Euro 2016

southfieldhibby

Draw this weekend.

Pot 1: Spain (holders), Germany, Netherlands, Italy, England, Portugal, Greece, Russia, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Pot 2: Ukraine, Croatia, Sweden, Denmark, Switzerland, Belgium, Czech Republic, Hungary, Republic of Ireland
Pot 3: Serbia, Turkey, Slovenia, Israel, Norway, Slovakia, Romania, Austria, Poland
Pot 4: Montenegro, Armenia, Scotland, Finland, Latvia, Wales, Bulgaria, Estonia, Belarus
Pot 5: Iceland, Northern Ireland, Albania, Lithuania, Moldova, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Cyprus
Pot 6: Luxembourg, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein, Faroe Islands, Malta, Andorra, San Marino, Gibraltar

Greece
Hungary
Norway
Scotland
Albania
San Marino

Would be the best chance of qualifying imo

So

Spain
Belgium
Serbia
Scotland
Iceland
Khazakstan

will be the draw

FFS, what`s happened to us?? Being ranked alongside Armenia, Latvia and Estonia should be cause for national mourning... :cry

unfortunately, thats what they are saying about being ranked with us :surp@

Could be worse, the welsh beat us home and away but end up in the same pot as us.
If Scotland hadn't pulled a couple of results out the bag at the tail end I imagine we would have been even worse.

There is no doubt in my mind that there has been significant improvement in the performance of the Scottish international team since Strachan's appointment as National Coach. We are also starting to see the emergence of some very good young players in the Scottish game which bodes well for the future at international level. The Euro 2016 qualifying should give us the best chance for a long time of Scotland actually qualifying for a major tournament due to the amount of countries who will take part. I would say however, that no matter how the draw puts us with it is still going to be a difficult job for Scotland to even get to the play-offs.....I'm quietly confident we can do it though.

A National Team Coach is only as good as the players he has available to him. Over the last 20 or so years the amount of international standard players being produced by Scotland has diminished dramatically from what it was previously, hence the reason we have failed to qualify for a single major tournament since 1998. I do however see some green shoots of recovery so I remain optimistic.

Gibraltar must be the smallest UEFA member, at least in population.
They managed to draw 0-0 against Slovakia, which is some achievement!

I wish I went to our friendly with them. :sadwalk:

Seen big Mixu earlier on walking in to the arena earlier on beside Strachan....not done too badly for himself still managing his country

Can anyone please explain how Bosnia have ended up in Pot 1 ?

I assume this program is on for about six fukking hours. Get on with it ffs :banger:

Feckin nauseating pish...
They don't even show who is in the group while picking the next team...have to try and remember each group, too busy showing England's "record since '88"....

Gibraltar must be the smallest UEFA member, at least in population.
They managed to draw 0-0 against Slovakia, which is some achievement!

I wish I went to our friendly with them. :sadwalk:

I did, one of the strangest fitba experiences ever, but one in which Hibernian won!

Oh well....
How easy is England's group....
How the feck are Hungary in pot 2, some very strange seedings

Root toot and we're probably oot before a ba' is kicked but there's some cracking away trips there for the TA...

Germany will pish it but not too bad. A lot of teams will take points off each other. Gotta win your home matches to have a chance though. Looks like trips to Ireland/Poland & Faro for me.

I think it's a decent draw for Scotland, it certainly could have been a lot worse that's for sure.
We'll be fighting it out with Ireland, Poland and Georgia for second and third

Polska are shan right now. It'll be Scotland or Ireland in 2nd.

Fifa World Rankings:
Germany - 2
Scotland - 34
Ireland - 67
Poland - 70
Georgia - 103
Gilbraltar - ?

I think that's a decent draw tbh. No matter what pot 1 team we were in against we'd have little chance but I don't see a lot between Poland, Ireland, Georgia and us. 2nd and 3rd places will be a good battle I think.

The seeds were locked a while back, our improvements came too late. Typical really.

So beating a pot 1 team home and away months ago has meant nothing then. As we we're put in pot 4 months later and will now have to play with that and gain nothing from our actual rating...
Ireland and Hungary in pot 2 how could that be, I mean Hungary??

I think it is a tough draw, not the worst it could've been but not the best. Ireland, Poland, Scotland and Georgia are all capable of taking points off each other, so it could come down to goal difference or whoever can nick a draw off Germany.

Our defence worries me against the likes of Poland though. Lewandowski v Hanley... Ouch!

BhK0bvMIcAAPYas.jpg

Faro in October. Nice one :Sparkle_Cool:

1 Saturday game,gash!

Decent group but swithering on renewing the membership with the midweek games

Fifa World Rankings:
Germany - 2
Scotland - 34
Ireland - 67
Poland - 70
Georgia - 103
Gilbraltar - ?

They rank 173rd in the current rankings and are only 9 places behind Leichtenstein and we all remember how much we nearly became the laughing stock of the world drawing with them until Steven Mcmanus scored that goal in the 97th minute