Gorgeous George

That's him back in the House of Commons winning the by-election in Rochdale. He's a fascinating character, superb campaigner, orator and presenter. However, I think he's a dangerous and divisive individual. Could he find traction within constituencies with high % of Muslim populations to cost Labour lots of votes in the forthcoming GE?

Undoubtedly.
Labour under Starmer is a mess.
Galloway maintains his Workers Party( good slogan for the average working pleb) will field 50 candidates in the forthcoming GE.
He wont win too many, but a handful would scare Labour.

As far as I can see he was voted in purely on his stance on palestine and not on anything to do with improving the lot of British citizens and that IMO is the danger looking to the future.
As the muslim vote increases this is likely to happen more often, voting for religious allegiance reasons rather than political ones.
I could be wrong.

Not a chance Galloway holds the seat in the GE.

The real takeaway is that for all people wanted to talk about polarisation and weasel boy Simon Danczuk popping up again, he barely held onto his deposit and the Tories lost votes. Second place was a guy who campaigned on keeping the maternity ward at Rochdale Infirmary. The only people who engaged with the by-election were protest voters and that won't be the dynamic next time

Labour under Starmer is a mess.
Really?

He inherited a mess. The party had lost votes to Johnson's Tories in so called Labour heartlands.

4 years later he's on course for a landslide.

As far as I can see he was voted in purely on his stance on palestine and not on anything to do with improving the lot of British citizens and that IMO is the danger looking to the future.
As the muslim vote increases this is likely to happen more often, voting for religious allegiance reasons rather than political ones.
I could be wrong.
Agreed.

Really?

He inherited a mess. The party had lost votes to Johnson's Tories in so called Labour heartlands.

I put the first reply as a bit of a wind up to your good self, K
However, I do think quite a large number of people are disillusioned with the state of our politics and its not beyond possibility that GG will retain the seat at the GE.
Maybe I'm being a tad fanciful in hoping for something different other than a bout of Labour followed by another bout of tory rule.

He's always been a fantastic orator but his politics baffle me. He wants independence for every country bar his own.

The Irish Republican British unionist must surely be an endangered species eh

He's always been a fantastic orator but his politics baffle me. He wants independence for every country bar his own.

The Irish Republican British unionist must surely be an endangered species eh
The end point of politics that come from what you are against more than what you are for. A confused and sordid mess.

Care to expand on what you mean by that?
I’ve remarked on it multiple times since 7/10 Archie, immediately rubbished for it by Gareth (I think it was) and yet here we are already.

Anyway the point was that in 20 years or so, when the UK is 15 to 20% Muslim (assuming historical trajectories maintain) Labour will have to adapt to that to remain electorally viable.

It will be very difficult for any British party and especially them, to support Israel for example (setting aside all other considerations). It will eventually be very difficult for them to be a ‘Guardian style’ party either.

The times they are a changing and all that.

I put the first reply as a bit of a wind up to your good self, K
However, I do think quite a large number of people are disillusioned with the state of our politics and its not beyond possibility that GG will retain the seat at the GE.
Maybe I'm being a tad fanciful in hoping for something different other than a bout of Labour followed by another bout of tory rule.
Galloway won with 16% of the electorate in a safe Labour seat with no Labour candidate. It's the equivalent of someone walking down the street trying front doors and finding one unlocked.

It's like how all the Northern English Tory MPs from 2019 were heralded as the end of Labour and then none of them are going to keep their seats. The context is a lot more significant than the precedent

Does anybody remember a scene in the fantastic Auf Weidersehen Pet, when they are voting what colour to paint the hut?
They got 2 points for first colour of choice, and one for the second. Nobody voted blue first choice but most put it as second, so blue won. Barry then profoundly tells them, “ well that’s democracy, everybody gets what nobody wants”
How very true.
George Galloway is a fuckin snake, make no mistake.

Does anybody remember a scene in the fantastic Auf Weidersehen Pet, when they are voting what colour to paint the hut?
They got 2 points for first colour of choice, and one for the second. Nobody voted blue first choice but most put it as second, so blue won. Barry then profoundly tells them, “ well that’s democracy, everybody gets what nobody wants”
How very true.
George Galloway is a fuckin snake, make no mistake.
yup. Although more a directly PR scenario that is nevertheless broadly what has happened by parties converging onto the liberalism of the ruling class whatever their ‘primary colour’.

Not sure we can say that of Gorgeous though. He’s absolutely romped home without the backing of a major party and with a hostile press. That’s a popular vote, that is.

yup. Although more a directly PR scenario that is nevertheless broadly what has happened by parties converging onto the liberalism of the ruling class whatever their ‘primary colour’.

Not sure we can say that of Gorgeous though. He’s absolutely romped home without the backing of a major party and with a hostile press. That’s a popular vote, that is.
Nah, it’s still a by election protest vote. When it comes to the serious GE, people will come out to make sure he dosent get in.
It’s all about George. A very dangerous ego maniac, who once upon a time was a fantastic orator but then believed his own hype. He now sounds like the talking clock, and acts like a walking cock.

Really?

Hardly because him and his party are any good. FFS its the mess across the bench in Westmister which is giving the Knight the chance tae govern. Labour will be a disaster for Scotland just like their Tory pals.

I’ve remarked on it multiple times since 7/10 Archie, immediately rubbished for it by Gareth (I think it was) and yet here we are already.

Anyway the point was that in 20 years or so, when England is 15 to 20% Muslim (assuming historical trajectories maintain) Labour will have to adapt to that to remain electorally viable.

It will be very difficult for any British party and especially them, to support Israel for example (setting aside all other considerations). It will eventually be very difficult for them to be a ‘Guardian style’ party either.

The times they are a changing and all that.

Fixed that for you.

Nah, it’s still a by election protest vote. When it comes to the serious GE, people will come out to make sure he dosent get in.
It’s all about George. A very dangerous ego maniac, who once upon a time was a fantastic orator but then believed his own hype. He now sounds like the talking clock, and acts like a walking cock.
We’ll see. He’s won a GE seat with broadly this act before, and that was nearly 20 years ago. Britain has changed an awfy lot since then.

Fixed that for you.
You are right but I don’t know why you keep emphasising the distinction when the impact on Westminster politics affects Scotland too. It could be a ploy for Indy right enough, though.

Imagine it being sold on escaping the rainbow UK; in today’s topsy turvy world nothing would surprise me. Easy appeal to the hun vote an all, which is currently a, perhaps ‘the’, major obstacle.

Hardly because him and his party are any good. FFS its the mess across the bench in Westmister which is giving the Knight the chance tae govern. Labour will be a disaster for Scotland just like their Tory pals.
Don't you think we need a change from two very tired administrations?

You are right but I don’t know why you keep emphasising the distinction when the impact on Westminster politics affects Scotland too. It could be a ploy for Indy right enough, though.

Imagine it being sold on escaping the rainbow UK; in today’s topsy turvy world nothing would surprise me. Easy appeal to the hun vote an all, which is currently a, perhaps ‘the’, major obstacle.

Because the statistics you quote are not for Scotland where the vast majority of the bounce readers live and vote. I never have the time to go off and find out how many Muslims live in Scotland, what the growth of that population has been and what it is projected to be is say 15-20 years by percentage of population.

You are also right, I cling to the hope one day soon we will be independent of the Westminster shitshow, even though I now forlornly admit it may not be in my lifetime.

Just like wee Eckie - a little shite who can manage a crowd.

Because the statistics you quote are not for Scotland where the vast majority of the bounce readers live and vote. I never have the time to go off and find out how many Muslims live in Scotland, what the growth of that population has been and what it is projected to be is say 15-20 years by percentage of population.

You are also right, I cling to the hope one day soon we will be independent of the Westminster shitshow, even though I now forlornly admit it may not be in my lifetime.
Once more I agree with you, but the context is British level politics, British foreign policy etc, so I don’t think it matters.

Plus I just get peoples backs up when I point out that Scotland has the demography Nick Griffin goes to bed dreaming of, and is at risk of not understanding modern England.

But you are indeed correct, and an upshot is the two countries grow more different every year. In time that gives the SNP the opportunity to capitalise on a more ‘traditional’ and ugly form of Nationalism. I wouldn’t rule it out.

Quite surprised that a few here are complimenting him on his orational prowess.
I find his over enunciation to be quite comical, and him to be a pretentious twat.
I'm afraid the pics supplied by @emerald green (certainly not from my collection) are pretty much illustrative of the eejit.

'A goat pretending to be a cat'.

Well said.
:sm127:

I get that. So you have to say that Labour would be a disaster.
You that daft that you think there will be a marked difference with labour? The Tories take away 10 things, Labour will give us "back" 2.

Yes,I think labour will be the continuation of a disaster for Scotland. You clearly dont. You clearly feel that what Scotland needs is a continuation of the status quo.

Labour get in Archie.... we have either 1 election or perhaps 2 and the tories will be in again. Rinse and repeat.

I get that. So you have to say that Labour would be a disaster.
Do you really think Labour will be much different ? Indeed can be much different ? They sit within the same very narrow Overton window defined in the Blair years and extended by Cameron and Osborne. They are aimed at the same set of interests give or take the varying sops each throws to build a coalition. They will inherit the same economic mess they bequeathed.

I’m sure they intend to be better, but I’m not sure they can be.

Once more I agree with you, but the context is British level politics, British foreign policy etc, so I don’t think it matters.

Plus I just get peoples backs up when I point out that Scotland has the demography Nick Griffin goes to bed dreaming of, and is at risk of not understanding modern England.

But you are indeed correct, and an upshot is the two countries grow more different every year. In time that gives the SNP the opportunity to capitalise on a more ‘traditional’ and ugly form of Nationalism. I wouldn’t rule it out.
You pull out misleading stats when it suits your shock jockey narrative.

We need a change from two very tired parties (at Westminster level). But yes, the SNP have lost it from too much power.p for too long.
But you know as well as anybody else, the SNP exist for one reason, and one reason only. And if they had achieved that goal, they would have disappeared like snow off a dyke.
I’m convinced that many a folk who claim they hate the shit show of Westminster and all the elitism , corruption and warmongering rule Britannia pish it brings, deep down love it .
It’s a bit like folk who hate their jobs and employer, and when you ask them how long they have worked there, and they say “ over 20 year!!!” That employer, who while paying them a regular income, has driven them down and convinced them they are worthless and probably wouldn’t cut anywhere else. Better the devil you know and al, that.

But you know as well as anybody else, the SNP exist for one reason, and one reason only. And if they had achieved that goal, they would have disappeared like snow off a dyke.
I’m convinced that many a folk who claim they hate the shit show of Westminster and all the elitism , corruption and warmongering rule Britannia pish it brings, deep down love it .
It’s a bit like folk who hate their jobs and employer, and when you ask them how long they have worked there, and they say “ over 20 year!!!” That employer, who while paying them a regular income, has driven them down and convinced them they are worthless and probably wouldn’t cut anywhere else. Better the devil you know and al, that.
Well in theory yes. But the reality is that Scotland needs run in the mean time. I think that reality is not endlessly deferrable.

Do you really think Labour will be much different ? Indeed can be much different ? They sit within the same very narrow Overton window defined in the Blair years and extended by Cameron and Osborne. They are aimed at the same set of interests give or take the varying sops each throws to build a coalition. They will inherit the same economic mess they bequeathed.

I’m sure they intend to be better, but I’m not sure they can be.
I don't know. I think they will be more competent and less riddled by infighting (at least in the early years). I think they will have an eye on issues that matter to people like health and housing. But I guess this plugs in to your vote for no one narrative.

OK but what about the issues facing people now?

You that daft that you think there will be a marked difference with labour? The Tories take away 10 things, Labour will give us "back" 2.

Yes,I think labour will be the continuation of a disaster for Scotland. You clearly dont. You clearly feel that what Scotland needs is a continuation of the status quo.

Labour get in Archie.... we have either 1 election or perhaps 2 and the tories will be in again. Rinse and repeat.
Actually I don't think we need a continuation of the status quo. I just don't believe that the Nationalist approach is the only game in town.

Well in theory yes. But the reality is that Scotland needs run in the mean time. I think that reality is not endlessly deferrable.
Yeah, cause no way could Scotland survive and prosper like the likes of Belgium and Netherlands while bordering huge countries . Never mind the giants of Malta and the likes.
You have been convinced we are only porridge eating, haggis hunting spongers. There was only one way to find out.
For every “expert “ who tells you we would fail, there is another who swears we would prosper. As I said earlier, people tend to believe what they want to believe.

I don't know. I think they will be more competent and less riddled by infighting (at least in the early years). I think they will have an eye on issues that matter to people like health and housing. But I guess this plugs in to your vote for no one narrative.
It does. That’s an individual choice and I am not trying to persuade anyone else.

Nothing of substance can change while parties people vote for the status quo is my regretful conclusion.

OK but what about the issues facing people now?
Well that’s my point!!!

It’s hardly a land of milk and honey. Where are all these riches and great way of life we are told we are going to lose.
Have a fuckin look at our recent prime ministers ( and not so recent) . Does it make you proud?
It makes me sick to the stomach. They most certainly do not have Scotlands interest at heart, they don’t even hide that fact.