FC Midtjylland Away Thread

My final (maybe) words on our shafting.

Thae sheep shagging bastards get nae pat on the back from me. The cup result has fucked Hibs massively. Had it benefited us then I would agree with a polite round of applause. It didn’t. There should be no congratulations for robbing us of a deserved euro slot.

On top of all that, my BiL has never shut up about it since the weekend, taking particular pleasure in reminding me every five fucking minutes 🤬

I'm with you, the sheep and all the sheep shagging *&*^ that follow them can all fuck off! Not interested in the "congratulations" pish. It fucked us out of a big wedge and nothing good about that for us.

Even in mid-July I reckon we'll be alright, providing we can hang on to Rocky. SDG has drilled his own work ethic & a great sense of personal & collective responsibility into the squad. I'd love to keep Triantis & Boyler as well but no doubt about it, Rocky is the key one. If we have him, we'll be defensively sound for those early games.
Boyler already kept 😜

I’m same boat. Guaranteed group stage football went out when we got out out the cup by Celtic. We got exactly what 3rd guarantees you, anything else was a bonus. We move on and hopefully make the most of it and end up with even more money if we get through our ties
Exactly this and moany puss Brenda gets his just desserts 🤣

Even in mid-July I reckon we'll be alright, providing we can hang on to Rocky. SDG has drilled his own work ethic & a great sense of personal & collective responsibility into the squad. I'd love to keep Triantis & Boyler as well but no doubt about it, Rocky is the key one. If we have him, we'll be defensively sound for those early games.
Boyle had signed extension mate

Their chairman gloating about scuppering other teams plans when interviewed at the end. F**k them.
Absolute shit housery from Cormack and has to be admired. Let’s face it, we all assumed they’d lose and we made plans accordingly. It’s basically a low level ‘exuberance’ statement and we’d lap it up. If we are going to give out shit, we have to take it too.

I saw the auld bastard on the pitch but couldn't understand a word he said. Nae spikin

Fair to say everyone in football expected them to lose, their record against Celtic is woeful esp in finals. They coasted their way to the end of the season and nearly blew it. I don't think Hibs acted disrespectfully in anyway towards them but Cormacks comment not exactly professional or sporting. No class. You wouldn't see Sir Dave speaking like that against a rival. Again f**k him.

I was at the 1970 one.My dad took us to a cup final.He told us to get a Celtic rossette as there was no way Aberdeen were going to win.I remember being in tears at the end.

And not for the last time at Hampden I'll bet?

I agree with that all , except the notion that the players can’t report for the new season fit and ready to go.
If you want to be a professional athlete in this day and age, then a couple of weeks holiday letting your hair down and then getting back to work is an easy standard to hit . The days of 8 weeks off playing snooker lounging about are long gone.
Just keep yourself fit, your career will be over by 36 at best, then you can go and live the life of a working man all you want.
It kinda boils down to, stay off the drink and go for a few runs during off season . It’s not fuckin hard.
The guys are only back 9 days earlier. Don't think fitness will be an issue by the time the second game in Europe arrives. Will have played a few friendlies,two euro ties and the opening spl game. Absolutely no reason for us not to think we can give it a real go to qualify for the group stages. What's the point of moaning about not getting automatic entry to the group stages if you don't think we can make an impact. I think we can.

About time we put a few half-decent Europeans oot on their arse.

Got so used in the 70s to papping teams. Sporting Lisbon 6-1 was just magical. Thought it was always going to be like that. Sadly not. Leeds' games were brilliant too. Would be fabby to create memories like those games.
I skipped school with a pal for the first game down in Leeds in 1967, with the full blessing of our Dads, who did not go with us. Changed days.

Aye 🤔
Was it intelligence about possible threats.dangers to large sporting events or just closing down airspace for a couple of days?
I cant remember.
I do recall my brother was on the club charter and they were actually on the plane at Edinburgh when flight got cancelled.
Edit :
It was a UEFA decision to cancel all games that week.
I spotted a UEFA official before our flight to Athens from Glasgow. I asked him if there was any chance the game might be off and was told 'No chance. I will be informed of any update'.
I landed in Athens and bumped into a mate who told me the game was off. I walked him over to the official and we told him the game was cancelled and he was completely unaware!
Four days in Athens with no focus.....followed the singing down to the Plaka and barman tells me there is no beer left. We said we would go to another pub. He says there was no more beer in the area.....The round became 250mm of ouzo each so it got pretty messy!

I spotted a UEFA official before our flight to Athens from Glasgow. I asked him if there was any chance the game might be off and was told 'No chance. I will be informed of any update'.
I landed in Athens and bumped into a mate who told me the game was off. I walked him over to the official and we told him the game was cancelled and he was completely unaware!
Four days in Athens with no focus.....followed the singing down to the Plaka and barman tells me there is no beer left. We said we would go to another pub. He says there was no more beer in the area.....The round became 250mm of ouzo each so it got pretty messy!
Aye It was chaotic on many fronts.
The attacks caused confusion and mayhem world wide/
I guess a football tournament was the lesser concern.
But am sure govt flight authorities put pressure on to suspend flights.
Would have been back on them if something else disastrous happened very quickly.

Airlines could not get back in the skies quick enough,though 🛬 💰

We still had 5 days left on the island of Santorini,so that softened the disappointment !! 🌊 😁 🍾 😰

Do you remember the wee lass selling helium filled balloons?
She made a fortune that night.

And the squeeeeeeky Hibs choir singing "Eck the Boss" (before we knew he was a traitor)

Not as messy as the second trip to Athens with my youngest laddie! 😆 🤮💩

Their chairman gloating about scuppering other when interviewed at the end. F**k them.
Laughable. The difference in being in the league phase and not is just over £2m. Plus of course we can still qualify. And of course one transfer could well cover the gap. The hearts and Dons seasons have been shit after group stage football and I'd say the Dons are worse than hearts were last season. They will be struggle to qualify for Europe next season imho with hearts bound to be better and st mirren there or thereabouts. So much nonsense been written this week. Let's just concentrate on our team. Don't give a flying one what others do. Hearts have signed the huddy they had on loan so no silky players coming to the pbs any time soon.

Last bit on the euro money. The dons and hearts have had the money and in hearts case £4.5 from anderson and foh and where did they finish last season. As sdg said this is the most harmonious squad he's been around and any new recruits can't disrupt the togetherness. Like the hibs ladies team spirit got us third and just two or 3 quality additions will ensure we will be in the hunt for third again. Mckay and sdg know they were never getting loads of dosh for transfers but should vente and/or Ellie that should expand who we can buy. From the way the bkg were speaking we can expect a couple of very decent players from within their group of players. Hearts two signings look no improvement on what they have got. I've said enough about this now and I'm fully confident of a very good season coming up. In sdg we trust.
Ggtth.

Laughable. The difference in being in the league phase and not is just over £2m. Plus of course we can still qualify. And of course one transfer could well cover the gap. The hearts and Dons seasons have been shit after group stage football and I'd say the Dons are worse than hearts were last season. They will be struggle to qualify for Europe next season imho with hearts bound to be better and st mirren there or thereabouts. So much nonsense been written this week. Let's just concentrate on our team. Don't give a flying one what others do. Hearts have signed the huddy they had on loan so no silky players coming to the pbs any time soon.
Last bit on the euro money. The dons and hearts have had the money and in hearts case £4.5 from anderson and foh and where did they finish last season. As sdg said this is the most harmonious squad he's been around and any new recruits can't disrupt the togetherness. Like the hibs ladies team spirit got us third and just two or 3 quality additions will ensure we will be in the hunt for third again. Mckay and sdg know they were never getting loads of dosh for transfers but should vente and/or Ellie that should expand who we can buy. From the way the bkg were speaking we can expect a couple of very decent players from within their group of players. Hearts two signings look no improvement on what they have got. I've said enough about this now and I'm fully confident of a very good season coming up. In sdg we trust.
Ggtth.
How much do we get if we win the europa league and secondarily, the conference league 🤪

Ggtth.
You just never know, the BKG will have been watching our games and will see the potential in NT . They may well INVEST in him and we could see him coming back. Now he wouldn’t upset the togetherness for sure . For as long as he remains available, I for one will be ever optimistic . And that is MY last word on THAT subject, I think 🤣

Depends what you mean with invest. Doubt it will be loads of dosh on transfers. More likely the triantis scenario you describe. As has been said the money helps but guarantees feck all as hearts and Aberdeen have shown. We have got a very good manager. Malky has shown he knows what he's doing and the bkg who clearly are ambitious. It's up to all 3 to make it happen. Getting the right type of player the key like conte has done at napoli. Let's enjoy the good times as we know watching hibs is a very up and down roller coaster.

If this reply is a response to MY invest mention, yes I was meaning the Triantis scenario 👍

Draw the morn at 12, EUFA splitting the teams at 7.30 in the morning before the draw, halving Hibs potential opponents. Nae idea why, or how they will do that. A reminder of the teams in the draw.

Seeded (*denotes team in first qualifying round)Unseeded (*denotes team in first qualifying round)
FC Midtjylland (Denmark)Hibernian (Scotland)
Sporting Braga (Portugal)Besiktas (Turkey)
Anderlecht (Belgium)FC Utrecht (Netherlands)
FC Lugano (Switzerland)Banik Ostrava (Czechia)
Shakhtar Donetsk* (Ukraine)CFR Club* (Romania)
Legia Warsaw* (Poland)Hapoel Beer-Sheva* (Israel)
Partizan Belgrade* (Serbia)NK Celje* (Slovenia)
Sheriff Tiraspol* (Moldova)Spartak Trnava* (Slovakia)