'Fuck you' fashion

egb_hibs

I was up the town today and idly browsing some clothes.

I nearly had a fit of the vapours when I checked the price tag on some plain tee shirt and it was over 600 squid

Now, I've paid for expensive gear before like wool jumpers or jackets that last decades, and yes in my younger days, over the odds for a logo on it. But fuck me this is a different level.

And then there is all that balenciaga pish that apes tesco bags or supermarket staff outfits.

In this era when so many are skint, what can this be but a 'fuck you' from those that can burn money like this?

The mad thing is you see regular folk wearing it when a few of these would be a second hand car or a chunk of a deposit on a flat. And there literally is nothing to them in fact they look cheap tat.

Mental.

I was up the town today and idly browsing some clothes.

I nearly had a fit of the vapours when I checked the price tag on some plain tee shirt and it was over 600 squid

Now, I've paid for expensive gear before like wool jumpers or jackets that last decades, and yes in my younger days, over the odds for a logo on it. But fuck me this is a different level.

And then there is all that balenciaga pish that apes tesco bags or supermarket staff outfits.

In this era when so many are skint, what can this be but a 'fuck you' from those that can burn money like this?

The mad thing is you see regular folk wearing it when a few of these would be a second hand car or a chunk of a deposit on a flat. And there literally is nothing to them in fact they look cheap tat.

Mental.
Imo fashion these days is shit. Much better quality and style back in the day. Awe the youngsters dress the same now, how boring. Back in the day we tried to outdo each other with the latest gear! You'll guess I'm auld now 😂😂😂

22?

On the flip side. If you're rich do you have a moral obligation to buy this high end gear?

A pair of Louis Vuitton trainers will cost about ten times the price of my Adidas ones but they were hand crafted in Italy not churned out at slave labour prices in Bangladesh.

I doubt that's the reason most folk buy this garish crap, but it's a good reason to.

I've reached an age and a financial situation where I laugh at people perfectly prepared to be ripped off when buying especially food and clothes at grossly inflated prices.

On the flip side. If you're rich do you have a moral obligation to buy this high end gear?

A pair of Louis Vuitton trainers will cost about ten times the price of my Adidas ones but they were hand crafted in Italy not churned out at slave labour prices in Bangladesh.

I doubt that's the reason most folk buy this garish crap, but it's a good reason to.
I get your point but I don’t think it applies. To give an example of an expensive brand I like, and the difference, while addressing your point:

You could buy a Norse projects puffer jacket AND woolen sweater for the price of the t shirt I mentioned, they’ll last you for decades, and they’re made in Denmark.

On the shoes front you could get a pair of English made leather shoes that will outlast you, if you get them resoled from time to time. Ok, not trainers but the stuff I’m talking about isn’t priced based on quality, it’s clothing pornography.

I've reached an age and a financial situation where I laugh at people perfectly prepared to be ripped off when buying especially food and clothes at grossly inflated prices.
BK question for you based on where you now live. Setting everything else aside - ie if people like fashion or couldn’t care less etc - I imagine you could have a far smaller wardrobe in a warm country. Is this right? By which I mean, I’ve got summer stuff, cold weather stuff, and stuff for the indeterminate dreich that constitutes our main season. If that wasn’t required my cupboard would be far less cluttered.

Absolutely. Last time I was back in UK, I think 2020 without checking but I saw Hearts and Caley at home and Aberdeen away was the last time I've worn anything warmer than a vest or t-shirt. Shorts every day of life and really lightweight trousers if anything on at night.

In case people are unfamiliar with the some of the things behind my ‘fuck you’ point, I expect some of you have worn something like this to work:
IMG_0391.jpeg

I also expect you didn’t pay £2800 for it

According to my daughter the joke is actually on the rich - or fashion victims screwing their future on this rather than saving for a flat. She reckons certain brands are trying to be as ridiculous as they can to test how far people will got to have ‘fashion victim’ basically stamped on their forehead. Very post modern but maybe she has a point

Seen a few of these at ER. Imho looks like the staff uniform at a budget supermarket (and more to the point, is meant to) but that’ll be 765 British pounds please sir

IMG_0392.jpeg

In case people are unfamiliar with the some of the things behind my ‘fuck you’ point, I expect some of you have worn something like this to work:
View attachment 12306

According to my daughter the joke is actually on the rich - or fashion victims screwing their future on this rather than saving for a flat. She reckons certain brands are trying to be as ridiculous as they can to test how far people will got to have ‘fashion victim’ basically stamped on their forehead. Very post modern but maybe she has a point
I agree with her

Seen a few of these at ER. Imho looks like the staff uniform at a budget supermarket (and more to the point, is meant to) but that’ll be 765 British pounds please sir

View attachment 12307
For me it's like people who buy modern art. Totally getting ripped off by piss taking "artists" but hey, you got the money to spare, do what you want ya dafty.

I agree but the two fingers up bit (as I see it) still grates.

It’s the normal joes swept up in it though. When i was going to Spain in the summer the airport was full of working class kids in £800 trainers that looked like they should be on an auld tadger with orthopaedic needs.

I get why young people complain at being told to save on takeaway coffees if they want to buy a flat. Nevertheless a wardrobe contains 800 squid trainers, 700 pound sweatshirts and other such tat, is making serious inroads towards the spirit of that point.

View attachment 12307

I couldn't resist having a look!!

I like nice clothes, the occasional Ted Baker shirt for Christmas these days but most of the stuff on this site is not what I would call nice clothes.

You mean you wouldn’t want to spend £1450 to look like a 1990 goth ?

IMG_0393.jpeg

I agree though. Absolutely humming along with everything else that’s wrong with it

Tbf one doesn’t have to be limited to the garish if you want to set your money on fire. Consider this ‘could not be more bog standard if it tried’ plaid shirt from the brand of the tee shirt in the op (off white)

IMG_0394.jpeg

A steal, I’m sure you’d agree, at £1275

A famous Hibbie was at a party a few years ago and met one of the owners of Paul & Shark.

They told him they had a good UK market.

Yep he replied. Football hooligans wear it.

Then he was asked why would football hooligans pay £120 for a t-shirt?

He asked why would YOU charge a £120 for a t-shirt?

Tbf one doesn’t have to be limited to the garish if you want to set your money on fire. Consider this ‘could not be more bog standard if it tried’ plaid shirt from the brand of the tee shirt in the op (off white)

View attachment 12310

A steal, I’m sure you’d agree, at £1275
Had a green version of that I wore tae work. It cost no much more than £12.75.

Its well known, a fool and his money are easily parted, the mystery is, how the fuck they got together in the first place?

When i was VERY flush in the early 90's i bought a pair of Brogues from Barnets in the High Street. Paid £100 odd for them.

Best shoes i ever bought. Still wear them now (had the soles and heels done obviously)

Wow that stuff is expensive! I can't imagine spending that amount of money on clothing. I just don't get the attraction of that style either, I think it would look pretty silly in most environments.

About 7 years ago I bought a pair of Dr Marten shoes £70 still wear them they have been at concerts stood on had allsorts spilled on them and there still going strong

When i was VERY flush in the early 90's i bought a pair of Brogues from Barnets in the High Street. Paid £100 odd for them.

Best shoes i ever bought. Still wear them now (had the soles and heels done obviously)
Went there for DM boots back in the day. I had a black pair, because the dark red yins looked maroon.

View attachment 12306

Your very sensible daughter realises you can't buy taste.

And Cowan Tailors on the South Bridge, Jax at Surgeons Hall and what was the shop on the corner of Hunter Square and the High Street

View attachment 12307
I would guess that 90% of the ones you have seen are fakes though. Place is flooded with these fakes just like Lacoste and polo used to be. These are even easier to copy!

Remember the Tommy Hilfiger brand. It was snided over here before it even got introduced.

That's the one. You got your 'crombies' from there or Cowan's
Cowans, I knew a guy that worked there, Vic, he had twin daughters in my year at Gracie and I ended up being in the golf section of the Cabin with him and we won the pairs one year.