English football

Hattie

You reap what you sow, i have zero sympathy, they are up there with everything that is wrong with football and they have shouted from the rooftops about best league in the world etc all through Murdochs empire, and they couldn’t care less, fans inc, to the extent that even the Saudis, the culture of torture, are all over it.
They have helped enormously towards the desecration of our game.
Time for them to land on the precipitous of reality that it is not going to end well.

You reap what you sow, i have zero sympathy, they are up there with everything that is wrong with football and they have shouted from the rooftops about best league in the world etc all through Murdochs empire, and they couldn’t care less, fans inc, to the extent that even the Saudis, the culture of torture, are all over it.
They have helped enormously towards the desecration of our game.
Time for them to land on the precipitous of reality that it is not going to end well.
Football wont die, but because of money, it can’t be called the beautiful game any more 👍. On the plus side, because of the ever expanding influx of foreign players to engerland’s wonderful league ( haha ) their chances of bringing it home are Zilch, nada,nin,nae chance, so sleep well @Hattie . With the knowledge that the Hibees are on the march 👍

Never watched an English game in years.

Much prefer German,Spanish,Italian...even a random Scottish game.
At least with say Dundee v St Mirren,there's more passion,fight and old school football about it.

EPL games are often boring from a fans perspective.

It's a wimins game down there.
Proper woman's football drives me nuts.
Absolute garbage,same standard as a decent amateur team....but hyped like nothing before.

There's a reason Wrexham over 50s beat US Womans team 11-0 in a 30 minute game.

Never watched an English game in years.

Much prefer German,Spanish,Italian...even a random Scottish game.
At least with say Dundee v St Mirren,there's more passion,fight and old school football about it.

EPL games are often boring from a fans perspective.
Nah

Absolute garbage,same standard as a decent amateur team....but hyped like nothing before.

I'm no fan of wifies football but why do folks repeatedly quote examples like this. There's very few sports out there where men wouldn't beat women.
Watch or don't watch. In the context of the women's game there's poor, better, and best. Pretty sure they're not lobbying for entry to men's leagues.
Fuck sake, encourage sport, fitness and maybe get a glimpse of the odd honey 👀

I'm no fan of wifies football but why do folks repeatedly quote examples like this. There's very few sports out there where men wouldn't beat women.
Watch or don't watch. In the context of the women's game there's poor, better, and best. Pretty sure they're not lobbying for entry to men's leagues.
Having it rammed down your throat constantly...is annoying.
When it's simply unwatchable to many people i know.

Having it rammed down your throat constantly...is annoying.
When it's simply unwatchable to many people i know.
Are you talking about on the news? Any worse than any other sport/teams you don't like?
And if it's a game just don't watch it...simple.

I understand what you're saying and, I agree, women should be encouraged to play sport.

It's maybe just that in the UK the national broadcasters show live football that is of little interest to the broader population and particularly Scotland, probably Wales and NI too.

The early rounds of the FA cup where the Dog and Duck (Kidderminster) play the Whistle and Ferret (somewhere in deepest Yorkshire).

Friendlies! Involving English teams only.

All levels of womans football but only teams from England.

All of the above are pish. Bad enough for most of England but moreso for the rest of us.

All that, and up until recently no national broadcaster would cover the mens Scotland games; the top league gets 3rd rate coverage 90% of which is the the bigots and there's no league coverage below that unless the huns are involved!

Oh! A slightly off topic wee rant slipped out there 😅

Allegedly Jack. Allegedly.

Mon the workers against state global capitalism (or something like that)

It featured smaller-than-usual pitches, 20-minute halves, and alternative rules such as no throw-ins, no offside restrictions, and seven players to a side.
When it came to the ‘US Women’ team, not a single player currently plays with the official United States women’s national soccer team, which is set to play in the World Cup in Australia this month.

Quite a few of the players never actually played for the national side, and according to the team’s profile on the TST site, most of of the US players no longer play for any team officially, while some retired from professional football more than a decade ago.
However, it is false to suggest that the US Women’s national team took part at all, or that they lost 12-0 to a team of men who played in the fifth tier of the English football pyramid this season.

I enjoy women’s football, if you accept it for what it is it can be pretty compelling.

English football though, modern football generally, is a hard watch.

Pretty mind numbing watching teams pass the ball to death. It’s the connection to a team that keeps me going, it used to be great watching Fergies Man United go at teams, now Man City v Liverpool games are largely a snooze fest.

When people refer to 'Englsh football' I think they're mainly thinking about the Premier League, which is open to plenty of criticism, not least by me. There's a heck of a lot of other football below that level that's very decent though. I have friends that, for instance, regularly go to games at Arnold Town, Hucknall Town, Radford Olympic, Kimberley Miners Welfare, Gedling Miners Welfare and Basford United. All semi-pro or amateur and several tiers below. That's a broad spread without taking into account EFL Notts County and Mansfield Town fans. They don't really relate to the Premier League, some of them even detest it.

I think the point is that there are plenty of 'real' football fans down here that have not bought into the Premier League and 'claimed' a Man City, a Liverpool or an Arsenal as their team. Nor do they give a flying one about it.

Hope Mrs Bangkok disny read your posts
👀

It featured smaller-than-usual pitches, 20-minute halves, and alternative rules such as no throw-ins, no offside restrictions, and seven players to a side.
When it came to the ‘US Women’ team, not a single player currently plays with the official United States women’s national soccer team, which is set to play in the World Cup in Australia this month.

Quite a few of the players never actually played for the national side, and according to the team’s profile on the TST site, most of of the US players no longer play for any team officially, while some retired from professional football more than a decade ago.
However, it is false to suggest that the US Women’s national team took part at all, or that they lost 12-0 to a team of men who played in the fifth tier of the English football pyramid this season
So it was like a kick about doon the bevy 🤔

What really winds me up is when fans of Premier League clubs in the same breath will complain about football losing its way because of money and then be all smug about the lack of quality in the Scottish league and how much better it is in the English Premier League
Spot on, the irony is clearly beyond them

Are you talking about on the news? Any worse than any other sport/teams you don't like?
And if it's a game just don't watch it...simple.
It fills a huge chunk of the sports pages,way beyond the actual interest in it. Never watched a women's game since I watched one while in the US. Just poor. Simple as that.

What really winds me up is when fans of Premier League clubs in the same breath will complain about football losing its way because of money and then be all smug about the lack of quality in the Scottish league and how much better it is in the English Premier League
Totally. You pay peanuts etc etc. If hibs could afford £10m pound players the standard would be every bit as good as bottom of the epl but we have a fraction of that. Think we are doing damn well given our budget mind you.

And yet again……
By football they mean England

The whole shitshow of the article revolves around Englands fascination of wanting to be the best, most money, best league etc.. t they turnovers star destroying the game, not britain, certainly not Scotland, They just cannot see themselves at fault as it is their entitlement….

And yet again……

The whole shitshow of the article revolves around Englands fascination of wanting to be the best, most money, best league etc.. t they turnovers star destroying the game, not britain, certainly not Scotland, They just cannot see themselves at fault as it is their entitlement….
It’s WHo they are, thunk they’re better than everyone else at everything 🤣
Engerland won the war you know 😩

And yet again……

Its not England though. Real Madrid, Barcelona, PSG, RB Leipzig, loads of others. The English league may be the worst, but I'd argue PSG are the worst single example.

I can't be doing with it. Petty it may be but what really fckn gets my goat is the Sky ads that attempt to play on historical football culture, as if watching Chelsea on sky makes you part of it.

They are trying to sell football as this communal experience which it can't be in the grossly overpriced corporate world. To get tickets for Everton game now you need to pay up to £125 to get on an app just to ensure your able to buy tickets. Cheapest ticket now 70 odd quid up to £130. Its everton were talking about here. I was going to go to an everton game in the new stadium but ain't going at those prices. Team looks way behind anything in the top 10 in the epl.

I see a not dissimilar situation at Forest. I know people who have gone to games since the mid-sixties who are basically now frozen out. You have to be a member to buy tickets.

Prices for memberships are Pro £99, Plus £75 or Core £45. These in theory, enable you to apply for spare tickets. Pro and Plus are sold out and unnavailable. Basically anything under Pro would offer you nil chance of getting a ticket. To get to a Pro you have to have owned Core then Plus. Then when finally on Pro, there is a three-year waiting list for a season card.

You can't even see quoted prices online but my understanding is that it's up to £850 for a season card and £65 for a match ticket.

It's like they've forgotten their fans. They rarely ever improve facilities, even to the extent of supplying a bit of hot water for fans to wash their hands with. They are shameful.

I will go away, fuck that.

Gave up on the EPL along with the Champions league years ago. I'd rather watch my local junior team. It was actually a jambo mate of mine who once said to me, " the Premiership and CL aren't real fitbaw, they're Hollywood fitbaw". Totally summed the shite up to me.