Gorgeous George

That's him back in the House of Commons winning the by-election in Rochdale. He's a fascinating character, superb campaigner, orator and presenter. However, I think he's a dangerous and divisive individual. Could he find traction within constituencies with high % of Muslim populations to cost Labour lots of votes in the forthcoming GE?
He's a pain in the arse, an annoying arsehole and he will lose that seat come the general election.

Really?

He inherited a mess. The party had lost votes to Johnson's Tories in so called Labour heartlands.

4 years later he's on course for a landslide.
He's afraid of anyone in his party who dares to suggest that the Israeli regime and the IDF are murdering Palestinians. Everything is branded as being antisemitic.

He's always been a fantastic orator but his politics baffle me. He wants independence for every country bar his own.

The Irish Republican British unionist must surely be an endangered species eh
Fantastic orator :lauff::lauff: He's a self-centered blowhard who speaks as though every word is being dragged out of him. I'm....George....Galloway and...I'm wearing this.....hat because...it...suits....me. The way he talks is so fukking annoying that any message he might have gets lost in pompous self-promotion.

Nice seeing Starver and Shunki squirm though Dub.
They won't be losing any sleep over that blowhard winning the seat. He'll be out on his ear when the GE comes along. As an aside; the cvnt blocked me on Twitter for calling him a pompous prick and I didn't even mention barrels of Iraqi oil.

They might no lose any sleep over him mate but they will lose sleep over the total doin they got in the election.

Fantastic orator :lauff::lauff: He's a self-centered blowhard who speaks as though every word is being dragged out of him. I'm....George....Galloway and...I'm wearing this.....hat because...it...suits....me. The way he talks is so fukking annoying that any message might have gets lost in pompous self-promotion.
He is a roaster like but you can't fault his ability on the podium 🤣 his speech at the us senate was class but I do agree with most of that mate

Trilby wearing Dundonian roaster bastard

yup. Although more a directly PR scenario that is nevertheless broadly what has happened by parties converging onto the liberalism of the ruling class whatever their ‘primary colour’.

Not sure we can say that of Gorgeous though. He’s absolutely romped home without the backing of a major party and with a hostile press. That’s a popular vote, that is.

A 39% turnout in an election where he apparently put out two different promotional leaflets; one aimed at Muslims and one aimed at non-Muslims [which shows what a duplicitous prick he is] plus the allegations that his supporters were threatening people outside voting booths. He's an egotistical maniac who will be put back in his box come the GE. I'll bet you £100 [loser puts the cash in to the bounce servers] that he gets royally fucked when the major parties actually put in an effort.

They might no lose any sleep over him mate but they will lose sleep over the total doin they got in the election.
Labour didn't even try Billy. They disowned their guy for comments they alleged were antisemitic so while it was too late to put in another candidate, they didn't back the guy in the slightest. I've said it to EGB and I'll say it to you. I'll bet £100 [loser pays the bounce server] that the self-aggrandising blowhard prick Galloway will be swept aside in the GE.

Quite surprised that a few here are complimenting him on his orational prowess.
I find his over enunciation to be quite comical, and him to be a pretentious twat.
I'm afraid the pics supplied by @emerald green (certainly not from my collection) are pretty much illustrative of the eejit.

'A goat pretending to be a cat'.

Well said.
:sm127:
I said....as much...to my learned friends.....at the golf course today.....before these remarkable people who....would surely have voted for me.......had I stood for election.....were enthralled by my....political...nous.

He is a roaster like but you can't fault his ability on the podium 🤣 his speech at the us senate was class but I do agree with most of that mate

Trilby wearing Dundonian roaster bastard
You should have just stopped at roaster. He's a complete and utter prick who is so bloated with his self-importance that he should be regarded as a laughing stock. I could have made that US speech safe in the knowledge that I could say whatever I wanted as long as I said it with the confidence that I would never have to back anything up.

It can get a lot worse. The UK’s economy is doing ok relative to peers amidst a wider shitshow. Scotland’s isn’t.
Scotland doesn't have the full financial levers of an independent country. Scotland's economy would perform differently to what is does now if everything was controlled from out own country.

You should have just stopped at roaster. He's a complete and utter prick who is so bloated with his self-importance that he should be regarded as a laughing stock. I could have made that US speech safe in the knowledge that I could say whatever I wanted as long as I said it with the confidence that I would never have to back anything up.
I reckon given the right amount of money he'd change his views for anyone dub

The bit in bold says it all.

I know you understand my questions/ challenge, your replies, its like reading a tory rag mate. A broken England is just that, repeating the noise from there does not make it so here, give it some balance. UK level dynamics are pretty much the problem.
No I don’t understand. I understand you to be asking if we have the same population dynamics, which I repeatedly say we do not, to the point it’s hard for us to understand England.

But I don’t understand why you don’t believe what happens at UK level does not affect Scotland. I genuinely don’t. I mean we are never done complaining we get an English voted Tory government. In other words, I’m not disagreeing with you that UK level dynamics are the challenge, I’m just puzzled you don’t seem to view them as that relevant.

We may not experience the problems they might go on to have at street level, but we will continue to be affected by whatever effect England’s circumstances will have on UK politics and policy - in which we will also be an ever shrinking voice unless we catch up from a migration point of view. UK is forecast to grow by another 11m through to mid century and Scotland to shrink marginally (after rising a little bit before falling away).

Aye that’s right, deep down I know what you would like to be true is true rather than what the evidence suggests. I’ve voted snp from teens to last time, and would keep doing so if they hadnt lost the plot. But what you would like to be true, ain’t. Independence would mean a lot of changes. I’m up for it, are you ?
100%

Well we do that by charging foreign - including rUK - students, growing universities to accomodate it to the point that resulting accommodation demand prices out locals, and are capping levels of Scottish students to keep it working. It’s not an unalloyed good in other words, not by a long shot.

It’s obviously a good thing on its own though and I like it; though would prefer a system where we didn’t need to do this by not sending half the population to university for no clear gain, leaving a system where we could afford grants and no fees anyway. Edit - that said, in a global economy we are kinda tied into this ponzi scheme so I appreciate hands are tied.
That money is kept by the universities not Scotgov, It allows these institutions to allocate free spaces to domiciled students but the money is still theirs.

Fantastic orator :lauff::lauff: He's a self-centered blowhard who speaks as though every word is being dragged out of him. I'm....George....Galloway and...I'm wearing this.....hat because...it...suits....me. The way he talks is so fukking annoying that any message might have gets lost in pompous self-promotion.
Spot on, and he's a crap cat impersonator .

Seriously?!

Working Tax Credits and Child Tax Credits helped many. Will you give Labour credit for that?

Trust me I know from personal experience that helps a lot more than a baby box.
What do these things have to do with what Jack mentioned?

Doesn't Ireland have a higher gdp than the UK these days? A country with a similar population to Scotland.

Scotland doesn't have the full financial levers of an independent country. Scotland's economy would perform differently to what is does now if everything was controlled from out own country.
Well we would certainly have increased power to do that, but what would we do?

My impression is that a lot of people believe we would have more and better services. That wouldn’t be the case out of the starting blocks. We would though have the opportunity to follow the small country template of Ireland who are swimming in cash. But that would mean becoming a low tax centre for global businesses which could become much wealthier but much more unequal. I’m not sure that’s what many people are seeking.

I can’t see us doing a Sweden for example. The time to start developing expertise in making cars was 100 years ago not now, for example, and I can’t see us producing equivalents to more modern behemoths like Ericsson anytime soon - and even then it’s modern tech has developed out of a ~150 year history in communications. We’d need to become a base for international companies I think which means low taxes and all that jazz.

A ~50% intake will always favour those who can afford it over academic excellence. Though I agree with you and posted as much, that this scheme is far from all good.
But surely better than a scheme where Scottish students have to pay tuition fees along with everyone else. Would a greater, or lesser number of Scottish students get to Uni if their parents had to find exorbitant fees or would it be a case of the elite being able to afford it ad the poor being pushed aside?

Doesn't Ireland have a higher gdp than the UK these days? A country with a similar population to Scotland.
Ireland is by some accounts the richest country in the world per capita. But achieved in almost the opposite way than the SNP seem to represent. They’re basically Tory bastards lol

Labour didn't even try Billy. They disowned their guy for comments they alleged were antisemitic so while it was too late to put in another candidate, they didn't back the guy in the slightest. I've said it to EGB and I'll say it to you. I'll bet £100 [loser pays the bounce server] that the self-aggrandising blowhard prick Galloway will be swept aside in the GE.
Nae argument fae me mate. I dinnae give a shit aboot him or his election Dub, just find it funny the stooshie that its caused.

But surely better than a scheme where Scottish students have to pay tuition fees along with everyone else. Would a greater, or lesser number of Scottish students get to Uni if their parents had to find exorbitant fees or would it be a case of the elite being able to afford it ad the poor being pushed aside?
Sorry, Scotland is indeed an exception because we use foreign students to fund it all, with the knock on consequences I mentioned. I don’t know if you read the earlier posts than the one you replied to, but my view is I like this in its own right but I don’t like the downsides - ie pricing locals out of housing with the demand for student accommodation.

I’d prefer in an ideal world for uni to be free and grants reintroduced but that would mean a much smaller intake as when we were young. And moreover I accept it’s probably impossible as the wider world now expects a degree to flip burgers.

Well we would certainly have increased power to do that, but what would we do?

My impression is that a lot of people believe we would have more and better services. That wouldn’t be the case out of the starting blocks. We would though have the opportunity to follow the small country template of Ireland who are swimming in cash. But that would mean becoming a low tax centre for global businesses which could become much wealthier but much more unequal. I’m not sure that’s what many people are seeking.

I can’t see us doing a Sweden for example. The time to start developing expertise in making cars was 100 years ago not now, for example, and I can’t see us producing equivalents to more modern behemoths like Ericsson anytime soon - and even then it’s modern tech has developed out of a ~150 year history in communications. We’d need to become a base for international companies I think which means low taxes and all that jazz.
I don't want to be an Ireland or a Sweden. I want to be a Scotland that has full fiscal autonomy whether we build cars or not. I do think we would have better services and more money to spend on them if every penny [taxation in all it's guises] raised in Scotland stayed in Scotland and if energy was sold to our neighbours rather than transferred to them over the national grid, exports left from Scottish ports rather than English ones etc etc.

We might not be better off immediately but ask yourself - why was WM so desperate to leave the EU to save £6B a year but is somehow so desperate to hang on to Scotland despite allegedly propping up our economy by £15B a year?

A 39% turnout in an election where he apparently put out two different promotional leaflets; one aimed at Muslims and one aimed at non-Muslims [which shows what a duplicitous prick he is] plus the allegations that his supporters were threatening people outside voting booths. He's an egotistical maniac who will be put back in his box come the GE. I'll bet you £100 [loser puts the cash in to the bounce servers] that he gets royally fucked when the major parties actually put in an effort.
I’m no earning at the minute Dub so need to shite out of it. I hope you’re right but am not sure at all.

That turn out is lower than GE but higher than expected I think I picked up somewhere. He got more votes than labour, tories, Lib Dems and Reform combined. Well according to him, I’ve not checked. It’s a strong showing.

Galloway exploited sectarian division like he always does.
Yes, he is a good orator but he is a narcistic rabble rouser who just stokes up hatred and division.
He will be out on his arse when the election comes around.

I’m no earning at the minute Dub so need to shite out of it. I hope you’re right but am not sure at all.

That turn out is lower than GE but higher than expected I think I picked up somewhere. He got more votes than labour, tories, Lib Dems and Reform combined. Well according to him, I’ve not checked. It’s a strong showing.

It's not shiting out of anything mate, if you're not earning you're not earning. Hope you get back to it soon though.

I'll tell you what; If somehow Galloway retains that seat at the GE I'll take you out for a few pints without question. I've now put myself in a position where I simultaneously want him to lose and win.

I don't want to be an Ireland or a Sweden. I want to be a Scotland that has full fiscal autonomy whether we build cars or not. I do think we would have better services and more money to spend on them if every penny [taxation in all it's guises] raised in Scotland stayed in Scotland and if energy was sold to our neighbours rather than transferred to them over the national grid, exports left from Scottish ports rather than English ones etc etc.
Och you know what I meant. I’m talking about economic models not eating meatballs or taking up GAA.

Wind power et al is certainly an interesting opportunity but I’m not sure there’s a mint to be made just yet.
We might not be better off immediately but ask yourself - why was WM so desperate to leave the EU to save £6B a year but is somehow so desperate to hang on to Scotland despite allegedly propping up our economy by £15B a year?
The English are much more attached to the union than we are. It’s not all about money, though on that front the cost of disentanglement would be as big a cluster for them as for us. And moreover Westminster did not want to leave the EU; 75% of MPs including 56% of Tory MPs voted remain. The wider ‘powers that be’ were even more remain, witness the campaigns from the city of London etc. it was the plebs that wanted it.

It's not shiting out of anything mate, if you're not earning you're not earning. Hope you get back to it soon though.

I'll tell you what; If somehow Galloway retains that seat at the GE I'll take you out for a few pints without question. I've now put myself in a position where I simultaneously want him to lose and win.
Thanks. I’m not skint, so would certainly be standing my round, I just can’t be staking 100 quid on a zoomer like Gorgeous lol

Reactions: Dub
No I don’t understand. I understand you to be asking if we have the same population dynamics, which I repeatedly say we do not, to the point it’s hard for us to understand England.

But I don’t understand why you don’t believe what happens at UK level does not affect Scotland. I genuinely don’t. I mean we are never done complaining we get an English voted Tory government. In other words, I’m not disagreeing with you that UK level dynamics are the challenge, I’m just puzzled you don’t seem to view them as that relevant.

We may not experience the problems they might go on to have at street level, but we will continue to be affected by whatever effect England’s circumstances will have on UK politics and policy - in which we will also be an ever shrinking voice unless we catch up from a migration point of view. UK is forecast to grow by another 11m through to mid century and Scotland to shrink marginally (after rising a little bit before falling away).
I cannae help you. You conflate things to create an agenda or argument that suits your own.

Well we’ll have to leave it on that because that’s your view and fair enough, but I don’t understand it. Not that you disagree with me, but that you appear to think I’m conflating the UK with Scotland when I’m never done making the point Scotland is increasingly nothing like England.

But continue to quote England’s situation when the country most of us live in is very different. You don’t say Scotland is different. You generally do the opposite, you ignore it.

G what is the view on the bold George among the left wing generally ? That article seems quite triumphal but I thought he was viewed as a radge. Or is that just mainstream labour types and I’ve misread the situation ?

Ireland is by some accounts the richest country in the world per capita. But achieved in almost the opposite way than the SNP seem to represent. They’re basically Tory bastards lol
So the Irish are better at being tory bastards than the tories are how interesting mate 😂

But continue to quote England’s situation when the country most of us live in is very different. You don’t say Scotland is different. You generally do the opposite, you ignore it.
I’ve got to stick up for myself here I’m sorry, because that is just not true. When I mention these changes it’s usually in saying we sit here in Scotland criticising the English for their reactions to things we simply don’t have experience of. I could not be more emphatic on this point, to the extent I think we are deluded on it and say as much. This time it started off as an observation on pressures on labour that may come, so it wasn’t the main point on this occasion.

While we are the part of the UK we are hugely affected by British politics. Anyway, last word to you if you want it, but while it’s entirely up to you to declare I’m talking shite, I don’t think it’s fair to say I’m doing something I’m not, ie conflating the Uk and Scotland . But I’ve said my piece.