'll never forget that kindness

It's a long time ago and RIP and all that but his behaviour over Straiton was pretty despicable.

He did a basically rigged poll and then managed to get it into the Evening News or something under a headline like "70% of Hibs fans support the move" or some such bollocks. It was shoddy 'journalism' and, without being too hysterical, essentially paid propaganda for the club. I left the hibs.net board after that and only lurked very occasionally thereafter.

I recall an amusing contretemps he had with The Proclaimer wherein he rather self-importantly informed him that if he (Proccie) had a problem he could approach the sainted presence in his designated pre-match berth in the Cabbage and Ribs and discuss it there. To which the Proclaimer replied that he wouldn't be able to because he "wouldn't recognise you if you broke into my living room". Which made me chortle, anyway.

I was given the Lifetime ban when they seemed to have a bit of a sweep against folks who asked questions about the site ownership changes (folk didn't want known hence that HNA1, etc stuff) or maybe weren't following the new regime mantra.

Never ever try to go back on as couldn't give a shite, it's Hibs I follow, not them.

I do recall one particular specky wanker who thought he was clever....TOAODS, that was it. 🤪

This may come a surprise to a lot of you but I was handed a lifetime ban as well over on taliban.net. I even used my birds profile and got her emptied as well. One more for the Hibs.net match ball. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

All I posted was things that went against the grain , in no way insulting or any personal abuse directed at anyone then the pile on started where I was called a jambo which is a favourite over there and a troll then the inevitable “ mutual consent “ arrived.

You speak out over there stuff that they don’t like and the usual admin suspects jump on and you’re outta there. There was an admin called Mrs S who was nicknamed Jill “ the power “ Sinclair because she blocked so many folk.

You’re allowed an opinion but if it’s not the same as everyone else then it’s game over.

This may come a surprise to a lot of you but I was handed a lifetime ban as well over on taliban.net. I even used my birds profile and got her emptied as well. One more for the Hibs.net match ball. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

All I posted was things that went against the grain , in no way insulting or any personal abuse directed at anyone then the pile on started where I was called a jambo which is a favourite over there and a troll then the inevitable “ mutual consent “ arrived.

You speak out over there stuff that they don’t like and the usual admin suspects jump on and you’re outta there. There was an admin called Mrs S who was nicknamed Jill “ the power “ Sinclair because she blocked so many folk.

You’re allowed an opinion but if it’s not the same as everyone else then it’s game over.
She was the start of my demise over there. On some thread, the topic I can't remember, I said in the main, women get the best outcomes when it comes to divorce settlements in court especially regarding access to children.That obviously touched a nerve with her but instead of putting her opinion she merely said "I'm offended"

Shortly after on another thread I said I thought the female anchors on Fox news were a bit strident I was messaged by some other admin to say I was binned for mysogyny.

Jeezo,that is just so sad and pathetic. Seems that,wherever you look,there is cliques formed that ban any form of discussion about the status quo. Its their way or the highway. Sad,sad folk that I wouldn't waste my time on. If you can't see when not all are welcome you need to take a good look in the mirror. Life's too short for this nonsense.

She was the start of my demise over there. On some thread, the topic I can't remember, I said in the main, women get the best outcomes when it comes to divorce settlements in court especially regarding access to children.That obviously touched a nerve with her but instead of putting her opinion she merely said "I'm offended"

Shortly after on another thread I said I thought the female anchors on Fox news we're a bit strident I was messaged by some other admin to say I was binned for mysogyny.
A post to sum up the dystopian society that's been created and where the backlash has led to right wing extremism across the globe. Still can't believe its come to this that when folk lose an argument they press the im offended button. Absolutely unnecessary and pathetic.

I lasted 15 years but had several warnings and bans before they finally banned me for life. Yeah most on here would be lucky to make it past the registration stage. :lauff:
I had an account there.
Forgot my password, sent request to renew passsword .
Nothing .No response!
Might be a technical thing.
Anyway, i genuinely prefer this place !
Funny though, when i started posting here more regularly.
Someone asked me if i had been binned from .Net 😁

Jeezo,that is just so sad and pathetic. Seems that,wherever you look,there is cliques formed that ban any form of discussion about the status quo. Its their way or the highway. Sad,sad folk that I wouldn't waste my time on. If you can't see when not all are welcome you need to take a good look in the mirror. Life's too short for this nonsense.
Honestly it’s terrible and its nothing but sad sad folk who sit behind keyboards having a wee temper tantrum because folk disagree with the popular viewpoint.

As someone else posted on here earlier , You could not have a pop at Lewis or Paul over there because more than likely you’d be binned sharpish and accused of trolling.

I remember having a couple of heated debate with SC on dotnet including one about Jarko Whizz :) and got the impression that he couldn't handle anyone who had a different opinion than him. I'm sure he had some good qualities but always came across to me a pompous character, a bit of a dotnet Captain Mainwaring.

I still post on Hibs.net occasionally and there's some good guys and girls but also a lot of nodding dogs who tow the party line on everything that comes out from HFC

A post to sum up the dystopian society that's been created and where the backlash has led to right wing extremism across the globe. Still can't believe its come to this that when folk lose an argument they press the im offended button. Absolutely unnecessary and pathetic.
There ain't no ' I'm offended ' button on the Bounce.
'Ignore' is as close as it gets.
If there happened to be buttons such as 'What a wanker!'
Or,
'GTF , ye daft *&*^'.
Or,
'Jesus fu&k! Did yer mither knit you ye fu&kin' neep!'.
They would be utilised to a great degree.
Imagine using any of those examples on .net?

I joined .net when I first started online for Hibs interaction. Wasn’t there long before a work colleague told me the Bounce was the place to be as it was where all the radges were. So I signed up and never looked back.

To me this site is where you chat to complete strangers with a shared interest just as you would yak to your buddies down the boozer or at a match rather than the perception of .net being like the debating chamber of the Scottish parliament with all the rules and niceties you’d expect there.

All in all, I’ve been on here nearly 20 years and have concluded that we’re all fuckin bampots. 😁

I joined .net when I first started online for Hibs interaction. Wasn’t there long before a work colleague told me the Bounce was the place to be as it was where all the radges were. So I signed up and never looked back.

To me this site is where you chat to complete strangers with a shared interest just as you would yak to your buddies down the boozer or at a match rather than the perception of .net being like the debating chamber of the Scottish parliament with all the rules and niceties you’d expect there.

All in all, I’ve been on here nearly 20 years and have concluded that we’re all fuckin bampots. 😁
Spot on. I wouldn’t last 5 minutes on there and when while I have no beef with the place nor experiences like others do, when I do look in it just seems a little dull.

Perhaps I’ve never spent long enough for the ‘personalities’ to stand out but it just lacks the verve of this place to me. Never been a poster here I haven’t liked - which is obviously not the same as agreed with :giggle - and it’s always been a cast of distinctive characters.

It remains the only place on the internet where I post, at least since i got bored of trolling OF fans years ago, and since the guardian banned me - in what was surely an administrative error :coffee1:

I was binned from the grauniad for a while as well because I was pro Brexit.

Never been on Taliban.net but I just get the feeling I wouldn't last long.

Spot on. I wouldn’t last 5 minutes on there and when while I have no beef with the place nor experiences like others do, when I do look in it just seems a little dull.

Perhaps I’ve never spent long enough for the ‘personalities’ to stand out but it just lacks the verve of this place to me. Never been a poster here I haven’t liked - which is obviously not the same as agreed with :giggle - and it’s always been a cast of distinctive characters.

It remains the only place on the internet where I post, at least since i got bored of trolling OF fans years ago, and since the guardian banned me - in what was surely an administrative error :coffee1:
What did you do to get binned by the Grauniad, just out of interest?

I can’t remember what the final straw was, but it would have been about pointing out their endless contradictions. It might have been - it was around that era - wondering why if conservatives were apparently the fear ridden sorts of the guardian narrative, it was progressives who seemed disproportionately terrified of Covid - and very obviously on a personal level, rather than the smokescreen of concern for the vulnerable. And while noting that lockdown wasnt even a thing for many members of the working class who were running around so that blue blood guardianistas could remain ensconced in their palaces. I remember being peeved by yuppies posting endlessly of their anguished experience from New York penthouses.

If it wasn’t that it would have been holding up a mirror on something else.

Aye the white van man that the guardianistas despise for no being as clever as them 🤣🤣🤣

Billy. A wee job for you mate. Sign up with the grauniad and let loose your jokes. We can see how long you last.

I can’t remember what the final straw was, but it would have been about pointing out their endless contradictions. It might have been - it was around that era - wondering why if conservatives were apparently the fear ridden sorts of the guardian narrative, it was progressives who seemed disproportionately terrified of Covid - and very obviously on a personal level, rather than the smokescreen of concern for the vulnerable. And while noting that lockdown wasnt even a thing for many members of the working class who were running around so that blue blood guardianistas could remain ensconced in their palaces. I remember being peeved by yuppies posting endlessly of their anguished experience from New York penthouses.

If it wasn’t that it would have been holding up a mirror on something else.

I think it's more likely you were banned for length rather than content.
:read: