Gas Central heating

LEGENDARY RADGE
The time has come to stick the heating on, I mostly work from home and my house is freezing today.

How long do people stick their heating on daily. I have a central control for the heating and individual TRV's on the radiators, just me and Mrs 1875 rattling about in the house?

I'm out for a good part of the day with my job.
I tried getting medication to people by staying at home, but it wasn't working....
If you have a room stat, then set it about 22-23 c, and adjust your TRVs to suit the rooms .
A living room is supposed to be heated to about 22 degrees, but bedrooms are around 15.
Plus, remember the air needs changing after about 90-120 minutes.

I've moved my mate in to my place. He's got stage 4 cancer.
So I've vacated the livingroom and gave him my Settee/bed.

Keep the livingroom heater on constantly for him.

I've moved into ice station zebra through the back.

But I've been a prefab dweller all my days so I know how cauld it can get.

Can you no buy Mrs 1875 a good quality coat from the charity shop?

Maybe pick her up a nice Canada goose coat on the cheap.

I'm out for a good part of the day with my job.
I tried getting medication to people by staying at home, but it wasn't working....
If you have a room stat, then set it about 22-23 c, and adjust your TRVs to suit the rooms .
A living room is supposed to be heated to about 22 degrees, but bedrooms are around 15.
Plus, remember the air needs changing after about 90-120 minutes.

Don't have a room stat. I was trying to get some tips on how long to leave heating on etc. since I got the smart meter I an flabbergasted at how much it all costs.

Once the rise comes in October take a meter reading and try one day with heating on constant.

Then the following days tweak the usage.

I used to manage my heating bills quite well when I was working.
Anytime the missus turned it on, I used my app to turn it off again.

I’m a bit more generous with the heating now I’m home based.
It's the battle to leave it off until the 1st November. I usually fold a couple of days before that.

I was reading about vertical ground source heat pumps this morning a)They have them in Norway so it's not too cold here and b) although insulation would be recommended they would still be economical.I'm not a heating engineer or a plumber just saying what I read this morning,I didn't get it from someone on twitter, just a friend.Myself I turn my heating on when I feel cold and off when I go to bed.

Pretty economical to run, if you have the twenty grand to put it in.

Don't have a room stat. I was trying to get some tips on how long to leave heating on etc. since I got the smart meter I an flabbergasted at how much it all costs.
The ideal control is to have room stat and TRVs.
May be worth your while looking into getting a remote stat/timer.

Thought about getting a hive? One of your rads shouldn’t have a trv and instead have 2 lock shields, that’s the room to put the hive in.

Will look into it, would have to ask oor @Jamie that one, all my rads seem to have TRV's on? One interesting thing with the smart meter whilst it scares you with all kind of warnings, is it gives you a total fuel costs used monthly and its less than what I pay, fly bastards.

I’ve got a smart meter too.
Keep an eye on the meter readings … just in case.

You’ll be paying more just now than usage because the monthly amount is an average rather than actual. It’ll go up like a rocket in a couple of months.

From memory your system has a bypass fitted. That's in place of having a rad with 2 valves (no trv). So all having trvs is OK.

Your hot water tank has no cylinder stat so technically its controlled via the boiler stat. It's either high or low.

Your boiler is non condensing unless you have it changed since I was last there.

I would recommend leaving heating on 24/7 when it getting really cold and using the TRVs. And setting the boiler stat to LOW

A hive isnae gonna really benefit as you have no heating and hot water motorised valves. Hot water is gravity fed. So you need to have your hot water on with heating is that right?

Getting a combi in there you are looking at a pricey job ish. 3/4K imo.

From memory your system has a bypass fitted. That's in place of having a rad with 2 valves (no trv). So all having trvs is OK.

Your hot water tank has no cylinder stat so technically its controlled via the boiler stat. It's either high or low.

Your boiler is non condensing unless you have it changed since I was last there.

I would recommend leaving heating on 24/7 when it getting really cold and using the TRVs. And setting the boiler stat to LOW

A hive isnae gonna really benefit as you have no heating and hot water motorised valves. Hot water is gravity fed. So you need to have your hot water on with heating is that right?

Boiler as is and anyone needing plumbing or gas work done, @Jamie is the man!

I work mostly from home too and it's usually just me in the house since the Mrs went back to the office. I work in the extension which isn't connected to the central heating but has an electric panel heater. Leccy is obviously more expensive than gas but I just leave the central heating off all day and use the panel when needed. Used to set it to 18° but I'm aiming to cope with 16/17 this winter. Might be worth considering a wee portable electric job if you're just in the one room all day - mine used about 2kwh all day today so that's about 70p at October prices.

What do you think of getting motorised TRVs and some kind of hive type system Jamie? Do the battery ones hoor through batteries?

Depends on the system you have at the moment?

The hive works on batteries aye. Tbh my one I've had for 2 years and I've never once changed the batteries.

I use app and alexa more than the actual thermostat.

Depends on the system you have at the moment?

The hive works on batteries aye. Tbh my one I've had for 2 years and I've never once changed the batteries.

I use app and alexa more than the actual thermostat.
I've got a fairly efficient condensing boiler, room thermostat, hot water tank thermostat and TRVs on all bar one radiator. Was thinking of getting something I could control with programmes and app so that the bedrooms aren't heated during the day and I can switch it on when I'm on my way home from a night out, that kind of thing.

And just turn the rads you don't wanna use down or off.

Just vote the tories in,they’ll start fracking in Scotland and you’ll have free gas coming out your shower.

This is mine... I have a combi...

The schedules are easy to set up too.

The hot water on the hive heating and hot water has 2 separate parts.

Screenshot_20220926_215747.jpg

Screenshot_20220926_220227.jpg

Oh for the good old days.
Coal fire with a circulation giving the hot water.
Rest o the hoose like a fukcin freezer.......
Went tae school wi nae eyebrows nearly every morning after lighting the gas under the coal fire for my Ma. 3rd in line in the fuckin bath on a Sunday, water was freezing when I got in. Bone comb once a fortnight. Oh the fuckin depravity 😂

Coal
Went tae school wi nae eyebrows nearly every morning after lighting the gas under the coal fire for my Ma. 3rd in line in the fuckin bath on a Sunday, water was freezing when I got in. Bone comb once a fortnight. Oh the fuckin depravity 😂
Coal fire eh? Oh the luxury. We had to burn the neighbours sheds down for heat.

I was on ‘coal fire duty’ too, but what’s this about lighting the gas on a coal fire?
Old newspaper, kindling and coal did it for me. And a box of bluebell matches.
Gas?
Feckin modern gadget?

In the prefab i was born in the kitchen had a gas pipe that ran along underneath the cupboards. You lit it with paper and matches. It worked the fridge and the cooker.

Two Belfast sinks as well.

The original Prefabs had a coal fire and vents leading to the bedrooms inside the wall. This caused the smoke to belch out into the rooms at first before the heat came through.

I was on ‘coal fire duty’ too, but what’s this about lighting the gas on a coal fire?
Gas?
Feckin modern gadget?
You had a newspaper handy?
Over the front of the fire to encourage it to pull?
Maybe our lum was buggered?

Gas?
Feckin modern gadget?

In the prefab i was born in the kitchen had a gas pipe that ran along underneath the cupboards. You lit it with paper and matches. It worked the fridge and the cooker.

Two Belfast sinks as well.

The original Prefabs had a coal fire and vents leading to the bedrooms inside the wall. This caused the smoke to belch out into the rooms at first before the heat came through.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Gas?
Feckin modern gadget?
Had a wee gas line under thr grate and had tae turn a wee tap on, reach in and put a match tae it. Wid ignite wi a flash most times ensuring you lost yer eyebrows and half your fringe. It was fuckin lethal.

Your fringe!!!!!!!!!!!

Might be worth looking in to these

• C16D4271-040D-410B-8B49-09B77B59B400.png
    C16D4271-040D-410B-8B49-09B77B59B400.png
    870 KB · Views: 20