'Fuck you' fashion

OK on wee ones. I saw a grown man wearing a pair earlier. Man bun, man bag, ripped jeans and designer crocs. We didnt fight two world wars for this sort of thing.
How do you know it was a man? Eh? It might have been a they/them/it.

I rest my case m'lud

Oooo gadgie your pushing it. Stereotype now. Tsk 🙄
Apologies - he looked as though he had spent long hours in the gymnasium working on his physical fitness in order to better be able to cope with the demands of his job in personal management.

Was Mckenzie not then Ricci or vice versa? Hunter square deffo
Ricci was Hunter Sq pho shizzle. The place I think was Mackenzies was up towards southside, which appears to be corroborated by others. Maybe they had a second branch? Smiths Arena was also around Hunter Sq I think? Then there was Buzzini in Cockburn Street now I come to think of it.

I seem to mind a place up south side near the festival theatre - I wanna say Mackenzies? Does that ring a bell or have I imagined it
Was Mckenzie not then Ricci or vice versa? Hunter square deffo
Southfield is right, imo -- McKenzie was definitely Hunter Square, next to where the Civerino's is now. I remember getting one of those navy blue canvas rucksacks with the tan leather trim, and the McKenzie "globe" logo. Also one of the small check windcheater jackets. Remember thinking it was fcukin smart, but prepared to accept that I probably looked like a wee bellend, complete with my curtains.

Might just be that SF and I are more or less the same age, but.

Southfield is right, imo -- McKenzie was definitely Hunter Square, next to where the Civerino's is now. I remember getting one of those navy blue canvas rucksacks with the tan leather trim, and the McKenzie "globe" logo. Also one of the small check windcheater jackets. Remember thinking it was fcukin smart, but prepared to accept that I probably looked like a wee bellend, complete with my curtains.

When would this have been Aggie? When I reference the southside that would be early 80s in an era of sta prest, Harringtons waffles and ‘pilot jaikets ’, where your self description sounds more 86 to 88 I think (although curtains maybe pushing it a bit further towards either side of ‘90)? I guess they must have moved then.

The Hunter Sq scene is a bit blurred in my head. Def remember Ricci and Smiths though less certain of the site of the latter. There was also a place across from it on south bridge in the late 80s I think, and others too. Mckenzie (i remember as Mac) is blurred into it ?

Mackenzies, Mac not Mc was next tae the Empire, its a bargains type shop now. I think the boozer that was next door the other way was called the Rat Trap.

I wonder if mackenzies and mckenzie are two totally unrelated shops? Beginning to think so!

When would this have been Aggie? When I reference the southside that would be early 80s in an era of sta prest, Harringtons waffles and ‘pilot jaikets ’, where your self description sounds more 86 to 88 I think (although curtains maybe pushing it a bit further towards either side of ‘90)? I guess they must have moved then.

The Hunter Sq scene is a bit blurred in my head. Def remember Ricci and Smiths though less certain of the site of the latter. There was also a place across from it on south bridge in the late 80s I think, and others too. Mckenzie (i remember as Mac) is blurred into it ?
Absolutely, definitely somewhere around 88-90 (when I was 14-16 yrs old). I also remember Smiths -- was on the corner where Starbucks is now, right? Never went in it at the time though, was a bit grown-up for me, I think!

Bloody hell it's still going according to Google. I thought it shut eons ago

All the lad seem to wear black skin tight jeans and black northface jackets with bird nest hair dos.... they all stoat around in single file like a bunch of noddies .... its like one collective brain cell

It was ever thus, except we wore brighter, looser clothes on occasion.

1974. 16 years old.
Just started my first job. Moir and Baxter on Comiston Road.

Played Dundee in the cup. 3-3 at Easter Road.

Replay at Dens. Painting your Doccies was all the rage.

The car sprayers at M&B took my Doccies. Cleaned them back to the leather then sprayed them silver.

So excursion bus up to Dens.

Silver D'M's. White baggy skinners. White Ben Sherman. Black Barathea and Hibs scarf.

Gubbed 3-0. Took a wrong turning and ended up in amongst the Lochee Aggro.

Bit of a slap but nowt life threatening.

Eeee Fashion, turn to the left. Fashion, turn to the right 😁

1974. 16 years old.

The car sprayers at M&B took my Doccies. Cleaned them back to the leather then sprayed them silver.

Silver D'M's. White baggy skinners. White Ben Sherman. Black Barathea and Hibs scarf.

deffo sounds like the goon squad coming to town.

OK on wee ones. I saw a grown man wearing a pair earlier. Man bun, man bag, ripped jeans and designer crocs. We didnt fight two world wars for this sort of thing.

I've got Crocs. My wife got me a pair of fake ones from Lidl years ago and they were great to slip on and go out to the garden, garage, put the bins out etc.

Last year I upgraded to a pair of genuine Crocs - Black with yellow Wu Tang Clan branding. Perfect for the short commute from kitchen to garden office but, and this is important, strictly never to be worn beyond the garden gate.

1974. 16 years old.

Sounds the biz man and you didnae care what anyone thought. Should be the same now.

I've got Crocs. My wife got me a pair of fake ones from Lidl years ago and they were great to slip on and go out to the garden, garage, put the bins out etc.

Last year I upgraded to a pair of genuine Crocs - Black with yellow Wu Tang Clan branding. Perfect for the short commute from kitchen to garden office but, and this is important, strictly never to be worn beyond the garden gate.
Surprisingly comfy too