First minister debate

I think the whole argument for independence is predicated on the idea that the national character of Scotland is liberal, European, open-minded, celebratory rather than tolerant towards minority groups or immigrants, and that safeguarding that is more important than the economy over the medium term.

Telling people that breaking up the union means we can get back to making I have a maggot too terrified to leave the house... doesn't seem like a vote winner, even aside from the moral argument
Would you use I have a maggot to my face?Because if the answers no then don't fucking use it!

Was browsing Wings whilst having a cup of Bruce Lee and had a wee chuckle at theTwitler Youth comment😂

But until this morning we’d regarded Kate Forbes as a decent consolation prize – no plan for indy, but at least someone who’d lead to the withdrawal of the toxic Scottish Greens from government and probably a mass exodus of the SNP’s Twitler Youth, leaving the party in a better place to rebuild for the future.

Was browsing Wings whilst having a cup of Bruce Lee and had a wee chuckle at theTwitler Youth comment😂

But until this morning we’d regarded Kate Forbes as a decent consolation prize – no plan for indy, but at least someone who’d lead to the withdrawal of the toxic Scottish Greens from government and probably a mass exodus of the SNP’s Twitler Youth, leaving the party in a better place to rebuild for the future.

Are you a cockney or just a rebel 🤔

I mind going to see Cockney Rebel down at the Leith Citadel back in the day.

When I lived and worked in London my mates used to call me a Jockney😂

So Stuart Campbell is going radio rental because Kate Forbes wants to ban conversion therapy and reduce hate crime?

It's almost fascinating how the LGBTQ topic has absolutely unhinged him beyond repair.

So Stuart Campbell is going radio rental because Kate Forbes wants to ban conversion therapy and reduce hate crime?

It's almost fascinating how the LGBTQ topic has absolutely unhinged him beyond repair.
Who he? Google comes up wi an actor and a murderer.

I mind going to see Cockney Rebel down at the Leith Citadel back in the day.

When I lived and worked in London my mates used to call me a Jockney😂
Used to be my favourite song- come up and see me make me smile, before titanium came along 🤪

Caught some of the ch4 debate last night. Forbes and Yousaf pretty much neck and neck but the latter is not popular with the general public. Surely SNP members are not going to vote for someone that doesn't have public backing.

I will vote for the person who is most suited to lead the party, oh and not a tory.

Moaty, I am pretty sure FTJT is a gay man, he certainly and correctly put me right on my faux pas in the past.

He definitely is.
I recall he told us that he had proposed marriage to a relatively newbie in his life and been accepted!

No wedding pics appeared as far as I know so it may not have worked out.

Reckon that was 10 years ago.

In the good old days I recall EGB had his arse handed to him by FTJT on more than one occasion....... :lookaround:

He definitely is.
I recall he told us that he had proposed marriage to a relatively newbie in his life and been accepted!

No wedding pics appeared as far as I know so it may not have worked out.

Reckon that was 10 years ago.
It didn't work out, but it took a lot of years to get there. Such is life. I did once consider trying to arrange a his&his dirty dressing gown photoshoot in honour of buckie's disgusted response but oddly enough met resistance on that one.

Anyway, fao moaty, I'm reasonably particular on what contexts i use the word, or don't challenge its use by others, but regardless of the nuances I think other queer men get a free pass. Similarly trans/GNC folk and 'tranny', queer women with 'dyke' etc. Your comfort level may well be different

It didn't work out, but it took a lot of years to get there. Such is life. I did once consider trying to arrange a his&his dirty dressing gown photoshoot in honour of buckie's disgusted response but oddly enough met resistance on that one.

Anyway, fao moaty, I'm reasonably particular on what contexts i use the word, or don't challenge its use by others, but regardless of the nuances I think other queer men get a free pass. Similarly trans/GNC folk and 'tranny', queer women with 'dyke' etc. Your comfort level may well be different
Buckie!
Now there’s a name from the past.
Dirty dressing gown shoot….. :lauff:

I'm watching the latest Sky News debate between the three leaders and from around 16 minutes in it's absolutely car crash material from Ash Regan, she's being asked what institutions are needed for an independent currency and she's floundering like Big Mouth Billy Bass..

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

shows how much of a poisonous chalice our FM role is, I see no credibility in any of them.

thank goodness Iam not an SNP member and have to vote for one of them.

should they have a vote for their leader, but the electorate vote for the FM.

Whoever wins it has to be the one that's most popular with the electorate and not necessarily the party.
I saw a clip today of humza in the Parliament and he came across as quite racist

Humza definitely has more experience in answering difficult questions, for me he handled the questions from Beth Rigby well.

Watched a few of the hustings and a couple of debates....though i'm not really a fan of TV political debates. They are contrived and IMO never really influence people as much as the media would like you to think they do..

As someone who is and who has been politically neutral for many years now, I don't envy the SNP members having to select one out of the three on offer here. The problem the SNP have had from what I can see is that they have been too dominated by one or two individuals for too long (Salmond and Sturgeon) and not enough talent has really been allowed to flourish and come through. Both Salmond and Sturgeon were well known and experienced accomplished politicians whose strength of personality was enough to get them through the hard, tough world of front line politics. I really don't see any of the three standing for the leadership at the moment as being of a similar calibre, but who knows whoever wins might prove me wrong.

For what it's worth, out of the three IMO Kate Forbes is the most impressive, although she is not all that inspiring either. She is probably at 33 a bit too young for such a high profile role as First Minister of Scotland. However, at least she seems to have some cohesive plan in terms of building solid majority support for scottish independence from the non-committed from where it is at the moment, as this is the only way scottish independence is ever going to be achieved. You have to persuade ordinary people who have no real interest in politics (IE the majority of people in this country) that leaving the UK after 300 years and creating a separate scottish state is the best way forward for them for their everyday lives and for Scotland. Nobody has been able to lead a one issue movement (The SNP) which has managed to achieve that, not even big beasts like Salmond and Sturgeon, so it's hard to see any of the three candidates in the running doing what the previous two leaders couldn't do, but who knows.

Humza Yousaf is the most experienced out of the three, but as a politician does nowt for me i'm afraid. I don't think he has been a particularly good minister in any portfolio he has had over the years, even though he clearly has a high opinion of himself and loves the sound of his own voice. He is backed by the SNP establishment and to be honest I think he will probably edge it, but personally I don't think he would be a good choice for them. Ash Regan is my local MSP and she has done a good job round here where I live, but a party/movement leader she is definitely not.

It's a big decision for both the future of the SNP and for scottish politics. I am just glad I am not one of the ones to have to make a decision from what for me is an uninspiring trio vying for the top job.

Watched a few of the hustings and a couple of debates....though i'm not really a fan of TV political debates. They are contrived and IMO never really influence people as much as the media would like you to think they do..

As someone who is and who has been politically neutral for many years now, I don't envy the SNP members having to select one out of the three on offer here. The problem the SNP have had from what I can see is that they have been too dominated by one or two individuals for too long (Salmond and Sturgeon) and not enough talent has really been allowed to flourish and come through. Both Salmond and Sturgeon were well known and experienced accomplished politicians whose strength of personality was enough to get them through the hard, tough world of front line politics. I really don't see any of the three standing for the leadership at the moment as being of a similar calibre, but who knows whoever wins might prove me wrong.

For what it's worth, out of the three IMO Kate Forbes is the most impressive, although she is not all that inspiring either. She is probably at 33 a bit too young for such a high profile role as First Minister of Scotland. However, at least she seems to have some cohesive plan in terms of building solid majority support for scottish independence from the non-committed from where it is at the moment, as this is the only way scottish independence is ever going to be achieved. You have to persuade ordinary people who have no real interest in politics (IE the majority of people in this country) that leaving the UK after 300 years and creating a separate scottish state is the best way forward for them for their everyday lives and for Scotland. Nobody has been able to lead a one issue movement (The SNP) which has managed to achieve that, not even big beasts like Salmond and Sturgeon, so it's hard to see any of the three candidates in the running doing what the previous two leaders couldn't do, but who knows.

Humza Yousaf is the most experienced out of the three, but as a politician does nowt for me i'm afraid. I don't think he has been a particularly good minister in any portfolio he has had over the years, even though he clearly has a high opinion of himself and loves the sound of his own voice. He is backed by the SNP establishment and to be honest I think he will probably edge it, but personally I don't think he would be a good choice for them. Ash Regan is my MSP and she has done a good job round here where I live, but a party/movement leader she is definitely not.

It's a big decision for both the future of the SNP and for scottish politics. I am just glad I am not one of the ones to have to make a decision from what for me is an uninspiring trio vying for the top job.
SNP are fucked if they appoint any of that 3. Independence is also looking unlikely.

Humza Yousaf is the most experienced out of the three, but as a politician does nowt for me i'm afraid. I don't think he has been a particularly good minister in any portfolio he has had over the years, even though he clearly has a high opinion of himself and loves the sound of his own voice. He is backed by the SNP establishment and to be honest I think he will probably edge it, but personally I don't think he would be a good choice for them. Ash Regan is my MSP and she has done a good job round here where I live, but a party/movement leader she is definitely not.

Agree, Forbes is the most likely to convince the public to vote yes 👍

Humza prevaricating about whether he'd stand or not 'because it was a difficult job etc' finished him for me, although I've thought he was ineffective even before that.
Neither of the other two are overly impressive, but I think Kate has the widest appeal to the electorate outwith SNP members.

I'd probably cast my vote for her, and I'm therefore glad I don't have one.

If I had to vote , it would be for Regan. I liked how she almost admitted it was the coalition with the greens which has brought this latest train crash, and that she would go for broke on her own .
None of them inspire me , but I don't really care anymore.
While we are ruled and dictated to by that shower down the road , the Scottish parliament is nothing more than a vanity project. Its a bit like having a students union . You can make as much noise as you want , promise what you want , but nobody really cares because you have no power .
We have just been through the worst run of Tory ministers and all their corrupt , sniggering, law breaking , Scottish hating shower we have ever seen . And still , 50% ± of our nation want to stay with them .
The baws burst, the game is over , we have no chance of breaking free.
It's beyond sad , and I've given up asking why.😑

If I had to vote , it would be for Regan. I liked how she almost admitted it was the coalition with the greens which has brought this latest train crash, and that she would go for broke on her own .
None of them inspire me , but I don't really care anymore.
While we are ruled and dictated to by that shower down the road , the Scottish parliament is nothing more than a vanity project. Its a bit like having a students union . You can make as much noise as you want , promise what you want , but nobody really cares because you have no power .
We have just been through the worst run of Tory ministers and all their corrupt , sniggering, law breaking , Scottish hating shower we have ever seen . And still , 50% ± of our nation want to stay with them .
The baws burst, the game is over , we have no chance of breaking free.
It's beyond sad , and I've given up asking why.😑
Sad but probably true 😢